VIDEO: Tesla Model S can be a boat, albeit briefly

Cars don’t go swimming, nor do electrical appliances. With electric vehicles and petrol or diesel hybrids becoming more mainstream, sometimes there are concerns with their ability to weather difficult conditions. You’d be forgiven for wincing at the sight of a Tesla Model S attempting to traverse a flooded tunnel, however that’s exactly what the owner of this particular car in Kazakhstan did anyway.

The fully-electric sedan is seen in the video above, charging through with almost reckless abandon, with the water reaching up to the base of the windscreen at one point. The fact that the electric motors do not need an air intake, the main sore point for internal combustion engines when traversing through water, probably helped the Tesla’s case, but Tesla CEO Elon Musk added some other factors to the discussion.

“We [definitely] don’t recommend this, but Model S floats well enough to turn it into a boat for short periods of time. Thrust via wheel rotation,” Musk tweeted. In response to a query on whether the electrics are waterproof, he said that the drive units and battery are sealed.

So, with all the flash floods that have been happening in Malaysia recently, maybe we should all drive a Model S to avoid being stranded in them. Of course, that’s not actually possible at the moment, given that just 100 of these things will make their way into the country, and they’ll all be leased to government-linked companies (GLC) only.

GALLERY: Tesla Model S in Malaysia

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Matchy on Jun 20, 2016 at 7:22 pm

Won’t it short circuit or something?

• No wonder Najib wanna buy this. To visit Kelantan during flood

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
      • Operation Manager on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:20 pm

Much much lower risk than take helicopter in Sarawak…

• Electric and water shud never mix. Especially high voltage electric!

• Pretty sure Tesla is waterproofing their cars for that reason. They are pioneers of electric cars afterall.

• Sammy Loo on Jun 21, 2016 at 1:29 am

electric car got no RV, get the Hilux can do the same

• rashid on Jun 21, 2016 at 8:41 am

if you could afford 2nd hand kancil, you need to pay Rm20 roadtax… but
    if you could afford half-million ringgit tesla, you just pay RM5 road tax… meaning five ringgit road tax…
    welkam to malaysia boleh land…

the government officer serves the dato2, tan sri2… rakyat can die slowly or later sell blood olso to survive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • That’s how electric cars road tax work almost everywhere in the world currently, not just malaysia. If you want to be stupid, at least be an informationed idiot.

• Most old Saga, Wira & Satria car boot can be aquarium.

• Our Perdana has fake exhaust tips for the same reason

• Chua Yi Yun on Jun 21, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Huh, seem like it is a car of choice in KL :P

• Add-A-Comment on Jun 21, 2016 at 6:15 pm

After Elon Musk watched this….He is *def* thinking in building his Model S to be transformable into a boat now….one day he will announce it. Mark my word…

– I Have Just Added A Comment –