DRIVEN: Tesla Model S 85 – exclusive first-drive report

Tesla Model S 85 drive-5

Back in October, we had the chance to get up close with the first two Tesla vehicles to be brought in to Malaysia via official channels – the exclusive preview of the vehicles, both rear-wheel drive Model S 85 versions offered not just a comprehensive photo gallery but also a chance to get an initial feel of the car, albeit in limited scope, given that the cars hadn’t been registered at that point.

Last month, through a special arrangement, we were again invited to have another go with the car for a day, the road-going session offering a better insight into its character and workings in real-world conditions.

A recap on timelines and perspective, for those still unaware of the unique manner in which Tesla vehicles are set to be deployed in the country. The two S 85s are essentially the lead elements of a programme initiated by Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (GreenTech Malaysia), one that will see Teslas being made available here through a leasing scheme.

Tesla Model S 85 drive-2

The main bulk of the cars, when they eventually arrive, will be available on a contracted two-year leasing period, and will – as mentioned when the programme was first brought to light in May this year – only be offered to government-linked companies (GLC).

The intent of all this is to allow influential parties the means to better understand the merits of electric vehicles (EVs) by sampling the technology for themselves, and is meant to aid GreenTech Malaysia’s push to expand the EV scope in the country through its Electric Mobility Blueprint.

The leasing programme is sanctioned by Tesla Motors, which is not keen to have its cars sold in direct fashion in Malaysia – the automaker is agreeable to the running of the initiative on the understanding that the cars are to be used for increasing awareness of EVs and their tech amongst policy makers.

Tesla Model S 85 drive-33

Back in May, GreenTech Malaysia CEO Ahmad Hadri Haris said that under the agreement with Tesla Motors, GreenTech Malaysia cannot sell the cars for a period of two years, but GLCs interested in purchasing the cars will be able do so once the 24-month timeframe has expired, which is also when the leasing agreement period per vehicle comes to an end. Leasing costs bandied back then was said to be in the region of around RM6,000 per month.

Originally, GreenTech Malaysia said it planned to bring in 110 cars for the leasing programme, a mix of the S 85 and Model S 70D all-wheel drive variant, the larger proportion of cars being made up of the latter. The latest is that this number may not be capped at that, depending on demand, and some aspects of the programme itself may be revised, the primary one regarding the possibility of individual customisation of the cars.

Next, a rundown of the Malaysian S 85’s specs, as mentioned in our initial report. The base 362 hp variant is equipped with an 85 kWh battery, which offers up to 426 km of travel on a single charge. The S 85 will come with a single 10 kW charger, a mobile connector with a 240 volt outlet as well as a SAE J1772 public charging adaptor as standard.

A quick aside on the road tax for the car, which turns out is a staggering RM5 per year. No idea how this rate was achieved, or for that matter the manner of conversion by the JPJ to that (the electric powertrain is apparently the equivalent of a conventional mill with a 5,792 cc displacement).

The two cars are specified with Smart Air Suspension, Premium Interior and Lighting, Autopilot Convenience features and even a SubZero Weather Package, the latter an extension brought about by the specification of the optional executive seats, which revises the rear bench to a twin-occupant-only row, on the two cars. The two cars will be the only Malaysian-spec Teslas to feature these exec seats, as the automaker has dropped the option for the model.

Additionally, there’s Autopilot Convenience, the package coming with traffic-aware cruise control, lane keeping with automatic steering, self-parking and automatic high/low beam headlights. Safety kit, meanwhile, includes eight airbags (head, knee and pelvis airbags in the front, plus two side curtain airbags), parking sensors, blind spot warning, lane departure warning and automatic emergency braking.

Tesla Model S 85 drive-50

Back in October, the quick spin in the confines of the GreenTech Malaysia carpark hadn’t offered too much from a performance point of view, but there were many micro observations, many of which were reinforced on the road-going drive, which covered a total distance of 111.8 km from the GreenTech office in Bangi to PJ and back via a mix of routing.

Some relevant numbers – at the start of the drive, the car’s trip computer listed a 436 km estimated range based on the almost fully-charged battery, and by the time the charger went back on at the GreenTech office the available range reading was 273 km. Earlier, with 71 km done, this had read 334 km of available range.

In all, the accuracy in calculated available range in relation to actual mileage deviated by around 40%, but there were many long-ish stops made during the route, and the last hour consisted mainly of stationary placement and low-speed movement to take photos of the Midnight Silver example (the other car is a red multi-coat unit). It’d be interesting to see how wide that difference is in regular everyday use, but 400 km per charge sounds like an attainable figure.

For much of the drive, the S 85 was driven quite gently, the approach taken to viewing it as a daily driver, which was hard given the rather addictive accelerative qualities of the car. The Tesla is fast, and it doesn’t feel sluggish propelling off, even at conventional in-gear mid-level speeds. Still, much of the drive observed speed limits right across all state and national roads.

The approach for the day saw total energy consumed being 23.2 kWh, with an average energy consumption of 208 Wh for every km – this dropped the energy consumption numbers from the previous running averages, which I was told had a more liberal view of the accelerator pedal. Floor it consistently, and that battery isn’t going to give you anywhere near 400 km of travel, but poor mileage will likely be the case when new lessors get their cars, until sanity eventually prevails.

With regard to ride and its quietness, the compliance and level of comfort offered by the SAS system is noteworthy – it’s plush without being overtly soft, and body control is good. Likewise, the NVH levels, winsome, especially cruising on expressway runs.

Out on the road, the steering feels responsive enough, though perhaps not as communicative as that suggested initially during the first preview, lacking feel off-centre. Still, no complaints about the speed and the car’s reaction to directional input. Front seat comfort levels continue where it left off previously, with no trace of fatigue being noted over the four-plus hours of drive time.

In-cabin functionality – from the driver’s seat perspective – of switchgear and displays follow on that noted during the initial session. The main instrument display is a winner to the eyes, and the 17-inch central touchscreen continues to dazzle, though it felt a bit too bright when the car was taken into a basement carpark, lending to the question if it would be in daily use at night, even with night mode. Otherwise, operation is intuitive, though like before, a larger font for the adjustment parameters wouldn’t go amiss.

The two cars come without a central storage console, which isn’t really an issue – the open space binnacle between the seats allows you to put just about everything that you tote along, even handbags for the ladies.

As for fit and finish, the trim and material to areas of direct sight is – as noted previously – good, with strong contact point tactility, though some elements in other areas feel less polished. In the end, it’s a mixed bag presentation-wise; offerings from the major players have arguably better overall refinement.

The rear exec seats, meanwhile, continue to disappoint, more so under extended scrutiny. Ingress and egress aspects are decent enough, and there’s plenty of knee room (in this regard, it’s more than the measure of a F10 BMW 5er or a W212 Mercedes E-Class), but the lack of headroom when sitting upright (or properly, if you will) shunts perception towards the claustrophobic. Slumping down in the seat solves this to a degree, but introduces a severe lack of lumbar support, which brings about its own set of problems.

The Tesla’s raised floor height in relation to the seat level also presents occupants with another issue – seated as such, the knees are raised quite high, so there’s practically no thigh support. All this, not only if you’re tall – a number of people of varying height was asked to get into the rear seat and all faced the same problem, save shorter folk (read ‘five-footer’ tops).

Given that many prospective lessors will be sitting at the back in this one (and be much taller than five feet, presumably), the level of contention here is high. Thankfully, the exec seats won’t feature in the cars that will be coming in, so hopefully the normal seat bench should fare much better in use. At the very least, it’ll offer one more person to be shuttled in the rear in relative comfort.

The flawed scope of the executive rear seating and some iffy elements of cabin material presentation are about the only two niggles in an otherwise well-thought out interpretation of electric mobility, at least upon first view.

Indeed, the Tesla Model S 85 has many positives going for it – the tech under that skin undoubtedly leads the way, but its turn of speed and the highly workable operating range also makes for the allure. In urban use, 400 km should be an achievable distance per charge, good enough for at least three days of use for an average driver in the city, and a run up to Penang without having to recharge looks downright doable – the 240 volt mobile charger (and a friendly three-pin wall socket) takes care of the return leg.

GreenTech is hoping that the programme involving it will not just create a better awareness of EVs but also help pave the way for the return of tax exemptions for electric cars somewhere in the not-too-distant future – indicatively, an S 85 will go for more than RM600k with tax, and well under RM400k with exemptions, moot as the discussion on pricing is where the general public is concerned.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• oilo benzina on Dec 27, 2015 at 7:52 pm

Should have driven it harder. Bila dapat Tesla, test lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • 208Wh per KM. 2000 KM travel (per month) needs 416 kWh. If TNB charge 0.75 per kWh, still need RM312 for transport. Is more expensive than driving a normal car. TNB some more DRAMATICALLY raises tariffs despite energy prices have fell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
      • hey john i calculated the kWh to the exact price, and its RM 130.93 per month for 2000km super cheap LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
        • RBA john coming out with disinformation campaign again. Just to make pipu angry against Gov. Unfortunately for him, there are still a few smart Malaysians who can count.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Sorry for your mom for have created your small tiny mind.

First, TNB increasing tariffs in Jan 2016 and time they need DONATION.
            Second, your electricity at home just for charging car? I DON’T THINK SO.
            Third, not for the POOR, so majority of those can afford Tesla, current monthly electricity has to be above 500 kWh already.
            Forth, factor in the car + possible future RISE, calculate again please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
      • 5yt6tiut7 on Dec 28, 2015 at 1:56 pm

made research, 416 kWh=RM130.93 for 2 THOUSAND kilometer, extremely cheap leh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
        • Failed economist on Dec 29, 2015 at 10:03 am

People stay in condo can’t do it at home. And charging station will be higher than standard commercial rate to make a profit.

• John, too bad your “big” mind cannot produce decent grammar. Normal “tiny” minded people shouldnt have to deal with your arrogant attitude. Piss off.

• Bobby on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:36 pm

My 1.2 polo costs average 300 per month, I still think Tesla is cheaper considering the power that can easily take our a Porsche.

• AJD9897 on Dec 27, 2015 at 8:04 pm

Murah betul roadtax…rm5 je

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • AJU5777 on Dec 28, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Make sense because electric motor is technically 0cc displacement?

• Finally something that beats Malaysia super stupid roadtax system.

• Isnt it the same if its by engine emission like in 1st world country? That means all their roadtax system is oso super stupid cuz now tesla can undercut them.

• MusTanG on Dec 28, 2015 at 5:36 pm

ya. Don’t forget to check out the insurance while you’re at it.

• Beautiful car with beautiful technology and forward-looking concept. Anybody who’s a technophile with the werewithal to afford a luxury D segment sedan should buy one once it’s available here.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Dec 27, 2015 at 11:14 pm

Still remember tesla coil from command and conquer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • nabill (Member) on Dec 28, 2015 at 10:06 am

And i still play it…it never gets old!

• Tan Yee Hou on Dec 29, 2015 at 12:39 am

How does one start/join a multi-player game?

I’m playing RA2, Malaysian version.

• OMG…A Tesla car forum become C&C or Red Alert strategy game forum….I love this war games.Play multiplayers…lagi best man

• sudonano (Member) on Dec 28, 2015 at 12:26 am

Anthony is once again on the money here.

I personally got a chance to drive the Model S abroad as part of a Tesla experience session, in the same exact spec as these cars. For an American car, body control is exemplary, and the suspension is very well sorted out. The air suspension is very smart and raises when it knows some locations need more ground clearance, but don’t think it’s for comfort, it feels more like car with standard magnetic suspension/adaptive suspension (read BMW F10 EDC suspension tune) than a car with an S class like AirMatic suspension.

The whole driving experience feels so normal, yet so different in terms of power delivery. Sure, getting into a fossil fuel car after a ride in the Tesla is like going back in time, however, the lack of sound is a bit of an oddity. You start realising tyre noise, outside noise and the likes. Sure it is not much but you are more conscious to those noises. Then comes the power delivery itself, with the exception of some very nice engines (i.e. the 3.0 V6 S engine by Porsche, or the 3.0 V6 by Maserati for the Ghibli), there’s no other car in this price range of about 500-600k with taxes that gives that much shove and that big of a smile as the Model S. There is a noticeable hesitation on slopes however for the creep, you kinda need to tap the accelerator a bit to kick it out of the creep “hang”.

But for me, the overall build quality is still not up to mark. My car had about 1500 kms and was maintained by Tesla, barely months old, yet there was wear on the seats, and the general finish wasn’t as good as say a Mercedes E class, Audi A6 or BMW 5 series. The handles feel very cheap and while they look cool, in practice, don’t have much depth when you pull them to unlock the door. And even the sounds of the car (closing doors etc), don’t have that deep Germanic thud, it doesn’t have the bank vault feel.

Oh and the best (or rather worst) mess up is the rear seats. With the floor raised, you end up with your knees up in the sky, and that makes it uncomfortable. And the best is unlike on all the Germans, you can’t slip your feet under the front seats!

It is good, but not great. I’d probably wait to see Porsche’s Mission E come true in 2-3 years, as by then we’d probably see the Model S Mark2 come out, and that is when the games really begin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • CarmenTung on Dec 28, 2015 at 7:22 am

Well the car is made lightweight possible that’s why none of that germanic thud thingy confered…else don’t expect it gonna achieved over 300km marks range.

• The vault-like thud sound isn’t necessitated by more steel material nor weight built into the car chassis and /or door. Some car manufacturers, i.e., Audi and Mercedes have door acoustic development team which create their signature sound by optimizing the acoustic design of door structure, seal and latch. Having said that, not all luxury carmakers think such feature is a pre-requisite.

• Haris on Dec 28, 2015 at 1:02 am

Its cost 7000 USD in Mexico

• Aero (Member) on Dec 28, 2015 at 1:38 am

Great read, nice to finally see a local review for the Model S. I dare say, is this the very first autonomous car to grace our roads ? The Autopilot Convenience is supposed to be hands free right ? Maybe some high-spec Mercedes-Benzes and BMWs here have similar systems, I’m not sure. And the RM5 road tax is unreal ! haha Especially when you know you’re getting a car that’s faster (in a straight line at least) than many sports cars today.

As with all these EVs, I am sceptical as to whether they’re relevant to our market or not. I have not seen a single Nissan LEAF here… ever. Malaysia is actually one of the worst offenders in car exhaust emissions per capita (UAE is the worst). Still, we’re a developing country, we have more pressing matters to address, and besides, whatever we achieve in environmental preservation is irrelevant. Ultimately, it boils down to how well highly populated countries like China and India can limit their carbon emissions. Even if all 30 million Malaysians buy Nissan LEAFs, we still can’t save the world. Malaysians make up a tiny 0.4% of the world’s population, compared China (18.8%), India (17.6%) and the U.S. (4.4%).

• Gunther on Dec 28, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Smart move by tesla targeting the policy makers

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 28, 2015 at 2:28 pm

Tesla had nth to do with this arrangement as they already made it a point that they aren’t opening shop here in Bolehland for reasons known to everyone living here. Unless the government is more transparent in the actions and are serious about setting up charging stations nationwide and giving rebates to people buying EVs like how Norway does it. We can only dream of owning one here.

• If Gov spend taxpayer moni to setup charging stations and oso gip tax rebates/reduce import duties for these cars only to be enjoyed by the few and rich, do you think Party Hard politikus wun jump and harangue this idea?

• Luqman on Dec 28, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Serious question: How much do I pay if I want to import one to Malaysia? Can I directly purchase from Tesla HK?

• when it reach Malaysia it will become ‘tin kosong’ and give you 2 airbags

• DGodFather on Dec 28, 2015 at 7:28 pm

Hm..soon to be RM’s daily ride to shopping centers kot..save fuel..shop more..hahaha

• Nice write up.. just please correct the leasing thingy… it is lessor (giving lease) and lessee (the one leasing)

Not ‘leasers’as u wrote.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 29, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Haha, yes, absolutely write (!). Pardon the error, need to lease more to know the terms. Corrected.

• syahrul on Dec 29, 2015 at 12:39 am

Really need this car in malaysia road!

• Mazda on Dec 29, 2015 at 10:31 am

May I know where’s Sam Loo

• aiman on Jan 12, 2016 at 5:51 pm

can you review tesla model s or model 3

• Anonymous on Jan 25, 2016 at 10:58 pm

RM5 or RM5K for the road tax?

• Aiman on Sep 09, 2016 at 4:28 pm

“Tesla Motors, GreenTech Malaysia cannot sell the cars for a period of two years, but GLCs interested in purchasing the cars will be able do so once the 24-month timeframe has expired” what does this mean?