GALLERY: Tesla Model S 85 – first impressions

Tesla Model S Malaysia-1

An update on the Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (GreenTech Malaysia) Tesla vehicle programme, which was first announced in May. In early October, it was reported that the organisation had taken delivery of its first two vehicles from Tesla Hong Kong, and that the cars were inbound.

They’ve since arrived, and should be road-going ready very soon – the cars are currently in GreenTech Malaysia’s office in Bangi, awaiting registration. Earlier today, we were given an exclusive preview of the vehicles, both rear-wheel drive Model S 85 versions – aside from the gallery you see here, there was also a chance to get an initial feel of the S 85.

There’s really not much to report on that front, given that it was all done in limited speed and fashion around the confines of the GreenTech Malaysia carpark, but some observations, nonetheless. Performance-wise, there’s plenty of promise – the steering feels responsive and communicative, and low-end acceleration is adequately peppy, despite 60 km/h being the fastest the car could get to before tarmac ran out.

In-cabin functionality – from the driver’s seat perspective – is very decent, though the familiar Mercedes-Benz switchgear (the entire stalk set on the steering column, gearshift included, and window control panel on the door card) comes across as a visually strange affair given they’re not on a Merc. The unmissable 17-inch central touchscreen offers plenty of acreage and is the visual standout in that cockpit; operation is easy and intuitive, though fonts for the adjustment parameters could arguably be a tad larger for better legibility.

Some observations about the optional executive seats, which revises the rear bench to a twin-occupant-only row, on the two cars. GreenTech says that these cars will be the only Malaysian-spec Teslas to feature them, as the automaker doesn’t provide the option for the model any more.

The seating offers good support, but headroom is a pinch if you sit upright as intended; my head was just about touching the roof lining, with barely enough space to fit a finger – if you’re above 1.8 metres tall, things may not sound like fun over a long haul.

Some notes about the material and trim – both Midnight Silver and Red multi-coat examples feature black leather seats and Piano Black decor accents, but the Alcantara headliner differs. On the Red car, it’s black, while that on the Midnight Silver unit is white. The latter offers a better spatial perception of the cabin, especially from the rear seat perspective.

The level of plastics quality and trim finishing is a bit of a mix – fit is generally good, and tactility at contact points is neat to the touch (and sight), but in less key areas the presentation can look less refined. A good example is the panel housing the front 12V socket and twin USB ports; it feels rather bare and diddly-looking.

Aside from the doors, the car-shaped remote allows access to boot and front bonnet operation – press the rear ‘boot’ area on the remote twice and the car’s powered boot lid opens, to close, press it twice again. The bonnet isn’t powered, but the remote can unlatch it. It’s also able to pop open the charging port panel, but I never quite managed to find that access button on the remote despite my best efforts.

More on the car’s performance when a comprehensive on-road test is possible, but a quick recap on the S 85’s specs, which were reported in our earlier post. The base 362 hp variant is equipped with an 85 kWh battery, which offers up to 426 km of travel on a single charge. As standard, it comes with a single 10 kW charger, a mobile connector with a 240 volt outlet as well as a SAE J1772 public charging adaptor.

The two cars are specified with Smart Air Suspension, Premium Interior and Lighting, Autopilot Convenience features and even a SubZero Weather Package – the latter may sound rather nonsensical given the tropical conditions here, but the inclusion of the exec seats means it’s on, for the two items can’t be separated.

Elsewhere, Autopilot Convenience brings along with it traffic-aware cruise control, lane keeping with automatic steering, self-parking and automatic high/low beam headlights. Safety kit, meanwhile, includes eight airbags (head, knee and pelvis airbags in the front, plus two side curtain airbags), parking sensors, blind spot warning, lane departure warning and automatic emergency braking.

As for the programme, the vehicles can only be obtained via the organisation – which operates under the ambit of the Ministry of Energy, Green Technology and Water (KeTTHA) – through a leasing scheme. The Teslas will be offered on a two-year leasing period to government-linked companies (GLC); as mentioned before, the general public won’t be able to get their hands on one.

The thought behind the initiative is to allow influential parties the means to better understand the merits of electric vehicles (EVs) by sampling the technology for themselves. The programme also falls in line with GreenTech Malaysia’s push to expand the EV scope in the country through its Electric Mobility Blueprint.

The leasing programme is sanctioned by Tesla Motors, which is not keen to have its cars sold in direct fashion in Malaysia – the automaker is agreeable to the running of the initiative on the understanding that the cars are to be used for increasing awareness of EVs and their tech amongst policy makers.

GreenTech Malaysia is set to eventually bring in 110 cars for the leasing programme, and these will be a mix of the 329 hp Model 70D all-wheel drive variant, which has an operating range of 386 km, and the Model S 85. The larger proportion of cars will be made up of the 70D.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• That moment when you realize that this Model S is more expensive than a Panamera 4 & a CLS550 AMG in the States

• tokmoh. on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:30 am

Running cost is way cheaper than those gas guzzling exotics, plus it’s also about making a statement you’re being green.

Hail Elon Musk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Proton Masih Tipu Lagi? on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:26 am

Bodoh our Proton. Already Tesla giving free patents and designs. All R and D is free for Proton. Proton just has to build. That also they don’t know.

But come out with Bogus Prototype just to prove to the Gomen that they need to suck more billions of our money to pretend to do research and development of EV car. But like I said it is free from Tesla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • heybadigol (Member) on Oct 21, 2015 at 11:08 pm

How is the road tax calculated for such a car here? And how many charging stations are around Klang Valley to recharge the batteries? I’ve seen the BMW i8 around here, but that car also has a petrol engine, so the risk of running out of juice is a bit lower. The Model S has no such engine.

• For fully electric car, like the Nissan Leaf & Mitsubishi i Miev, the roadtax is the minimum amount that can be charged. If I’m not mistaken it’s RM20

• when import car reach Malaysia everything become tin kosong.

• And earlier today paultan reported about reliability of Tesla Model S..
    http://paultan.org/2015/10/21/tesla-model-s-stripped-of-consumer-reports-recommendation-plagued-with-reliability-issues/
    Is S85 affected?

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:27 am

Can’t get this car via official means here in Bolehland so everyone can just drool at it. It’s a pity I can add pictures in my replies here as I’ve had the opportunity to get up close and personal and had a Q&A session with a Tesla engineer about the car when I was in Japan. Over there Tesla has an agreement with Toyota whereby Toyota will help them sell the cars over there since I was actually inside the Toyota Mega Web with Tesla. Ironic isn’t it?

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:28 am

Can’t add pictures I mean…no way to edit my posts either might I add haha

• it has been a long time i have not seen car boot opening like this..

the way the car boot is opened.
    is like Wira Aeroback.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:02 am

Audi A5 and A7 sportback does the same boot opening. They are quite frequently spotted on KL roads. Pay attention when you see one.

• marlboro dude on Oct 22, 2015 at 3:41 am

I’ve calculated roughly that this car gonna cost at least RM750k. I don’t see how people who can spend so much money on hybrids or EVs wanted to save on fuel. Just don’t make any sense at all. Just get yourself a decent car at RM500k and spend another RM250k on petrol. Plus you gonna get better RV if you wanna sell it as compared to any hybrids or EVs.

• Happy birthday on Oct 22, 2015 at 6:38 am

People dont buy these things just to save on fuel anymore. Its about cutting emissions and also enjoying the cool factor (when you’re rich you gotta show it, for some)

• oklar on Oct 22, 2015 at 12:25 pm

Got a chance to drive this. And believe me or not, it’s not for the sake of showing off, at all

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 4:23 am

Anthony, how do you find the rear seats with the exec seating package? When I went to view the Model S with the standard rear seats, I noticed the raised floor caused my knees to stick up, so it wasn’t that comfortable compared to a regular large German sedan…

Else the powertrain on these are really impressive. Have driven the 85 model (RWD), and boy is the power in this thing, electrifying (pun intended). Though I wouldn’t say the Tesla is a luxury car, there are some fit and finish inconsistencies in the cabin (not isolated to one unit), that Mercedes, Audi and BMW usually get it right – more so Porsche. It doesn’t have that bank vault feeling IMO like a Porsche Panamera for example.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:49 am

Can tell by the pix of the lady sitting in the rear seats that her knees is literally jutting up from the seats & not being supported by anything. Well, the stilettos might be a factor, but she has loads of headroom (and this is a car with a sloping roofline). Which means the seats are set very low. Which is good for kids (but weirdly, these are supposed to be executive seats).

Surprised that Anthony mentioned about the limited headroom up front. Most of the reviews i’ve seen on Youtube never mentioned headroom to be a problem. Maybe cos they were too busy gushing over how cool it looks, and that instant & addictive torque delivery, to actually notice the headroom.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 12:09 pm

heybadigol, the limited headroom mention is with regards to the rear seats, based on my own observations – you’re right that the photo offers the view of decent headroom clearance, but taller occupants are going to face issues. As mentioned in my reply to sudonano, there’s very little thigh support given the way things are presented.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 12:27 pm

I’m not surprised with the lack of headroom in front.

When I drove it, I found it odd that when you raise the driver’s seat up to the medium – high side (I’m not that tall), it is pretty close to the roof, and at maximum height, the top of the seat has about 2-3 inches maximum to the roof.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 12:02 pm

sudonano, the rear seats with the exec seating package do well enough in terms of cushioning the torso, but the headroom clearance isn’t all that hot if you’re seated properly. And yes, as noted, the floor does mean that there’s much in the way of thigh support. I didn’t spend more than a couple of mins sitting in it, so can’t say how comfort levels will be over a longer run.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 12:30 pm

Ah I see, then it seems to be the same as the standard seats. I found the torso support on the standard ones really good too, class competitive, but the thigh support was a real surprise for me.

We had a nice test drive with it, so over a period of 20 mins to half hour, my taller friend (6 feet +/- ) found it pretty tight at the back, especially thigh support. The worst bit is you can’t even slip your feet under the front seats, so it makes it worse.

• arteu on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:20 am

i wonder how soon would lau yatt stock screen protectors for that beautiful screen…

• Earthling on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:08 am

As much as I love Tesla, I don’t think Malaysians can enjoy even the upcoming cheapest model at a price lower than RM150k.

• Faizul on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:23 am

I had sat once before when i am in netherland , it really fast due to it electric motor but the sitting is so low .The goverment there subsidise electric car to promote it and those tesla ultracharger are very common sight there.If you had a chance to schipol airport amsterdam there a fleet tesla model s taxi .

• Àlahai (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:36 am

I have seen 1 tesla in Kuching sarawak. I dont know who own it.. anybody know?

• Drove once, from 0-100 is in no time, very fast, but 100-200 is a bit slow…..but still considered fast in its class. Biggest problem is the aircond, a Wira aircond will do much better than a Tesla’s

• Billy The Fish on Oct 22, 2015 at 10:09 am

What’s the point of this programme? Is it to give free cars to rich people?

• Haha.. I support your point. What is the objectives of this program? Wasting public fund just to push through awareness on EV among the rich?

• Please do read the article in full before you blindly bash. Its to give our decisionmakers a taste and feel of EV, to convince them on the viability of this tech, and to get their support in the eventuality that Gov becomes more involved with EV (ie Gov run charging stations, incentives for EV cars, R&D funds,etc).

• In matter of fact, Gov already involved in EV way back many years ago.. Go to see yourself in Putrajaya. You may want to count how many charging stations were there as well.. Then only you talk Gov involvement in EV.. This is not blindly bashing. I am fully support EV. But spending $$$ just to get Tesla as awareness purpose is certainly a NO go for me. There are many other EV model which is much2x cheaper than this.. FYI, Gov ppls are not stupid.. They had experience on this technology way back ago. The EV Blueprint is also actually Gov initiative. MGTC is paid using Gov $$$ to carried the blueprint.. So, pls talk with fact. If you don’t know, pls dont talk nonsense.

• Patrick Tiong on Oct 22, 2015 at 10:14 am

How Much is it $$$$

• Patrick Tiong on Oct 22, 2015 at 10:16 am

How Much the $$$

• Saw one yesterday on the oncoming lane at NKVE, caught it on my helmet cam but there was no front plate. The one I saw was grey so it wasn’t either of these two. http://paultan.org/2015/08/21/spyshots-tesla-model-s-spotted-in-malaysia-again/
    http://paultan.org/2014/11/20/tesla-model-s-malaysia/

• flipper2uman (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 12:11 pm

I had the opportunity to test drive this car during my recent trip to HK both as a driver and a passenger. I would say after the test, electric cars are the way of the future. Let me give you a short break down of the car. The thought process going in to building this car has been done in a very systematic and logical manner. What ever you need to control in and out of the car can be operated on the touch screen instrument panel in the front (about 21 in vertical mounted).

The drive was very exciting. I had the opportunity to test the P85D with 5 occupants in the car. The car displayed very little body roll despite being a sedan and having 5 occupants in the car. The steering was very responsive.

The acceleration part was so cool. The car has 2 acceleration mode , one Sport and the other Insane. I tried flooring the car when the lights turned green and to my delight the car accelerated forward reaching 100km in 3.5sec or so. The great thing about this car is you do not feel that there is any torque steer and you do not feel any gear delay starting from a dead stop. The car just moves and glides.

The basic model is around HKD 750k but after you add all the add-ons, it will cost you easily HKD 1.2 million.

Now I cannot wait for the Model X to come out. It would be weird for a SUV like car to accelerate from 0-100kmh in 3.5 secs.

• Might As Well Lah on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:12 pm

Tesla engineers when designing the in-car entertainment unit’s conversations;

Mr.A: It seems that everyone is replacing the head unit with a tablet huh?
    Mr.B: I wonder if we can do something different?
    Mr.A: How about we remove it completely and leave it all on the steering wheels?
    Mr.B: Nah, too much hassle…
    Mr.A: How about we make a new ergonomic control for the driver so they can control the entire unit with just one hand?
    Mr.B: Nah. too complicated
    Mr.A: How about we just follow what others are doing?
    Mr.B: You know, I’ve got a brilliant idea! Lets make it twice the size larger!
    Mr.A: What about the buttons?
    Mr.B: Who need buttons anyway…

Few years down the road in a Tesla service center

S.O.: You crash your car again?
    Customer: I was trying the turn the air-conditioner colder but I couldn’t see or feel the buttons on the panel and crashed into the ditch while I was looking at the screen…

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Dayum, the P85D is stupid fast. I’ve driven one (owned by my friend.)
    And the Model S P85D has a 99,9999cc displacement in Forza Horizon 2.