VIDEO: Kid sparks a lighter inside a car while it is being refuelled, setting the entire cabin ablaze

An incident that occurred at a petrol station in Kelantan has served as a stark reminder that one should take every precaution while refuelling a vehicle.

In the incident, which took place at a station in Kuala Krai, a fire broke out inside a car during refuelling – apparently, a young boy sparked a lighter in the cabin, igniting the fumes that were present. As the CCTV footage shows, it didn’t look pretty. The boy is said to have been admitted to hospital for treatment, but there was no mention of his condition.

Here's what NOT to do when you're at a fuel station…

Posted by Paul Tan's Automotive News on Thursday, February 4, 2016

We’ve previously said that care and caution needs to be exercised while refuelling a vehicle. In an earlier post this year, we ran a public service announcement video that highlighted the do’s and don’ts when refuelling at a petrol station.

Fuel is obviously flammable. In fact, it’s not just the fuel itself; even the fumes are flammable, as the incident in Kuala Krai showed. The last thing you want is to ignite it. So, make sure the lighters are tucked away, and remember to keep those engines switched off.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Wiwiwiwiw on Jun 24, 2016 at 4:20 pm

The pick up driver damn funny, so cool like that then suddenly… hoeee my gots hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • Don’t play-play inside Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Same L00 on Jun 27, 2016 at 3:19 pm

Why the wira driver so stupid opening the car door to let the gas vapor blow inside the car????
        From the car brand you see the driver mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • Kunta Kinte on Jun 24, 2016 at 7:00 pm

This is the problem with the kampung people up north especially Kedah and Kelantan. They are too busy producing 5 to 10 kids, they got no time to educate themselves or their children on the safety of going into the petrol station.

They don’t want to progress. I have seen Kelantanese even have lighted cigarette on his dashboard because he does not want to estinguish the rokok whilst filling up petrol.

The kampung people have got lots to learn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 19
      • Korean Fan on Jun 26, 2016 at 5:42 am

You speak like you are so urbanize. Kampung people will look at you and say “This is the problem with people who think they are urbanite. They are too scared of producing kid. Salary more than 10k but only have 1 or 2 kid. They thought this is call progress. They buy big car and big house, but they are empty. Nanti tua tua, no one take care, they live in rumah orang tua.”.

• Basheer on Jun 26, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Same attitude with Penang drivers like the guy who wrecked the tire clamp in Thailand to escape not paying the fine. Entitled mentality.

• darwinkatmana on Jun 25, 2016 at 12:15 am

and the DARWIN awards goes to……

• OMG…BARBECUE IN CAR…fire fire…

• Bernard on Jun 24, 2016 at 4:21 pm

Msians will be msians .

Your public service announcement will be heeded of course , by well let’s see ……2 people.

Anyway thank you for trying:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Mo Ballstein on Jun 24, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Lack of education and common cow sense..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • The guy didnt forget, he purposely leave the wife there so he can have a peace of mind attacking the touge with full tank of RON97.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 24, 2016 at 4:31 pm

She managed to grab the kid from inside the car. He appears to be able to walk. Hope there was nobody else inside. The pickup driver next to them, despite his haste, was kind enough to put the pump back into its holder, rather than dropping it on the floor or just driving off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Henry on Jun 24, 2016 at 4:32 pm

The real danger comes from the fumes and not the petrol itself. Don’t play play.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jun 24, 2016 at 4:40 pm

Wira tomyam coldest aircond in the world can extinguish the fire one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
  • Kent Lim on Jun 24, 2016 at 4:41 pm

Thank you Anthony & Paul for this article, hope it will create awareness for the wider community. And hope the kid will recover in due course.

• Tell kids dun play with fire and dun pandai pandai shift gears. Otherwise its early afterlife for them.

• Ben Yap on Jun 24, 2016 at 4:53 pm

a lot of stupid malaysians don’t off their engine when refueling.

don’t know where the heck they keep their brains.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 24, 2016 at 5:02 pm

lol pickup driver wants to run away but not ready to sacrifice his truck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Boon Tat on Jun 24, 2016 at 8:06 pm

So you are willing to sacrifice your car Semi-Value? That guy was not only saving his truck but avoiding a bigger explosion if the fire got out of control lah.

• robert mugabe on Jun 24, 2016 at 5:11 pm

Stupidity has no limits
    Another success story of Malaysian education system

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • Parents never teach kids, u can blame Gov pulak? Topkek betui. Why not oso blame parents nenek moyang for gip birth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • heckler on Jun 25, 2016 at 11:00 am

to be fair, its nothing to do with the education system, its just pure ignorance, always have the mindset that such thing will never happen to me.
      I have seen a goreng pisang seller park right outside the petrol station happily doing business.

• trollmaster3000 on Jun 27, 2016 at 4:57 am

it’s the fault of today’s young parents who like to lepas tangan and just hope for the best.. putting responsibilities on others to take care and teach their kids.. while they are glued to their phones catching up on the latest on social media..

• Scarface on Jun 24, 2016 at 5:11 pm

Practice closing the car doors with all windows up during refueling. Beside precautionary step of someone sneaking into the car, petrol fume will linger and benzene is carcinogenic. Notice the car door next to the fuel filler is opened in the video?

• Parenting gold

• George Abdul on Jun 24, 2016 at 5:37 pm

Please educated the children about not USING fire in danger zone… WHY the parents tak faham faham about safety???

• Leafable on Jun 24, 2016 at 5:53 pm

Electric car will eliminate this issue. Because it don’t need flammable substance to refuel.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 24, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Burn baby, burn

• -BigBalls- on Jun 24, 2016 at 6:09 pm

Malaysians are ignorant of safety, always put others life at risk

things like pumping petrol while car engine is still on, smoking in front of the kiosk, speaking on the phone are all too common here..

hello ignorant malaysians, u want to die, die far far la, dont drag others with u, u want to pump petrol while engine is still turned on, do it in the middle of the night when nobody is around, u can go meet ur maker peacefully without disturbing others

-BigBallss-

• If MY pipu actually think about safety, they will never ever buy a toyota ever again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • If MY pipu actually think about safety, they will also never ever buy a proton ever again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Never open any of the door on the side facing the pump when it is in operation. Petrol fumes drift in that way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Stubborn Rakyat think they are lucky on Jun 24, 2016 at 11:27 pm

Never open door and window at all. The “hot” temperature in the car will not kill you for just a few minutes while the fire will! Please….. why all these incidents happen again and again? Why so many people just think of a short time convenient and never bother about safety. Everytime only regret when bad things happen to themselves.
      Haiz. …..

• Gong Gong Ka on Jun 24, 2016 at 7:19 pm

I didn’t know petrol station serves “BBQ”?

I bet that crispy-skin kid will have something to remember esp. during Hari Raya now…

• My question is why does that kid have access to a lighter? I want to say that the parents are stupid also it would be an understatement.

• Dingle on Jun 24, 2016 at 8:11 pm

Why is the lighter accessible by the kid. Even in a normal situation the kid can accidentally burn himself if he lights up his tshirt or something. No need for petrol. Parent need to think with their brains. Stupid people should use condoms.

• Jobless on Jun 24, 2016 at 9:13 pm

Sometimes when Fuel ttank nearly empty the cap pops and hisses once opened due to the intense afternoon heat, me always let the vapor off before pumping fuel

• Add A Comment on Jun 24, 2016 at 9:42 pm

Idiotic people will continue to be idiotic. Malaysian will never learned unless bad things happened to them. I still see idiot leave car engines running. Smoking at the “edge” of the petrol station while their car is refilling, as if that is safer…what the heck. I hate smokers…90% of them as inconsiderate, shameless, uncivilized, brainless, asahole…I can go on…

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• abang abeng on Jun 24, 2016 at 10:51 pm

Kuala Krai seems to be hogging the lime light for all the wrong reasons isn’t it? What is so “special” abt KKrai??? :(

• GTi-R on Jun 24, 2016 at 11:53 pm

Why he open the rear door facing the fuel nozzle? Very weird thing to do.

• ezralimm on Jun 25, 2016 at 1:12 am

Petrol is not flammable. It does not even burn when you put a match to it.

• Elektra on Jun 25, 2016 at 4:19 am

This is why we need electric vehicles

• Mambo Jumbo on Jun 25, 2016 at 1:40 pm

I’m sorry bro, that’s irrelevant.

• I don’t think that’s really justified. Ought to know electric due short circuitry or bad battery quality also can cause silence burning that even more dangerous that flaming fuel.

• cendol (Member) on Jun 25, 2016 at 10:11 am

Malaysians generally don’t care about this life.
    They care more about AFTER life.

• Redline on Jun 25, 2016 at 12:07 pm

Never open the car doors during refueling. Car seat fabric sometimes has static, especially if rubbed against certain types of clothes material. Add to the fume of petrol, that is how fire could start. Many Malaysians still do not know about this. Never open the car doors during refueling. And dont go in and out of car during refueling as well. Static can cause fire, and it is not from cellphone only.

• gave up proton edy on Jun 25, 2016 at 12:34 pm

The lesson to be learnt:

Don’t go out driving, or sitting next to stupid people. Stupid ppl will kill themselves, or may kill you too.

• Anonymous on Jun 25, 2016 at 7:46 pm

That kid is dumb. Hope he gets whacked by his father for playing with fire.

• Boboy on Jun 26, 2016 at 10:03 am

Why the young boy sparks a lighter in the first place? So young kids nowadays can play play with lighter like a toy ha? Why not give also cigarette, so that the boy can smoke and die early? Aiya. Parenting fail lah

• orang biasa on Jun 27, 2016 at 11:56 am

a lot parent didn’t let their kid sit at car seat or seat beat. That why kid can run every where in car. Sometime i saw kid sit in front of daddy (driver side) while driving! WTF with that parent?!?!

• ah bang ah beng on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:03 am

yea, OMG…driving with baby/infant on driver’s lap!!! safety-consciousness is sorely lacking in our society… it is horribly pervasive… authorities give safety campaigns lip-service only. P0(!$# issue summons for all the wrong reasons, to make money 4 u-no-hu only, JAYPEEJAY oso bz making money w VIP nbr plates for who-else…. so, Safety culture is a joke on Maharaja Lawak (so sick you actually start to cry… huhuhu) in Mesiableyland… society must wake-up to make the change… lets start with ourselves and our families, then when it catches on, it will spread like wild fire and God willing, all that is wrong in this wonderful Mesiableyland maybe can start to change for the better…