Penang takes action against OKU parking offenders – 243 violations recorded from January to May this year

SONY DSC

In April, the Penang Island City Council (MBPP) said it was planning to enforce the use of OKU parking lots on the island, saying that vehicles parked in such lots and not displaying a proper sticker would be subjected to a traffic fine.

Between January and May this year, it has taken action against 243 able-bodied drivers who parked their cars in designated parking lots for the disabled, The Star reports.

According to MBPP councillor Chris Lee Chun Kit, 220 drivers were issued traffic summonses of RM100 each, while nine had their vehicles towed away and 14 others had their vehicle’s wheel clamped. Those who had their cars towed away had to pay RM100 for towing charges, while owners who had their cars clamped had to fork out RM50 for the clamp to be removed.

The report added that authorities were now looking at standardising enforcement on those using parking spots meant for the disabled. “We take the issue seriously. The public can call us the moment they see car owners with-out ‘OKU’ stickers parked at the designated spots. We want to tow every car parked at the ‘OKU’ lots, but we have limited tow trucks,” Lee told reporters.

With effect from May, only those with disabled car stickers issued by the local councils and government departments are allowed to park at any of the 54 OKU parking lots on the island. In April, Lee said that a total of 689 OKU stickers had been issued, 152 to disabled drivers and 537 to their guardians.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• TheDuh on Jun 29, 2016 at 8:16 pm

Bagus! Well done and kudos to the administration.
    Teach these uneducated, uncivilised, inconsiderate barbarians that OKU is not for them.

• Only one they dun dare touch: PG1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 25
  • ismet ulam raja on Jun 29, 2016 at 11:22 pm

only stupid non OKU driver used OKU parking ,

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 30, 2016 at 9:05 am

In Semenanjung, so many Ministers park their cars in OKU spot. This has been going viral on social media. Somemore got big badge emblem “Meteri” on the car.

Please lah Menteri menteri, you all got drivers, ask your drivers to wait in the car by the side of the road and don’t use OKU place.

• Rina Lim on Jun 30, 2016 at 7:35 am

Those able body that park at OKU lots …. shame on you… Otak Kurang Upaya

• Ben Yap on Jun 30, 2016 at 9:45 am

OKU ppl should take uber and grab to free up those parking lots.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Deadpool on Jun 30, 2016 at 10:04 am

people that park at OKU, pretty sad if they are not physically disable, must be mentally disable. you ask them to park other places they scream at you, symptom of psycho. those psychos never admit they are psychos anyway, so they never put a disable sticker on their car.

• “Stupidity is not Disable” – Should use this for OKU parking signboard

• I don’t see any problem in parking at OKU when the parking space is limited. Why not utilise the free parking space? I always do this in KL especially during peak season like Raya. Only Dear Leader in Penang like to complain about this. Topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 24
  • Ramli-Bashori on Jun 30, 2016 at 10:44 am

what the problem park oku, we pay parking also, oku their problem, we pay money to park, we park anywhere we want, first come first served never heard of it? u dare clamp my car park oku, i sepak kepala u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
    • Deadpool on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:55 am

another psycho spotted. we don’t blame you for losing ur mind, please take ur medicines on time. the OKU space is mainly for the convenience of the OKU to get in and out the car you idiot. don’t blame if your car get scratches because of your own idiotic act not parking properly.

• kimochidesuneh on Jun 30, 2016 at 2:00 pm

yes! act like a OKU. be the OKU from today.

• John & Ramli , pls don’t show off your stupid , keep for your anak cucu , pls respect OKU people , you baru keluar from hutan kah

• Elchino on Jun 30, 2016 at 6:49 pm

I have an OKU friend whom I drives around regularly as he is not physically able to do so himself. I sometimes parked in an OKU car parking space to save him having to walk a longer distance. Although I have an OKU sticker on my windscreen, d guards still refuses to allow me to park in that space. Are the guards correct?

• Elchino on Jun 30, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Are there really many OKU in this country who can afford an OKU fitted vehicle & also drive themselves. Why not also allowed helpers who drive them to be allowed to park in OKU parking spaces but they must have an OKU sticker displayed on the windscreen

• Mr XYZ on Jul 01, 2016 at 8:59 am

The government should look into the differentiation between physical OKU and non-physical OKU to identify them self by looking at the sticker. Most of the physical and non-physical OKU people are using the same card holder with the same logo (The only different is a statement where stated what is his/her problem. And stupid enough Malaysian citizen did not understand what is the OKU meaning or the government did not really do their job to educate people. Propose to make 2 different logo where only the physical OKU are able to park within the space

• Mr XYZ on Jul 01, 2016 at 8:59 am

The government should look into the differentiation between physical OKU and non-physical OKU to identify them self by looking at the sticker. Most of the physical and non-physical OKU people are using the same card holder with the same logo. And stupid enough Malaysian citizen did not understand what is the OKU meaning or the government did not really do their job to educate people.