Penang to take action against OKU parking offenders

disabled

The Penang Island City Council (MBPP) is set to get tough on those who park indiscriminately in OKU parking lots. From May, only those with disabled car stickers issued by the local councils and government departments will be allowed to park at any of the 53 OKU parking lots on the island, The Star reports.

Vehicles parked in a OKU parking lot and not displaying a sticker will be slapped with a RM100 fine, said MBPP councillor Chris Lee Chun Kit. He said that those without a valid sticker – which is issued by the JPJ or local councils – should display their OKU identity card on their car’s dashboard.

Lee said that a total of 689 OKU stickers have been issued thus far, 152 to disabled drivers and 537 to their guardians. “There are fake stickers being sold in the market, but our enforcement team has been trained to spot them,” he added.

He explained that the move to enforce was necessary to send a clear message to the public that they should not be depriving those who need OKU parking spots by taking up the space. Lee said that the ratio of OKU parking spaces in Penang is only 7.69%, but in terms of accessibility the percentage is much less, due to abuse. He said that 51 compound fines have been issued from January until April this year.

Lee urged the guardians of disabled persons to park in a normal car park spot when they are not driving the OKU around so as to give way to others who need the parking space. “I also hope that all shopping complexes and private establishments will self-regulate and self-enforce the parking spaces for OKU, as it is outside our jurisdiction,” he added.

Do you think shopping complexes and private establishments should have stricter enforcement regarding the use – and abuse – of parking lots for the disabled? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• MeToo on Apr 21, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Thumbs up for this.

People are not takign this seriously enough. I always report able bodied inconsiderate parker who abused the OKU parking… but most of the time shopping complex security ignored me/dont give a damn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 21, 2016 at 4:06 pm

Good…not only oku parking but orso those who buy bungalow under market value…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 52
      • xxxxx on Apr 21, 2016 at 4:22 pm

Also those ministers’ mansion from rakyat money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 21, 2016 at 4:49 pm

Why penang people like that hor…kiasu lor…wt else…ultra some more…haiyaaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
  • In b4 PG1 alwiz park at OKU place. Oh wai… that is fire hydrant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • tokmoh. on Apr 21, 2016 at 4:36 pm

He should fire his driver, else he’s a hypocrite.

• I thought his macai Pua says that leader shud take responsibility of their downline actions? I mean, thats what he says about Najib, even though he got no hand in it. So… awkward

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • stasta on Apr 22, 2016 at 1:07 pm

nothing wrong with that. if need to use fire hydrant the driver can immediately move the car away.

• So based on ur logic, I guess a lorry driver wud see no wrong to ram ur car cuz its blocking the road hes using then.

• only rm100? should be rm1000..

• it’s a start i guess. maybe ask offender to do community service for 100 hour

• Vinnie on Apr 21, 2016 at 4:01 pm

I would suggest that their vehicle be clamped for 24hrs plus a fine and then be made to wait a few hours before a council officer unlocks the vehicle (a good reason to practice our malaysian efficiency).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • Try clamping PG1 and see. Whomever officer dare, tomolo lose job. And in Png, nobody can live on island w/o job cuz living there too expensive and hurt Png image. Will soon be shafted to mainland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Calvin Wong on Apr 22, 2016 at 9:39 am

pls tell me which stage can survive w/o a job? i damn like free food, free accommodation, free water, free electric, free petrol etc

• Thumbs up for this.

Private property owners esp hypermarkets should follow suit and include dedicated parking lots for families with small children. Those unrelated Otak-Kurang-Upaya drivers parked there should have their vehicles clamped.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 21, 2016 at 4:15 pm

Some malls are guarding the OKU spots but hypermarkets like Tesco or AEON often don’t give a damn who parks in those spots.

• azrai on Apr 21, 2016 at 4:34 pm

Orang Kuat Umno? OKU

• Fadzli Fauzi on Apr 21, 2016 at 6:35 pm

Instead of giving them an rm100 fine, why not we ‘make’ them into an OKU

• POS 1 on Apr 22, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Ever noticed cars with penang plates are usually driven by rude, entitled, arrogant and small people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Please establish a way that public can report the offenders’ car plate no to the authority directly as we spot this scum species.