Two-hour limit for metered parking in busy KL areas

Public-Parking-Lots

Starting from July 18, on-road, metered parking will now be limited to two hours in certain areas in Kuala Lumpur, The Sun reports. The limited time ruling will cover metered roadside parking in busy areas within the city centre such as Bukit Bintang, KLCC and Ampang.

The move is being taken to deter motorists from hogging parking spaces for long periods, Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor said. Aside from the two-hour cap, parking fees are also being increased for the duration.

“We will increase the parking fee to RM2 for the first hour and RM3 for the second hour. Anyone who surpasses the two-hour limit will find your cars clamped or towed; in fact we won’t even summon,” he told reporters.

dbkl parking tow bernama pix

He added that the move was also meant to encourage people to take public transportation when they come into the city. “This will also encourage people to park at designated parking centres and walk,” Tengku Adnan said.

He said that his ministry is still studying the implementation of the new scheme in Brickfields, but added that townships like Bangsar, Kepong, Hartamas will not be affected yet. He also said that Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) will be installing more electronic boards to show the number of available parking bay inside complexes and commercial buildings in the city.

What do you think of the move to impose a two-hour time limit for metered parking in the city centre – bane or boon for motorists? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I’d much rather you clamp down on illegallly parked cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Simple, just double park

• RebelScum on Jul 05, 2016 at 7:06 am

To encourage public transport. Does he even see the parking space in TBS, i waited for an hour just to get a spot.

• Susukotak on Jul 04, 2016 at 10:37 am

jika boleh share dulu kaedah nak tentukan had 2 jam tu. waktu implimentasi… jika boleh buat had 15 min di lokasi seperti dekat atm atau kedai 7-11 yg mana menjadi keperluan

• Susukotak on Jul 04, 2016 at 12:41 pm

and no more min charge 50cent. what ever i put in.. the machine should able to calculate the time

• WT Fuchhhh on Jul 04, 2016 at 7:57 pm

Dumb…dumb PT Readers…..what minister meant was, that there is a maximum 2hour limit each time you park. When 2hrs is up, you can top up for a further 2hours an so on. It does not mean, you have to drive your car away to find another parking when the first 2hours is up. This method forces office worker to walk down to their car and reload many times. Eventually they will give up , and start taking public transport……..Like that also dont know. …..Good job DBKL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
        • dumb pt reader on Jul 05, 2016 at 1:54 am

should be calling other people dumb when not 100% sure of the system, I believe they are trying to impose what cities like London and New York impose. 2 hours max and you MUST drive away to another parking area or else they will summon, clamp or tow. No topping unlimited times.

• George Abdul on Jul 04, 2016 at 10:39 am

2 hour? What about ministry meeting over 2 hour? Get “excuses” for stay longer again??? BN boleh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • MeToo on Jul 04, 2016 at 10:45 am

I agree with this.

Although it is not the best solution, it will give visitor a chance to park instead of being hogged by ppl who work nearby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • My simple comment on Jul 04, 2016 at 10:47 am

2hour later… All driver looking for car park again… Means car every road too…
    Creating more moving vehicle every hour..
    It will be better to remove those road side parking and move all car to designated car park..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • 2 hours limit? Ministers still live in the cave ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • spongewai on Jul 04, 2016 at 10:52 am

these idiot minister is really desperate need money, so that’s why they want the car owners to park in limited time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
  • Black Dog on Jul 04, 2016 at 10:54 am

Yes, this is the right move! Those who works in offices hogging valuable space should park further away and cheaper too, not the other way around like what is done now.

Australia has been practising this successfully long time ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
  • orang biasa on Jul 04, 2016 at 10:58 am

2 hrs only! For some ppl enough, but sure certain ppl not enough because sometime need to take more time to settle the documents, discussing for the personal items. Mana boleh simply simply implement this “law”! Mana Rakyat “Di”-utamakan?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • Why don’t just say, we want to increase the parking fee super duper high so we can get more money…crazy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 04, 2016 at 11:02 am

no problem, i always double park and get my 230E pics taken and publicized for free at Stupid Parking Idiots

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • good move by DBKL. also the city hall and city council should act on those errant shop/restaurant/car workshop operators who don’t pay for reserved car parks but place cone or rubbish bin or tables/chairs for their own benefit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
  • kapchai on Jul 04, 2016 at 11:33 am

I think it is practised in other countries too like Australia

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jul 04, 2016 at 11:34 am

Not sure why companies still want to have their offices in KL. I urge businesses to shift out of KL cause if you stay, I’m very sure yr business will suffer. There are cheaper rental places out of the city center. Everything is done online now, unlike olden days that need businesses to be together close by for convenience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Dust Bin KL

• The shortest I ever seen was in Wellington, New Zealand, only 5 mins. If 2 hr in KL central was planned by idiot minister, what what about 5 mins in New Zealand?

I support this for certain places where limited parking spaces like less than ten should be around 30mins to 1hr max.

• Beruk on Jul 04, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Please dont be Soo stupid. Copy practice without brain in diffrent CONTEX..

What you can get in 2 hours after 2 hours struggle for reaching KL??

Built more parking space like IKEA & GIZA is solution.

• robert on Jul 04, 2016 at 12:00 pm

To encourage road users to do their business quick and share the limited space available, the fee structure is best set to be free for the first hour and heavy on subsequent periods.

Better if free for the first hour and make it illegal for the subsequent hours.

• As usual, a stupid idea from a non-qualified minister.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 04, 2016 at 12:26 pm

just wanna LOL at those guys comparing malaysia to NZ and OZ….when was the last time you went to a for example bank in malaysia? slow service and long queues to get anything done u need easily 2 hours or more…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 11
    • kapchai on Jul 04, 2016 at 1:04 pm

If I want to run any errants in KL CBD, I always take the train. Thats why people usually do in Australia and Japan too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
      • Mr. Serious on Jul 04, 2016 at 1:46 pm

Correct, after some time people will be educated to reduce driving into CBD for short errands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 04, 2016 at 3:24 pm

sure, if our public transportation system was as advanced as japan

• If you cannot get your things done in 2 hours then park at designated parking centres. “This will also encourage people to park at designated parking centres and walk,” Tengku Adnan said. Don’t be selfish. Time yourself and estimate how long it takes for the slow service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
  • tokmoh. on Jul 04, 2016 at 1:29 pm

USJ Taipan already implement 1 hour limit for years already, though MPSJ rate remains the same 50sen/hour.

DBKL should maintain the rate, 50 or 60sen/hour, I don’t remember, it’s bloody opportunistic for them to not only limit time, but increase rate.

• thepolygonal on Jul 04, 2016 at 1:40 pm

New jobs for runners…

• Mr. Serious on Jul 04, 2016 at 1:45 pm

Why not? Let’s give it a try. This would discourage those who has short errand from driving but taking uber/taxi instead.

• kapchai on Jul 04, 2016 at 4:45 pm

Using public transport is never going to be easy. I remember the many times when I was in S’pore taking the MRT, I walked until my legs were really sore at the end of the day when I got back to the hotel. There will be a lot of walking involved as well as exposure to rain and shine. But people in S’pore are used to it, and so are the people in HK and Tokyo. We KL people have to get use to it too if we also want to progress like them.

• Yokohama24 on Jul 05, 2016 at 12:36 pm

See how nice gomen want to prevent obesity.

However in Malaysia we have no proper pedestrian walk way. Even if got, it is often incomplete or damaged halfway, uncovered longkang holes right in the middle of the walkway.

On top of it, in Malaysia we got kapchai bandits who will snatch your stuffs while you’re walking.

Hence, it is not about us whether we have to get use to or not, it is about the Malaysian environment that is preventing innocent pedestrians to get use to walking.

That is why in order for gomen to implement such system and wishing to encourage us public to use public transport, gomen should fix the issues first before implementing and encouraging. Don’t need to mention Singapore, the pedestrian walkway in Putrajaya is good enough. But what about KL?

On the other hand a building more bicycle lane would be good too.

Cheers! :)

• Bernard on Jul 04, 2016 at 2:15 pm

People wont care as they know that there wont be any enforcement ……….

The rakyat knows that the clamping and towing may happen the first two days and after that nothing:)

• Yokohama24 on Jul 04, 2016 at 2:24 pm

“He added that the move was also meant to encourage people to take public transportation when they come into the city.”

He got a point there. However he should implement it AFTER the public transport are GOOD enough then only it make sense to encourage the public to take public transport.

Don’t encourage the public to use public transport when the public transport is like shit.

• Yokohama24 on Jul 04, 2016 at 2:42 pm

The system is not wrong. It is to encourage public to use public transport and reduce traffic in busy area. Nothing wrong about that. Good system by the way.

The problem here is that it is the freaking WRONG time to implement such system when our public transport is like shit.

TO name a few points;
    1. gangster taxi drivers
    2. super low bus frequency
    3. LRT platform super packed during peak hours
    4. Not every bus stops are shaded
    5. Unlike in Australia, in Malaysia you may get robbed while waiting for bus.
    6. bus network like shit

Only when our public transport is comparable to Singapore or Australia, then only it is the right time to implement such system :)

Anyhow,for the time being, this is somehow a good news for you UBER and Grab drivers. This system will trigger a higher demand for you people.
    1. Don’t need to find parking :) save time!
    2. The ride fare will definitely be cheaper than parking in these places. Save parking and petrol cost!

Cheers! ;)

• Fair enough..but where are the parking centers? And is it safe to walk? Under hot sun or covered space?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 04, 2016 at 9:33 pm

probably one of those open air carparks in some demolished building land guarded by indian thugs

• Angry Bird on Jul 04, 2016 at 6:25 pm

Get ur balls and clamp down double parking first la! Just look at those double park cars at Leboh Ampang(along the Indian shops near Masjid Jamek LST station). The jam along the Jalan Tun Perak & Leboh Ampang are caused by those illegal parked cars, yet DBKL officers whose booth are just merely 50m(exactly at the front of Masjid Jamek LRT station) away from the road don’t bother to do anything. Or maybe sudah ambik duit kopi so buat tak tau!

• Jejambu on Jul 05, 2016 at 1:33 am

Firstly, does DBKL have a right to tow or clamp a legally parked car? Secondly, imposing Yee 2 hour limit does not “encourage road users to go public transport but rather it forces people to use public transport which is still not up to mark especially in the city. Just look at those metro busses Drivers making illegal turn, not stopping at designated stops, running red light, occupying yellow box, speeding, etc etc etc. No connectivity between lot or monorail stations to other parts of city…. The list goes on and in….

• AfirdausB on Jul 05, 2016 at 11:55 am

Masa lawat NZ dan Australia, memang ditekankan had masa parkir hanya 2 jam. Walau bagaimanapun, pemandu perlu mengosongkan parkir semasa dan mendapatkan parkir baharu, jika masih ada utk tempoh 2 jam berikutnya.

Disebalik usaha ini, jika terdapat sejumlah parkir 100 unit dan penguatkuasaan adalah 8 jam sehari, dengan menghadkan masa parkir selama 2 jam, ia dapat menjana 400 peluang parkir. Justeru ia akan meningkatkan kebarangkalian pengguna lain mendapatkan parkir. Ia juga akan meningkatkan peluang perniagaan kpd peniaga.

Pengosongan parkir sedia ada selepas 2 jam akan memberi peluang kpd pengguna lain mendapatkan parkir. Pada masa yg sama, ia menggalak pengguna bersikap objektif semasa berurusan dlm KL.

• Yang bekerja tu macam mana ye? Kena siapkan kerja dalam 2 jam ke? Atau setiap 2 jam, kena pusing KL cari parking baru?