Tesla driver could not be determined to be operating laptop, DVD player at time of Autopilot crash – report

2016 Tesla Model S facelift 2

Following the first known fatality involving the operation of Tesla’s Autopilot system, CNBC reports that police investigators have found that the laptop and DVD player in the wreckage of last month’s crash were not running after the incident.

Joshua Brown, 40, was the driver and sole occupant of the Tesla Model S when it collided with a truck whilst Autopilot was switched on, resulting in Brown’s death. According to Sergeant Kim Montes, investigators could not determine if Brown was operating either device in the moments before the crash.

This contradicts the claims of truck driver Frank Beresi, who said the Tesla driver was “playing Harry Potter on the TV screen”. Witnesses who came across the scene have given differing accounts on whether or not the devices were playing at the crash site.

ui_category_standard_equipment_large

An excerpt from a posting on Tesla’s official website said of the May 7 incident that “the vehicle was on a divided highway with Autopilot engaged when a tractor trailer drove across the highway perpendicular to the Model S. Neither Autopilot nor the driver noticed the white side of the tractor trailer against a brightly lit sky, so the brake was not applied.”

As a result, the Model S passed under the tall height of the trailer, with the bottom of the trailer colliding with the windshield of the electric vehicle (EV), resulting in the death of the Tesla driver. A police report in the Levy County Journal said the top of the vehicle “was torn off by the force of the collision.”

An avid fan of the Tesla Model S, Brown had recently uploaded a dashcam recording that demonstrated how the Autopilot system on his Model S managed to avoid a side collision from taking place, while he was listening to an audiobook.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Ini mesti semua salah Hari Potty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
  • The driver could have survived if he driven a Perdana instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 22
  • BOYRACER on Jul 08, 2016 at 6:31 pm

Whatever outcome,autopilot should not be implemented.Why?because you as the driver,is fully responsible for driving your car.In this case who is to be blamed?driver or autopilot.In my opinion no car should use autopilot.The driver should drive.If he or she doesn’t want to drive hire a chaffeur or use public transport.
    It seems that we humans are relying to much on technologies these days.
    What’s next?using robots to make babies?or use autopilot while making babies so that can surf net or playing games at same time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 20
    • Robots to prevent pipu from persoal their robotic overlords. Oh wait we alredi have them here, known as macai bashers.

• And data show tesla autopilot have less accident per km compared to human driver. The change is coming..wether were ready or not…

• IrizX on Jul 10, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Because there are very few Tesla on the road and the data compiled by Tesla.

If you are not orang cacat, pls put your hands on the steering and your foot to the pedals.

You won’t die if you miss watching another Harry Potty re-run. You crash your car, you farking die.

• Boboy on Jul 08, 2016 at 7:42 pm

Autopilot is a good thing to have. But maybe you should use it only on highways coz thats where there is least probability that you will crash

• I would like to add that the possibility of the Autopilot system being hacked and hijacked by a third party is high.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 08, 2016 at 10:57 pm

Problem is the radar systems and visual aids look at the road lines and compare other vehicles against the outer part of the Tesla, ie metal parts (front and rear bumpers, sides/doors), and not the windscreen. That is why the autopilot did not brake cos to the Tesla, the trailer/truck was never going to hit the Tesla’s metal parts. From what I read online, the car even continued moving on its own after the windscreen and probably roof was sheared off (the Tesla went underneath the trailer from one side to the other). Eventually hitting something as the impact had caused the car to veer off the road, hence no more road lines for the autopilot to follow. Tesla, Google, and other autonomous cars better re-program their cars to scan the entire car against traffic, including windscreens. US authorities also better make it compulsory for trailers and trucks to have a bar running down the sides to prevent a car from running underneath it. Sort of like the Mansfield bar which trucks have to put behind them to prevent a car from going underneath it (so named after the actress, Jane Mansfield, who died in such an accident back in the 50s or 60s).

• UMW TOYOTA on Jul 09, 2016 at 8:26 am

see..high end tech make pipul lazy..like our no VSC vios..we make our customer more hardworking concentrade while driving

• kepalapening on Jul 09, 2016 at 8:31 am

So, should should we have faith on airbag, autopilot, VSC, etc.

• Depends on whether u trust Scandinavian, mainland EU, or jepunis overlords. Me, i prefer to trust Scandis as long as they r white on outside and white on inside.

• UMW TOYOTA on Jul 09, 2016 at 8:10 pm

no…we cannot trust them..so better buy our avanza or vios TRD

• I only trust Proton. My Proton no VSC also no early afterlife

• Tragic day for the Brown and his family. Does not look good for Tesla. Advancement of technology and progress have a price. Very bad day indeed for everybody concerned hope it gets analysed and learned from and eventually something good comes out of it.

• Tragic day for Brown and his family. Does not look good for Tesla. Advancement of technology and progress have a price. Very bad day indeed for everybody concerned hope it gets analysed and learned from and eventually something good comes out of it.

• Proton no autopilot. So proton is safer than tesla. Macai logic.

• Noone said that before, you have no argument left. P1 is improving in safety while bolehland Vios still dun have VSC

• Look at ur fellow toyota salesman, “No VSC is safer than tesla”. Basher logic.

• My Proton no VSC and i’m still here. So you think safe or not?