VIDEO: Tesla’s Autopilot avoids a side collision

The Tesla Model S comes with the company’s new Autopilot system, which is comprised of several safety and driver assistance systems, linked to an array of advanced sensors and cameras. While it has been heralded as an impressive bit of kit, there are still doubters on its effectiveness. Well, this video will give you some idea at the usefulness of the semi-autonomous tech in our daily drives.

YouTube user Joshua Brown recently uploaded a dashcam recording that demonstrated how the Autopilot system on his Model S managed to avoid a side collision from taking place. In this instance, it was the system’s Automatic Emergency Steering and Side Collision Warning that prevented an unwanted incident.

In the video description, the boom truck driver didn’t notice the Model S as he was trying to get on to the exit ramp, crossing from left to right. As he swerved into Brown’s lane, the Model S’ Autopilot system reacted to this and directed the car to swerve to the right to avoid an impact.

It just goes to show that autonomous systems isn’t just about convenience, but also about safety. Even then, drivers should never stop paying attention to their surroundings when behind the wheel, even with an autonomous driving system active. In this case, Brown was listening to an audiobook. Thankfully, his Tesla kept him out of trouble this time.

Here is the full video description:

Tesla Model S autopilot saved the car autonomously from a side collision from a boom lift truck. I was driving down the interstate and you can see the boom lift truck in question on the left side of the screen on a joining interstate road. Once the roads merged, the truck tried to get to the exit ramp on the right and never saw my Tesla. I actually wasn’t watching that direction and Tessy (the name of my car) was on duty with autopilot engaged. I became aware of the danger when Tessy alerted me with the “immediately take over” warning chime and the car swerving to the right to avoid the side collision.

You can see where I took over when there’s a little bit of blip in the steering. Tessy had already moved to the right to avoid the collision. I was not able to slow down even more due to the heavy traffic (cars were behind me). Once I got behind him I slowly added more room between us until he exited. I was not tail gating after the incident.

It was a mistake on the other driver’s part. He did not even know I was there until I honked my horn. There was a group of women in the black sedan to my left and they went nuts about the guy and what he did (all kinds of gesturing in their car). Once I was beside the truck as it slowed down on the ramp, the guy gestured a “sorry!” I gave him, “it’s okay” wave.

Tessy did great. I have done a lot of testing with the sensors in the car and the software capabilities. I have always been impressed with the car, but I had not tested the car’s side collision avoidance. I am VERY impressed. Excellent job Elon!

Note: I have over 39,000 miles on the car and I’ve had it since mid-July 2015. Hands down the best car I have ever owned and use it to its full extent. It has done many, many amazing things, but this was one of the more interesting things caught on the dashcam. Note: it’s a really poor dashcam, so sorry for the poor video quality.

Note 2: In case you’re curious, I’m listening to an audiobook in the background. It’s a Malcolm Gladwell book (excellent book).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• This kinda problem? We see this everyday on MY road, thanks to selfish drivers. Best of all, they dun use signal and think its their human rights and freedom to cilok into my path. Thats why im glad P1 horn is loud, not pussy toyota beep.

Lets see if autonomous car can horn the sh*t out of them defilers of my human rights and freedom to drive according to the laws, then only can bring to MY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • There is so much fake in this i cant even… even… finish this sentence!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Apr 12, 2016 at 12:25 pm

That’s why Malaysian cars should equip with Lane Keeping assist and Blind Spot Assit. Is another safety features in order to help drivers. Pointless offering Panaromic sunroof, or Connected Drive or what so ever!!!!

• Corporations bore me on Apr 12, 2016 at 1:03 pm

obviously a pre designed pr stunt. sigh

• condolence to Joshua Brown..