VIDEO: Perodua Bezza ASEAN NCAP crash testing

The New Car Assessment Program for Southeast Asian Countries (ASEAN NCAP) has released the official crash testing video for the recently-launched Perodua Bezza, in which the carmaker’s first-ever sedan managed to obtain a five-star rating.

However, the rating only applies to the 1.3 Advance variant, whereas it’s four stars for the 1.3L Premium X (MT and AT) and 1.0L Standard G (MT and AT) as they do not come standard with dual frontal seatbelt reminders (SBR) and Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), which is an ASEAN NCAP requirement for five stars.

In the Adult Occupant Protection (AOP) test, the Bezza managed to score a respectable 15.38 out of a possible 16 points, and an 85% compliance rating in the Child Occupant Protection (COP) test. The Bezza also managed to score a ‘Pass’ in the side impact test as well.

Perodua-Bezza-ASEAN-NCAP-1

Standard safety kit for the Bezza includes dual front airbags, ABS with EBD and Isofix child seat mounts (top tether). As mentioned earlier, only the range topping 1.3L Advance comes with VSC and dual front seatbelt reminders that allows it to qualify for five stars.

The Perodua Bezza is already on sale in Malaysia, with prices starting at the RM37,300 mark, and going all the way up to RM50,800. Two engines are available here – 1.0 litre VVT-i and 1.3 litre Dual VVT-i – mated to either a five-speed manual or four-speed automatic.

For more info on the Bezza, do check out our review of Perodua’s first-ever sedan model and comprehensive launch report. We’ve also prepared a walk-around video tour of the range-topping 1.3 Advance model, here.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 26, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Truly something to be proud of. Proton I don’t know where you going to hide your face. All Proton cars have failed all over the world. Infact, Jeremy Clarkson of Top Gear and Vicki Buter Henderson of Fifth Gear labelled Proton as the most dangerous car in the world and not road worthy!

The shocking thing is that, they all tested the Export Quality Protons which a 100X better quality than the local Protons we get as Malaysians.

So, if super high spec and safety export quality Protons FAIL, what about our local market Protons?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 116
    • Boboy on Jul 26, 2016 at 5:35 pm

Which year was that? 10 years ago? 20 years ago? 30 years ago? Current model should be compared with current model. Try comparing Bezza 2016 with Persona 2016 or Saga 2016. Then you can decide which is better and which is tin kosong

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 15
      • Don’t talk much la. You surviving on public money still want to talk so much. Tak malu ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 58
        • P1 ady paid gomen more than that money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
          • Paid what to the gov? Taxes? You pay taxes because you operate in malaysia just like other companies. P1 have too many clowns spinning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 29
          • Operation Manager on Jul 26, 2016 at 11:06 pm

Asean $-CAP 5 ster. Global NCAP: 1 star, Side: 0 star, Rear: 0 star.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • Operation Manager on Jul 26, 2016 at 11:10 pm

If crash with VW Polo, Polo driver can open door walk out (inner side & door good condition even front damaged) , P2 Beza driver already cramp both legs broken awaiting bomba ambulance sent to hospital into emergency wad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
          • Pay taxes before profit why you dun count, and yes before, it was profitable, count that too

Jepunis also have bails out for their companies, why not bolehland? Forgot,
            Jepunis overlord – cannot persoal

• Low Budget on Jul 27, 2016 at 10:24 am

LOL….. P1 paid to the Gomen!!!
            You are the one who pays lah, P1 only pay to Gomen “ON YOUR BEHALF”

• kiddoo on Jul 27, 2016 at 4:40 pm

Tax is everywhere, even where you have no profit / loss

• ohwai on Jul 26, 2016 at 8:12 pm

That’s bad attitude of selling. You think you can make this car better if you badmouth p1?

Orang kampung boleh la lu tipu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
          • Tipu orang kampung? But your cars are not selling in both kampung and bandar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
          • OMG you must be blind not to see any p1 on road, pity

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 27, 2016 at 11:13 am

Not far away. Just 2 or 3 years ago. Every single car magazine in the UK and Australia say Proton cars are a walking time bomb and not road worthy.

Go to mph, pick a car magazine and read what they say about Proton. Can be 2016 car magazine also.

• Operation Manager on Jul 26, 2016 at 6:22 pm

Asean $-CAP 5 ster…. Global NCAP 1 star.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • frossonice on Jul 26, 2016 at 7:17 pm

Don’t insult people’s knowledge on Jeremy Clarkson. He hated Perodua the most especially the Kelisa which he whack it with a hammer right after getting it out of showroom. He equate Perodua car with cheap household appliance without soul. And then there was his MyVi review… Utter shit.

Hey, at least it sold gazilion units here in Malaysia right…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
      • JasonX on Jul 27, 2016 at 12:36 am

yar well… different cars for different markets.

the Tata does well in India…
        the Cherry does well in China…
        we have our own concerns.

of course its a household appliance, cos its low-cost alternative for the mass market. its not some luxury appliance like a 70″ OLED Curve screen TV

• Low Budget on Jul 27, 2016 at 10:29 am

So what if its utter shit? At least it offers a safer product for those Mat Rempit and motor cyclists on 2 wheeler to upgrade to 4 wheeler.

• If you let Jeremy Clarkson review the Becca, his first sentence would contain expletives about how ugly and ungainly the car looks. Truly a car only Perodua salesmen would say good looking.

• Save your stupidity a little Mr Kunta. Not only you who watch TopGear.

• Checked out the Bezza, although it’s frontal crash test posted great result, I think they’ve cut corners on the side and rear. Doors are as thin as Viva’s and the B and C pillars doesn’t feel rigid. Not to mention the A pillars are quite thin, but since the frontal impact posted a good score, I suppose they’re ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Andas on Jul 26, 2016 at 6:33 pm

Just wonder how u know its thin?

• Can bend it with fingers

• The sound of certain steel structure can give you an early strengh estimatiur if you know what I mean. And of course to confirm it, proper test must be done.

• alldisc on Jul 26, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Seriously u knew little about crash tests. The reason the tests are done is to see how well the passenger cabin protects its occupant. Bezza has done very well there which is evident that all the doors are not damaged and can be opened. This will allow paramedics a faster rescue operations (instead of waiting bomba to cut the door or roof) or the passengers to open the doors and walk away safely (instead of trapped on fire and burnt to death)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • jolly_idiot on Jul 26, 2016 at 7:14 pm

Result from using high tensile steel bro.

• Both front passengers’ knees are gone for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Operation Manager on Jul 26, 2016 at 6:51 pm

Knee gone still 5 ster, should only 1 star instead, try Global NCAP…

• John is otak batu on Jul 26, 2016 at 7:09 pm

That is unlikely if they are wearing seatbelts. In many collision involving wira, iswara and kancil the cabin also crumpled causing the dashboard to move inwards to the knees.

In the bezza, u see the front crumple zone absorbs the impact well (similar to preve with 5 star rating) and thus the dashboard will likely stay in its position

• It’s a big joke to compare with preve, high tensile got much? Preve got much better HPF in parts more than in Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
        • Wow only proton that have using Hpf, thus proton only the safer car, Mazda, Honda n others u need to learn from proton lolsss

• Since you said Preve got more HPF parts in the Civic so should be safer right???
          How come ANCAP score shows Civic 2012 got better score both in front and side impact than Preve/Suprima 2013???
          Come back to ASEAN NCAP then how come the new City scores higher than Preve in both adult and child occupant protection??
          I guess it really is a big joke to compare Preve to others and still claim that its the safest car around. Even Bezza scored much better than Preve in the child occupant protection!!

• testjoke on Jul 27, 2016 at 10:14 am

Test is test, even 2 airbags with VSC can score 5 stars !

The real deal here is real world.

• MrCool.. on Jul 27, 2016 at 8:14 am

keep ur stupidity for ur own please. just now u mention wira, iswara and kancil??then u compare with bezza??WTF man??!!!!

• LimAhPek on Jul 26, 2016 at 4:28 pm

special units sent for ncap testing…the mass produced version sure the same or not? we all know the reality..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • Andas on Jul 26, 2016 at 6:35 pm

I believe choose it randomly..

• alldisc on Jul 26, 2016 at 7:13 pm

You want to know what is the reality?

Crash tests are done at a certain specific speed (between 56-70kmh) because anything more no manufacturers can design something better unless u buy a tank.

In Malaysia serious accidents happen at high speed, example 120kmh which is double the crash test. Of course the extent of damage is double. What do u expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Its not manufacturer cannot designed stronger car, but our body can’t take the g force from accident

• That is why there are speed limit on road. The research had been done. 60-70km/h is the average speed that should be at the moment of impact during accidents after you apply a suddent brake at the speed aroun 100km/h. Sorry for you if you drive around 200km/h. Even a Ferrari with not stand that speed crash impact. Ever wonder why there is so little fatality in circuit even they speeding? That is call risk management ok?

• Low Budget on Jul 27, 2016 at 10:36 am

Thats right, this is why we see occupants in high end BMWs, Merzs also “Mati” in high speed crash.
          There is also a relative speed when vehicles collide head on with each other.

• Losantara on Jul 26, 2016 at 4:32 pm

Mother trucker trucking ugly car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Impressive! Last time I comment that I dont believe with the rating until I have seen the video itself. Now I believed it. Impressive on how p2 can do it with retaining its light weight. Maybe paultan can investigate about like what’s the things that contribute to this car safeness without sacrificing their lightweight. And what’s the difference between the metal use in Bezza and the current p1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • High tensile is nothing compared to HPF

• Proton fuel economy nothing to compare with other brand… Luls

• Got HPF also no use when at the end scores lower than many other marques both is Asean NCAP and ANCAP test.

• Lazada on Jul 27, 2016 at 9:56 am

Not selling at all… got HPF also put in show rooms for years.. confirm safe….

• Score is score, furthermore this is Asean test not Euro or Australasian

• Last i check Australian NCAP score. Preve is in the middle lower of the C-segment pack in terms of total safety score compared to other brands so what does that say????

• kimochidesuneh on Jul 26, 2016 at 4:45 pm

tupperware dabao

• bezza on Jul 26, 2016 at 5:13 pm

seriously nobody wants to give comments here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • ben yap on Jul 26, 2016 at 5:35 pm

underpowered car can’t go fast. crash sure cannot die or injured since always at low speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Andas on Jul 26, 2016 at 6:39 pm

Accident doesnt mean u hit something, but also something hit u from behind/side.. even u drive in low speed, something with high speed can hit u from bhd.. who knows.. a bus with faulty break..

• Ex VGM staff on Jul 26, 2016 at 6:59 pm

It only weighs 900kg. Similar to what proton iswara 1.5 offered 20 yrs ago . Which means it is not underpowered, but the body is strong and safe while the engine is efficient

• Please undestand crash physic. The collision is not only about impact among car, but impact inside the car. That is between you and your own car.

• #liketowatchfilm on Jul 26, 2016 at 8:04 pm

Part 1(Proton Logic)
    1. Proton crash test remuk: bagus menyerap, penumpang selamat. Hpf.. Bla bla bla….
    2. Perodua crash test remuk: nipis langgar sure hancur, milo tin, pintu tisu, no safe.

Part 2 (Proton Logic)
    1. Proton 5 STARS: selamat can go up to 100 kmh sure slmat bla bla bla
    2. Perodua 5 STARS: kereta ringan bwak slow sure la slmt engin x power. Perodua build special car for test cannot percaya…

Continued….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • loler on Jul 27, 2016 at 10:17 am

Lol butthurt p2 salesman

• betul tu..
      dulu tak dpt 5 star cakap perodua tak selamat.
      sekarang dah dapat 5 star pon still takleh terima.
      ape la yang diorang nak sebenarnye?

• James on Jul 26, 2016 at 8:55 pm

What about side impact?
    It should be included.
    The car doors are pretty slim and when I close the door, the pink sound was a horror to hear! It did not sound that solid to me.

• Oi oi on Jul 26, 2016 at 10:19 pm

I like this… my thoughts exactly… imagine DEAD… Cause of side impact..

• MrCool.. on Jul 27, 2016 at 8:16 am

yup..just look at their brochure. they didnt really emphasize about the side impact.

• Uptosomething on Jul 26, 2016 at 10:10 pm

This is not seriously a 5-star car right???? some of the requirements to be in the 5-star club is to be able to open the door easily for escape in an event of an accident. you can clearly see the dent all around the A through B pillar which will hinder the door from opening. Plus the fender crumpling in will also cause the door to get stuck.
    I know this as a myvi even at low speed will have the aforementioned problem. Myvi should get a 1.5star if they have two airbags, and this bezza should get a 2.3star. See how the mannequin’s head swayed outside the cabin? even the seatbelt does not prevent it from moving forward. Berbeza lah konon. SHAME…SHAME…SHAME…

• Oi oi on Jul 26, 2016 at 10:18 pm

Smua bodoh.. hahahaha… bodoh sebab murah then sokong… bodoh sebab mahal pun sokong…

Same comment… same attitude… i want to see each name dead in the cars they pride of… cause malaysian driver forever sucked…

• Ootai on Jul 26, 2016 at 11:04 pm

Who supply the airbags to Axia & bezza??

• Ridzwan on Jul 27, 2016 at 10:16 am

I believe side impact has been tested. Look at the fine prints below the images: From January 2015, ASEAN NCAP has introduced side impact test (UN R95) as a new pre-requisite for 3-Star and above. Also, Child Occupant Protection (COP) is presented in star-ratng form

• Knight Evo on Jul 27, 2016 at 11:35 am

Perodua improve because it stick with Toyota and Daihatsu.
    Proton improve because it not just have aid with gov, it much improve the quality but failed cause by lousy vendor and supplier!