BMW reveals industry-first, fully-automated optical measuring cell – first use for the next-gen 5 Series

Next-gen BMW 5 Series optical measuring cell 1

While BMW isn’t prepared to fully reveal its next-generation G30 BMW 5 Series yet, the carmaker is more than happy to share some information about the technology that will employed in its production.

The company recently claims to be the first automaker in the world to implement a robotic optical measuring cell in its pilot plant in Munich. Essentially, it is a fully-automated 3D scanner that can create a digital model of full-sized vehicle in half the time previously required, with an accuracy of less than 100 micrometres.

The setup involves two small, flexible robots fitted with two sensors that record reference points and then capture individual surface areas of approximately 80 by 80 cm each. The data is then combined to form a scan of the entire vehicle. Any deviations based on the analysis of the scan are alerted to technical integration specialists in the company’s production division, so they can take appropriate action early on.

Being fully automated, 3D vehicle scanning can be performed at off-peak hours or at night, so the measuring cell can be utilised to full capacity, allowing for shorter update cycles. The new 5 Series sedan will be the first model to benefit from this technology, according to BMW.

The BMW Group first tried out the system back in 2015, in an experiment held at the Munich plant. At the time, the system was only used to in toolmaking, and for complete measurement of individual sheet-metal parts as well as tool inspection. With the new 5 Series however, it will mark the first time the technology is used in the assembly process of a car.

Of course, the introduction of this technology indirectly teases the arrival of the next-gen 5 Series as well, based on the photos you see here. Unfortunately, the photos only reveal the car’s rear and roof, along with a brief glimpse of the car’s left headlamp. The latter appears to be carry the marque’s Laserlight with Selective Beam system.

Our earlier spyshots provide a little more info on the new 5er, which will likely adopt design cues from the G11/G12 BMW 7 Series. Similar to the current F10 5 Series, the upcoming G30 range will also include Touring and GT models, as well as a high-performance M5 sedan.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• i’m seeing a lot of english words up there, yet I still don’t understand what the whole damn article is about.

• When BMW alredi bodo piang enuff, they go down another level to spend so much money on robots just to measure their camo car.

All my kolik in P2 is laff at them cuz here we have Bisa which went from prototype to showroom car without any testing or teasing or measuring. We have so much confidence that we tell customers that whoever buy the 1st batch will be our lab rats and we r expecting only gud feedback from them. Any negative or neutral feedback means it is user problem, they just dunno how to properly use our jepunis overlords hand me down dinosar tech. If they can be that stup*d then, we r confident their feedback is worthless.

So have confidence in my confidence on our untested Bisa. And if u buy from me now, I confident gip u best package with my gud fren from Nirvana. Remember to PM me with confidence!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • alldisc on Jul 29, 2016 at 7:38 pm

To get to know how laser headlamps are just search in YouTube. The differences include simpler system.. and more reliable. You can also find laser system to replace conventional spark plugs.. no need to replace. Light and reliable. Coming soon to petrol engine cars

• Gunting kecik on Jul 30, 2016 at 10:09 am

Becoz of maruah at stake, Proton should get their own laser mesuring device too…

Afterall, as claimed, proton is BMW of Asia…..

• They will spend 35m dollars on a laser pen from Popular bookstore

• All topkek lousy. P2 is the bestest in the world cuz we dun need to measure or test anything. Just from prototype straight to showroom. P2 kalahkan semua.

• overpriced luxury brand, they might get their body correct but components dont last, after a few years bmw’s will start breaking down..

• Really? That sounds like something people repeat all over the internet even though theyve never owned one