2016 Proton Saga fully revealed in new teaser video!

Here’s a big surprise – Proton has revealed its new baby, the 2016 Proton Saga, in all its glory! The fast-paced video the budget sedan appears in is technically a teaser trailer for a longer video that should be coming out after the launch, but it leaves nothing to the imagination.

Despite being based on the current model, the new car looks quite a lot different. The front end has been completely redesigned with new reflector headlights, a dual-bar grille (inspired by the new Perdana) and a large moustache-like lower grille that goes under the fog lights.

Along the sides, there’s a new, deeper shoulder line that carries the door handles, while the C-pillar gets a new BMW-like kink. The rear has also been given a significant redo with trapezoidal tail lights linked together with a horizontal bar, plus a large diffuser-like rear valence. The blue top-spec Premium model also gets intricate 15-inch alloy wheels.

Proton has already revealed the interior in full, which has been completely redesigned with a new centre console, rectangular air vents, a steering wheel from the Exora, Preve and Suprima S (with multifunction buttons on the Premium) and a folding rear bench.

Although it sits on the same 2,465 mm wheelbase as before, the new car is 74 mm longer, 9 mm wider and 11 mm lower. The chassis is also 20% stiffer, while a quicker steering (still hydraulically-assisted), lighter door closing effort and an improved ride and handling package have also been added.

Under the bonnet sits the same 1.3 litre VVT engine as the Iriz (replacing the old IAFM+ unit), although output stays the same at 94 hp at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm at 4,000 rpm. Transmission options include a CVT, as well as a five-speed manual transmission on the base Standard model.

Despite similar outputs, Proton claims the new Saga is both quicker and more economical than before. The manual version now gets to 100 km/h in 12.2 seconds (from 13.0 secs), and consumes 5.4 l/100 km at 90 km/h (from 6.0 l/100 km). Meanwhile, the CVT does 100 km/h in 13.1 seconds (from 14.5 secs), and 5.6 l/100 km at 90 km/h (from 6.3 l/100 km). Improvements introduced on the Persona (three-point engine mount for better NVH, revised ECU for better response) are present here too.

Kit-wise, the Saga Standard comes with 13-inch steel wheels (with plastic covers), rear fog lamps, front and rear parking sensors, a single-DIN head unit (with Bluetooth) and USB charging ports. It also gets unpainted wing mirrors, door handles and rear garnish, plain black fabric seats, as well as a black-themed interior.

2016-proton-saga-cabin-cropped

Moving to the mid-range Executive variant, you’ll find the addition of body-coloured wing mirrors (now power-adjustable), door handles and rear garnish, black-painted B-pillars, front fog lamps and a rear bootlid spoiler. Other additions include 14-inch alloy wheels, added gloss grey accents to the interior (outer air-con vents and steering wheel trim) and fabric seats with a mesh pattern.

Finally, the Premium adds the aforementioned 15-inch alloy wheels and a chrome finish for the rear horizontal bar. You’ll also get a reverse camera (with the feed shown in the rear-view mirror, a la Exora), a double-DIN head unit with steering audio controls, fabric seats with a wavy pattern and more gloss grey trim on the gear lever.

In terms of safety, the Saga comes with dual airbags and ISOFIX rear child seat mounts with top tethers – together with the revised crash structure, they provide the car with a four-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating. Additionally, the Premium variant introduces stability control and hill-start assist, meaning that all Proton models now offer at least one variant with the active safety assist system. Unfortunately, only the Executive and Premium models get ABS with EBD and brake assist.

Bookings have already been opened, with the car carrying tentative pricing of between RM37k and RM46k – putting it squarely up against the new Perodua Bezza. The warranty coverage has also been increased from three years to five, and although no mileage limit has been specified, we assume that it is identical to the Preve, Suprima S, Iriz and Persona, which is 150,000 km.

Weve already driven the new 2016 Proton Saga – read our first impressions here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Just pass by on Sep 25, 2016 at 10:25 pm

Proton Evora, new car I guest.: D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Sep 25, 2016 at 10:29 pm

Damn! I’ve fixed it, thanks for the spot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
      • Piupiupiu on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:45 am

Beautiful car indeed. IF this car have same spec with bezza. I dont mind paying rm51k for additional push start button, leather seat, 22km/l fc, remote boot release, and keyless entry..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Inb4 bashers demand Evora mass volume CKD in MY for <Rm50k.

• Kunta katak again on Sep 26, 2016 at 9:18 am

The no life katak will come here to bash again

• vecko on Sep 26, 2016 at 10:18 am

This Saga makes jepunis cars look much more hideous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Same L00 on Sep 26, 2016 at 10:30 am

Love proton or like the car? Put your action by BUYING the cars, no points talkok here and there syok Sendiri but still driving your old iswara. Proton need your support in action. And I am so sick of donating its soft loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
        • Sam Poo@Loo on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Absolutely true, as you also buy Saga for your son. If more Toyota or Perodua salesperson can be like you, buy Proton for their children, Proton can settle it’s ‘RM1.5 billion soft loan’ quickly rather than ask again (ask again also get bashing).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
          • Same L00 on Sep 26, 2016 at 2:29 pm

As I said, I don’t allow junk at home. So those who is willing to pay for sage is nothing short of a sozai! Everyone keep talking on Proton, but no one buy it, that’s why they need to get RM1.5bil soft loan. Proton staff can’t survive by your saliva.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 25
          • Give me your junk on Sep 26, 2016 at 9:50 pm

Give me your son saga, i want

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 25, 2016 at 11:02 pm

Wow beautiful…a budget car which doesnt look cheapskate…even at par with the expensive vw polo sedan…kudos proton…yiu ve nailed it big time this time around…somehow rather it makes the bezza looks so amateur…no hard feeling for those who hv bought bezza…in terms of looks the iconic saga wins hands down…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
    • Kerja kuat on Sep 26, 2016 at 11:03 am

Work hard and buy actual VW Polo sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 49
  • Tametaigirl on Sep 25, 2016 at 10:27 pm

Shabas Proton! But why do they always have to make Mission Impossible style vids for their new cars? I mean, i understand they want to show off ride and handling but cant they make it less cringy (new persona ad) and let it be more ‘mature’. Remember the cute exora ad which puts a smile on our faces with a nice jingle.

• Aragon on Sep 25, 2016 at 10:36 pm

Looks good and not over proportion like Bezza. Sedan should be low and wide. Quite dissapointed with new Persona tall design but I think this Saga just nail it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Painter on Sep 25, 2016 at 10:37 pm

Proton’s range offering is pretty narrow in this market segment.

Saga around 32k – 34k.

Persona 44k – 57k.

Difference in monthly repayment is probably around RM100.

I wonder if it’s the right strategy. They could be competing in the same income bracket and therefore cannibalising each other.

Just thinking aloud.

• moneymaker on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:06 pm

But for some pipu every RM100 difference is a deal breaker, it is either you go for it or not.

• Saga3 is for those whom Rm100 can make a world of difference. So I dun see any problems there.

• Dedak in the house on Sep 27, 2016 at 4:12 am

For some, 100 mean a lunch buffet in 5 star hotel for 1 person.. but for some mean a breakfast lunch n dinner with family at mamak stall.. this is a segment car..

• HERBalist on Sep 25, 2016 at 10:39 pm

Okay laaa !! This looks good

• nabill (Member) on Sep 25, 2016 at 10:43 pm

im stil not sold on that grill….too much chrome…which cheapens it a little bit…bt its looks good overall…the rear looks unique…
    Ertiga is next !

• kenny fook on Sep 25, 2016 at 11:06 pm

Ugly little Baby…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 52
    • nosushi on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:03 pm

Meanwhile bezza tonggek is much uglier

• Bangsa on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:35 pm

Jika banding dgn Bezza, baby ni lg cantik. Bezza tu mcm sampah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • Harun on Sep 27, 2016 at 11:15 am

Bro, tak baik cakap barang orang macam sampah. Kalau pun tak suka, jangan sakitkan hati orang. Bezza pun buatan anak tempatan kita. Cakap yang baik2 atau diam (tak payah menaip)

• Bangsa on Sep 27, 2016 at 10:30 pm

Bezza tu bukan hasil buatan tempatan, tu sampah drpd lain tempat yg memperbotohkan org sini

• Aragon on Sep 25, 2016 at 11:09 pm

The rear is nice. I wish they use this rear look on Preve four years ago. But its not too late and Preve really need a facelift so badly. Its been 4 years in the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • inspira owner on Sep 25, 2016 at 11:11 pm

During persona launched, proton even stressed out about customer’s safety are their priority… n even mocked perodua on the ESC thing.. now they even omitted ABS brake which is shud.be mandatory… well u know.. malaysia boleh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • marco on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:56 pm

Prolly majority buyers dun go for the cheapest variant, with that manual gearbox, it is more suitable for driving lesson.

• ABS is in Exec variant which is what most pipu go for. But I advice go for Premium cuz got ESC. Its the cheapest car with ESC in MY now. Safety first

• Burong on Sep 25, 2016 at 11:19 pm

Proton states fuel consumtion at 90kph. I think this strategy works. What is bezza fuel consumption at 90kph? Any input?

• The car looks like it on sale in 1985.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 25, 2016 at 11:30 pm

Looking forward to new Preve..!

• Like the intro.

• Caring on Sep 25, 2016 at 11:52 pm

I believe this new Proton Saga will sell well among the youth and fresh graduates because is good looking and within budget. Looks very proportionate and neat.
    The bizarre looking Perodua Bezza will sell well among the retired uncles and aunties – because it is more fuel economy but will be pissed off by the youth. Have you tailed behind a Bezza lately? It looks horrible – the butt is so high that you can see the suspension and the floor pan! Youth will feel malu driving one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • BOYRACER on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:01 am

Nice looking actually.In some ways better than the Persona.Driven it recently and I must say it feels like driving the old one which is both good and bad.Good because it still has that solid feeling going over bad surface.Bad because it still feels like the old one (ok it’s still based on the old one)except it does have a better steering not steering wheel mind you.
    Between this and the bezza I find both have their pros and cons.It all boils down to personal preference.

• policeman on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:05 am

2016 and still people wanna buy Proton Saga? Kesian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 54
    • ferraro on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:42 pm

So you drive ferrari?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
      • policeman's father on Sep 26, 2016 at 3:22 pm

My son’s ferrari 430 just kena tarik by bank for auction. And now he just borrowed money from me to pay for down payment for saga sing my name as guarantor .

• brain drain P2 salesman. willing to get cought juat to bashing. When Bezza booking was cancelled, their telor already gone. Cancelling of booking Berbeza getting nore and more.

• Sagaku on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:13 am

I like.

• Dr Mamak on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:23 am

Power window all working?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 45
  • Teck hau on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:34 am

The outlooks design are completely knockout win over the bezza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
  • The design looks dated…like one of the old Renaults

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2, Toyota Nirvana on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:37 am

Damn, the rear bumper looks like E90 325i Sport

• Naiseeee

• Automotive reader on Sep 26, 2016 at 7:27 am

Can pls stop all these useless promo about proton? Who cares about them? Print news about real car makers pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 56
    • Madey Matt on Sep 26, 2016 at 6:49 pm

You said who cares? Even you care about Proton more than any other readers here, otherwise you won’t drop by here, read the Proton news and LEAVE a comment here. For God’s sake, please bring along you brain before leave any comment here next time..oh what a day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • no proton on Sep 26, 2016 at 7:57 am

Wow, budget car w/o basic safety feature, meaning other users exposed to risk! Safety is a feature to determine the differentiation of the variant is the most stupid, irresponsible desicion to the community. Why proton profit place in the first place before community safety?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Nobody bother safety, u should ask y 200k ppls bought less safety Perodua n Vios. R they profit put in 1st place?

• C. P. MOHAN on Sep 26, 2016 at 8:29 am

Don’t over do it like the best thing since sliced bread.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Same L00 on Sep 26, 2016 at 10:45 am

Usual proton marketing strategy: proton is a sport car with cheap price tag. So misleading! No wonder so many proton drivers drive like F1 racer but end up dead in the accident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
  • rosmah on Sep 26, 2016 at 8:30 am

who wants to buy my 2013 saga flx?

i wanna buy this new one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 12
    • You shouldn’t buy this new one. You shouldn’t have bought the 2013 too.
      Upgrade your life or get a life if you don’t have any.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 35
    • No thanks.. I want to buy this new saga too..

• razak on Sep 26, 2016 at 9:49 am

send to Cambodia laa

• rojist on Sep 26, 2016 at 10:51 am

Trade in

• Low Budget on Sep 26, 2016 at 11:10 am

Its better for you to hang on to your 2013 FLX, nobody wants to buy your FLX unless you sell it at half price and for that you got to ‘tambah’ cash back to the bank to settle the exiting car loan.
      You should control your lust for a new Proton Saga and wait for a year or two to see if at all Proton has improved on their built quality drastically and also the service centers.

• Waiting on Sep 26, 2016 at 8:37 am

Nice car. Will book one soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
  • azrai on Sep 26, 2016 at 8:45 am

The car looks better in flesh than in photos! + no tonggek butt also.

• normal_user on Sep 26, 2016 at 8:59 am

Proton fanbois are going to dislike this, but paultan has to highlight these key weaknesses in all honesty.
    1. Its nearing 2020, and base spec car still sold without abs? I was hoping for ESC to be standard for all variants like Persona. Proton is moving wayy backward.
    2. Hydraulic steering means less easier urban drive than eps counterpart. Although its cringed by enthusiasts, they only represents minority % off all buyers.
    3. There is less opportunity to engineer the structure for lighter weight & smart interior space packaging, since its based on old BLM/Savvy platform. Proton shud quickly collaborate with Suzuki to reengineer future Celerio replacement into a proper sedan to really challenge the Bezza. Despite its ugly ‘tonggek’ looks (understandable since it needs longer suspension travel to lug around 50% of its kerb weight), Bezza has a B-segment interior with smaller A-segment footprint/weight thus lesser fuel consumption.

These factors ticks all the right boxes that every basic malaysian salarymen needs.

GProton fanbois are going to dislike this, but paultan has to highlight these key mistakes in all honesty.
    1. Its nearing 2020, and base spec car still sold without abs? I was hoping for ESC to be standard for all variants like Persona. Proton is moving wayy backward.
    2. Hydraulic steering means less easier urban drive than eps counterpart. Although its cringed by enthusiasts, they only represents minority % off all buyers.
    3. There is less opportunity to engineer the structure for lighter weight & smart interior space packaging, since its based on old BLM/Savvy platform. The interior feels quite vintage in a less exciting manner. Proton shud quickly collaborate with Suzuki to reengineer future Celerio replacement into a proper sedan to really challenge the Bezza. Despite its ugly ‘tonggek’ looks (understandable since it needs longer suspension travel to lug around 50% of its kerb weight), Bezza has a B-segment interior with smaller A-segment footprint/weight, thus lesser fc. That determines the final decision of the average rakyat/salarymen.

Nonethelss, the omission of safety for base (abs) & exec (esc) is very glaring. Guess proton rushed to launched all its cars in 2016 before AseanNCAP tighten its rating methodology next year, where only 6 airbags, ESC & AEB tech can guarantee 5 stars.

Proton could do it better. They could, but its just their old legacy contract with the vendors that made them to continue producing less competitive cars for the sake of meeting up the sProton fanbois are going to dislike this, but paultan has to highlight these key mistakes in all honesty.
    3. There is less opportunity to engineer the structure for lighter weight & smart interior space packaging, since its based on old BLM/Savvy platform. Proton shud quickly collaborate with Suzuki to reengineer future Celerio replacement into a proper sedan to really challenge the Bezza. Despite its ugly ‘tonggek’ looks (understandable since it needs longer suspension travel to lug around 50% of its kerb weight), Bezza has a B-segment interior with smaller A-segment footprint/weight, thus low fc.

I believe these are key factors that determine the final buying decisions of average rakyat.

Nonetheless, the reduced safety commitment is dissapointing. Guess proton rushed to launched all its cars in 2016 before AseanNCAP tighten its rating methodology next year, where only 6 airbags, ESC & AEB tech can guarantee 5 stars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 44
    • Eh, only cheapest Saga no ABS lor. Why so much fuss?

• ontwo on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:51 pm

You only said about city usage, the saga has more stable body for highways cruising than much lighter Bezza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • azrai on Sep 26, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Kancil long time has ABS maa..Aku Brek Sendiri.

• lilytan on Sep 26, 2016 at 9:10 am

No offence to this new saga but as a bezza competitor it is well n truly beaten in every aspect that matters most. Bezza is safer (5 stars vs 4), more advance engine (Dual VVT vs VVT), more economical (EEV), more boot space, etc. The fact that proton compares it with the previous saga rather than the bezza proves it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
    • furois on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:41 pm

But you get more powerful 1.3l engine instead of only 1.0l engine.

And price wise bezza truly beaten by persona.

• lilytan on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Yes the 1.3 engine is more powerful. But it is pointless since the saga is much heavier than the bezza. Price wise while it is pricier than the saga, goodies offer on the bezza are well worth the price difference. The bulk of sale will be on the high spec models anyway. It is obvious that the top end bezza is much better than the top end saga.

• Please please stop wasting website on proton news. who cares? publish news about real car makers who make money and export thousands of cars per month and don’t need to beg for money and forcing others to consider buying them. we know the reality of proton and how they use this website to insult rakyat by employing bunch of kids to place comments here. DRB should know if they sold the company their books will be opened and then all will have to answer for their terrible work they have done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
    • PT can post whatever they think is newsworthy. U dun like it? Tough! Dun waste ur time commenting and go start ur own automotive site without local players. We’ll see how it fares with PT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • basherlogic on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:38 pm

“Bunch of kids” are those brainless bashers

• marhein on Sep 26, 2016 at 2:59 pm

And no one cares about you

• Ah Kow on Sep 27, 2016 at 8:18 am

Here is a local automotiv blog, and P1 is local. Apa lu mau. Don’t come here and read la go read TopGear.

• Ah Kow on Sep 26, 2016 at 9:38 am

I like the tail lights but not the headlights, quite mainstream ain’t it?

• Shaey on Sep 26, 2016 at 9:56 am

Do DRB Hicom really needs to potray this Saga as sports car? It seems like they targetting hooligans for this Saga, not for any responsible family man.. If this ad is for new Satria, go for it. No wonder more and more Malaysian died on the road.. even car manufacturer advocate offensive driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • taknaktoyota on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:00 pm

OMG..even Vios they drive it recklessly between building blocks (in ads). And it has got worse handling than Saga!

• Neutral on Sep 26, 2016 at 2:47 pm

Couldn’t agree more with you. Probably Proton engaged the same producer to do the videos for both Saga and Persona. I just don’t know what massage Proton tries to put across. To be very frank, both Saga and Persona have the nice looks but the obsolete power trains are going to disappoint many customers.

• ae101 on Sep 26, 2016 at 10:44 am

Looks better in proportion compare to Bezza.

• Camrysai on Sep 26, 2016 at 10:49 am

Last model better than Vios, now this model worst than Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
  • when is the launch date?

• The interior design is out dated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Tell that to VW

• topkek on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:43 pm

Even BMW Audi Merc recycle the dashboard designs many many times and it is called luxury. You dun bash pulak.

Topkek

• The price tag vs spec offer not good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Damnu on Sep 26, 2016 at 11:02 am

The exterior look better than BEZZA, well done!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Ediot Sami Lu on Sep 26, 2016 at 11:04 am

This year Proton will maintain sale volume rank no.3

• The interior finishes should follow Kia Picanto

• Bangsa on Sep 26, 2016 at 11:12 am

Brp org akan cancel booking Bezza?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Camrysai on Sep 26, 2016 at 11:19 am

If price 50k below but quality and design same as Vios kosong (no extra features) + used modern logo sure become top one in Malaysia only.
    Cannot become top ten in the world bcos others countries buyer will more look for features offered.

• Almighty Snack Bar on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:04 pm

This car looks much better than the Persona at least. But still.. Hidup Honda BS BQ and QC..

• Yokohama24 on Sep 26, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Even Saga have a proper P1 emblem on the steering, unlike Pondana. Overall design nicer than Bezza.

• John b on Sep 26, 2016 at 5:43 pm

Idk why but the rear looks sad :(

• What?
      For me it’s the strongest part. lol
      I really love the design of this car.

• Bezza belakang kalah lah, specs 1.3 still can fight dgn saga. Bezza better keluar SE remove idle start stop, improve soundproof, include bodykit sell for price 47k. Kalau tak premium spec kalah dgn saga, advanced spec kalah dgn persona.

• Sadproton on Sep 27, 2016 at 1:33 pm

good car indeed, but unfortunately it is a proton. Pass, next car pls.