Perodua Bezza – 10,000 delivered, 25,000 bookings

Perodua Bezza 10,000 10

Perodua has handed over the 10,000th unit of its car of the moment, the Perodua Bezza. The lucky owner, Zetty Aswani Fazwin Mahrol Fazwin, collected her keys from Perodua Sentral today, marking a significant milestone for the national carmaker.

“We thank Puan Zetty for choosing Perodua as your brand of choice and Bezza as your car of choice,” said Perodua Sales Sdn Bhd (PSSB) managing director Zahari Husin. “We are currently working to ensure timely delivery of all our models to our valued customers.”

The company also revealed that it has accrued over 25,000 orders of its first ever sedan model since bookings were opened on July 16. Out of the 10,000 units that have been delivered, 44% were of the range-topping 1.3L Advance model, while the 1.3L Premium X model with the automatic transmission made up 43% of sales. Only 3% were made up of the manual Premium X variant.

The 1.0L Standard model, surprisingly, hasn’t been so well received – just 9% of sales were made up of the automatic variant, while the manual made up a minuscule 1%. Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh acknowledged that sales of the base model was not hitting targets, but added that with the waiting list for the 1.3 litre variants stretching up to 30 days, prospective buyers may make the switch.

Perodua Bezza 10,000 2

“For the month of July, we delivered over 2,600 Bezza in the 10-day period it was launched,” said Zahari. “So far in August, we have delivered 7,400 units and we will maximise delivery for the convenience of our customers.” The new car already makes up a not-insignificant proportion of Perodua’s sales, which hit 112,500 units in the first seven months of the year – 35.4% of the total industry volume (TIV) of 317,900 units.

The Bezza is offered to Malaysians in a total of five variants, with prices (including insurance) starting at the RM37,300 mark, and going all the way up to RM50,800. Two engines are available here – 1.0 litre VVT-i and 1.3 litre Dual VVT-i – mated to either a five-speed manual or four-speed automatic.

For those who want to know more about the Bezza, do check out our comprehensive launch report and review of Perodua’s first-ever sedan model. Alternatively, we’ve also prepared a walk-around video tour of the range-topping 1.3 Advance model here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Potong Fans on Aug 30, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Good luck with your car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Sayonara on Sep 01, 2016 at 12:05 am

Bye bye Proton sayonara.

Rakyat no longer believe in your crap anymore whatever new Saga or Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • WT Fuchh on Sep 01, 2016 at 9:02 am

Overpriced crap from a overconfident company. New persona is miles better. Gomen needs to clampdown on overcharging by P2. See what happens when P2 has market protection. People suffers and greedy company rears its ugly face.

• crony on Sep 01, 2016 at 2:13 pm

Gomen needs to close down proton. after 32 years and still need to be breast fed.

• Ketam on Sep 01, 2016 at 4:52 pm

Orang English cakap … “its a piece of crap”. …. tapi Google translator cakap itu kereta ketam … so perodua ketam ?

• BEZA sangat on Sep 01, 2016 at 2:34 pm

Ugliest perodua after the Viva… This car is a joke … only shows Malaysians are poor unable to afford better cars

• rakyat is looking for safety car

• err bang, muka ada nampak kelat sikit bang. “kenapala persona baru lambat launch hari tu.. adehh…”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • wawasan2020 on Aug 30, 2016 at 1:37 pm

what a scary number.25k more cheap recycle milo tin increase on the road.this is only happen in India.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Lee Kum Kee on Aug 30, 2016 at 1:40 pm

look.so.dull.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Vincent on Aug 30, 2016 at 1:54 pm

25K units… that all from Proton.

• I wonder if these are added sales or if the Bezza has cannibalized its own sales of Myvi. By looking at 87% are 1.3 with price 44k-51k it is Myvi price level. So the sales of 1.0L G is not moving. Curious on the new Proton Saga launch this month to see if any impact. I doubt so as Proton and Perodua owners seem very loyal to their brand. As can be seen by bashers here as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
    • 1JutaBezza on Aug 30, 2016 at 6:44 pm

Rakyat will always support Perodua and with Bezza it is the perfect mode of boycott against Proton Saga and Persona.

What Perodua needs now is another new factory to meet the huge demand for Bezza possibily with 100k units by next year just like Axia’s big sales.

So whoever with excess capacity empty car factory better sell it off to Perodua as soonest as possible rather than keep producing unsold cars sunbaked outside huge storage yard.

Finally kudos congrats to Perodua we all rakyat will always support your good product together we can achieve 1 million Bezza and Axia units sold faster than Myvi record sales in less than a decade.

#KipidapPerodua

#DongidapPerodua

#1JutaBezza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • Most Horrible Perodua on Aug 30, 2016 at 11:11 pm

Buntot Tonggeng Bezza… looks ugly OTR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Vincent on Aug 31, 2016 at 9:48 am

No.. as what I always heard fr9m saga owner is, they will buy others if they has choices. Hence, I am very sure proton saga sales will be ended with half by end of this years

• crony on Sep 01, 2016 at 2:11 pm

For 32 years, proton has sucked Rgt 60 billion of rakyat’s hard earn money. Now it is privately owned and still sucking. Time to close it down to prevent it from making more crap junk

• For those 15K buyers who are waiiting for this crap, it is still not too late for you to swtich to Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • Nujum on Aug 30, 2016 at 2:18 pm

10,000 beli kete tongek Bezza??!

P1 Persona gerenti lg banyak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Aug 30, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Pity Proton. I waited till the launched of Persona before deciding which car to buy. I have no prejudice on both brands. After test driving Persona with my entire family cramp into the rear bench, we decided to buy the Bezza. At least the same 3 adults can sit with doors closed without being squashed to the glass on both sides of the bench. And importantly when opening the rear doors, the passengers won’t fall out like in the Persona. I just wish the Perodua engineers could clean up the messy engine design of the Bezza with tubes and wires everywhere. Many things done to the engine like a slap on after though which becomes a service nightmare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 54
    • musclemuseum on Aug 31, 2016 at 7:41 am

perotduwa salesman detected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Persona more confort, bigger n safe for your family.

• Oi, ko ni bodo ke apa? Bezza is obviously smaller than Persona. Too free at your Perodua showroom ka? Balik kerja la bodo

• Half of them may buy persona or saga if launch earlier. Early bird got worm to eat,lazy bird eat sh*t. Thats how true it is.

• kiddd on Aug 30, 2016 at 2:42 pm

So many tonggek after this..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Same L0rr on Aug 30, 2016 at 2:47 pm

The answer why Perodua Product can sale. Body weight below 1000kg, reliable economic engine, 4 speed E-AT gearbox. Put only 2 airbag sure can sale.
    If 6 airbag, VDC, HPF steel but weight 1200kg, campro unreliable engine, CVT bising Punch Powertrain gearbox, confirm no sale!
    Buy Toyota better! Good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • Knight E on Aug 30, 2016 at 2:59 pm

Perodua sales going raise but delivery car to customer very slow and some of cars have defect like glove storage cant close tight and feel not durable…

• Ah Meng on Aug 30, 2016 at 3:20 pm

Laku like Pisang goreng!

• shahrulniza on Aug 30, 2016 at 3:42 pm

This news must be damaging to P1 cyber troopers ego and water face.
    All the bashing and with no sales figure to show. They should have launched the Saga and then gradually progressed to the higher end models rather than putting so much effort & $$$ into low volume Perdana & Persona.
    Congrats P2 now that you have secured the sales numbers , its time to give your customers top notch service , reliability & sustainability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 12
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 30, 2016 at 3:48 pm

Proof that, for local market, design is irrelevant!
    That ugly rear butt is gonna be everywhere

• Mr Aminar Rashid Salleh,

Do you know why the Advance model brings you the 44%? Because it comes with VSC (plus 1-2 other fancy stuff) while the rest don’t. Furthermore, 2 airbags for any cars in 2016 is a joke.

It’s time for government to put VSC and minimum 6 airbags as minimum requirement for all cars sold in Malaysia. This is not 3rd world country, period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 9
  • Kotak katak kinte story on Aug 30, 2016 at 4:13 pm

Well done perodua, wonderful job.
    Basher pls dont come here take proton for comparison and just shoot like he is the best person to run the business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
  • Nice backdrop, 10,000th Pizza Delivery…oopss i mean Bezza Delivered…LOL

• On the contrary, the new Persona sales volume below 1000 units, 1/25 of Bezza.

• Satesh on Aug 30, 2016 at 4:40 pm

Excellent choice made from buyers. You can’t go wrong with Toyota Japanese car. However you’ll go horribly wrong with Proton cars, such as the iriz and Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • rapid on Aug 30, 2016 at 5:54 pm

Bezza truly the best aaa…

• Jamilah on Aug 30, 2016 at 6:45 pm

You can’t go wrong with Toyota Japanese car. However if you buy a Proton, you’ll be cursed for many many years to come. You’ll become the saddest driver on the road and other car drivers will laugh at you. What a stupid idiot person would want to drive a Proton??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • PureMalaysian on Aug 30, 2016 at 7:18 pm

Bezza lama2 tengok mcm terconget skt. Mcm mazda2 sedan dan ford fiesta sedan.Boot blkg naik ke atas. At least tak tembam mcm iriz sedan. Hatchback kalu design ke sedan/saloon memang mcm ni eh?

• Fazlee on Aug 30, 2016 at 9:31 pm

The sales person in the pict is my brother in law, kudos to Abang Haswar, Perodua Sales Bandar Baru Klang.

• Ms Check Pick on Aug 30, 2016 at 9:46 pm

Surely myvi sales hits badly.But don’t compare with persona which just recently launched and different segments.Saga will come out in September and if it offers perks as impressive as persona,it will increase p1 sales volumes too since this is bread and butter model for p1.Bezza,New Saga & Persona will benefit with this budget battles but jepunis entries like almera and vios rusting longer in stockyards.Unless they response by adding more safety goodies and more than 10k discount.Perhaps Tan Chong don’t mind but definitely UMW say no way judging by their heads so big to be humble & generous.Greedy

• Firdaus on Aug 31, 2016 at 12:18 am

Well, someone agrees with me that the internal space on the Pesona sucks.Eventhough the Pesona is supposed to be bigger than the Saga/Bezza, but internally Saga/Bezza’s space is larger.

Eventhough being a P2 fan myself, I can’t stop from commenting this on the Bezza, ‘that is the most ugliest looking rear end of a car’!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
    • No worry. The point is the sale figure.why so bother the rear. Thats is for those follow behind to see,driver wont see it.

• Banggang Betool! on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:01 pm

Lots of pple esp. P1 flers ‘bantai’ Pungguk Tingi Bezza. Don anybdy stop to think WHY Perodua Designers did that, that it was PURPOSE-FULLY designed to balance out any FULLY LOADED/Over-Loading rear seats, when taking looooong trips esp. ‘Balik Kampng’,so that it does not scrap the asphalt over undulating roads/bumps ??!