BMW Group Malaysia strengthens partnership with GreenTech – 1,000 ChargEV stations by end-2017

bmw-greentech-igem-4

At the ongoing International Greentech & Eco Products Exhibition & Conference Malaysia (IGEM), BMW Group Malaysia today officially announced that it has strengthened its partnership with GreenTech Malaysia.

As part of the BMW 360 Electric programme, customers with a BMW i or BMW eDrive vehicle are offered the BMW ChargeNow service. The ChargeNow card allows customers to enjoy 24/7 support and access to ChargEV’s charger network.

As of now, there are 95 stations scattered across Malaysia. The extended partnership will see that figure balloon to 1,000 stations by end-2017, with the majority of them located in Selangor (500), followed by Kedah (150), Johor (110), Melaka (90), Perak (60), Pahang (50) and Terengganu (40).

“It is important that we ensure the necessary infrastructure is available to support the new technology as this is what will also increase consumer confidence in the viability of electric and plug-in hybrid vehicles. As of today, the demand for both the BMW X5 xDrive40e and BMW 330e continues to grow.

“We have already begun delivering both vehicles to our customers; the BMW X5 xDrive40e currently has a wait list until Q2 2017 while the order bank for the BMW 330e is healthily growing. We are confident that the progress of these vehicles will continue to be positive,” said Sashi Ambi, head of corporate communications BMW Group Malaysia.

The chargers are fully compatible with the entire plug-in hybrid range of vehicles offered by BMW, which include the X5 xDrive40e, 330e iPerformance and i8.

Customers only need to download the My BMW Remote (BMW eDrive) or BMW i Remote app (BMW i) to locate available public charging stations. Alternatively, they can also use the onboard navigation system via the BMW ConnectedDrive services in their vehicles.

bmw-greentech-igem-17

Once a public charging station is located, simply tap the ChargeNow card over the reader symbol, press the handle button to remove the charging connector, and plug in. Upon full charge, simple tap the ChargeNow card to end the session before unplugging and returning the connector to its station.

GreenTech Malaysia aims to install 300 ChargEV stations by this year, and will keep to its target of achieving 25,000 ChargEV stations by 2020. The move will help support Malaysia’s target of deploying 100,000 electric vehicles (EVs) in the next five years.

BMW Malaysia’s tie-in with GreenTech was first announced during the launch of the X5 xDrive40e, where customers would be given a ChargeNow card, giving them direct access to ChargEV charging stations across Malaysia (with a charging cost).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• menate on Oct 05, 2016 at 2:08 pm

bakpo la kelate tak dok stesen letrek? kuno sgt ko kito orge kelate?

• BMW – the visionary.

• Encik Kunta on Oct 05, 2016 at 3:21 pm

The government and the pondan organization MAI should be doing this instead of BMW Malaysia.

After all, MAI is the one who told the rakyat government is moving towards EEV and EV. MAI told rakyat to buy EEV and EV but they never promote charging stations.

Better for MAI to close down. Serve no purpose at all

• sohai on Oct 05, 2016 at 4:10 pm

I think charging station is not a good solution for EV cars.

Instead, car manufacturers should work closer together to standardise some battery sizes, so that we can stop at a station and swap out the empty battery for a fully charged one. Much like how we swap our empty cooking gas tank. Just standardise it to a few sizes.

I certainly don’t want to spend 30mins waiting for my car to be charged.

• Mikey on Oct 05, 2016 at 8:42 pm

Good idea soh but impractical bcos U wouldn’t want to take someone older battery when yours are new.

Besides that, most batteries will have an expiry date/time due to the numbers of times charging/usage & your car manufacturer will void your warranties if found not “original”.

However, i agree with U that there should be a ‘standard’ size just like our household batteries ie “AA” or “AAA”

• sohai on Oct 06, 2016 at 12:20 pm

The details could possibly work out.
        In the sense you don’t really ‘own’ the battery. And it won’t be a cost to you in your car. You are just given one to drive out of the showroom.
        The battery stations do. So is their responsibility to conform to manufacturers quality. Abit like the B10 fuel need to go through a process with various car manufacturers.

Or the stations are jointly owned by manufacturers.. among the possibilities…

That may solve the long range traveling and time recharging issue. And since I don’t ‘own’ the battery, I won’t mind so much because all I want is the energy inside. Just like I won’t mind the cooking gas tank looks dirty then my previous one, is the gas inside I want. I just open an account with the station with some deposit. If I don’t own an EV car anymore, I just close the account and take back deposit.

Anyway, just among my stupid ideas.
        Thanks for agreeing to some of it. Cheers.

• Mikey on Oct 05, 2016 at 4:46 pm

Bravo to BMW for strengthening your partnership with Greentech to promote 1,000 ChargEV stations by end-2017.

Your commitment will surely cement M’sian confidence in buying BMW products in particular EV.

Thanks for making M’sia & the world a better place to live in. That’s what I call a caring car manufacturer.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 05, 2016 at 5:29 pm

The 330e isn’t selling as good as the X5…most possibly because they do not have the M-Sport model.

• nasha on Oct 05, 2016 at 6:10 pm

all big players are focusing on the hybrid line coz gomen plan to introduce b10 diesel. according to the big players, b10 fuel will make the car requires more maintenance & performance downgrade of the engine.

• Ridhuan on Oct 05, 2016 at 6:34 pm

The truth is, every year, BMW Malaysia, wholly owned by Sime Darby, sells a few thousand units of brand new BMWs to Hertz Rental (now called Sime Darby Car Rental, a wholly owned subsidiary of Sime Darby.)

Hertz Rental then leases the cars back to Sime Darby Group as company cars for their VP1 and SVP staff. This alone amounts to few thousand units per year as the group has over 100,000 employees.

So, is there really sales when BMW Malaysia is actually selling back their cars to within their organisation (Sime Darby group) for the use of company cars?

Half the BMWs on the road are actually Hertz Rental cars that are used for Sime Darby staff.

Pre-Reg’d included also. They quickly register their car and resell later with some (or no)losses to the public saying these cars have low mileage and often used for events or by their sales people. Like this can show high sales figures, however salespeople do not get these commission.

So, BMW Malaysia, please lah. Don’t kelentong the people. Even your 7 series also, half of the sales go to Sime Darby Directors as company cars.

• Cyclone on Oct 05, 2016 at 6:43 pm

Anyone tried BMW Premium Driving Circuit?

• ShafieApdal on Oct 05, 2016 at 7:17 pm

What about east malaysia?? East malaysians pay equal amount of taxes but always do not get equal treatment. When there’s development, its always about the west especially the Klang valley. Dont forget most of the country’s oil reserve come from the east.

• applegreen on Oct 05, 2016 at 7:36 pm

Possibly there will be many charEV spot at shopping mall parking lot

• Mikey on Oct 05, 2016 at 8:51 pm

Shafie. If I were U, I’ll tell my CM to follow Brunei way of administration & Sabah will not be a Poor state of Malaysia. Like U said, the country’s oil reserve come from the east.

By this logic alone, Sabah should be a Rich ‘nation’ & not as a ‘state’ of Malaya.