Proton SUV considered: to be based on Suzuki Vitara?

proton-vitara-theo-1

Proton sedan, hatchback and MPV. Check, check and check. The local carmaker even has multiple entries of each body type, in fact. Count it – it has four sedans (Saga, Persona, Preve and Perdana), two hatchbacks (Iriz and Suprima S) and two MPVs (Exora and the upcoming Ertiga). What’s next? A Proton SUV.

Yes, you read that right. We’ve just been informed by a high-ranking Proton official that the company is indeed considering a new SUV model for 2017. Seeing its active technical collaborations with Japanese carmaker Suzuki (the Ertiga is a Suzuki-sourced model), it wouldn’t be too far a guess to speculate that the new SUV could be based on an existing Suzuki model.

So the next question is, which Suzuki model will it be? Two possibilities immediately come to mind: the smaller Vitara Brezza or the larger, more sophisticated Vitara. We can’t tell which one it is just yet, but seeing as the former is a budget, built-to-a-price offering predominantly designed for the Indian market (it’s a Maruti Suzuki), a Proton SUV based on the latter does sound more likely.

Proton Suzuki Vitara Brezza 3

The engine options available also point towards the bigger Vitara model. While the Vitara Brezza has a sole 90 PS/200 Nm 1.3 litre DDiS turbodiesel engine with a manual-only transmission, the proper Vitara has a 118 hp/156 Nm 1.6 litre petrol engine mated to a six-speed automatic. No brainer which one will be more marketable in Malaysia.

There is also a Vitara S offered in certain European markets, powered by a 1.4 litre Boosterjet direct-injection turbocharged engine that makes 140 PS and 220 Nm of torque, also with a six-speed auto. Still, the 1.6 NA appears more likely, at least initially.

Local automotive renderer Theophilus Chin has actually imagined Proton-badged versions of both Suzuki Vitara models before, as you can see in the images here.

What do you think of this, folks? Do bear in mind that nothing is set in stone just yet, but the idea of a Proton SUV is pretty damn exciting, isn’t it? Let us know your thoughts below.

GALLERY: Proton-badged Suzuki Vitara by Theophilus Chin

GALLERY: Suzuki Vitara
GALLERY: Proton-badged Suzuki Vitara Brezza by Theophilus Chin
GALLERY: Suzuki Vitara Brezza

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Mikey on Oct 17, 2016 at 10:25 pm

After all the teasing & wheezing, no 1 & i mean NO ONE will be surprise if P1 is rebadging another car under its name. That is entirely not a bad thing though if the SUV is a trusted/reliable/stylish SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Oct 18, 2016 at 7:05 am

Suzuki is willing to give 3-4 other models for proton to rebadge if it succeeded to have a 51% share in proton, means having the main control of the company.

This include the vitara and maybe s max. The suzuki cars can be immediately sold in oversea markets since they passed all emission and safety tests worldwide.

However proton may need to lose between 30-40% of its workforce as Suzuki is saying proton’s 13-14k is having too much in excess.

That’s part of the deal in discussion between proton n suzuki (the number ninth car manufacturer in the world)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Kucing Kurap on Oct 18, 2016 at 10:45 am

No focus company. Proton got no focus. How to lawan CX5, X-Trail and CRV? Like the Perdana, it will be a failure.

hello Proton, get it clear in your numbskull head, Malaysians don’t want to pay more than RM50k for a Proton.

This is why all your cars like Perdana, Preve etc have failed miserably.

Please accept the fact that you are a cheap car producer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
    • Sam Loo on Oct 18, 2016 at 9:31 am

Surely cannot sale.. Buy HRV better than this Proton Vitara..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • Same L0rr on Oct 18, 2016 at 11:14 am

This suzuki have good RV! But buy Rush better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • Buy Vanguard better.. Vanguard too common in Sabah while rush is not that common.

• Same L0rr on Oct 18, 2016 at 11:19 am

If available 1.0 dual VVT-i engine, it could be nice for this size of SUV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • nabill (Member) on Oct 17, 2016 at 10:27 pm

Actually the vitara in europe comes with 1.6turbo and a dual clutch transmission!

• zizan on Oct 17, 2016 at 10:28 pm

Cepat !!! replacement for the Kembara is long overdue…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • Mikey on Oct 17, 2016 at 10:55 pm

Is this suppose to be sarcastic zizan bcos Kembara is under P2

• thepolygonal on Oct 18, 2016 at 9:18 am

Times changed… even P2 is having sedan cars. I think either P1 or P2 that comes out with a well to do SUV will have the upper hand.

• Kembara already replaced by the short-lived Nautica. Which proved, that CKD for SUVs don’t work. All Nauticas were shortened CBUs of the Toyota Rush.

• Same L0rr on Oct 18, 2016 at 11:21 am

Cepat !!! replacement for the Rusa is long overdue…

• Should work with Renault, Toyota or Honda if you want SUV and working with Renault and Toyota is better because they can rebadge the Koleos, CR-V or the Vanguard .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • donno on Oct 17, 2016 at 11:02 pm

The problem is that the new vitara is ugly as sin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • Totally agree with you

The Suzuki Vitara exterior and interior looks as describe in two words —- VERY UGLY >>>>>>>>>>>

If Proton management decide to adopt Vitara model as new Proton SUV , it will be another failure model for Proton right now.

Reliable so what? but very ugly and the Vitara ride is very choppy, bouncy and light especially for the rear passenger feeling rather uncomfortable always.

Forget about Vitara SUV , better collaborate with mid range SUV from Renault , Peugeot , Nissan and Honda. They are better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • camtakpro on Oct 18, 2016 at 10:02 am

Why Suzuki fall until like this? Because all their cars always have super ugly ass. Even Swift rear-end are worse than Suprima, Savvy, Iriz, Bezza.

• Jackson on Oct 17, 2016 at 11:19 pm

Couldn’t come any sooner. We’ve been waiting for you Proton SUV.

• Salam Sejahtera on Oct 18, 2016 at 12:07 am

konon kononnye kau nak belii, “We’ve been waiting for you Proton SUV” HAHAHAHAHA What a joke..nnti kalau dah ada proton suv, then kau komen, “arghhhhh this is bullshit, better buy macan” , isn’t? ahahahaha

• Ridhuan on Oct 18, 2016 at 11:14 am

Dah mmg biasa tu, budaya Msia kan. Janji menang sorak…huhuhuhhuh

• waiting to bash

• justsomepissedoffdude on Oct 17, 2016 at 11:26 pm

I realy hope its going to be a re-badge, cause proton has shown it doesn’t know car design even if their very existence depended on it. Left to them the SUV will end up with 14/15″ small wheels “to improve fuel consumption”. SMH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
  • Saiful Hamdan on Oct 17, 2016 at 11:27 pm

They should have made this real by now. Come on Proton!

• Fuiyoh, p1 like to copy and paste recently…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
    • Recently? As far as I know, Persona and Saga are Proton-developed models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Wow Proton’s on a roll. Perodua should be feeling some pressure now…. well competition is good for customers…

• Stephen on Oct 18, 2016 at 1:38 am

why is not that white color Proton Extremely I saw that one. if Proton can’t make it please don’t show us the design, 1st is Saga now is this SUV base on Suzuki Vitara really Disappointed

• Jason on Oct 18, 2016 at 1:48 am

Hoping to see a new Proton Satria hothatch with turbo!!

• Rebadge the upcoming Megane as the Satria and will sell like hot cakes because it will be the first handsome car from proton. Oh waii!!!!

• I wouldn’t mind at all if the Proton SUV is indeed based on the Suzuki Vitara, since its a good platform to begin with. Price it below 80k for the full-spec version and P1 will have trouble keeping up with the demand!

• Reko Sri on Oct 18, 2016 at 5:25 am

Ayia, faster sell Proton to Suzuki la… can rebadge other models also; Celerio, Ciaz, Swift… Maybe Suzuki will want to use Proton’s upcoming engine family.

• Proton on Oct 18, 2016 at 6:51 am

First thing first, make the proton Extrema based on vitara please!!! Sure win!
    http://paultan.org/2016/04/01/proton-extreme-suv-brochure/

• P1 is here for business. It’s ok to cut & paste as long as the design is presentable & lower price. We Malaysian will support you. P1 should focus on reliability. Originality is 3rd priority now.

• Geetha on Oct 18, 2016 at 7:45 am

Sell the Brezza between RM45-55k I’ll buy. Sell the Vitara between RM60-75k I’ll definitely buy also. Anything above. Proton can close shop

• Ahmad on Oct 18, 2016 at 8:03 am

Really think P1 should focus on their sedan first before venturing into SUV.
    SUV design with sedan performance and chassis is not going to do any good for P1.
    They should wait until they sedans are problem free, gain back reputation from the public, only then they can venture into SUV later on.
    Instead of SUV they should make more improvements to their aftersales service. SUV can come later.

• Yusuf on Oct 18, 2016 at 8:25 am

I hope Theophilus Chin will be a competitor of pinifarina design in the near future. Keep up the great work sir :)

• passion on Oct 18, 2016 at 8:51 am

yes yes i want.

• Dcj6564 on Oct 18, 2016 at 8:52 am

Well I don’t really agree with the headlight n front grill. Proton latest design be it perdana or persona or even saga they have pierced headlight coming from the front t grill. Theo can u a little bit changes to the rendered picture please.

• Forget it. By the time they launch Ertiga, Suzuki will pull out knowing that Proton cannot get along with anyone.

• applegreen on Oct 18, 2016 at 10:04 am

We’r not waiting for boring proton suv but waiting for ‘game changer’ suv by proton

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 18, 2016 at 10:50 am

The new Vitara Turbo is quite a handsome car with good handling. Sadly it’s not in Malaysia. Now this may explain why.

• It works if collaborating with Suzuki, but hope that it’s working like collaboration with Honda, keep whatever inside but please please redesign its exterior since this Suzuku Vitara looks weird and outdated… exterior design of Proton is getting better nowadays!

• old horse on Oct 18, 2016 at 12:19 pm

its good, but somehow, please work out a model together that can EXPORT!

• Only if proton knew Suzuki is better than Lotus for malaysia markets many years ago. No more racing heritage, come on, let’s do more normal car before u start to race.

• henry on Oct 18, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Wow..Vitara rebadge sounds interesting. Please make it come true.

• Beano on Oct 18, 2016 at 6:18 pm

Proton has to be focus. Don’t produced too many variant. Be like Honda Malaysia. Only produce city, civic, accord for their sedan n selling like hot cakes.

• Kelvin Kong on Oct 18, 2016 at 6:37 pm

Proton should make their own design, improve quality and safety, powerful diesel engine with 4WD, nice shape SUV, and price it from RM40k-80k then i’ll buy. ENOUGH !!!

• Bernard on Oct 18, 2016 at 9:08 pm

As ugly as it is, what choice do we have? No manual , at least have paddle shifters …

• I prefer take Vitara S Turbo for rebadge

• David on Dec 07, 2016 at 8:52 pm

Proton harus guna design lotus youngman T5 untuk rekabentuk luaran jika ingin melonjakan jualan.design dalaman dah ok.kalau nak guna rebadge vitara atau vitara brezza..hurmm..2-3 tahun pasti nampak macam ketingalan zaman dari model kereta jepun.kami bayar kereta bertahun lamanya.taknak pula rasa kereta design lama tapi masih baru.contohi design honda dan kia..harap dengar pandangan kami proton.persona 2016 setakat ni yg bagus tapi ada sedikit kekurangan dari segi design.