Proton SUV rendering based on the Suzuki Vitara

proton vitara theo 1

First things first. There’s no Proton-badged SUV based on a Suzuki planned, none that we know of at least. These renderings of the “Proton Vitara” are among the things that rendering wiz Theophilus Chin does for fun. This Preve-grilled object is based not on the Suzuki Grand Vitara that we know, but the B-segment Vitara that made its debut at Paris 2014 (it’s known as the Escudo in its domestic market).

Why not, some might ask. Proton has never had an SUV in its range before, although the national carmaker did come up with an SUV concept car in 2010, and the Iriz Active concept, which follows the VW Cross Polo and Hyundai i20 Active template. Perodua’s Terios-based Kembara was popular back in the day, and compact SUVs are the in-thing these days.

But in the current climate, Proton should really focus on its bread and butter segments, and the move to rebadge the Suzuki Ertiga MPV is a more practical project. Confirmed by PT Suzuki Indomobil Sales (SIS) last week, the knocked down packs of the three-row, seven-seat SUV will be reaching Port Klang from the second quarter of 2016.

proton vitara theo 2

It has been reported that SIS will export 1,500 units of the Ertiga to Proton per month. Production of the knocked down kits headed for Malaysia will start at SIS’ factory in Cikarang from May this year. Proton had previously announced that the first Proton-Suzuki joint model will enter production before the end of 2016.

In Indonesia, the Ertiga – which competes in the Low-MPV segment against the market-leading Toyota Avanza and Honda Mobilio – is powered by a 1.4 litre engine with 92 PS and 130 Nm of torque, and the K14B motor is paired to a five-speed manual and four-speed automatic gearbox.

Read the full “Proton Ertiga” story here.

GALLERY: Renderings of Proton-badged MPV based on the Suzuki Ertiga

GALLERY: Suzuki Vitara at Paris 2014
GALLERY: Suzuki Escudo at Tokyo Motor Show 2015

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Will not hesitate to buy a rebadge Vitara.. Bring it on Proton… The Suv market is hot right now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 20
    • james on Jan 26, 2016 at 11:45 am

An act of loser, Proton. U can never stand-independant even after 30 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 79
      • ultraman on Jan 26, 2016 at 12:19 pm

it not easy with current economy weather we have now, even lot of big car company still do re-badge, you need to read more over the internet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 14
        • UMGGOK on Jan 26, 2016 at 1:22 pm

Others car manufacturer will re-badge car when technology sharing within each other.

Malaysia car manucfacturer use millions to buy from others to rebadge LOL

Thats the difference!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
          • Just like recon car in Malaysia is new car. Suzuki car with Proton badge is Proton car. LMAO

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 26, 2016 at 11:20 pm

Proton is better rebadging cars. That’s why nasi lemak stall hardly sell kimchi soup. I give proton credit for that. Enough of the home breed junk

• hahaha.. this picture rendering by theophiluschin.. not proton..

• Mates, we know that Proton is not making the best cars in the market today, but this is just too much bashing on Proton.Whenever Proton rebadges, bashers complain.However, when Proton makes, design and develop new cars,bashers complain too.What do you expect Proton to do? I am not a big Proton fan but I am not a hater either, I think Proton should improve to be a better car manufacturer and we should support it until it becomes successful. Proton are making pretty fine cars these days, Suprima S, the Iriz, Exora and the Preve, but this is not enough to compete with what the market wants and “fine” is not good enough.Look at the Koreans, mates, they started a little bit earlier then Proton, but look at how successful they are now.Why you ask? Simple.The Koreans supported Hyundai and Kia from Day-1 even though they made pretty horrible cars earlier, but now look at them.All because of Korean’s support.Moving on, Proton has a few problems here and there, such as the CVT gearbox in newer models, luckily with the new GDI engines it is paired with the new Jatco CVT.Other then that, the aftersales is horrible, Proton should improve on that too.Cheers mates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 10
        • Jaguh global on Jan 26, 2016 at 3:33 pm

Remove the car tax lah if Proton car so good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
          • Hi Mr.Jaguh Global, I did not say that Proton car’s were perfect, in fact, far from it.They are a few problems here and there, when I say a few I mean quite a lot.But see, look at safety, the Prevé, which is a C-Segment Sedan, I compare it to a Corolla 1.8, the Prevé has 6 airbags, ESC, TC, HHA, amd the lot.On the other hand, the Corolla has only 2 Airbags,ABS+EBD and that is about it, look at how UMW’s cheating buyers who worship the Toyota brand? Anyway, moving on, “If Proton car is so good then remove the tax lah” is what you said above.Well, let me tell you something, all cars sold in Malaysia has goverment taxes, when I mean all I also mean Malaysian brands, as high as 85% on Malaysian brands and 130% on foriegn brands
            respectively.As I said earlier, I am not a Proton fan, I do not really like Protons, but now what they are doing is pretty impressive, but still a long long way to go before it reaches that level to be a global fighter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
          • Super like!

• aikon on Feb 04, 2016 at 2:38 pm

what’s the tax rate now for proton and other makes? any idea? but there’s no way that the govt. will remove car tax. huge income from there. the more you buy non-protons the more you contribute to the govt’s kitty. correct?

• just wonder after so many years of rebadge work, when they can be like korean rival for instance that can stand independently toward global market..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • klguy on Jan 26, 2016 at 11:29 am

they (proton) damaged the image of mitsubishi in malaysia, now the next victim is Suzuki

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 24
  • iskhalifah (Member) on Jan 26, 2016 at 11:46 am

Under the current JV agreement, Suzuki only allowed Proton to rebadge any of its cars in CKD form. The word ‘rebadge’ here is used rather than ‘re-engineered’ as Suzuki is not allowing Proton Campro/VVT engines to be used in its cars. CKD packaging means that the imported parts (Indonesia, India, Thailand) are subjected to higher tax (excise duty despite no import duty), thus it would be hard to see if Proton can competitively price the car with higher spec than Perodua (which produces engine in-house). The Indonesian & Indian spec Ertiga didnt come with ESC/ESP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • truthbetold on Jan 26, 2016 at 12:13 pm

after so many years and still aim to be photocopy machine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • Dear Proton,

Kindly re-badge the following for us:

Mercedes Benz A-Class, C-Class, E-Class, S-Class, GLA, GLC and GLE.
    BMW 1-Series, 3-Series, 5- Series, 7-Series, X1, X2, X3, X4, X5, X6
    Audi A1, A3, A4 ,A5, A6, A7, A8, Q1, Q3, Q5, Q7
    Volvo S40, XC40, XC90
    Range Rover Evoque, Defender, RR Sport
    Subaru WRX
    Nissan GT-R
    Ferrari FF, 428
    Porsche 911 Turbo, Cayenne Turbo, Panamera
    McLaren MP4C
    Bugatti Veyron
    Hino lorries
    Scania busses
    Airbus A380
    Boeing 737

Surely your market share will jump from 31% to 99% then. Thank you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 8
  • vitara on Jan 26, 2016 at 12:25 pm

the new vitara looks good. if proton people got any brain, they will bring in the vitara. rebadge or what … who cares. after all it is still a Suzuki with a proton badge.

• Jonn Dol on Jan 26, 2016 at 12:33 pm

The new Vitara looks like a decent/nicely designed SUV (exterior & interior wise), it could be a big hit for Proton if launched & marketed properly especially with the rise of compact SUV craze phenomenon boosted by the presence of Honda HR-V & Subaru XV. The Ertiga on the other hand is a bit of a question mark, as the market for compact MPV is almost matured. Can it break the current stronghold of Toyota Avanza & Perodua Alza?

• Yea,please bring it here,with the 1.4 turbo jet engine…i dont care with proton logo,its still a suzuki good car..

• handsomecar on Jan 26, 2016 at 1:10 pm

this rendering looks so cool and handsome. it’s suits for young and energetic people. And if proton bring it in surely it will most safety features SUV, just hope it is less than 80k/90k pricetag. I fall in love with this proton suv design I swear. this is completely a new car that barely seen on malaysia road coz it’s suzuki brand of vitara and quite expensive in here. so this will be oversell in here I guess, very good looking rendering car and hoping the same design in production later. Just hope it will full pack of safety features like new proton models nowadays.

• Jonn Dol on Jan 26, 2016 at 2:05 pm

Actually the original Vitara’s looks much better. The over glorified Proton ‘Wing’ grille does not fit into the Vitara’s front end design. Just maintain that original grille.

• handsomecar on Jan 26, 2016 at 6:26 pm

Vitara’s grille is not bad, but if I’m not mistaken all proton cars have the logo at the middle and a line at both right and left. So maybe vitara’s grille will be removed and they replace it like on rendering one. It is still acceptable if that small part front of car can cut a bit the cost of the car because the original one need two bold lines compare to single line by proton.

• Consumer on Jan 26, 2016 at 1:12 pm

it looks quite handsome for this rendering. thumbs up for Chin!
    Honestly, i dont mind if proton want to rebadge any brand that they married with to complete the product line-up, but make sure you do well on your own R&D product as well, don’t keep disappoint your country man, they paid so much vehicle taxes for so many years and none of them hope to see Proton to take another 30 years to keep running in a round circle that never end.

• handsomecar on Jan 26, 2016 at 1:21 pm

this rendering looks so cool and handsome. it’s suits for young and energetic people. And if proton bring it in surely it will most safety features SUV, just hope it will be less than 80k/90k pricetag. I fall in love with this proton suv design I swear. this is completely a new car that barely seen on malaysia road coz it’s suzuki brand of vitara and quite expensive in here. so this will be oversell in here I guess, very good looking rendering car and hoping the same design in production later. Just hope it will full pack of safety features like new proton models nowadays.

• youmom on Jan 26, 2016 at 1:22 pm

60k maybe?

• stupid proton lack of design on Jan 26, 2016 at 1:48 pm

ugly as fxxx !!!

• The “moustache”…. so Kung Fu Fighting

• wow this is nice!

• Jimmy on Jan 26, 2016 at 2:18 pm

This looks alot like a SsyangYong Tivoli…

• Oh mak lu cina on Jan 26, 2016 at 2:35 pm

Talk rubbish CEO who said no more rebadging. Eat your talk.

• shawal on Jan 26, 2016 at 2:39 pm

rebadged, 4wd , turbocharged….

• Robert mugabe on Jan 26, 2016 at 2:44 pm

Suzuki: japan’s lousiest car company
    Proton: most hated car company in malaysia

Two wrongs don’t make a right!

• mr1031 on Jan 26, 2016 at 2:48 pm

approved! bring it on!

• mohd deen on Jan 26, 2016 at 3:29 pm

Just offer an equity stake to Suzuki.
    Challenging times ahead so this is the best option. Keep the national pride and ego aside.
    DRB has to take this bold step.

• Ok with re-badged.. But mr theo.. Pls give proton some fresh front look… This ‘wing’ thing is out of date.. Seriously..too boring..uninspiring..

• Proton will rebadge Suzuki logo to Proton. Buyer will rebadge Proton logo back to Suzuki.

• Tadalaku on Jan 26, 2016 at 8:35 pm

What happen to the proton, that wanted to be among world player? Making global car??

Now…probably resorting to rebadging a Suzuki….and 20+ years ago…rebadged Mitsu cars..

Now, history is repeating again.

proton’s slogan should be “Dare to Re-Badge”

• Other than rebadge, what can purotong do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • disgusted on Jan 27, 2016 at 12:05 am

Proton produa sama2 stupid.spend so much money rebadge.and when people buy the car they change bumper and so on to get the japanese feel.for example viva convert avy.better just change the emblem.the rest let it be.people buy also senang hati.car look nice.malaysianize the car become like crap.

• Nazirasa on Feb 02, 2016 at 10:54 am

would prefer if proton make SUV based on Suprima model