Future public transport projects should focus on commuters’ needs and demographic changes – Najib

AppleMark

AppleMark

Public transport operators have been asked to have a more commuter-focused view and take into account demographic changes when setting out future transport projects, The Sun reports. The call was made by prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak at the launch of the Land Public Transport Commission’s (SPAD) five-year report exhibition and symposium at KLCC yesterday.

“In envisioning Malaysia as a modernised nation, with liveability status equivalent to that of other developed countries, we need to shift tracks,” he said.

“For example, examining the trend of burgeoning private vehicles heading into the heart of Kuala Lumpur city every day and rising urban migration patterns, population growth shows us that we are only a few years away from witnessing one huge gridlocked ‘carpark’. That is not a future we want for this country,” he added.

He said that SPAD should also take the same approach when mapping out future urban public transport plans, even if great strides had been made. Najib said since SPAD’s establishment in 2010, its annual surveys had revealed that customer satisfaction towards land public transport in the country had risen from 48% in 2010 to 74% in 2015.

“The study showed that consumers are most satisfied with rail services, such as LRT, KTM and ERL. This is one of the key reasons why rail has been identified as the backbone for urban public transport,” he said in his speech.

He added that despite challenging economic times, development projects under the 11th Malaysia Plan remain unaffected, and that key infrastructure projects like the Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) and the High-Speed Rail (HSR) link to Singapore – expected to be completed by 2026 – will still proceed.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• idris on Oct 18, 2016 at 1:09 pm

Cukop hebat..48% 2010 >> 74% 2015. Syabas SPAD !

• metertaxi drywing on Oct 18, 2016 at 1:35 pm

In the future every one can be taxi driver. With new name grabueber. I call this job custom pulas stearing..

• Kucing Kurap on Oct 18, 2016 at 1:58 pm

SPAD cannot even solve teksi gangster problem, they want to do 5 year report plan?? Ha ha ha ha ha. What a joke. This is like spending RM7 billion on our latest tallest tower in Malaysia. Somebody wants to make money.

Hello SPAD, you own boss wife got so many teksi companies under her name. Conflict of Interest. This alone you cannot sort, you want to do 5 year plan ah???

Please have transport plans that do not involve relatives of Ministers having the contract to build the transport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • Same Lorrrr on Oct 18, 2016 at 4:54 pm

Can you be a minister? I support you. You sure have brilliant plan.

• Sure can. North island will have opening soon. Cant see how anybody else can do a worse job, so why not?

• Mikey on Oct 18, 2016 at 4:56 pm

Sound like the current PM is blaming the past PM for failing to address the transports issues

• The thing is: it is the truth.
      And he dun have the political luxury to spread his grand vision over 22 years. It needs to be done NOW!

• kenny fook on Oct 18, 2016 at 5:51 pm

When clowns gather, we have a circus of a nation for the world to spectate.

• Nationwide kirrer clowns gathering on 1911. Must mark on my calendar

• Robcar on Oct 19, 2016 at 8:07 am

Now only it crossed his mind that transportation plan should cater to demographic changes. Isn’t that a bit too late.