2017 Mazda CX-5 – next-gen teased, debuts Nov 16

p1j13419l

Five years ago, the Mazda CX-5 heralded a new era for Hiroshima, coming with the company’s first application of the Kodo design language. So it’s only fitting that the next-generation model, set to be unveiled at the 2016 Los Angeles Auto Show on November 16, brings forth the next evolution of the corporate look.

The sole teaser image, showing the side profile of the car, reveals a few key design details of the new CX-5. For a start, the car appears sleeker and more curvaceous than before, with a lower roofline. At the front, there are slimmer headlights, and you can just about see the chrome grille outline flowing out from underneath the headlights, as we’ve seen in previous spyshots.

Along the sides, the character line that goes above the front fenders now sweeps gradually downwards across the doors as on newer Mazdas, while the current car’s characteristic swoosh low down looks to have been replaced by a more conventional horizontal highlight. There’s also now a thick chrome highlight on the beltline that sweeps upwards, following the window line.

Under the bonnet, the CX-5 could see the debut of next-generation SkyActiv-G petrol engines, incorporating Homogenous Charge Compression Ignition (HCCI) – which uses high compression to ignite the fuel without a spark, much like a diesel engine. More efficient next-gen SkyActiv-D diesel engines should also feature, along with the possible inclusion of the CX-9’s new 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G turbo petrol engine.

Elsewhere, the CX-5 should receive the new G-Vectoring Control technology – which modulates engine torque to optimise vertical load on each wheel, improving steering response and stability – along with Traffic Sign Recognition and a camera-based Advanced Smart City Brake Support with pedestrian detection. All these technologies have been introduced on the facelifted Mazda 3, as well as the updated 6, 2 and CX-3.

SPYSHOTS: 2017 Mazda CX-5

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 28, 2016 at 9:56 am

100 times better looking than new crv…crv is now no 3 in the US after rav4 and kuga/escape…continue with that ugly design and cx-5 will eclipse crv any time soon…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
  • Mikey on Oct 28, 2016 at 10:21 am

Japanese car manufacturer change their models every 6 years. It is time for Mazda to update/replace this popular model which already sold more than 1 million in 2015.

Thanks for giving us a cheaper choice/alternative compare to the Germans SUV. I have no doubt that the New CX-5 will follow the success & create another benchmark for others to follow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Kawamura on Oct 28, 2016 at 11:54 am

Arigato kozaimaz! On ur support! We hope more Marayzian support all our productz!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 28, 2016 at 10:49 am

looking sharp

• Subaru XV > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 35
  • verynicecx5 on Oct 28, 2016 at 10:56 am

The current model is so salivating. This new model going to be better. Keep going Mazda! Hope to see a 1.8/2.0 turbo engine introduced in Malaysia! I’ll for sure buy it!

• Looks nice, but the front overhang looks like too long, hope doesn’t sacrifice too much interior and boot space, practicality still priority for a SUV.

• W204 C63 AMG on Oct 28, 2016 at 12:38 pm

Honestly, the current FL CX-5 still look so fresh that they could continue selling it for another 4 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • CX-3 looks sharper.

• andromeda on Oct 28, 2016 at 1:39 pm

When it going to launched in Malaysia? As i was thinking to buy a CX5 now, however, know that it going to launch a new upgrade soon, should I wait a little while?

• andromeda on Oct 28, 2016 at 1:44 pm

Any idea when is this new model going to launch in Malaysia? i was planning to buy a cx5 now, should i wait a little while?

• timothy on Oct 28, 2016 at 4:15 pm

Better wait a while bro. Dont be like me when new models like Honda Accord and Mazda CX-5 just launched, I bought both for my wife and myself immediately.
      Now regret like mad. Paid so much for full spec, now have facelift models which are much better equipped and if there are promotions, even cheaper to buy. Sad lor.

• Hot Cat not Hot Dog on Oct 28, 2016 at 9:29 pm

U should wait …bro !

• ah chong on Oct 28, 2016 at 3:34 pm

Still design Angry Bird theme lol? xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Bugger on Oct 29, 2016 at 1:31 am

I dont know about most. But the current CX5 did not age particularly well.. the rear is kinda boring to the eyes… i guess the number of CX5s on the road today is making it less and less attractive. The new CX9 however is down-right handsome. If this has the character of the new CX9 then ill put my downpayment now! *fundme*

• Felix on Oct 29, 2016 at 1:37 am

All Mazda skyactive models received above average results and beyond… i own a 2214 mazda 3 and 2015mazda 2 skyactive. My company just bought a 2016 mazda 6 . All are 2 liter skyactive petrol for the 3 and 6.
    So far the drive are superb and handles like a dream. Many of my clients listen to my advise bought CX5… and none of them had a single complain. I already own 5 mazda cars… and I’ll keep purchasing mazda in the future

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 29, 2016 at 11:54 pm

honestly, mazda handles a lot better than some conti cars…*ahem ahem audi*

• Will Mac on Oct 29, 2016 at 11:36 pm

damn had no idea they were launching a replacement so soon! I might have waited for this car. That front bonnet looks a bit long tho .. hope it doesn’t suffer the same issue as the CX3, i.e. no interior space.

• Melvin Low on Nov 02, 2016 at 12:34 am

Guys, any idea when the new facelift of Mazda 2 will be launch in Malaysia? or the current Mazda 2 in the showroom is the latest Mazda 2 2016?