All 31 highways, 177 toll plazas in M’sia to go cashless (ETC) by 2017; usage now 93%, transaction time 3 sec

ldp-petaling-jaya-selatan-toll

Following an unofficial announcement earlier this year, the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) has again confirmed plans to implement the cashless electronic toll collection (ETC) system at all 31 highways and 177 toll plazas in the country by 2017. Yep, that’s next year.

Effective November 9, both the Damansara-Puchong Highway (LDP) and the Senai-Desaru Highway (SDE) in Johor will go the cashless route. With this new addition, all toll plazas in the Klang Valley will have implemented the ETC system by the end of the year.

There are only three highways (out of 31) that have yet to go cashless, these being the East Coast Expressway Phase 1 (LPT1), Phase 2 (LPT2) and the ELITE Highway. All three will move to the ETC system in 2017, and with it, LLM targets to have the remaining 99 toll plazas (out of 177) to go fully cashless.

etc-implementation-chart

By November 9, there will be 2,288 toll lanes in Malaysia, of which 1,232 and 496 are Touch n’ Go and SmartTAG lanes, respectively. The remaining 560 are cash and Touch n’ Go lanes. The usage rate of ETC among Malaysian traffic as of August 2016 is said to be 93% (138 million out of 149 million users), up from 85% in 2015, and 63% in 2014.

The benefits of the ETC system are clear to see, according to the LLM. The transaction time is reduced from 15 seconds for a cash lane to six seconds with Touch n’ Go, and just three seconds using SmartTAG. Each toll lane’s maximum capacity also goes up from 400 vehicles per hour to 550 with Touch n’ Go, and up to 1,000 vehicles per hour using SmartTAG.

plaza-tol-damansara-case-study

To prove its effectiveness, a case study was carried out at the Damansara A toll plaza on the SPRINT highway. On March 1, before ETC was implemented, the maximum length of the train of vehicles at the toll booth was measured at 300 metres. By March 23, with ETC in place, it went down to just 10 metres.

Meanwhile, to promote the usage of ETC along the LDP, 68,000 free Touch n’ Go cards will be distributed (users will have to pay a minimum top up of RM5), and SmartTAG units will be sold at a discounted price of RM104.95. For the SDE, 8,000 Touch n’ Go cards will be given out, with SmartTAG offered at RM99.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• paparadzi on Nov 02, 2016 at 4:38 pm

Jobless pengutip Toll…rising unemployment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • MeToo on Nov 02, 2016 at 5:14 pm

Cash less is good…. but how come our smart tag system need slow down the car and often times cannot read?

While Singapore system, u drive 80kmh also can detect and failure rate much lower?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • Different wireless txn. SmartTag uses IR, so need line of sight. SG ERP uses RFID.

• Reader on Nov 02, 2016 at 9:34 pm

In Melbourne, you can even drive at the speed limit of the motorway (110kmh) and drive pass their toll system without any issues! No congestion at all.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 03, 2016 at 12:09 pm

Cannot compare with Melbourne lah. We in Malaysia got different system. It is slower. Even the machines at Touch and Go also like us….like to minum teh 8x and relax.

• Kutip tollers no future. Skill them up for jobs with future is better, no?

• Ben Yap on Nov 02, 2016 at 4:40 pm

which cashless system in place, it means toll concessionaires will have less overhead expenses. this translates to more operational cost savings for them.

why the heck they still need to increase toll and ask for extension?

MACC should step in and investigate how their funds are managed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Nov 02, 2016 at 4:53 pm

What a way to suck our money faster

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 03, 2016 at 12:14 pm

So many people Touch and Go kena makan big time. Even the parking machines also makan more than usual.

If you do the maths, Touch and Go reaps millions per month on “aacidently” taken out more.

Most of us don’t complain cause for a few ringgit, we got no time to go to KL Sentral Touch and Go office and get back our stolen money.

After all, parking in KL Sentral alone is RM5 per hour, so, most of us just let the matter go.

Who untungs? Touch and Go aka crony company makes millions per day

• waters on Nov 02, 2016 at 5:03 pm

SmartTag should be free. Why should we pay for what is effectively someone else’s wallet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Ur paying for the transceiver equipment, not the e wallet access.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • waters on Nov 03, 2016 at 11:19 am

But that equipment has got ZERO value to me. I can’t use it anywhere else.

• I have a very expensive Mont Blanc pen here which I cant use when swimming, or driving or when I go to sleep. Does it make the pen ZERO value to me? Of course not! Not when NEED to use it for writing, so same thing applies to ur SmartTag transceiver.

• waters on Nov 03, 2016 at 2:33 pm

A Mont Blanc pen has intrinsic value as a recognized name. Also, it brings you joy and you can re-sell it to collectors. It has tons of value. This has nothing, it’s just a POS that you attach to your windshield. It should be free.

My 45 year old sears silvertone analog radio only picks up AM. Yet, it has more value than this crap that they sell for RM99 so that you can pay them. Ridiculous!

Comparing a SmartTAG to a Mont Blanc pen doesn’t make sense. You know it should be free too.

• I beg to differ. Nothing made shud come free. Thats just lazy pipu with silver platter thinking. But it shud be priced reasonably.

Let me ask, shud ur boss ask u work for free? No, right?
            So why shud ST maker gip u their product for free?

• waters on Nov 03, 2016 at 4:05 pm

Wow! Earlier it was a comparison with a Mont Blanc pen, now you’re digging the bottom of the barrel. They give TNG cards for free, I bet those cards are made from something as well.

Anyway, do Mont Blanc pens only work with their paper or paper that they license? I bet they would give it away for free if it does.

It should be free. Period. We’re paying toll, going through the gates. I bet you know it should be free. The truth will set you free and hopefully a free Smart TAG.

• Apparently u have a very hard time comprehending and im not in a mood to gip English tuition for u. So farewell.

• waters on Nov 04, 2016 at 9:30 am

Yup, you do have a hard time comprehending. If you want to pay for something useless, go ahead, don’t try justifing that crap to me.
            What I said still stands: The SmartTAG should be free. BTW, your English is about as good as your arguments. FAIL! Have a good life paying.

• West end boys on Nov 02, 2016 at 5:27 pm

Please lah fix the smart tag issue! Why are we using 90s technology? Dubai is using sticker based smart tag already!!! Everyday i see people with smart tag problem reversing urgghhh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • applegreen on Nov 02, 2016 at 5:32 pm

In India, Taj Mahal. In Malaysia, Tol Mahal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • CARtoon on Nov 02, 2016 at 5:45 pm

must be on of the concessionaire’s shiok sendiri traffic impact assessment.

• Peng Wong on Nov 02, 2016 at 5:46 pm

More and more motorist are using SmartTags. And yet there are fewer lanes that accommodate SmartTag. It is so obvious in the Klang Valley to see more empty TnG lanes and long queues at the few Smart Tag lanes. At some smaller Toll checkpoints there are no SmartTag lanes.

This highway monopolies just don’t care about the motorist using their roads. Try buying a Smart Tag machine.

• Better to have more TnG lanes cuz u can still use ST at TnG lane, but not vice versa.

• arteu32 on Nov 03, 2016 at 9:04 am

a TnG lane can be used by smartTag, but a smartTag lane cant be used by TnG.
      But yeah, they should add more smartTag lanes as more and more people start using smartTag

• ex-VGM staff on Nov 02, 2016 at 5:51 pm

info maybe a little bit misleading. firstly yes it is true transaction takes a minimum of 3 seconds but may take longer when
    A. not enough balance
    b. smart tag low battery power
    C. smart tag hold backwards
    D. power window rosak

E. during morning rush hour at times the ques may add another 45 seconds. no kidding.

• A. user problem
      B. user problem
      C. user problem
      D. user problem
      E. what does this have to do with SmartTag?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • typical My pipu. Own fault, blame others. Seriously? Problem A to D?

• someone on Nov 03, 2016 at 11:19 am

I think what he is trying to say is that the Smart Tag system is not foolproof enough (user error) for the entire ETC to be efficient. Compare to other options like RFID, where the chances of error are very very low and the improvement on efficiency is obvious, then it is wise to push for full ETC implementation. But for now, our Smart Tag system really is… not up to par

• roaduser on Nov 03, 2016 at 11:45 am

nonsense, 45 seconds is during non rush hour.
      i queue for 2-3 minutes (at least) during peak hour every morning..

• fanta strawberry on Nov 04, 2016 at 9:48 am

frustrating when we see cash lane is moving faster, right?

• stupid touch n go lane sometimes also dont work…people end up have to reverse…

cash lane also sometimes also off the touch n go machine…had to inform tol booth fella i use tng…

• I use the NKVE every workday evening rush hour, and even with cashless toll being implemented, there is a bad bottleneck at the Jalan Data toll plaza going into the NKVE! After toll it is smoother.

Authorities should plan a better system, now looks like toll collection is causing the jam!!

• car lover on Nov 02, 2016 at 9:17 pm

Wow ! Cash for us but they take your cash first. Imagine if everyone top up RM10. How much they will collect ? Good business .

• Dare to sell RM99 for the useless smart tag?? XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX!!!!!!!

• Reader on Nov 02, 2016 at 9:38 pm

What I see at most Klang Valley tolls is the opposite of this study during peak hours.

Smart Tag lanes will be much longer than TnG. Most of the time I just drive through Tunai & TnG lanes and use my Smart Tag on their reader. A lot of times Smart Tag lanes are even more congested with people having to reverse or even wait/can’t go through.

Also as someone mentioned, can’t even buy Smart Tag, has not been in stock for so many months now.

• mr1031 on Nov 02, 2016 at 10:20 pm

that dated smart tag so advanced still need to sell more than rm100 ka?? gila2

• DumbAF idiots on Nov 02, 2016 at 10:43 pm

Stupid corrupted fools. Remove all the tolls and PLUS immediately like in Melaka for example and no stupid waiting in lines anymore. Zero jams and ZERO waiting in time. No more late to work. Bodoh punya orang.

• Sammy on Nov 03, 2016 at 7:51 am

What the point go cashless with speedy counter, after toll also traffic jam. Having highway is a service to improve our traffic congestion and less time required from point A to B but here we pay toll with very bad traffic. Klang Valley has the most highway toll system our life should be better not burden.

• Danny on Nov 03, 2016 at 11:22 am

Firstly, TNG cards not readily available with many outlets out of stock. Secondly, TNG collects money upfront. There should be a large float which TNG earns interest from. Thirdly, Smartag should be given out free instead of being charged differently at different outlets. Fourthly, TNG use in car parks and merchants should not charge additional 10%. (Just learn from Singapore and Hong Kong how to operate their pre-paid cards.) Offer easy alternatives to top-up TNG cards with various payment means. Credit card, cash etc. second world infrastructure (because IR system vs RFID) but still third world mentality.

• Add A Comment on Nov 03, 2016 at 3:26 pm

It is not about how fast you get through the toll. It is the problem after the toll. That bottleneck where you have like 10 lanes combine into 2. You are most likely gonna stuck right under that ETC sensor for at least 3 mins (if you are lucky). In fact, the total transaction time should be calculated from like 2KM before the toll, where you have already started the queue to the toll (yes…I am looking at you, LDP tolls). So, I would be more realistic – total transaction time 30mins?

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• Hot Cat not Hot Dog on Nov 04, 2016 at 8:50 am

Evertime going pass smart tag lane…i will slowing and carefully drive thru…make sure hear the sound ” di ” …