Geely not buying Lotus, considers “tech cooperation”

Lotus_TheGardens-31

Not long after reports surfaced that Chinese automaker Geely may be buying out Lotus, company chairman Li Shufu has clarified that Lotus’ parent company Proton was seeking a partnership with other companies, “but our conversations were just on the technological cooperation – we never talked about the purchase of equity.”

Besides auto manufacturing, the group’s engineering and consulting arm, Lotus Engineering has provided consulting services to other automakers in the past. While Li denied that his company had put forth any proposal to purchase Lotus, he suggested that Geely is interested in working with the British sportscar manufacturer in some capacity. “Of course we are facing different options,” Li said, without elaborating further.

Geely’s parent company, Geely Holding Group currently also owns Volvo and the London Taxi Company. Li said that there are currently no plans to add more brands to that list. Focusing on the Volvo-Geely partnership is a priority to increase their global presence and to improve efficiency, he said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• hey Jib, you there tolong la jumpa Geely, tell him ambil lotus free proton ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • Sell Campro engine tech 1st.

• Jimmy on Nov 02, 2016 at 10:38 pm

You pay for my salary, yet you can’t get my knowledge, wisdom and skills.
      Maybe Geely can; if yes, they are good at doing business.
      Money is not easy to earn, right?

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Nov 02, 2016 at 4:58 pm

Ouch, kena reject. That hurts
    Sorry try harder Proton
    Hahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • wiwiwiwiwiw on Nov 02, 2016 at 5:39 pm

Maybe Proton and Lotus shok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 03, 2016 at 12:11 pm

Proton and Lotus like to lie a lot to show they are happening. But globally, all car companies know both Lotus and Proton is junk status.

• Aero (Member) on Nov 02, 2016 at 4:58 pm

Nothing good comes from over-speculation. It will just create uncertainty and false hope. Good on Geely for responding so quickly, even when they didn’t have to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Ben Yap on Nov 02, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Geely also don’t want the dying Lotus. only proton wants… sigh…. kutip brands that adds no value.

no wonder ask for government support.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 02, 2016 at 6:45 pm

Lotus dying? They are losing money yes, die no. Lotus is expected to turn profit in 2017. That the first time in 68 years. If DRB want to sell Lotus now they can sell at higher price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • Alson P on Nov 03, 2016 at 4:41 am

Indeed.. Lotus market share at higher now.. Booking from USA at highest now for evora 400 and evora sport 410..

• Speaker easy as head turner. Nothing change eventually worse.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 03, 2016 at 12:20 pm

typical Malaysian fall for tricks of Proton. They say can earn Profit only kampung dudes fall for it.

See lah the debts of Lotus…..few hundred million pounds lah.

You buy Lotus, you buy its debts. This not buying ikan kembung in pasar lah bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Volvo – Handling by Lotus.

• Maruah lebih penting dari segala-galanya. Is there any more maruah in Proton btw?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • Okay…. glad to know Proton’s not too hard up. Even they know Lotus is their crown jewel… good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Andrekua on Nov 02, 2016 at 10:06 pm

A real car manufacturer should at least have its own engine and drive train. I doubt Lotus has either. Besides Lotus cars are hand made and glued together which also mean no manufacturing tech to steal. If I’m Geely, I would just ‘spanar’ Lotus engineers and Lotus will die. Why overpay for it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Jeffrey Ng on Nov 03, 2016 at 9:28 am

You sounded as if Lotus uses UHU to stick their cars together.

Design of panels’ mating surfaces, selection of adhesive, preparation of bonding surfaces, pattern of adhesive application, curing of adhesive are just some of the challenges involved.

Making a car using steel is way easier than aluminium or composites, just in case you didn’t know.

• Jual pun salah,
    Tak jual pun salah.

Apamacem bashers?

#BasherLogicTakdeLogic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Don’t have to sell Lotus to china, they just copy it and no one can do anything about it.

• Geely knows it will get cheaper later

• A Pang on Nov 06, 2016 at 11:54 pm

Just sell Lotus Share to Geely 10% to 20% max equity.. Lotus market share at higher now but Lotus still need collaboration with giant company to inject big amount of capital..