North-South Highway toll should be abolished – LGE

NKVE_KM15

Instead of hikes, toll charges for the North-South Expressway should be abolished instead, Lim Guan Eng said today, reported by Malay Mail Online.

The chief minister of Penang said that the North-South Highway has fully recouped its construction cost and capital expenditure of RM5.9 billion. He was referring to works minister Datuk Fadillah Yusof’s statement that toll collected for the North-South Highway amounted to RM36.39 billion at the end of 2015.

“Furthermore, the total amount of compensation paid out by the federal government to PLUS following the deferment in toll hikes until 2015 was RM917.1 million. In other words, this RM36.39 billion collected from Malaysians is six times more than the construction cost of RM5.9 billion,” Lim said in a statement.

The Bagan MP added that the costs incurred in land acquisition for the highway were covered by the federal government. “Even if we took into account maintenance and widening of roads, such extra costs cannot exceed the RM36.9 billion collected from the public,” he reasoned.

The politician then demanded to know the annual maintenance costs of the North-South Highway. “Since PLUS has recouped its capital expenditure, why have the toll rates not gone down to reflect only maintenance costs?” he asked.

It was reported yesterday that the government had agreed to postpone the rise of toll charges for 2016 and 2017, and operators of the Eastern Dispersal Link (EDL), Kajang-Seremban Highway (Lekas), Senai-Desaru Expressway (SDE), and Guthrie Corridor Expressway (GCE) will be getting RM59.77 million in compensation.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• YES! I fully agree with u, comrade LGE! We must abolish toll at NSE, and then recycle the booths at undersea tunne… oh wai…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 565 Thumb down 386
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:35 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 150 Thumb down 384
      • Seeking Admin Help on Nov 05, 2016 at 11:04 am

what a loser this auto guy. This car blog lah, why bring politics? Admin, this john guy now confirmed thumbs u his own comment. Same with Auto guy too. Admin must do something about these 2 guys who keep on thumbs up their own comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 19
        • Sama L00 on Nov 07, 2016 at 10:52 am

Years after years Kelantan Terrengganu Johor also floods, so what?! You like to pay toll so much, please pay for all of us. Manage your own business properly… simple thing also cannot manage… typical BR1M beggar style… malu malu…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • Terence on Nov 05, 2016 at 2:25 pm

Drive into Penang, you feel like Singapore. So clean, properly managed. No FBI investigating, no dedak, no curi curi and all hardworking. I hope the lazy people red shirt open their eyes and see for themselves

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 49
        • Coming to png, i see left right and center everywhere, the pipu exercising their human rights to scold and curse enforcement officers for having the gumption to do their duties, and then throwing money into their faces.

Hidup human rights!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 36
      • Yusof on Nov 05, 2016 at 2:30 pm

AutoFrenz and john are ONE Person. So obvious. Don’t feed the roll

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 05, 2016 at 5:19 pm

And one more thing just to remind you guan eng that sg nyiur toll in butterworth also you cannot abolish like what what you promised many2 times many2 years ago…now this..really la tokong ..you are such a joker…befitting your poker face..your own backyard also cannot manage…simple thing also cannot do…no wonder people call you under market value chief minister…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 50
        • Shamsul Anuar on Nov 06, 2016 at 4:06 pm

otai tak betul brader? Kerajaan pusat dah bankrap tak nampak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
          • Sama L00 on Nov 07, 2016 at 10:55 am

Yea, while your beloved PM busy selling this and that to China. Congrats to Chinese communist party to have a new branch opened in Wisma Putra!!

• xem6861 on Nov 05, 2016 at 10:42 pm

The way you saying like ” you cant even manage your own family well as you should have not critic others wrongdoing as well,especially our government”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Hamdan on Nov 06, 2016 at 1:58 pm

This autofrienz got some chip on his shoulder. Bro, this is a car site. Be mature and grow up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • King of Thumbing on Nov 05, 2016 at 2:23 pm

Within few hours can get 370 thumbs up. Very sad sad sad person. Can refresh page non stop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Yusof on Nov 05, 2016 at 2:27 pm

I have been following this blog now 1 year, I see one individual playing dirty press LIKE many times on his comment. Don’t you feel ashamed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Not only does this person feels no shame but he has no life as well. He devotes his entire time posting bird brained comments as multiple individuals (all equally idiotic), refreshing the page and liking his own comments. Disgusting and shameful.

I suspect the only reason Paul Tan allows this nonsense is because he drives traffic and comments with all the controversial and false statements he spews shamelessly.

• Low Budget on Nov 07, 2016 at 11:03 am

May be his wife refused him to have sex so depriving of sex and frustrations, he write comments on every topics on this site and thumb himself up. Most of his comments are junk.
        All Paul Tan site readers should just treat this pest as a minor irritant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Kaki Cheating on Nov 05, 2016 at 2:36 pm

Same type of cheating in elections. here already can cheat, press LIKE 350 times, you can expect cheating in elections too. Its genetic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on Nov 05, 2016 at 11:27 pm

Penang is properly managed, and most people there think that they are definitely better taken care of. 95% can score A right, the undersea tunnel constitute the -5% perhaps.
      If we sell our houses to our close relatives, it will be below market values; if I were to sell a house to Abdullah Badawi or Kit Siang, I would sell him cheaper as well, definitely. That small amount of money may look big to many people but not all. Or you think by doing so, I were to get something from Kit Siang? I tell you, do you think people make monetory contributions to DAP in other states in order to get bigger crony gains? That is like buying a biscuit from DAP at the price of RM100k.

Don’t create false evidences in USA.

Finally, Lim Guan Eng please study the undersea tunnel project properly and make sure it is justifiable in every aspects, not just feasible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
    • Jimmy on Nov 05, 2016 at 11:34 pm

Who has the ‘benefit of doubt’?

I remind you, you have to prove that Lee Kuan Yew is guilty, he does not have to prove his innocence.

And there is such thing call ‘sukarela’ because of personal likes/mood/whatever reasons.

People wear yellow shirts without being paid one single cent; it is called ‘sukarela’. Do you call this ‘menyumbangkan tenaga’ as rasuah?

• Yazid Ghani on Nov 06, 2016 at 7:06 am

john, I think this time you thump up your komen too many times

• To those who support my comments, U can see what is laid bare b4 ur eyes.

Those who sapot them and Dislike is okays
      Those who dun sapot them and Like is tabouleh.

Mirrors what happen to our country, doesnt it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 23
      • Shamsul Anuar on Nov 06, 2016 at 4:09 pm

yes mirror the cheating and stealing in Malaysia like fake thumbs up

• Jaslan on Nov 06, 2016 at 4:23 pm

bawak name buruk kepada orang kami lah bro

• Lillian Lee on Nov 15, 2016 at 12:56 pm

i feel you john, they really think nobody share the same thoughts with you, only their comments with likes are real likes and others are fake when they dont sing the same tune. funny msians.

• G. Patail on Nov 07, 2016 at 7:53 am

Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.

• SoChunn on Nov 04, 2016 at 6:37 pm

I second his argument. 30 billion collected for cost of 5 billion? You do the maths.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 258 Thumb down 20
    • Eyesore on Nov 05, 2016 at 4:18 am

Yeah do the math… but… ur missing the other variables….
      5 billion is the initial construction cost…
      what about the yearly maintenance, the upgrades that have been done over the years, the taxes PLUS paid back to govt etc… ever thought of that?

it should not be abolished but probably reduced to an amount sufficient enough for maintenance/ operating costs and lil bit of profit….

Btw the statement comes from the man that actually proposing to implement tolls on the tunnel project even tho acres of land was awarded to the contractor for the projects… lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 109
      • alldisc on Nov 05, 2016 at 10:01 am

You forgot to mention hundreds of thousand ringgit a mth to maintain board of directors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • Failed State Citizen on Nov 05, 2016 at 2:40 pm

the government should bear the maintenance cost !! Why are we paying taxes to the government then? huh? In almost every other country, roads are the #1 responsibility of the government. How come in Malaysia everything is weird and illogical??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Yazid Ghani on Nov 06, 2016 at 7:13 am

look at PLUs annual report, maintenance hardly RM100 mil per year. That includes upgrades.

you give me business like this I oso want. Build RM5 bil. Get back RM36 bil. Maintenance just few hundred mil

Untung still over RM30 bil

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • Yazid Ghani on Nov 06, 2016 at 7:19 am

In overseas, the people will ask how come build Rm5 bil but collect tolls Rm36 bil + Rm917m compensation

In Malaysia, nobody ask. All makan dedak and more concerned about personal attacks. Though I am neutral, I still believe in using my brain instead of personal attacks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Yazid Ghani on Nov 06, 2016 at 7:15 am

Don’t forget every few years few hundred million ringgit gomen give as compensation to not increase toll.

• Low Budget on Nov 07, 2016 at 11:08 am

Federal Highway in the Klang Valley is the oldest highway, you think they want to abolish toll on this “Golden Egg” highway?

• Welly said. I support you, LGE!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 230 Thumb down 50
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:40 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 213
  • taksee on Nov 04, 2016 at 7:02 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 242
  • Proud Z4 owner on Nov 04, 2016 at 7:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 258
    • Meehoon on Nov 04, 2016 at 7:38 pm

Dont talk kunta katak. We believe u can

• Thats the problem with these pipu. They talk about their neighbours front yard being messy, while their own backyard is chockfull with lalangs and ulars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 56
    • Lim Hwa Beng on Nov 05, 2016 at 2:19 pm

john in another pseudo name. Then he replies to himself.

• Rooney on Nov 04, 2016 at 7:10 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 218
  • KenJi on Nov 04, 2016 at 7:49 pm

For 20 yrs, 6 billions was collected and they still want to collect it for another 20 yrs… you do the math.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
  • If all politician in Malaysia is doing what ‘should’ be done…

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 145
  • Mikey on Nov 04, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Unfortunately LGE, U are not the Federal Gov. Our MP all believe that the “Donation” received by PM came from Arabs brothers.

He also says Oppositions are all liars trying to topple the running Gov by spreading lies.

Of course we all know who is telling the truth. Only fools who consume Dedaks can’t tell the obvious.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 185 Thumb down 27
    • LGE is the last person to talk about abolishing tolls, not with his grand scheme idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 25
    • dodgeviper88 on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:35 pm

Unfortunately there are 47% that are fools consuming Dedaks. Not only we have tolls, we are overpaying in taxes for cars, insurance also expensive, now even petrol (whom we are net exporter mind you) also we are overpaying. Seriously where have all the money gone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 10
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:38 pm

And those fools who consume dedak are those who voted for state govt who cant even tackle simple problem involving water…one state no water the other too much water…take that you dedak-eater…hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 59
      • Hahahaha! Maybe the north island can “donate” their excess water to this state-of-conspiracy-theory.

• Ask syabas who is behind all this fuss

• Terence on Nov 05, 2016 at 2:29 pm

try to work harder bro instead of sleeping and looking for undertable money.

• ccy7218 on Nov 04, 2016 at 8:51 pm

The country is at its verge of destruction!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 14
    • No thanks to a way past due date politikus who doesnt wanna let go when he has alredi stepped down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 21
  • Your joking YB,2 terms ago you promise to abolished sg nyior toll in Butterworth also you cannot do then you want to abolished plus tolls,joke of the year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 16
    • Whenever people see lots of money collected, no one dares to abolished any tolls. Thats what happened at Sg Nyior. Same fate will be to Plus Hiway or other hiways.
      But what next new gomen (if) can do is to lower down toll rates and capped profit to a reasonable figure only.

• Maybe u didn’t understand his ceramah. He said if PR takes over federal government than the toll will be abolished.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • TaiChu on Nov 06, 2016 at 2:52 pm

Oh wai …

• Png bukan dia punye ke?
        Undersea tunnel bukan idea dia ke?
        Nak toll tu tunnel bukan kepla hotak dia ke?
        Ini pun boleh salah Gov ke?

• Ckp banyak pandai. Tol sungai nyior di Butterworth Lge janji nak tutup. Dulu 50 sen skrg dh naik rm1 . Kencing kuat….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 21
    • Megane on Nov 05, 2016 at 11:48 am

Toll Sg Nyior is the most ridicilous tolled road in Malaysia . There’s a traffic light wadafuq.

• Woi dedak. Toll tu dinaikkan oleh State atau Federal?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • tee jay on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:32 pm

undersea tunnel should be toll free too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
  • teejay on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:33 pm

undersea tunnel should be toll free too la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Tiger on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:50 pm

What u said is correct as all we know v well but we recognize u as true leader if u fight in parliament n make it happen.u Gona b ideal leader for us then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • Abolish toll at undersea tunnel 1st, then can talk. Otherwise is tokok.

• hazamiey on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:03 pm

Surprise to see so many pemakan dedak here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Some politician tabur dedak, and worst some just tabur janji. We as rakyat better use our head in next election..

• kopiokaokao on Nov 05, 2016 at 12:54 am

Money is just a paper to some…as for those bangang followers which pawn their futures for short term benefits…or do they have one?

• TheRedBeanArmy on Nov 05, 2016 at 2:06 am

Long-live Comrade Lim! Why would our Fed Govt still want to charge toll after so many years sucking up money as much as RM 30 billions just to pay back for RM 5 billions construction? Doesn’t make sense! Road maintenance? Or is it because this has to be done so that EPF can get the money, and dividends can be paid to all of its contributors?! I am sure that our Dear Leader Comrade Lim would have better idea! Look at how we have done the Penang Undersea tunnel, we have gotten into agreement with China to fund it and we don’t even have to fork a single cents for it! And we only have 20++ years of toll and this won’t be burdensome for Penangaite after 20 years! Long live Leader Lim for being such accountable and genius in leading Penang into being the most respected state run by cronies-free clean DAP govt. Heil mein fuhrer Lim!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 22
  • Already tax the rakyat on cars and petrol like crazy. Treated each and every single malaysian citizen like pieces of crap on the road. Force us to work hard to avoid buying dangerous and hideous Protons and Peroduas for many damn years.
    If they dont remove the tolls, remove the stupid Fcking car taxes and lower petrol prices. BODOH, Dumdass idiots! And pls build more trains and let Proton and Perodua rot on this earth. Settle case. Malaysians dont have to migrate to Australlia anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
    • netizenbolehland on Nov 05, 2016 at 2:20 pm

Absolutely correct comments my dear Malaysian friend.
      In Canada, America and New Zealand(small country), the damned Names like Proton and Perodua never exist. Affordable brand new cars in America are not a serious issue. Seriously, many Malaysians do migrate to Australlia. LOL. Have to pray more and stand up for what is right in this country with the fools running the show. Pray for justice. Peace

• LGE also should abolished sg nyior bagan tol

win win situation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
  • Mastermind_ on Nov 05, 2016 at 6:49 am

ooo…
    LGE ur suggestion is good but to test
    ur sincerity hopefully u start with ur jurisdictions first
    Firstly please abolish quit rent n land, bed tax 4 state of Penang.
    start with small first then proceeds with big
    Try this first…
    I waiting u prompt actions sir.
    Thanks

• sick&tired on Nov 05, 2016 at 10:48 am

If you want to know why our government can keep screwing us and get away with it, just read some of the comments here.

Instead of condemning and demanding that tolls be abolished or at very least reduced (without the government having to pay subsidies to toll concessionaires), we have people here condemning LGE. I for one do not like politicians (BN or Pakatan). But what LGE is saying makes sense. The figures that is quoted is provided by the works minister, so why are we still arguing about LGE!!!!

We should be asking why the hell are we paying high toll charges and why is the government paying toll operators billions in compensation using our tax money!!!!???

If we want to progress as a nation, than we have to look past political affiliation, and unite when we feel that our government is being unfair to us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • If u read carefully, u see we dun dispute what he says. But like all his cohorts, its sweeping in statement and vague in details. Did he mentioned how to do it?

Since he’s a loyar, he shud know the legality of the hiway contracts, but since im not a mindless basher, so I will provide my 2kupang 2 options.

Legally. Gov buys over the kompeni and buys out the loan agreement undertaken to finance the hiway construction (u din think the kompeni had all the money to fully pay the project, did u?). Gov wud have to pay lump sum 20~30B upfront for this to happen. All taxpayers will have to bear this, inc Sabah & Srwk. Is this fair to them? Do u think this is wise? In the end the money gone is the same amount but having to pay lump sum instead of stretching it.

Illegally. Gov ignores the contract or forcefully takes over the kompeni (paying fair price), and then abrogates the loan undertaken by not paying compensation. This is what most u pipu meant when fighting this cause. To succeed, MY legal entity (judges, prosecutor, Bar, etc) wud need to turn blind eye to justice when the bank seeks fair compensation. Meanwhile the bank wud default & collapse, taking their staff and MY banking industry down together (ala Bear Sterns). Can we afford this meltdown?

• Voiddance on Nov 05, 2016 at 11:36 am

While I agree PLUS is making excessive profit out of this concession, I do not agree on totally abolishing toll. There is maintaining parts that need to be consider too. Instead gomen should reduce toll rates to bare minimum just to support maintainance and operation of NSE. Non-profit kind of way. Excess toll collection to be distributes to other roads maintainence.

• Karpal is sinking on Nov 05, 2016 at 1:13 pm

Abolish all the tolls in penang first. Lead by example. Solve the damn flood also la.. you said it’s already solved years ago..

• C. P. MOHAN on Nov 05, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Agree with LGE. I wonder about the transparency of other toll roads considering we pay various TAXES on vehicles and road and summons.

• PLUS tol lagi on Nov 05, 2016 at 2:52 pm

Highway projects and business model in Masia are “guaranteed” to make tonnes of money, sucked from the rakyat.

If toll business, not making money, the govt will top-up for the loss. If make profit, the toll survives and squeeze rakyat more….

• Don’t u hv a feasibility to conduct….when is it due anyway, and why was it not done in the first place before the land was sold……

Den once completed, d tunnel cn only fit perodua kancil, den hv to demolish and rebuild d tunnel…..

• Ar118 on Nov 05, 2016 at 4:01 pm

Good. Dont hike it la.. if dont want remove charges, give 15% off current rates and maintain it..

• Low Budget on Nov 07, 2016 at 11:13 am

Yes, Collect just enough for the maintenance of highway and salary for staff, not making huge profits as it is now. Toll Free is not a feasible proposal.

• Robert Parameswaran S/O Kuppusamy on Nov 05, 2016 at 4:43 pm

Yep, totally agree. But then again, this is just another dream from LGE la. Marilah kita mimpi mimpi dulu…

• That why all factories move to Thailand, no toll in Thailand, except you go in to Bangkok.

• Ollie on Nov 05, 2016 at 8:22 pm

so many dedak eaters… we are such a rich country.. must all the foreign funds from saudi arabia

• Too many dedaks who doesn’t know who controlling the tolls

• LGE also should abolish sg nyior bagan toll (promise made years ago, still cannot fulfill)

• Mohammad Hafiz Abdul Rahim on Nov 06, 2016 at 7:03 pm

yes that road was already there years ago. Plus took over, made the road wider with more lanes, renamed it to BKE & put toll there.wth, and there is another toll just less than 10km

• Leonardo on Nov 07, 2016 at 10:11 am

Get real people..nothing in life is free..only the air that we breathe..and not maybe for long.
    I do agree that if the original costs have been recovered, we should have lower tolls just to cover the maintence costs only.
    The problem is, the revenue collected by toll operators are not transparent.

• What I know I’m paying to stuck in the traffic few times a year. Especially all new year festival seasons or long holiday.

• passion on Nov 07, 2016 at 12:01 pm

yes if cannot abolish at least bring it down a little. we will be grateful.

• Ravindra Kumar Singaram on Nov 07, 2016 at 3:50 pm

The reason they took Plus Private so that they don’t need to publish the financials. They have made enough money screwing us