B10 biodiesel implementation deferred to a later date

biodiesel1

The planned implementation of B10 biodiesel in the country for the transportation sector has been rescheduled, The Star reports. The introduction of B10 – as well as B7 for the industrial sector- was previously reported to begin next month, but the government has announced that these plans have been deferred to a later, as-yet-undefined date.

Plantation industries and commodities minister Datuk Seri Mah Siew Keong said that while the government wanted to strengthen the implementation of the Biodiesel programme by increasing the two blends, it said it was delaying the introduction so as not to burden the public.

“After a thorough study, taking into consideration the difference between crude palm oil (CPO) and diesel prices at current volatile market, I would like to announce that the implementation of biodiesel mandate will be deferred to a later date. Although significant effort has been put into for its implementation, the government is committed to ensure that there is no burden of extra cost to the rakyat at this time,” he said.

The implementation of the B10 programme has been delayed several times. The government was initially slated to introduce the fuel in June, but shelved it after it emerged there was inadequate data that the fuel was compliant with carmakers’ specifications.

The full implementation of the new biodiesel formulations is expected to make use of 750,000 tonnes of palm oil each year. Exempted from the mandate are petrol stations selling Euro 5 diesel, as well as sensitive industrial machinery not suited for biodiesel, though the latter will require “technical justification” from the machine manufacturer.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Tiger88 on Nov 18, 2016 at 3:48 pm

When some sensible highly educated,honest and responsible person would be leader for this country and same goes to his cabinet. If not this is what’s happening to this country. Hall of shame n laugh by the world to this country bez of this country policy makers acts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • TONY THE TIGER on Nov 18, 2016 at 4:13 pm

No surprise. Typical undecisive policy from the government.

Work to slow, not enough data, not firm. MPOB, MOF, MITI and MAI and other govt agencies sitting on their ass taking full day on “long meeting” or “overseas meetings”. Waste of rakyat’s time and money.

Can we have more productive news from the government please?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Mikey on Nov 18, 2016 at 4:20 pm

I hope our gov learned from this boo boo. Next time, make sure you have make a thorough study & discuss/work with car manufacturers B4 implementing a Bio-diesel programme.

It is better to be late than to be SORRY. You do not want to be sued for any defects to the engines for using the Bio-10 due to your products do you !

• Jeffrey Chew on Nov 18, 2016 at 4:59 pm

“postponed” / “delay” / “deferred” has become a norm in Malaysia.

• Jimmy on Nov 18, 2016 at 5:25 pm

A good father does and should take good care of his children instead of his friends.

• Gaviny on Nov 18, 2016 at 6:34 pm

Because China agreed to buy palm oil , if supply to them not enough for local use and vice versa

• FIST (Member) on Nov 18, 2016 at 6:52 pm

T Y P I C A L

• Kenny on Nov 18, 2016 at 7:01 pm

Biodiesel doesn’t make sense as it cost more than the diesel extracted from the ground. It also results in worse fuel consumption, less power and more engine maintenance.

This isn’t the way to help the local palm oil industry. They should look for new markets for their products instead of being rent seekers.

• Shud have just stay the course and implement it. Others around us alredi moved up to B2x, we still stuck in single digit. Why shud we gip an F about these brands that HAS cars which can use B10 and above?

Probably postponed to allay backlash from shortage of cooking oil, I guess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
  • Oil burner on Nov 18, 2016 at 10:07 pm

I just changed engine on my e300. Luckily still under warranty. The Benz engineer in Germany says that the engine failure caused by dirty biodiesel (B5). Since I ‘m staying in Terengganu and no euro 5 diesel, seems changing my engine every 2 years will be a part of my maintenance schedule.

• That’s a bummer, really. As a Sarawakian, I know what you are going through since Euro 5 diesel is also not coming to East Malaysia anytime soon. I practices replacing the fuel filters on my Triton and my dad’s Hilux ahead of schedule, around every 20k km to minimise damages from the poor diesel quality. You can probably try that on your Merc.

• superbird #43 on Nov 19, 2016 at 10:17 pm

my 9 yrs old 2wd Ranger is a daily driver and my only vehicle.
        i make it a habit to run full bottle of LM Diesel Purge after changing my fuel filter (every 18 months).
        if i travel long distance, i always buy a full tank of fuel and then treated it with LM Super Diesel Additive to clean the entire fuel system.
        i must agree, we have a lemon quality diesel fuel in Sarawak.
        so for me, its better to be on the safe side than sorry.
        And each to their own.

• Rebadge lagi on Nov 19, 2016 at 12:10 pm

Biasa la….only in Malaysia.

Just look at all the Govt-linked building/project developments. Where got a project that is even completed on time, within budget???

Even if so, the ceiling would collapse, or water leaks in…..due to poor quality of built.

• albag on Nov 19, 2016 at 3:15 pm

Euro 5 diesel is not even available in Sarawak here, still wanna brag on introducing B10 diesel.. i see this as a discrimination against East Malaysia from the federal government.

• federal government sees east Malaysia as their voter fixed deposit

• Hot Cat not Hot Dog on Nov 21, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Singapore every station selling ero 5 diesel from 15 years ago already la, price is SGD 0.70 tat time.