Rezvani, the Californian firm behind the Beast and Beast X has unveiled its latest creation – the Beast Alpha. Essentially the hardtop version of last year’s model, the model gets not only a removable targa-style roof but a pair of ‘SideWinder’ doors.
While we can’t be certain how practical the fancy doors are (just look at how they are opened), they certainly to give the Beast Alpha some character. As for motivation, the car uses a turbocharged K24 DOHC 2.4L engine (Honda-sourced) that churns out 500 hp, mated to a six-speed manual transmission.
As the car weighs just 884 kg, it will make the 0-96 km/h (0-60 mph) sprint in just 3.5 seconds if you opt to row your own gears. Opt for the sequential automatic gearbox instead, and you’ll shave 0.3 seconds from that sprint time.
Open up the minivan-like doors, and you’ll be greeted surfaces wrapped in either leather or Alcantara. Creature comforts include power windows, air conditioning, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support, as well as a nifty race-inspired digital instrument cluster.
Ready to stand out from the crowd? Well, the Beast Alpha isn’t exactly what you call affordable as Rezvani is asking USD200,000 (RM881,530) for one. Surely those unique doors are worth that money, right?
well… it is obviously use lotus elise/exige chassis. Just like what Hennessey did to the venom, only this time different engine.
no wonder the interior looks so familiar…
Hmm… if lotus can use a Honda engine instead of toyotas…
Proton’s Lotus combined with Honda ;p
btw This gonna a good track day car, light body , good engine
just called it Mini NSX ;D
however Paultan should do review of its faster sibling, the Beast X , 2.0 litre twin turbo making 700+ hp
thats make no.1 bhp/litre engine defeating the Merc A45 AMG (190.5hp/litre) , Beast Alpha – 208bhp/litre , Beast X -350hp/litre
When they use the word Sidewinder, i tot they are referring to a Viper snake. This Honda SW is a show stopper with a pair of cleaver doors. Now that’s what i call Evolution.
Those doors are great.
Anyone who has owned a wide low slung 2 door coupe wIth long doors can tell you they cant get out of the car from tight parking spaces.
But then again… This car will probably be valeted most of the time.
The more plebian Renault Avantime has almost similar doors. And Yes, Its doors are also rediculously long.
I’m curious how did they make the roar of the exhaust sound like a V8 from a 4 pot turbo ?! It is intoxicating to hear the exhaust roaring from the back.
At just 884 kg, this beast must be made from bonded carbon & glass fiber reinforced polymer (FRP) systems utilize lightweight, high-strength carbon fibers bonded with adhesive resins.
The weight is not surprising. Looks like its basex off the elise chassis… Which isnt very heavy to begin with.
The sound however sounds dubbed or synthetic. You can mimic the v8 soundtrack with clever exhaust and ignition/valve timing from a 4 pot but a proper v8 sountrack has more low frequency rumble.
It’s just fake sound that they used inbthe video tu make it laku, sebab bunyi asal memanv menggelikan..tengok je lah video tu, bunyi dah accelerate dah, tpi keta tak pergi accelerate pun, nampak menipu betul
Although that V8 sound is most likely synthesized ala BMW i8, it still sounds convincing especially for a turbo 4-pot doesn’t it? The car itself is quite small (around 2nd-gen Audi TT’s size), so achieving 884 kg in weight is not too difficult. It is probably using an aluminium bonded chassis with CFRP body panels.
it obviously use the lotus elise/exige chassis. u can know it by looking at the interior…
Honda should put a turbo charged K24 in the next gen. Accord. Just imagine with that roar from an Accord
Can Proton re-badge this ah???
No. This is a custom rebadge of a lotus
Knp tak sabar ke? Atau tak ada duit nak beli yang ni? Tulah dulu kecil2 tak nak belajar