Next-gen Ford Fiesta arrives – four variants, new tech

ford_fiesta2016_titanium_34_front_01

Ford’s Go Further 2016 event in Cologne, Germany saw the introduction of the next-generation Ford Fiesta. However, though the Blue Oval is more than happy to show you what the new car looks like, the company isn’t ready to divulge full details about its popular model.

Visually, the Fiesta retains its familiar shape although many elements such as the headlamps (with DRLs) have been modified to provide a “softer” look. Meanwhile, the rear gets new taillights that appear to resemble those on the latest EcoSport, replacing the triangular-looking units of before.

Although the photos do appear to show the Fiesta looking a little bigger than its predecessor, Ford hasn’t furnished us with any info about its new dimensions, if any. Elsewhere, you’ll also notice a large moonroof installed on the cars as well.

Ford also said that there will be “not one, not two, but four fun to drive Fiestas.” The four variants – Titanium, ST-Line, Vignale and Active – each gets its own distinct styling to make sure that they stand out from one another.

ford_fiesta2016_vignale_cockpit_03

The Titanium features a five-slat grille that has been reshaped from the current model, and decked out with chrome, accompanied by trapezoidal-shaped fog lamps. Next up, the ST-Line as the name suggests, gets the sporty treatment, with a honeycomb-style grille, a more aggressive bumper with sharper fog lamp enclosures and a larger lower intake.

For those who want their Fiesta to appear a little more upscale, there is the Vignale. Much like the ST-Line, the Vignale gets its own grille design, which in this case is a wavy pattern, along with hexagonal-shaped fog lamp enclosures with chrome lining.

The last of the bunch is the Active, which Ford calls a “crossover,” and comes with a raised ride height, plastic cladding, silver skid plates, side skirt accents, roof rails and “scale-like” radiator grille.

Inside, the Ford Fiesta now comes with an entirely new dashboard layout that is a lot more contemporary in design than before. Dominating the living space is an eight-inch “floating” touchscreen linked to a SYNC 3 infotainment system, and for the first time ever on a Ford – a B&O Play sound system.

ford_fiesta2016_range_01

The circular theme of the switchgear has also been done away with, most noticeably at the air-con controls. Speaking of the air-con, the vents are more angular to the look and receive fancy gloss black trim surrounding them as well.

Elsewhere, there are new door inserts trimmed with improved materials, new controls for the central locking and side mirrors, new seat design (depending on variant) and contrast stitching. Even the buttons for the driver assist and safety systems have been relocated to beside the handbrake (previously below the air-con controls).

As for what’s going on under the hood, we’ll have to wait for Ford to give us more info but expect a range of three- and four-cylinder diesel and petrol engines to form the line-up. At the same event, Ford also revealed that its award-winning 1.0 litre EcoBoost petrol engine will receive cylinder deactivation tech, so expect it to be offered here as well.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• bicycle on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:20 am

looks like Peugeot

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 30, 2016 at 12:24 pm

Be prepared for 3 months wait for parts and also parts prices higher than BMW.

now Fiesta owners all crying kena kelentong from Sime Dhoby

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • lolpanda on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:21 am

I gotta say the new Fiesta looks softer and much less aggressive than the current model..not sure if I like it but to each their own. The power dome is a glaring miss for me. The interior is a nice plus though.

The “ST-Line” is basically like the Honda Modulo / Toyota TRD range…more “aggressive” styling without any performance to match..as an owner of the actual ST, it makes me cringe.

That being said, even Peugeot has recently released their GT Line..looks like everyone’s jumping on that bandwagon.

• not everyone wants the sporty look + sporty ride i guess. Some just want the look of it

• lolpanda on Nov 30, 2016 at 4:29 pm

yeah I guess that’s true, not everyone is looking for a performance vehicle…those TRD/Modulo (and now ST Line and GT Line stuff) still seems a little “macamyes/wannabe” to me, though. That being said, cosmetics aside the bog standard the 1.0 Ecoboost is no slacker and more than sufficient for daily use.

• kungfupanda on Nov 30, 2016 at 11:47 pm

how do u find the current st model? appreciate input on the pros and cons from a consumer perspective

• Dedak on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:22 am

Ohwaii so cute..

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 30, 2016 at 12:26 pm

As with all Ford cars in Malaysia, this car will be half price after 1 year. Buy 2nd hand better if you are desperate for a Ford

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • roshisham mamat on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:41 am

Ford is terrible.

Their cars should end up in the crusher like i did with my ford escort !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • karam singh on Dec 01, 2016 at 12:21 am

Wewwww… Ford Fiesta one of the best hatch out there,
      its fun to drive. Safety greats too.
      there are some pro & cons, but this is a great car.
      Lots of reviews about Fiesta that are very good,

• rohisham mamat on Dec 01, 2016 at 2:26 pm

my wife’s Honda City is better than this junk that deserves to be in the crusher !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
        • Woi mamat on Sep 29, 2018 at 7:34 pm

Why do you have so much hate with this brand…

Brain damage?

• Laurie K Gilbert on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:50 am

Ford are great cars and it was always my intention to buy an S max for corporate use, but the infamously low standards of after sales service provided to Malaysia Ford owners drove me away from the company. Until Ford Malaysia improve the realities of the “Customer Experience” they provide in Malaysia, very few of us will purchase what are otherwise excellent, desirable vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Enthusiast on Nov 30, 2016 at 11:18 am

Hopefully it comes to Malaysia equipped with much more reliable gearbox.

• vowvow on Nov 30, 2016 at 11:29 am

the headlights look like the Volvo V40. Interior is an upgrade from the current Fiesta but the exterior design…looks like it’s been tone down as an urban compact vs the current one more aggressive…i prefer the current design personally.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 30, 2016 at 11:46 am

Hmmm….. Cyc deactivation for the 1.0 Ecoboost. Apparently 3 cyc is one cyc too many. Fiat must be laughing.

I do like the new interior, definitely a step up from the admittedly low rent looks of the current car.

• passion on Nov 30, 2016 at 4:02 pm

B&O sound system/ WOW!!!

• I wish there will be an RS version of this gen

• looks good overall…take my money already

and the wheel arch designed to fit 18 inch rims
    better than old fiesta with tiny wheels ^^

interior wise…thank god for modern looks and minimalist design

but i hope reach here sime doesnt mess up with the accessories, pls dont fit in ford sync v.1 into trend model

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 02, 2016 at 5:07 am

FINALLY they have fixed the interior. I hated the old Ford interior… big reason not to get one. And finally they got rid of it, and replaced it with something you’d actually want to be in.