Perodua Eco Challenge 2017 revamped, focus on R&D

perodua-eco-challenge-2017

The Perodua Eco Challenge (PEC) is back for 2017, with an emphasis on R&D and potential commercial value for the students’ creations. One of Perodua’s long-standing corporate responsibility programmes, PEC has always been a platform for engineering students from institutes of higher learning to create a fuel-efficient machine, pitting their creation against those from other polytechnics and universities.

From its introduction in 2009 till 2013, PEC’s focused was on redesigning an existing Perodua model for fuel efficiency. It evolved into building a car with P2 underpinnings, and marketing them, with FC as the main goal. Typically, the theme of PEC was fuel efficiency.

For the big 2017 revamp, the institutes of higher learning will instead focus on R&D, working closely with Perodua’s R&D department as well as vendors to produce a prototype component, with parts development coming into play.

puo p2 02

“The PEC 2017 is very unique and comes with a new format as we need them to create a part of a car that includes the element of ECO – environment, creativity and originality – which will be considered to be included in our new models,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh.

A total of 21 institutions were invited to participate in PEC 2017 in November, and ten were chosen at a ceremony at Perodua Sentral, PJ today. The carmaker gave a small seed grant to the teams for idea development, and by April 2017, the teams will work with Perodua and the vendors to produce a prototype part for final assessment. The ideas must incorporate a “unique Malaysia” element in the design.

Perodua and its vendors will also advise and educate the students on the importance of proper work culture, procedures and processes. “We believe that this will be a great help to both the institutions and students as they will be able to incorporate the processes in their education and work-life environment,” Aminar rightly pointed out.

puo-02

Once the prototype is completed, the component will be reviewed by a team of judges in December 2017. Marks will be given on a stage basis, where the institutions will be evaluated based on progress and team participation.

“The PEC’s core idea is to empower youths through education and we believe adding ‘real world’ elements such as competition and actual processes in developing a global business mindset are essential for a vibrant and innovative nation,” Aminar said.

The ten institutions are Universiti Teknologi Petronas (UTP), Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL), Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM), Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM), Universiti Malaya (UM), Politeknik Ungku Omar, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM), Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka (UTEM), Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS) and Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP).

The teams will be vying for an overall first prize of RM20,000 (RM12,000 and RM8,000 for second and third places), as well as design, product proposal paper and development of parts sub-categories, which come with cash prizes.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ahmadjr on Dec 08, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Lol they don’t have the r & d and now they let the kids do it then

• Kunta a/l Kinte on Dec 08, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Instead of doing all this goreng, I advice Aminar to give all their cars ABS and VSC.

This is Corporate Responsibility Programme – give Malaysians VSC and ABS.

Perodua talk so much about Corporate Responsibility but dare to sell cars that are so dangerous. In Europe and USA and Japan, VSC is compulsory in all cars since 2000.

ABS was compulsory also since 2000. That is 16 years ago.

This means, Perodua in Malaysia is selling cars that do not have technology that was invented more than 16 years ago.

What corporate Responsibility is this lah?

• Bernard on Dec 08, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Msians love taking pictures of themselves, posing etc…I guess that makes them unique but not sure in what way….

• R&D how to make a more engery efficient bumper and chrome logo?

• Winning team gets $20K, while Perodua stands to make millions from an indigenous patent, billions if it is indeed the next VVT.

• Mikey on Dec 08, 2016 at 3:09 pm

I must say this is indeed a good way of advertising & to show CSR side of your story. Having said that, this is all for “Show” only. Have U used any part’s of the past winner in any of your car ??!

All I know is U are a car assembler for Daihatsu. It is entirely NOT a bad thing if U use all the Genuine parts including ABS/Airbags/ESC but your recent excuse for not able to fix ESC into your older models are unacceptable.

• tokmoh. on Dec 08, 2016 at 5:30 pm

CEO : ada aku kesah? Janji my sales powderful, janji i get big fat bonus.

I’ll sue u for say i tipu, cannot put VSC, cannot la! Apa lagi Mikey mau?

• U forgot to add:
        Jangan persoal our celup jepunis! U saje yang nak beli, saya tidak letak samurai kat kepla u!

• neonceejay on Dec 09, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Believe it or not, I’m a student of PUO in 2014-2017, Currently Internship at Ford 3s.
    Even I know that my Polytechnic is the only Polytechnic that invited to this challenge and we also won a few champion before, down to roots where almost everything include learning facility experience budget cut, I wonder is it healthy for us to spend lotsa budget for glory yet nobody bother to get the basic right.
    And my batch sadly is in the period where this challenge get temporarily cancelled.