Dieselgate: VW settles on buybacks for US, Canada

The Dieselgate saga has taken another step towards a resolution in North America, according to a Reuters report. The Volkswagen Group has agreed upon a settlement to buy back more than 83,000 vehicles in the United States with affected 3.0 litre TDI V6 engines, while Canada will also see a buy back campaign for 105,000 vehicles with the affected 2.0 litre four-cylinder TDI engines.

US market vehicles affected include the 2009-2012 VW Touareg and Audi Q7, 2013-2016 VW Touareg, 2013-2015 Audi Q7, 2013-2016 Porsche Cayenne and the 2014-2016 Audi A6 Quattro, A7 Quattro, A8, and Q5.

For the US market, VW has agreed to pay more than US$225 million (RM1 billion) into a fund towards reducing diesel pollution, in addition to the buying back of the affected vehicles – this is on top of the US$2.7 billion the automaker group had agreed to pay for the offsetting of emissions from 475,000 2.0 TDI-powered vehicles.

Another $2 billion (RM8.96 billion) will be allocated for the infrastructure and development of zero emissions vehicles over the next 10 years. The company has agreed to introduce at least three additional EVs to its line-up by 2020, including an SUV. Meanwhile, the company will pay $25 million (RM112 million) in fines to the California state air board.

In Canada, the automaker will spend 2.1 billion Canadian dollars (RM7.04 billion) in a buy back campaign for the affected 2.0 TDI vehicles in the country, on top of the C$15 million (RM50.3 million) it will pay as civil penalty in Canada. Covered are the 2009-2015 Jetta, 2009 Jetta Wagon, 2010-2013 and 2015 Golf, 2012-2015 Passat, 2013-2015 Beetle, 2010-2014 Golf Wagon, 2015 Golf SportWagen and 2010-2013 and 2015 Audi A3.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 21, 2016 at 11:50 am

Vw Malaysia also should offer buyback in Malaysia cause DSG Gate is 100x worse than Dieselgate.

It is unfair that even in 2016, despite using Mineral Oil as recommended by VW Malaysia, cars are still breaking down non stop due to DSG Gate.

VW Malaysia aka ex VGM should buy back all VW models cause VW cars in Malaysia have lost all value.

No used car dealer wants to touch any VW cars.

Pity owners, 1 year old Passat also cannot get RM60k. That also, if you can sell the damn car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
    • Interceptor on Dec 21, 2016 at 1:28 pm

Stop talk bullshit.. Keep spreading lies.. Tons of owners are satisfied with it, let alone all the group members of VW.. If you don’t even knew how to drive VW cars, please stop complaining.. Even if people give you Ferrari, Bugatti etc also, you will repeat the same stupid lame answers.. Before use any model of car, please understood carefully the engineering behind it, how it works, how the engine works, how the transmission works, what is the suitable oil, how to prevent heat, how to take care of the system and everything else.. Car won’t break down if you take care of it.. And you should knew how to use/handle the DSG.. And when to replace the oil in it.. And how to further reduce the heat from transmission and engine, how to further improve cooling system overall for the machine.. Oh come on, i can still keep driving my car, without doing any maintenance for almost 50,000km already.. Not even change engine oil, transmission oil etc etc.. Because i am testing and monitoring how further it can go without any problem and bear in mind, i already have everything ready with me, just in case want to change it anytime soon.. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 21, 2016 at 5:52 pm

Facebook comments don’t liw. Go to VW Malaysia facebook page and see for yourself. No fake comments there bro

• nabill (Member) on Dec 21, 2016 at 6:20 pm

ur news source is FB ??? wow…RIP intelligence and logic…

• Bro. This guy is resident troll here. He even changes nick when previous kena bora-bora. Dun feed him.

• Sammy Loo on Dec 22, 2016 at 9:41 pm

Got the money buy a car just use lah, why need to learn so many things to “use” a car? Start engine, put to Drive, release handbrake, step on throttle and there u go.

Vios owners don’t need to know the engineering behind it, how it works, how the engine works, how the transmission works, what is the suitable oil, etc. Just buy and drive. Go for scheduled service maintenance and that’s it. This is what MOST people want from a car.

How many Skyactiv owners know how the engine and gearbox work? As long as it works, then it works!

U think everybody need to take a course of the brand and model before buying it ah?

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 21, 2016 at 11:52 am

Malaysian VW owners have suffered so much. Besides DSG Gate which has collapsed VW 2nd hand prices, VW Malaysia themselves have firesales and sell their brand new Passat and Jetta for nearly half price.

Owners who bought the Passat at RM180k got a shock of their lives when VGM themselves sold brand new Passats for RM110k. And Jetta for also half price.

OMG OMG.

Imagine what happened in the 2nd hand market? All collapse big time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
  • Buyback using RV in MY? VW will make lotsa savings there

• vw are so concern and only give priority to markets which are important to them, malaysia is not one of them. what do you expect from a company which cheats.

• Mr. Loba Loba on Dec 21, 2016 at 10:02 pm

Never touch VW. Never.