Singaporeans biggest culprits in unpaid traffic fines

It seems that Singaporean drivers have a cavalier attitude towards traffic summonses issued to them by Malaysian authorities – they simply ignore them.

According to The Sun, motorists from the republic are the biggest culprits when it comes to unpaid traffic fines, with no less than 184,014 summonses – tracing back to 2010 – still outstanding. It is believed that majority of these summonses were issued for illegal parking and speeding.

Bukit Aman traffic enforcement and investigation department chief SAC Datuk Mahamad Akhir Darus added that the statistics from 2010 to 2016 revealed that 5,358 foreign motorists were issued arrest warrants for committing traffic offences in Malaysia, and Singaporean drivers led that list as well, with 3,423 out of the total.

The rest of the list comprised 1,116 Thai motorists, 509 from Brunei, 36 from Indonesia and 274 motorists of other various nationalities. Mahamad Akhir declined to divulge how much these outstanding summonses amounted to, but said that foreign motorists who have traffic summonses should settle them at the nearest police station or through other channels.

He added that with the vehicle entry permit (VEP) system scheduled to begin operating in June, it will be easier for police to trace errant foreign offenders. “When you have a traffic summons in our system, we do not delete it even after 10 years,” he stated.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bernard on Jan 09, 2017 at 4:42 pm

Maybe because they know they can get away with it …… In spore, they will hunt down msians with summonses and make them pay . So whose fault is it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 3
    • When a man cannot self restrain, he doesn’t belong in the society.

Enforcement can only do so much.

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Jan 10, 2017 at 11:06 am

someone suggested death sentence to such defaulters, harsh but fairly effective.

• yoyoi on Jan 09, 2017 at 4:51 pm

blacklist and prohibit them to enter Malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
  • HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Jan 09, 2017 at 4:54 pm

Joke of the day……

Tak payah sistem pun boleh tangkap…..
    Cuma kau je taknak tangkap Singaporean kan??? Why??? Kikiki……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
  • Anonymous on Jan 09, 2017 at 5:04 pm

PDRM needs to be firm and constant. You can stop them anywhere and have them given notice that if they don’t pay up they can’t leave the country… the same summons info together with car plate number n driving license will be sent to sentries at the border n they can’t pass until they settle up. Make this into a standard practice at all border crossings starting 2017.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • Mikey on Jan 09, 2017 at 5:04 pm

Any outstanding traffic offences must be cleared B4 they are released to go back to their own country at the immigration border.

I remember the S’pore police officers were very courteous when they stop me from leaving S’pore. They “invited” me to the office to tell me when/where & at what time I committed the offense. That is some 6 years ago.

In this particular place/time, I committed a small offence by not putting a parking ticket on a Sunday when I was staying for a night in a CDB flat. They say Sir, U have 2 pay or U are Not allowed to go back.

Just follow what S’pore do & all outstanding summons will be collected. Assuming each summon U can collect RM 200 multiply by 3,423 = RM 684,600.00 on S’pore alone. JUST DO IT – The Nike Style.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 1
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 09, 2017 at 5:06 pm

ban them outright…kiasu drivers very noob all only drive on weekend to go johor cari ayam….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
  • MeToo on Jan 09, 2017 at 5:07 pm

“When you have a traffic summons in our system, we do not delete it even after 10 years,” he stated.

I hope the summon the driver… cause Singapore 10 yr old car is no longer in existence…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Hahhahaha.. currency more than triple, but fines cannot pay hahahahahhahah.. look for their cars in shopping malls in jb and melaka.. tarik je kereta dorang

• Matchy on Jan 09, 2017 at 5:15 pm

They should’ve block them when they try to leave the country… don’t tell me that they don’t have a system in place (before VEP) to detect it!

• These singaporean cars are really something.. There’s already few cases that Sabahan cars received summons from Johor state.

• “majority of these summonses were issued for illegal parking and speeding”

in my hood, JB!!! biatch!

• Black Dog on Jan 09, 2017 at 6:24 pm

haha! summons 10 years in system and they call it efficient. If i am not wrong, when u get a summon in singapore, u can’t even leave the country within the same day without settling the summon!

• kamarudin hussin on Jan 09, 2017 at 6:35 pm

Ask them to pay first before they left the country..

• like always on Jan 09, 2017 at 7:25 pm

mmmmm..so few comments..left me wonder?

• currency master on Jan 09, 2017 at 8:00 pm

Now can ask for sing dollar kopi marney……

• Don't panic on Jan 09, 2017 at 8:45 pm

This is why Malaysia is considered as third world country. The are a lot of mechanisms to use. But why none is implemented?

Nak atau tak nak je. Di mana ada kemahuan di situ ada jalan.

Imagine if we could collect all those fines. It will be very significant income.

• Ahmadjr on Jan 09, 2017 at 9:10 pm

They can tow Malaysian cars tapi nak tahan sinhaporean pun takut

• Kerong on Jan 10, 2017 at 12:18 am

Singaporean very famous with their rude atitude

• Stevie on Jan 10, 2017 at 9:12 am

Let them in then make them pay before leaving. They’ll have to come back for sure as most of them are actually Malaysian working and staying there. This CNY is the best time to catch them. Another time is next GE. These two are really significant for them.

• Ben Yap on Jan 10, 2017 at 9:52 am

compound these singaporean cars when they enter malaysia.

make them pay for their summons, interest on late payment and storage of their car in the compound area.

sure kecut wann….

• Nazeli on Jan 10, 2017 at 10:19 pm

Agree with the statement that Singaporean are rude. U enter the country, at the border, the immigration officers will talk n treat u just like u’re a prisoner or a beggar. But, when they come here, we treat them like a king. Our uniform officers sooooo respect n afraid of the expensive car owners. They only being warned, “Bayar ye jangan tak bayar. Ini last warning”. The multimillion summons, will be our reserve for 10 years. Yeah… we still rich.