Tesla releases Ludicrous+ update – 0-96 km/h in 2.4s

The tech world moves quickly, and it wasn’t too long ago that the Faraday Future FF 91 surpassed the Tesla Model S P100D‘s 0-96 km/h (0-60 mph) acceleration time of 2.5 seconds with a time of 2.39 seconds. Now, thanks to an over-the-air software update, the Tesla Model S is set to go even faster.

When updated with firmware 2.52.22 or later, the P100D will be able to offer a Ludicrous Plus mode with a five-second hold of the Ludicrous mode button on the touchscreen menu, with a dialog box asking to confirm that you do, in fact, want to accelerate wear of your motor, gearbox and battery in exchange for “pushing the limits”.

When activated, Ludicrous Plus is distinguished by a magenta arc on the right hand side of the screen, while on the left are live readouts for battery power, front and rear motor power, and longitudinal acceleration values, both current and peak.

How much of a difference does the software update make to the on-road performance of the P100D? Watch the video to find out.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Madani on Jan 12, 2017 at 3:49 pm

Kehadiran Tesla bantu perkembangan EV Negara. Kerjasama MAI dengan GreenTech Malaysia menjadikan negara sebagai peneraju industri EV di rantau ini.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 12, 2017 at 4:15 pm

Everybody progessing so far ahead, our Perodua and Proton still no news about Hybrid, EV or anything modern.

For Malaysians, even to get VSC in our cars is like a lottery and a big achievement for the car industry

• karam singh on Jan 12, 2017 at 6:20 pm

Talking about Malaysian market, developing EV/Hybrid car cost more than those gonna be sold in Malaysia.
      Business bro, if Proton not making profit from EV/hybrid
      why bother.
      Better if they build those car that most people buy A/B/C segment. more profit.

• I think you should see a doctor. First, you said you wanted to support proton and perodua. Few days later, you said otherwise.

• Ollie on Jan 12, 2017 at 10:03 pm

Don’t see point to this anymore. Electric cars are ready to be mainstream at below 30k usd i. E. Chevy Bolt. Stunts like this are syok sendiri exercises which tesla is increasingly happy with.