Minister: KL kapchai ban requires proper research

After an announcement by Federal Territories minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor that small, underbone motorcycles, or kapchais, were to be banned from entering Kuala Lumpur to reduce pollution, Natural Resources and Environment Minister Datuk Seri Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar has come out to refute the statement.

Speaking at a press conference in Menara Kuala Lumpur, Wan Junaidi said the greatest emitter of pollution is not from motorcycles. “The small ones don’t emit that much. It’s the big ones that do. Why are we stopping the small ones? We should be stopping the big ones,” he said in a The Star report.

A meeting between ministries will be held to further discuss this issue. “We need to know who the biggest emitters are. Are they lorries, buses, cars or motorcycles? For motorcycles, I don’t know because to me, it should be the big lorries that shouldn’t be allowed in,” said Wan Junaidi.

Saying that a complete ban is unfeasible, Wan Junaidi held the city of London up as an example, where residents were encouraged to utilise public transport by making it difficult to drive cars in the city. While agreeing in principle that cutting carbon emissions by reducing dependance on private transport is the way forward, proper research is required before implementing such a move.

The Transport ministry has also come out against Tengku Adnan’s suggestion to ban kapchais, with Deputy Transport minister Datuk Ab Aziz Kaprawi saying most kapchai riders are low-income earners, and such a ban would only be feasible if there are convenient alternate transport options.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• so called developed nation on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:09 pm

KL should follow the Paris model as it is the most feasible one. Ban any vehicles that is manufactured before 1997 regardless if its kapchais, lorries, buses. We are basically 20 years behind in terms of emission regulations, when others countries around the world are moving towards hybrids and electrification, we’re still stuck with Euro 2M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Kunta Kinte on Jan 17, 2017 at 5:04 pm

Malaysia just syiok sendiri but our vehicles still stuck at Euro 2M (that is like Euro 1.5) and our ROn 95 is still filthy and dirty sulphur.

Why ban motorbikes when our Ron 95 is so dirty? Gomen so scared to ask oil companies (whom they got big share in) to upgrade Ron 95 immediately.

That is the biggest pollution.

2nd biggest biggest is busses and lorries, most of which are all owned by crony linked companies. Even polis themselves scared to touch these lorries that emit thick black smoke.

• inb4 La Madrid Real-ly and Atletico-lly ban cars… oh wai

• Donkey Kong on Jan 17, 2017 at 8:51 pm

Rumah sendiri pon porak peranda, ada hati mau sibuk rumah orang. Nk deviate attention kerrrra

• UMW TOYOTA on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:12 pm

kapchai no helping in bisness..lorries bas helping malaysia to grow ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Kapchai do help in business by bringing the rider a.k.a human resource in time.

• Uberian on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:12 pm

Is this the same guy who suggested KL to be closed for mat rempits so they can race? What’s wrong with this federal territories minister? Is he retarded or just plain idiotic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Bernard on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:14 pm

Tengku Adnan made a brilliant suggestion and I guess what he was really trying to say is that most snatch thieves ride underbone bikes and therefore ban them from entering KL (where most crimes of that nature takes place)….Pollution was secondary, he said it to soften the blow….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • Lack of Police enforcement & Youth unemployment r the real core issues.
      But the mentality of our Ministers r different.
      They r just a lil smarter than snatch thieves

• Bro, I may not fully agree with the minister, but when you say enforcement, this also must comes from within that person. Cannot expect the police to keep you in line all the time.

These muthafu#kers cannot refrain themselves from nasty habits, you cannot blame the others.

• Jengka on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:17 pm

i swear if i say whats on my mind , i will end up in jail!

• asali on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:28 pm

Malaysia sebuah negara berpendapatan tinggi.
    Mana ada low-income earner, had kelayakan PR1MA sudah ditingkatkan kepada RM15,000 gaji sebulan.

• sohhai on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:36 pm

Hahahaha….the backtracking starts. First it will be big motorcycles, then lorries, then misquoted & misunderstanding and finally ‘I’ll sue you medias’

• banning kapchais that consumes the least fuel and pollutes the least of all kinds of vehicles.. not very smart Tengku Adnan

• Anonymous on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:52 pm

Finally… someone with a rational thinking… a thorough study is indeed necessary to pin point the cause and how effective a solution can be derived. Beijing had banned motorcycles albeit for different reasons… which was for poor safety record and its association with ride by crimes such as snatch thefts… but this are mainly caused by the standard of safety education and attitude; and moral and socio-economic standards regarding the crimes… which the ban does not help solve anyway. Now Beijing’s air is polluted and smog is dangerously affecting the overall health of city dwellers… because more diesel busses and lorries are on the roads, more cars are driven n stuck in jams… spewing high amounts of carbon monoxide and espousing heat from their engines.

I sincerely believe there is a more comprehensive solution to KL’s air pollution problems IF that is actually the reason coming up for the ban… such as a more efficient public transport, conversion to electric or hybrid busses, better emmisions check and enforcement on lorries n construction vehicles, promotion for hybrid vehicles selling at reasonable prices. Other than that, better n road user friendly motorcycle lanes n security barriers at pedestrian walkways can provide safety n security for all.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:59 pm

Actually Ministers must show a good example and take the LRT to work first to show they are sincere in caring for the environment.

Currently Minister or even head of department also go in one big rombongan with escorts and outriders. This is far worse pollution.

One Minister going for an appointment has about 10 cars following him with outriders, escort, bodyguard, crony ball lickers etc.

Compare this to the UK Minister, who actually sits in the tube (London Underground) and goes to Parliament without any escort or outriders. He also cram like sardine with fellow passengers.

Our Ministers must show by way of example. I think if all the Datuks and Tan Sri take the LRT, it can save the environment more than banning kapchai.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
      • 12yrsold on Jan 17, 2017 at 8:45 pm

I second all ministers should take LRT bcos it will save a bomb in our expenditure hence less pollution & less jam.

• Matchy on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:53 pm

TBH, riding public transport is more expensive than riding kapchai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • PenggunaLRT on Jan 17, 2017 at 5:04 pm

Yes, it is true. But, you don’t have to cilok2 and risking your life on the road and feel stressed with other road users if you take public transport. I think the extra money is worth enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • MatRider on Jan 17, 2017 at 7:43 pm

Not really, Malaysian public transport is so shitty that riding a motorbike is so liberating. And a lot faster. By a lot I mean hours. The majority of bike riders are civilized but unfortunately the tiny number of loud mat rempits made them seems like a bunch of hooligans.

• Totally agreed…most ppl commute to work on bike to save time…traffic jam is soo bad if u drive to work.

• Letstorque on Jan 18, 2017 at 9:54 am

…..if you have the extra money.
        How about that dont have any extra money?

• alldisc on Jan 17, 2017 at 10:04 pm

And 3 times slower too

• lilytan on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:53 pm

Well said Wan Junaidi. I would say dirty diesel is the main culprit such as old lorry and bus. If kapchai, it would be the 2 stroke ones.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:53 pm

What a flip flop Government. Simple things like this also they go contradict themselves, I wonder how big decisions. No wonder ringgit is falling and investors are pulling out their money from Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Kunta Kinte on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:56 pm

The kapchai emits far lesser smoke that the crook Metrobus or the big lorries going in and out.

But nobody dare to touch the bus companies and lorries doing construction cause they are all crony linked and they take care of DBKL well. All given ang pau.

Why victimize the poor kapchai? Go and see all the buses. So buruk. Thick black smoke coming out of them. But all crony owned.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:57 pm

Actually Ministers must show a good example and take the LRT to work first to show they are sincere in caring for the environment.

Currently Minister or even head of department also go in one big rombongan with escorts and outriders. This is far worse pollution.

One Minister going for an appointment has about 10 cars following him with outriders, escort, bodyguard, crony ball lickers etc.

Compare this to the UK Minister, who actually sits in the tube (London Underground) and goes to Parliament without any escort or outriders. He also cram like sardine with fellow passengers.

Our Ministers must show by way of example. I think if all the Datuks and Tan Sri take the LRT, it can save the environment more than banning kapchai.

• sub_zero on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:59 pm

topkek

nowadays kapcai all fuel injection 4 stroke, 2 stroke (those hardcore rempit 2 stroke lover says otherwise) are getting less and less on the road nowadays

banning motorcycle on the ground on emission? bullshit

heck in euro all motorcycle now has to meet euro 4 emission standard, and yet no banning even occur among them

it’s just double standard to stoke fire among the motorcyclist, stupid minister

• alldisc on Jan 17, 2017 at 10:06 pm

Our government already banned 2 stroke bikes in 2013. Except Modenas, which asked for exemption. Because sales were so slow

• jonathan on Jan 17, 2017 at 5:20 pm

Ban the bad, greedy, stupid, & corrupt politician first. Soon everything will be solved. puf puf..

• So nasib golongan pendapatan rendah telah terbela. Dapatlah kekal undi mereka.

• Ahmadjr on Jan 17, 2017 at 6:52 pm

Why only kapchai? Why not all super bikes and motorcycles too? Oh Malaysia is only for the rich. No one cares about the poor anymore.

• transformer on Jan 17, 2017 at 6:56 pm

its a good move to prevent bloody rempit(s) and snatch crooks from flooding the city…. other city should also follow this…. not forgetting those bloody noise polluter with the modified exhaust….

• Hot dog on Jan 17, 2017 at 6:57 pm

Rakyat suggestion to ban menteri car escort by traffic polis !!!!

• Another foot in mouth. Lorries are needed for construction. Still see buildings being constructed? Including your beloved 1MDB/TRX… Think the sand and bricks and glass are going to walk into the city themselves?

• rambo on Jan 17, 2017 at 9:55 pm

this is good idea, no more stupid kapchai in the city. they should ban kapchai in the whole country, even better

• Danger Mouse on Jan 17, 2017 at 11:03 pm

Do you how many existing construction sites are there in KL alone? There are lorries and cement trucks everywhere at all hours. These Construction sites and heavy vehicles are obviously not monitored and regulated in any way or form. This shouldn’t be happening in a so called “developed” city like KL. Yes too many kap chais also cause a problem but what about big bikes then? Are you saying small bikes are a problem but big bikes ok? Isn’t it the same thing? What’s the logic? They need to regulate all vehicles full stop but make sure public transport is efficient first otherwise it’s a waste of discussion.

• Mikey on Jan 18, 2017 at 8:51 am

Poor Kapcai fellas. As if being in the bottom B40 category is not bad enough, they now want 2 ban Kapcai.

If carbon dioxide/monoxide is your concern, get our Gov to implement First Grade fuels, lorries & buses to be upgraded B4 U penalize the B40 people.

If U want 2 implement First world ideas, U better have First world Mentality. Yes Ku Nan, I’m talking about U.

• Henry on Jan 18, 2017 at 12:58 pm

Yes, one polluting lorry or bus spewing massive black smoke can negate the banning of a hundred “kapcais.”

• Tolol on Jan 18, 2017 at 8:53 am

Drive car – Jam like hell.
    Take MRT – Pack Like sardin.
    Take Bus – Wait and wait.
    Use Kap Chai – Kena Ban.
    and Minister say – Tak suke, pergi negara lain.

We need a gov who doesn’t lose touch with the rakyat.

• Mikey on Jan 18, 2017 at 10:53 am

Bravo Tolol, Best comment & straight to the point. 10 thumbs up if i have my way.

• Henry on Jan 18, 2017 at 10:37 am

Better ban idiots from shooting off their mouths. But this is how they get the much needed publicity even though it is just speaking rubbish.

• Boon Siew on Jan 18, 2017 at 11:22 am

The highest number of fatalities in accidents happen on underbones motorcycles every year costing billions of dollars. But in third world countries life is cheap and too many people so a few thousand deaths is actually a good population control method especially the poor and undesirable people.