Kuala Lumpur to ban kapchai from entering city?

Kuala Lumpur to ban <em>kapchai</em> from entering city?

Small underbone motorcycles, popularly referred to as kapchais might be banned from entering Kuala Lumpur, in an effort to reduce carbon emissions and pollution. In a speech by Federal Territories minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor, he said the city was looking at prohibiting kapchais from entering the city centre, provided public transport was available at a reasonable price.

“During the day, the population (in the city) increases to between five and seven million because workers commute to work,” said Tengku Adnan in a The Star report. “Many cities do not allow kapchai to come in,” he said, “and motorcycles have been used by snatch thieves in the city.”

However, Tengku Adnan recognised that many people needed kapchais for transport as they could not afford other modes of transport due to low salaries. “Once cheaper public transport is available, we will be looking at the possibility of not allowing kapchai motorcycles into the city,” he said.

Additionally, Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) has plans to introduce a road congestion pricing scheme in the city centre, and will implement the system when the Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) begins operations. The plan to introduce road pricing has been incorporated in the Kuala Lumpur Structure Plan 2020 and is aimed at reducing the flow of private cars travelling in to the city centre.

The idea of banning small motorcycles from congested city streets is not new, with authorities in the city of Hanoi, Vietnam, contemplating a ban on all forms of two-wheeled transport from its city centre by 2025. In an effort to contain pollution, the cities of Paris, Madrid, Athens and Mexico City are also considering banning diesel vehicles, with Paris already forbidding vehicles made before 1997 from its streets.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Nazee on Jan 16, 2017 at 10:54 am

good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 44
    • jamal on Jan 16, 2017 at 1:39 pm

It is time to build special or dedicated motorcycle lanes for the urban motorcyclists.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 10
      • karam singh on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:29 pm

if its wide enough , there will be cars using it too
        ;P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • kapchui on Jan 16, 2017 at 6:15 pm

it’s not about dedicated lanes or not; it’s about curbing emissions and noise pollution generated from these underbone motorcycles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
        • sustainable development on Jan 16, 2017 at 7:11 pm

The real source of carbon is development – over development, to be more precise. Sky scraping concrete structures generate more carbon than the two wheelers.

Also, will I trade my kupchai for an extra pair of wheels? Of course! And I’ll be adding to another SOV in the city.

These politicians should learn to think before they talk. None of their plans in the past ever worked, not even the bus lanes, because public transport, even the LRTs and MRTs and Komuters, they are hardly adequate connections. And the price of one short ride can give me enough petrol for my kupchai for a week.

By the way, how many times in the past have I articulated that underground stations are extremely unsustainable and environmentally unfriendly? Have you thought about the resources required to build one? And then to operate it – the massive amount of energy needed for the essential air conditioning and ventilation systems, for the drainage system, for the lighting and escalators, go figure it out yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
        • sub_zero on Jan 17, 2017 at 5:18 pm

it’s bloody 2017

all motorcycle already using 4 stroke, with big catalyzer, Fuel injection, and some even went into strict euro 4 emission regulation

and blame them for pollution? topkek

your brain must be frozen from too much air conditioning

• senseandreason on Jan 16, 2017 at 6:23 pm

building a dedicated lane doesn’t solve the problem of pollution…in fact it’s encouraging more pollution into the city..not to mention incur additional cost and inconvenience during the construction.

in line with the completion of the MRT / LRT extension project people should be commuting via those means or pay a premium if you’d like to use private vehicles…these are not new urban concepts…many, many countries around the world impose congestion charges for using private vehicles…in comparison their public transport system isn’t perfect either but it leaves people with no choice as we need to control congestion and pollution before it ends up like Jakarta/Bangkok/ or even worse off.

Public transportation in all countries aren’t convenient by and large but it’s the best way to move masses of people in and out of the city…the only other way is to reduce population density… it’s an inconvenient truth that many still cannot accept, it’s the same reason why you see people double/triple park in front of a shop when there are empty spaces further away..we do it for our own convenience at the cost of inconvenience others or in this cases the environment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Faiz Roslan on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:13 pm

The gov needs more loyal people like you, Nazee. – Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • karam singh on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:29 pm

Poor people become poorer
      Rich people become richer

Cost of living getting higher,
      kapchai save lot & lot of money for living, also reduce traffic congestion.

New Idea – Permit for car to enter city, increase public transport & its services.
      *permit discount for those who carpool
      Less traffic congestion, less pollution = better life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • If you want more congestion in KL, go ahead and support this. The ONLY reason I (sometime) commute by my moto (scooter) is because of jam. You remove my alternative, the only way I can commute now is car. Imagine how many people are like this? Even a a Dr. I knew that works at a University took motor, do u think they can’t afford car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Faiz Roslan on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:02 am

good initiative, its a controvesial one as many livelihood will be affected but if implemented correctly, and from the good past record of our implementation projek, i am very optimistic we are able to ensure the environment is protected, while ppl can still commute easily and comfortable to the city

good initiative, syabas government!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 62
    • Faiz Roslan on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:05 pm

As I always emphasize, we must support all gov projects because as rakyat this is our duty. Kapchai ban will help increase Proton car sales and ownership and in turn stimulate the economy. Pollution will decrease, crime is eliminated so it is a win-win proposition. Only the gov is able to propel the nation to a first world infrastructure and mentality. – Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 45
      • jabronicronies on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:15 pm

Are you sure? Mind to explain since your points are invalid.

• karam singh on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:17 pm

Modenas Kriss 4k. Proton cheapest car 40k. Nonsense.

• Anuar tan on Jan 17, 2017 at 2:42 am

Axia only rm 24000. Kriss no longer in production. Check your facts. Only third world countries depend on underbone for transport.

• TokGuru on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:35 pm

Well done u know your facts well. So what’s your point?

• sub_zero on Jan 17, 2017 at 5:21 pm

kriss is still in production, under new name, MR1

your obviously not a petrolhead

• sub_zero on Jan 17, 2017 at 5:25 pm

and correction karam singh

MR1 is under 3k, if find good shop can even get 2K cash with gift

or spend on second hand ex5, tough as hell

• Mikey on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:26 pm

OMG, Ban Kapcai will help increase P1 sales ??! How on earth did U came out with such logic may I ask. “Most” Kapcai rider are poor people.

How are they going to afford a Proton when they are having problem paying for 3 meals not to mention the installments & maintenance of their car ??
        Lets see how U get out this hole that U dig ?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • Sam Prabanathan Loo on Jan 16, 2017 at 6:14 pm

Ban Kapcai will help increase P1 sales ??! It’s more towards increase Pookedua sales as much as they can since their MD ‘mengamuk’ already because last year sales dip below their target. “Most” Kapcai rider are poor people yet this Pookedua want to ‘perah’ them kawkaw with their ‘cheap and nasty’ junk cars.

How are they going to afford a Pookedua (and Protong) when they are having problem paying for 3 meals not to mention the crazy long term installments & ‘sky high’ maintenance of their car compared with their existing kapcai ??

• Jon Xena on Jan 17, 2017 at 1:56 pm

Apparently, the so-called “Faiz Roslan CEng” better brush up his English skills. And by the way, mind if I ask you these questions as a challenge to you:

1. You said that “Kapchai ban will help increase Proton car sales and ownership and in turn stimulate the economy.” Mind to elaborate more on your points as I don’t see any valid points there.

2. How about Pos Malaysia and other delivery express firms by the way? Mostly they use motorcycles for delivering parcels and mails. Do you think this ban will burden them?

3. “good initiative, its a controvesial one as many livelihood will be affected but if implemented correctly, and from the good past record of our implementation projek, i am very optimistic we are able to ensure the environment is protected, while ppl can still commute easily and comfortable to the city”. What do you mean by “if implemented correctly, and from the good past record of our implementation projek”? Any good and plausible statistics to support your facts?

If you don’t answer these questions, then your so-called “CEng” title just goes down to the drain.

• TokGuru on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:36 pm

Are you OK ah there upstairs?

• TokGuru on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:40 pm

I meant to ask that to “Faiz Roslan CEng” maybe he is delusional or he is being paid

• Jeffrey Ng on Jan 16, 2017 at 8:03 pm

Really?

“Good past record”?
      You just made my day!

• sub_zero on Jan 17, 2017 at 5:28 pm

sampah mentality

people are given choice

and i choose motorycle

simple, cheap road tax but not so cheap insurance anymore, faster,no need to pay toll or parking, and contribute less to parking jam and emission

why waste drive alone, waster 2-3 hour on traffic and repeat stupid routine everyday? no wonder this country is going down with people like you

• Aikon on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:04 am

What about DHL? Pizza Hut? Dominoes? Pos Malaysia? These companies need the kapchai as a mode of business. Will they get exemptions?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
    • Yeast Lump on Jan 16, 2017 at 1:54 pm

Haven’t you heard of bicycles on delivery? it’s a norm at metropolitan ie. New York City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • ketibas on Jan 16, 2017 at 9:21 pm

If dominos guys deliver pizza by bicycles, they’re all ketiak basah bro. 12pm KL compared to 12pm in NY. Think about it.

• Eric Tan @ Rose Mah on Jan 17, 2017 at 1:18 am

NYC also has summer months it’s hotter drier than tropical land. Our messenger on bicycle and delivery guy on bicycle still goes on their daily routine without complains.

• sub_zero on Jan 17, 2017 at 5:32 pm

compare to super highly dense city which is 10 time the size of our biggest city

your brain must be rotten inside

• Fanta Strawberry on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:51 pm

sorry sir, we dont have pizza delivery to your area at jalan sultan ismail. but we will send it by uber. so all in all pizza package rm60.
      delivery charges rm35. ok kaa??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • lolpanda on Jan 16, 2017 at 6:25 pm

there are exceptions for commercial vehicles i’m sure. in many countries, heavy vehicles (trucks, lorries, etc.) are banned from the road after 7am up till really late at night.

in which case, it means you won’t have trailers/large lorries etc. travelling about throughout the day, BUT; at the same time you still see IKEA delivery trucks…so there are exceptions but you probably need to meet a certain criteria.

• What a joke…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • Bernard on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:10 am

Great news!! Hope it’s implemented with immediate effect . Don’t wait until public transport is adequate ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
  • Godcar on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:14 am

Nice. Good riddance of kapcai n biker. No more getting horned or side mirror got banged by this idiots.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 46
    • Anonymous on Jan 16, 2017 at 5:22 pm

For that solution are more dedicated n friendly motorcycle lanes.

• Double anonymous on Jan 16, 2017 at 8:35 pm

too bad they didn’t use it. still the same, didn’t fix the problem.

one of the bikers hit my side mirror and all i got is his middle finger. wow.

• Sgt Scoop on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:15 am

They should be encouraging more motorbikes. If everyone rode a bike, there would be no traffic jam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 24
    • lolpanda on Jan 16, 2017 at 6:28 pm

at the cost of noise and emissions pollution. a study once showed that motorcycles emit more smog as result of 416% more hydrocarbons, 3,220% more oxides of nitrogen and 8,065% more carbon monoxide compared to cars.

if everyone rode motorbikes we’d be choking on smog.

• lolpanda on Jan 16, 2017 at 6:30 pm

i must add on that a more reasonable alternative however would be the like of electric motorcycles or even for some, public transportation.

• Kevin on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:20 am

May I suggest instead to make it possible for these bikers to own electric bikes/moped. This along with incentives for local electric bike productions. Next (re)introduce roadtax for these “kapchais”. Then allow time for current owners to naturally move on to electric bikes. People that I personally know who own small bikes tend to change their bikes after a few years as and would choose the cheaper and cleaner option if they can see the tangible (monetary) benefits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • totally agree with you. if their main concern is pollution in city center, electric bike is the better alternative than waiting for public transport to become cheaper.

• Fendy on Jan 17, 2017 at 8:35 am

i have a thought of buying electric motorbike, but then again, im staying at high rise building, how am i suppose to charge my bike?

• Ootai on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:21 am

This acheh prince has wonderful ideas. The last time he wanted to get rid the homeless from kl, remember what is the outcome?? He has never driven in bangkok, jakarta, manila & banda aceh to have the feel and suffering of the masses??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Hooray!! Let’s drive more cars!!

• lilytan on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:07 pm

Seperti dijanjikan, harga kereta akan diturunkan secara berperingkat hingga 2017.

• Ex VGM staff on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:30 am

How come a 1 cylinder bike displacing 125cc pollute more than a 1.6 car with 4 cylinders with 1 cylinder displacing 400cc?? Poor logic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 9
    • Yeast Lump on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:05 pm

Even though motorcycle having a puny engine is more fuel efficient than car but it exhaust emits too much (>400%) toxic gas incl. Hydrocarbon smogs, nitrogen oxide, carbon monoxide.

• Eric Tan @ Rose Mah on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:13 pm

Yes pls encourage more motorcycles kapchais on the road, it’s a form of populations control but the consequence is overburden medical centres and more lands to clear for new burial ground soon LOL

• sub_zero on Jan 17, 2017 at 5:38 pm

i’m sorry but where the source? it’s bullshit

all fuel injection motorcycle are at least euro 3 or euro 4 emission standard

your claim as if they spew same shit as 2 stroke

• And then the car stuck in traffic, more pollution

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • calvin1702 on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:01 pm

because 1 cylinder 125cc kapchai pay only RM2 for road tax but 1600cc 4 cylinders pay RM90 for road tax

• sub_zero on Jan 17, 2017 at 5:40 pm

but they pay more insurance than you

and 250cc above pay more road tax than your tahi 1.6

what say you?

• Pollution not only about emission. The noise from the kapchais and appearance of the cyclists are also a form of pollution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • lolpanda on Jan 16, 2017 at 6:41 pm

Please get yourself educated. Motorcycles are more fuel efficient and emit fewer carbon dioxides (about 30% less) but, and it’s a BIG but…motorcycles emit 8,065% more carbon monoxide…no you didn’t read it wrong, it’s 8,000% (80x)

Modern day bikes & cars both emit less pollution for sure, but the gap is still huge between a car and bike.

• Balqis runner on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:30 am

Inilah kepimpinan yg Rakyat rejek..
    Tak menimbangkan golongan miskin & bawahan langsung. Ikut sedap mulut dia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • Abah kau on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:33 am

Once cheaper public transport available? Bapak kau la Ku nan!! Sekali naik LRT dah rm3. Balik rm3. 6 ringgit isi Honda wave aku dah lepas 200km.

Banned 2 stroke cukup lah. Keta lebih 20 tahun pun ok. Tapi mcm mana ko nak control??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 11
  • If I take the KTM from Klang to my office in KL, it costs me roughly RM10+ a day compared to around RM3+ if I use my kapchai. If I use the KTM from Senawang (I sometimes stay there with my in laws), it’ll cost me around RM20+ a day compared to RM8+ if I use my kapchai. Travel time is also less by almost half if I ride. Not gonna agree to this proposal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
  • applegreen on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:35 am

Menteri Pasola fikir nak hantar anak ke sekolah lebih mudah guna public transport, anak demam nak pergi klibik lebih mudah guna public transport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • ban kapchai for pollution reason? what about those single occupant cars that keep our city congested? are they more efficient as a transport?? please don’t talk empty without substantiate with facts. show us the numbers. kapchai also has eev cert you know.

at one point we hear that GRAB going to launch kapchai taxi, then on another we hear that kapchai is going to ban. what’s wrong with malaysia??!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
  • Strangely, this is the first time I support a policy propsed by BN…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
  • This is 1 little thing I agree from the gov. Or just cakap-cakap kosong only.

For the rest, stop advocating on behalf of kapchais by telling your 1 isolated experience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Anonymous on Jan 16, 2017 at 5:21 pm

Actual solution to ur problem is more dedicated n friendly motorcycle lanes. Unless u r prejudiced.. then there is no solution that acceptable to u.

• Where do you get the fund to build bike lane? How much road tax kapchai is paying?

• Tenkiu Ah Nan on Jan 17, 2017 at 1:56 pm

Negative. Better solution is replace all kapchais to E-bike, many towns/cities around the world already implemented it ages ago.

• We want Langkawi car prices on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:47 am

Why don’t you all ban those cancerous diesel buses, lorries and construction cranes as well as your V8 s-classes, ranger rovers and cayennes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • hope they will ban diesel bus. make rapid kl and other bus company start purchasing electric bus.

• Anonymous on Jan 16, 2017 at 5:29 pm

Yeah..! Make a commitment like France n Germany… by 2030 all busses into city centre must be electric or hybrid with specific carbon emissions standard.
      Don’t be a dunce… look at Beijing… it used to be clean air in its city… now that more people discard the bicycle n mopeds n opting for more cars on the roads… that with more lorries n emmisions for processing factories have contributed to the dangerous levels of toxins that come with city smog. Govt can’t force only hybrid or electric cars on the city roads coz its damn expensive in M’sia… so rethink ur strategy now for the betterment of our future.

• abahko on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:48 am

super agree with this proposal. please do it right away.

also please ban entering highway as well. bikes dont pay tolls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
    • sub_zero on Jan 17, 2017 at 5:35 pm

they pay more insurance than you

and don’t forget 250cc above road tax already far more expensive than your louya 1.6 litre crap

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:51 am

ha ha ha. What rubbish. The kapchai emits far lesser smoke that the crook Metrobus or the big lorries going in and out.

But nobody dare to touch the bus companies and lorries doing construction cause they are all crony linked and they take care of DBKL well. All given ang pau.

Why victimize the poor kapchai? Go and see all the buses. So buruk. Thick black smoke coming out of them. But all crony owned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • yeah.. they should start by replacing those old junker bus to electric bus. this old bus idling and spewing black smoke and toxic is really bad for our health.

• Tenkiu Ah Nan on Jan 17, 2017 at 2:02 pm

Implementation of Electric-Bus is impossible now until the Ruler figure out who should get the contract to build manage/monopolized the power charging stations. Hailing all cronies, start sending your proposal now to your Ruler LOL

• Coming from a guy who hates snatch thieves, mat rempit and all the stupid modified loud kapcais in general, I think this Adnan is being an idiot as usual with this idea.

You think Dominos will have their staff deliver my pizza on a 250cc naked sport bike or take the LRT/MRT?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • John is otak batu on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:22 pm

Kalau encik nak pizza delivery hari ini, encik kena order semalam. Kami guna myvi sekarang

• azrai on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:59 am

Yes..first want to provide ‘legal’ racing for kapchai’s rempit. Now want to ban kapchai?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Ben Yap on Jan 16, 2017 at 12:00 pm

it’s better that they ban kapchai totally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Kunta Kinte on Jan 16, 2017 at 12:03 pm

This is the same fatty that said that he will legalise Mat Rempit and let them race in a section of KL City. Aiyoo….bodoh betul

He said 5 to 7 million workers enter the city. So, how is this 5 to 7 million workers going to take LRT? Habis lah jam packed like this.

Can you imagine, this guy is a Minister?

• riderex5 on Jan 16, 2017 at 12:06 pm

Takkan nak suruh posmen hantar surat pakai zx10. aduiii

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 16, 2017 at 12:21 pm

Actually Ministers must show a good example and take the LRT to work first to show they are sincere in caring for the environment.

Currently Minister or even head of department also go in one big rombongan with escorts and outriders. This is far worse pollution.

One Minister going for an appointment has about 10 cars following him with outriders, escort, bodyguard, crony ball lickers etc.

Compare this to the UK Minister, who actually sits in the tube (London Underground) and goes to Parliament without any escort or outriders. He also cram like sardine with fellow passengers.

Our Ministers must show by way of example. I think if all the Datuks and Tan Sri take the LRT, it can save the environment more than banning kapchai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • musclemuseum on Jan 16, 2017 at 12:36 pm

wrong move by stooopid minister. should’ve banned old & not maintained buses & lorries instead of kapchais. these buses & lorries is the one producing thick smoke. our ministers love to humor us with their pea size brain.

• Sorry datuk seri but this is an idiotic idea. I bet you yourself have not driven in kl roads as you have the privileged of having a driver and only going to work after 10am. If you ban motorcyclist, there will be more cars as most motorcyclist have a car. Although I do not have a motorcycle, I fully support people using motorcycles as they reduce congestions. Here’s an idea that you should implement. BAN all cars that are above 12 years old from entering the city centre and they are most likely to break down and cause congestions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Another foot in mouth episode? What about businesses that rely on kapchais? Postal services, food transport, bike sharing comes to mind.

• alldisc on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:56 pm

i imagine despatch boys of banks and corporates, law firms, contruction companies etc will have to drive cars instead.

no more honda ex5 or yamaha LC

• What used to take 5mins would then take 50mins. Im sure they wouldnt mind a teh tarik en route too.
        If the minister is really worried about pollution he should promote electric motorcycles more.
        2 wheeled transport is just as valid as 4 wheel and in certain situations even more so.

• Aikon on Jan 16, 2017 at 4:46 pm

Oh no! Legal fees will go up and all other fees as well as the dispatches will all have to switch to 250cc and above bikes/scooters or cars!

• The Red Bean Army on Jan 16, 2017 at 1:35 pm

Folks,
    The day has arrived that no rascal motorcyclists should act as though they’re the king on the road. They pay little toll, shameful tax, and yet act like a brat. Often, they ride recklessly and endanger not only their cheap shameful life, but other motorists especially innocent drivers. And what happened when they hit your car and fall from their shameful bike, they would blame you. Why? Because these low class people are jealous of you that you can own car and they will blame you for having your car there that they hit it and fall instead of recognising their own self-incompetencies for riding recklessly. And worse, in traffic jam, not only that they often hit your side mirror and damage your car, they will ride so recklessly that it will give you that “fxck these buggers!” moment especially when they keep honking around just because they wanna cut queue. The day has come, we have to make sure all these pests and parasites to be kicked out from the city. Those rempits have to be annihilated from the city road where civilisation should win against these barbaric and annoying act. Therefore, in this rare instance, we support the govt move to prevent those thick-skin irresponsible-always-righteous holier than thou motorcyclists from the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 24
    • these motorcyclists think they’re right all the time but they forget they can’t fight physics. When they get into an accident, they’ll suffer the most and even death probably. And when that happens, they will be no mercy because they deserved it and they CHOOSE motorcycle as their choice and to behave in such a way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Gojekrider on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:18 pm

Do you ever been ride a motorcycle? Maybe you are the one who got jealous bcoz you got no B2 license. Do you want to know why all ride kapchais go to KL? it’s bcoz cost-effciency. Rempit/snatch thieve prb? Then, ban all the van also bcoz it can use for robbery. The prob here is our minister here (includ.u ) does not live in the same boat as majority marhen people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
      • LongLiveDearLeaderDAP on Jan 17, 2017 at 11:58 am

Only loser need B2 license and need to be calculative about money lol. If you can’t afford it then act like one lah don’t find excuse or alternative or your clouded insignificant assertion… So vote for Pakatan next election we sure kaw kaw make sure you guys can afford at least Axia on 9 years 100% loan lol

• I ride kapchai for reason on Jan 16, 2017 at 1:59 pm

I agree if kapchais get banned in KL. But please make public transport cover 100% KL area and make them cheaper. Taxi is super expensive. Grabcar and Uber are still consider as expensive. KTM is very slow. LRT, MRT station so far. Make LRT and MRT 24 hour operational. Busses always stuck in traffic jam. Car parking fee make it cheaper.

• Hot dog on Jan 16, 2017 at 1:59 pm

My depatch boy mao pakai apa transport ya ?
    Ducati 1299 ??

• Anonymous on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:05 pm

In my opinion, it is impossible to implement at this moment considering the efficiency & capacity of our public transport. Imagine a dispatch who need to deliver to 20 places in a day, it will take him 3 days to finish the job with the current public transport. To reduce to snatch thieve issue, can ban tinted helmet shields. To reduce pollution, can implement cheap eco-friendly exhaust pipe

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:06 pm

But hasn’t Honda’s latest kapchais all received EEV status? Which means they are fuel efficient and has low carbon emissions. So why now want to ban them if they are supposedly clean.

• sub_zero on Jan 17, 2017 at 5:44 pm

those motoryclist hater spread propaganda that current motorcycle still as same as 2 stroke

even if we use 4 stroke fuel injection and euro 4 catalyzer

they are hating for the sake for hating

• If you mad with hooligan rider behave and band the kapcai. Then you might have other problem with crazy driver.
    Its all about people not type of transport.

• Leonardo on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:30 pm

Documents send using Dispatch Riders will be no more, probably resulting in unnecessary inconvenience to those using such services.
    And you cannot order your favorite fast food to be sent to your office anymore.
    A thorough study must be done before implementing this, else it will cause more inconvenience to everyone, even if the intention is good.

• Leonardo on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:30 pm

Documents send using Dispatch Riders will be no more, probably resulting in unnecessary inconvenience to those using such services.
    And you cannot order your favorite fast food to be sent to your office anymore.
    A thorough study must be done before implementing this, else it will cause more inconvenience to everyone, even if the intention is good.

• Jack Salsul on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:05 pm

Apa nak jadi dgn menteri x2 di Malaysia ni. Cakap saja mengarut. Tak semua warga Malaysia ni mampu beli kereta. Kapcai tu lah yg mereka mampu lagi pun jalan memanjang jam. Tak payah la keluar statement. May be nanti kruni MENTERI buat kilang pasang scooter electric buatan china. Bila tengok MRT punya rega ticket still mahal, tol mahal, kereta mahal & sara hidup pun semakin mahal. Gaji tak naik setimpal dgn sara hidup.

• amirad on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:13 pm

Alamak! Cannot ride my LC135 to KL in the future. Need to upgrade to BMW 1200GS.

• Mr Pusing on Jan 16, 2017 at 4:37 pm

dulu mau propose track racing dlm kl dan sekarang pulak mau ban kap cai in kl…apa sudah jadi?? pusing sini sana..pusing pusing taman kl…

• Wat if i work night shift and no public transport at that moment

• Rakyat Marhaein on Jan 16, 2017 at 4:44 pm

Nak ban, ban la semua jenis motor. Kenapa kapchai aje? Kalau betul tak nak pollution, kereta pun jangan bagi masuk. Pundek.

• Anonymous on Jan 16, 2017 at 5:05 pm

This is myopic… the near million of cars n lorries in the streets of Kl is what contributes most to the polution and heat buildup from engines within the cities. Authorities should work together with other agencies come up with better solutions… gauge carbon emissions of these capchais n scooters if need be then promote more efficient exhaust systems if needed… be strict to those who modify their exhausst systems… but it all goes to nothing if the authorities don’t implement measures in reducing carbon emmisions from cars n lorries, diesel engines n modified car exhausts too.

• From east side on Jan 16, 2017 at 5:21 pm

Posmen need to upgrade their bike 1299 Panigale i suppose and make it mandatory cuz it’s not a kapchai…cuz Ducati Panigale is more efficient n less pollutant n its faster to reach the destination….#sarcasm

• Point-A-to-B on Jan 16, 2017 at 5:28 pm

“Once cheaper public transport is available, we will be looking at the possibility of not allowing kapchai motorcycles into the city,” he said.

I’ll be pondering over this statement on my way back home on my trusty Honda Future 125. But I guess I won’t have much time to think about it, cause it doesn’t take long to reach home and I’ll totally forget about this once I start playing with my son. Dang, should have used my car to work to day, at least I can get more time to think about this while I’m stuck in the jam.

• die taxi die on Jan 16, 2017 at 6:39 pm

Good, superb news to start the week. Hope Ku Nan has the balls to pull this off despite all the noise from the rempits. The poor should be taking public transport anyway.

• Samuel Tan on Jan 16, 2017 at 7:17 pm

Should ban motorcycles which do not meet emission test. For example, the European Emission Test. And, 2 stroke motorcycles are emitting more carbon compares to 4 stroke. Ban should be based on emission test, not by the type of motorcycle because there are big motorcycles who emitted more carbon compared to smaller ones.

• Anuar tan on Jan 17, 2017 at 2:48 am

Only third world countries need to depend on underbones for transport just like how they depend on human trafficking modern slavery for cheap labor to compete with other countries who have transformed into high income economy.

• sub_zero on Jan 17, 2017 at 5:46 pm

you never been oustide is it? then how come kapcais still available in UK (and europe)? and the mother kapcai of all place, japan?

• If the environment is the concern, then 2 stroke engined motorcycle should be banned not the whole kapchai family, the 4 stroke motorcycle including Modenas is still emitting acceptable emission rate and they actually very efficient.

• bambiibam on Jan 17, 2017 at 12:38 pm

decreases snatch thefts. yes. decreases crime rates. yes. but honestly, i doubt pollution will decreases. govt should suggest all people to ride electric kapchais.

• pokcik on Jan 17, 2017 at 1:38 pm

Bloody hell la ku nan. Ckp ikut sedap ko je la. Aku hari2 ke PJ terpaksa naik moto sbb KOMUTER je dah 9 hinggit pegi blk. BRT dah 3.00 hinggit. Total sehari 12 hinggit. Aku naik moto isi penuh 3 sekali baru 40 hinggit.

Ni lah spesis menteri bangang. Xnak bayar tol bangun pagi2, x setuju dgn gomen boleh tinggalkan negara ni. Bagus la.

• fares on Jan 17, 2017 at 2:11 pm

i have prof and doctor level in my office. they are riding scooter to office. government doesnt make any sense of this

• Y U. Fuk on Jan 17, 2017 at 9:17 pm

How does the KL authorities define a Kapchai ? Hope this will put an end to the Mat Rampits and reduce snatch thieves.

• Mask Rider RX on Jan 17, 2017 at 11:07 pm

This moron minister will always surprise you with such kind of theory…maybe he need to make sure he wear a correct pans first before speaking…

• org kaya suka lah… ckp yang bawak motor kuang ajar itu ini…ko banyak duit leh citer…ce kalau miskin,duit minyak pun takde…cuba tempatkan diri kau tu kat tempat org yg kurang berkemampuan…jangan ikut sedap je cakap…bangang

• Anonnymous on Aug 22, 2017 at 3:01 pm

Looking forward to see ducati become ‘moto2 biase’ in malaysia,sakit kepala kapchai pun nk banned