Hanoi to ban motorcycles from its city centre by 2025

Motorcycles

Facing a growing problem with traffic congestion and air pollution, the city of Hanoi, Vietnam, has made the decision to ban all forms of two-wheeled transport from its city centre by 2025. This was reported by Thanh Mien News, which said the announcement was made by city officials during a meeting last Monday.

The measure is necessary to curb the rapid rise in private vehicle ownership and promote wider use of public transport in Hanoi, said city officials. It is learnt that Hanoi intends to develop its public transport infrastructure – including construction of a metro rail system – over the next decade before the ban is implemented, but no information was forthcoming as to why cars were not included in the ban.

“Hanoi needs to double the number of buses, which currently only serve eight to 10% of transport demand,” said Nguyen Phi Thuong, board chairman of Hanoi Transport and Services Corporation, which operates public bus services in the city. Hanoi currently has 1,000 buses plying its streets, with 27 million passenger rides a month.

According to official statistics released in 2015, Hanoi has 5.5 million registered vehicles, with 4.9 million motorcycles and scooters making up that number, for a city population of 7.7 million. Around 8,000 to 20,000 new motorcycles are registered in Hanoi every month, along with between 6,000 to 8,000 cars.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 19, 2016 at 8:01 pm

Thats quite a plan. Cos Hanoi is just full of bikes. One must try crossing the road there with bikes whizzing past. Quite an experience.

• Funny since their main mode of transportation is motorbikes. Their govt is basically saying no poor people allowed in the City Center unless you can afford a car.

• Seriously? Hanoi, Vietnam banning motorcycles? Take a look at any videos of Hanoi or Ho Chin Minh and you notice Motorcycles form the core their bloodline.

• Seriously? Hanoi, Vietnam banning motorcycles? Take a look at any videos of Hanoi or Ho Chin Minh and you notice Motorcycles form the core of their private transportation . Really an ambitious attempt I would say but I do however support their attempt.

Meanwhile…. How is that Mat Rempit public roads race in KL coming about.

• Circa Stick on Aug 19, 2016 at 9:14 pm

Luckily it is in Vietnam, if in Malayisa sure Gomen kena Bash kow² punya.

• nabill (Member) on Aug 19, 2016 at 9:40 pm

Superb move…. They know how to plan…. Vietnam here i come!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 19, 2016 at 10:26 pm

i hope malaysia is next

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 22
    • Me Too!
      I hope Malaysia be next because i hate those cyclist who working in Singapore and ride like going to hell.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 21, 2016 at 1:11 am

you are welcomed to take the bus or public transport you know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 21, 2016 at 8:25 am

Hahahaha…semivalue with under market value mentality…another joker in the making

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • pelams on Aug 21, 2016 at 9:43 am

i beg to differ

no motorcyle = more public transport use + no snatch thief + no mat rempits

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • Nazgul on Aug 21, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Ban all private transport including cars. All people must use public transport la deyyy….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Poo@Loo on Aug 21, 2016 at 8:27 pm

Ban motorcycles in cities, then lots of brand new Pooshitdua AahSial n Bissa roaming and jamming up the street, making the traffic jam worse until gridlock in certain road. And those taik car manufacturers don’t care one (i remember that botak CEO of Pooshitdua by hook or by crook want to sell at least 200k cars in Malaysia each year else no ultra fat year end bonus only for their BOD), they only know making noise if sales turun a bit (now already making noise again with those new carbuyers unable to get bank loan due to PTPTN loan default)

• dingle on Aug 22, 2016 at 11:42 am

Yes it will. It will also reduce the number of fatalities on the inter city roads. No more stupid biker’s brains splashing all over the streets.
      They have already made it hard for cars by increasing the parking charges. So I guess its time for the mass public to move to public transport and only use cars when they have to move around with their families or require space for loading.

• Lee Kum Kee on Aug 20, 2016 at 3:51 am

Good lorr. Hope they improve, bcoz i like Viet (amoi). Another thing is the superb noise pollution in Hanoi and HCMC always pin pon honk honk every second from the kapcais and cars that populate the streets. They use the horns as much as accelerator pedals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Susukotak on Aug 21, 2016 at 5:56 am

Paling kurang ada pelan dan maklum awal. Bukan mcm Dewan yang suka buat mengejut.

• Beijing and other china’s big cities had long time banned motorcyles in city centres and they experience the pleasures of car driving on that situation. Motorcyles infact contributed worse pollution than cars.