According to a report by The Star, Singapore will lift its reciprocal road charge (RRC) of SGD6.40 (RM20), once Malaysia begins imposing its RM20 road charge (RC) at the Thailand border as well.
This was revealed by Malaysian High Commissioner to Singapore Datuk Ilango Karuppannan after he was informed by Singapore’s Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan that Singapore had always viewed the implementation of the RC at the Johor border as being aimed at vehicles entering Malaysia from the republic.
As such, Malaysia’s RC implementation was deemed “discriminatory,” as vehicles coming through its other border from Thailand were exempted from it currently. “They see the RC as a type of toll collection and they will match it whenever Malaysia increases the toll charges at the Causeway or Second Link,” said Ilango.
However, Singapore has since been informed that the RC was for all foreign-registered vehicles and not just Singapore-registered vehicles, with local Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai saying that Malaysia was looking at implementing it at the Thailand border by mid-2017.
Liow also welcomed Singapore’s decision to lift its RRC once Malaysia implements the RC at its other entry points bordering Thailand, and stressed that the move was not meant to discriminate Singaporeans.
Ilango also justified the need for the RC, as Malaysia did not respond to Singapore’s implementation of the VEP policy in 1973. “It makes sense for Malaysia to charge foreign-registered vehicles the RC, especially for the maintenance, and wear and tear of our roads,” Ilango said.
When asked about the impact of the RC on Malaysians, Ilango stated only those driving Malaysian-registered cars would be affected, as there were also many Malaysians who were driving Singapore-registered cars to avoid paying VEP fees.
On Monday, Singapore announced that it would increase its RRC to SGD6.40 (RM20) beginning February 15 in response to Malaysia’s RM20 RC that was implemented November 1 last year. Foreign-registered vehicles entering the republic would be required to pay the RRC on top of the daily Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) fees, toll charges and fixed Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) fees upon departure at the Tuas or Woodlands Checkpoints.
So now the ball is in Malaysia’s hand to start implementing the RC at Thailand’s borders. Singapore will have to stick to their word of pulling off the RRC charges once the Thai borders’ RC charges are implemented. So what you waiting for? Or is it the RC charges are actually meant for singapore border only?
who knows, Thailand will implement RRC once Malaysia implements RC at Thai borders. LOL
Don’t worry. We will comply. Now Malaysia is a puppet country. Other countries tell us to sit down and be good, we do it. Stand up also we do it.
China now controls us like a puppet. Singapore also does the same.
Don’t worry also, matter of time before we become a Province of China. Then Singapore also will be scared to bully us
thank god i start learning chinese language when i was 1 year old, bercukur!
Hope Singapore doesn’t remember that Malaysia also has border with Brunei & Kalimantan as well.
Malaysia should waive the RC fees and singapore waive theirs too.
But Malaysia should increase the price of water that we sold to Singapore. Hahahhaa…. so now how is Singapore gonna match Malaysia?
Singapore is planning to be self reliant in water matters by 2061, the year when the bilateral agreement with Malaysia going to end. As a matter of fact, Singapore is not affected by water shortages even when Johor was having water rationing. During that period, Singapote even supplied water back to Johor.
Its cuz the contract. Even thou Johor has rationing but still need to fulfill water supply contract. SG too vice-versa. SG may have the equipment to be self-reliant but running it costs a lot. Will they willingly do it? I doubt it.
Ya I watch the channel 5 news …
Cos Johor resorvoir may not enough to supply …
Too much for this Singapore, must implement daily charges like them as well only for singaporean vehicle, is Thailand charge us on any fees? i dont think so, only few ringgit if i not mistaken.
Thats a good negotiation Malaysia. Now Malaysia can implement VEP too at all the borders. Maybe instead of 10 days allowed by Singapore, Malaysia should allow 12 days a year with Saturday and Sunday, the eve of public holidays and public holidays of both countries FOC. VEP should be charged at a small amount of RM 50 per day as opposed to SGD 35. Singapore still has further charges on their CBD area, peak time and ERP (flat rate SGD 5) which Malaysia does not have.
Charge Brunei kapcais also.
Once spore removed the sgd6.4, we increase the rc to rm100
After that Malaysia’s government also can charge 50% of income tax on Malaysians that work in Singapore.
So many ways to monetize things right now. Why stop at transport?
Charge every RM5 for every foreigner trolley bag arriving KLIA.
Charge RM10/hr for all foreign car park on the Malaysia road.
Charge 50% surcharge for even purchase by foreigner.
And tell foreigners…tak suka? jangan datang la.
it’s our land, we do it our way. who’re u to dictate us?
This is the reason Singapore always leads.stupid in front want to ctrl Singapore n this is bests ever answer they give to this country.brilliant
Dont be too proud of nation rich with illegal money. Its not even singaporean money. Know the facts right.
Lots of common sense needs to understand that y Singapore always leads.money go inside Singapore economy so it’s should be Singapore money.simple is that
So the overall conclusion is malaysia still charge r.c rm20, singpore increase rrc by sgd6 on 15 feb. Then malaysia charge VEP SGD 35 ( RM100). Then what? Singapore increase VEP to sgd 70??? Stupid kiasu singaporean never think. Malaysian working there using sing reg cars. They dont pay VEP. But need to pay malaysia rm 20. Still malaysian pay malaysian. Our supply sent to sing increase cost. U still pay increase + inflation. U increase VEP our tourist dont come. We charge VEP ur tourist still come. So who win now.