Vehicles that park without paying necessary charges will be clamped even if parked properly, says DBKL

Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL), in a response to playwright Kee Thuan Chye, has clarified that only those who park their vehicles without paying the required parking charges in the city would have their vehicles clamped, even if they were parked properly.

DBKL media relations officer Hassan Azhari Abu Bakar explained that this is part of a new system enforced in September last year. He added that the new system put in place allowed vehicle owners to pay for their parking at designated machines without having to display them on their vehicles, as it would be recorded in its system, in a report by The Sun.

“Our enforcement team will be patrolling and scanning the cars’ registration plates. If you have paid, even without displaying the coupon on your cars, the system will still indicate that the owner had paid and the vehicle will not be clamped,” he said.

On Monday, Kee posted on his Facebook page, decrying that it was outrageous for DBKL to clamp cars that were properly parked in parking bays but not displaying their parking tickets, and that they should be issued summons instead, unaware of the new ticket-less system.

In his post, he said that “clamping should be for offences like parking illegally in areas where there are notices warning of clamping. There is no clamping warning for not buying or displaying parking tickets.”

Since then, Kee has stated (on Tuesday) that even though it was an offence when vehicle owners do not pay for parking charges, it should not be an offence that warrants clamping (even with the new ticket-less system). He added that DBKL should have provided sufficient forewarning that vehicle owners which did not pay the parking charges would have their vehicles clamped.

According to former DBKL enforcement director Mustafa Mohd Nor earlier this month, DBKL had no option but to clamp cars that park indiscriminately and block traffic as these offenders weren’t fazed by the compounds “There are more than 120,000 compounds issued a month but no one bothers to pay. We have no choice but to take action for the benefit of the city,” he said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• azrai on Jan 25, 2017 at 10:11 am

Don’t worry. Just take example from Penang Datok la. just buy the big cutter from hardware store and walla you just clip off the solex. No need to worry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Bernard on Jan 25, 2017 at 12:26 pm

DBKL got time to do all this? Why don’t they make our streets safer by patrolling and looking out for snatch thieves?

In KL got berpuluh reports of snatch thieves. DBKL officers instead of wasting time clamping a legally and properly parked vehicle, should patrol our streets.

Now most of them lepak in coffee shop for hours

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 15
      • I think they outsourced it to a third party company.. That’s why volume matters..

• Askedu on Jan 31, 2017 at 1:58 pm

Snatch thief? DBKL? I think you’re barking at the wrong tree.

• Tiger88 on Jan 25, 2017 at 10:18 am

Rests critical issues has been solved which effect rakyat life and luckily this issues also has been solved at lasts.Now v have zero problems in our lives.Wake up morning daily sure got these type of rubbish news .Non sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Parking tickets, speeding tikcets are merely ways of the government to generate money from people, there is no evidence that suggests that the money goes into the improvement of the roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
  • Ben Yap on Jan 25, 2017 at 10:25 am

DBKL will need to buy a lot of clamps….

on the brighter note, the clamping system is good for car owners that are leaving their car by the road side over night or long duration. this will act as a security measure against thieves stealing your car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • jenin on Jan 25, 2017 at 10:35 am

Syabas DBKL !!!
    Masalah kesesakan sekitar ibukota disebabkan masalah ‘parking’ bertindih di bahu jalan terutama pada tengahari Jumaat harap dapat diatasi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 17
  • Faiz Roslan on Jan 25, 2017 at 10:36 am

this Kee guy is a nonsense. If you do wrong, u get the full wrath of punishment from the authorities. Takut denda jgn buat salah, apa susah? Always put the blame on authorities, when they buat kerja, u komplen, when dont buat, u komplen, These people are just so full of themselves.

Huge respect for DBKL which is one of the better manage councils, tabik!!! well done government!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 52
    • Ravindran on Jan 25, 2017 at 11:19 am

tabik!!! well done government! we need more Jaga kereta boys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • azhar on Jan 25, 2017 at 10:43 am

good job DBKL!!…should do it long time ago…malaysian are too pampered

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 19
  • ToHellWithPlagiarism on Jan 25, 2017 at 10:50 am

Wow. Govt really are gettin so desperate for money .. n those who parked at oku will be smiling away .. our hensem ft minister to thank for digging rakyats money to support two big balls of his boss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
  • pengayuhbasikal on Jan 25, 2017 at 10:55 am

with current economy situation…everybody want to make money from everyone…hurmmmm..

may I suggest alternative….tempat letak kereta berpalang (fleksible rod)…tidak bayar..palang tak naik….tempoh tamat..palang jatuh….kekekekekkekekekeke

• thepolygonal on Jan 25, 2017 at 10:58 am

Salah tetap salahlah brother… beli sahaja tiket tu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • GTi-R on Jan 25, 2017 at 11:04 am

Complaint, complaint and after realising own’s wrong, still complaint. Berani buat salah, berani tanggung la. Apa kecoh2… Apa2 pun, DBKL sudah pandai sekarang.. bahaya ni.. kekeke..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Jamal on Jan 25, 2017 at 11:06 am

Some of u guys seem to b missing the point..maybe it must be the rotten education system we are all receiving. The writers point is why clamp vehicles that are properly parked irregardless whether a ticket is paid or not whilst you can just summon them, while vehicles which are indiscriminately parked are let off with a summon..dbkl should come hard on vehicles that are blocking traffic instead of properly parked vehicles…based on the reason given is that people don’t pay their summons ..it looks like dbkl is more interested in making money than clearing traffic!! Think before you respond!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 15
    • Could not agree more with you.Indeed most people missing the point, cant even know their right as a citizen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • 12yrsold on Jan 25, 2017 at 3:19 pm

You are absolutely right Jamal. Those who bash Kee are commenting for the sake of Bashing. Logic/point does not apply.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Susukotak on Jan 25, 2017 at 7:42 pm

kereta yang dah halang lalu lintas nak clamp juga? lagi teruk jalan tu

• Bila gaji naik ah? on Jan 25, 2017 at 11:07 am

In order to survive (maintain high salaries and consistant increament), very difficult to get more income…

• Dah salah cakap, then issue correction but dun sound like correction. Ego to the max, Mr Kee!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
  • Bernard on Jan 25, 2017 at 11:20 am

This is excellent news! There are many cars parked indiscriminately in Puchong ; around ioi mall, tesco, Setiawalk etc. Would Dbkl do the same please…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • huhuhuhu on Jan 25, 2017 at 11:40 am

That is MPSJ territories….

• komarad on Jan 25, 2017 at 11:57 am

Puchong is beyond DBKL…

• Susukotak on Jan 26, 2017 at 8:57 am

correction for bernard: along jalan setapak hulu kelang. 2 lane become 1 lane. traffic light to museum p ramlee driver cutting lane. never ending jam.

• Mikey on Jan 25, 2017 at 11:32 am

Authorities doing their job should be encourage. Just like MPSJ tow truck towing away illegal parked cars without fear or favor.
    They do NOT Bincang/talk to U to settle the summon but ask U to settle at the depot.
    There is NO Kopi $$$ to be paid but U pay the compound, surcharges & get a receipt on the spot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Aik! On one hand u said got kowtim, now u said this no kowtim. Mana ni betul?

• Mikey on Jan 25, 2017 at 3:10 pm

PDRM can KowTim outside office whereas MPSJ Towtruck is more transparent. If U still cannot tell the diff, U better crawl back from the hole U came out from.

• Naz Max on Jan 25, 2017 at 11:42 am

While Kee argument seems valid, it is the 120,000 ignorant offender who did not pay up make DBKL furious. When people are ignorant, authority has to take effective measures. So how to ditch this new regulation? Pay up the parking fee. Lose a bit, but save time and avoid unnecessary penalty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 25, 2017 at 1:37 pm

this is why i double park…same what….u proper park also clamp i park wheever i want better la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • tan sari on Jan 25, 2017 at 3:44 pm

yeah, DBKL is to blamed for cordoning many double parkings in ttdi

• Maslan on Jan 25, 2017 at 4:34 pm

Masyarakat kami X mengamalkan sikap double standard..

• paparadzi (Member) on Jan 25, 2017 at 1:53 pm

“According to former DBKL enforcement director Mustafa Mohd Nor earlier this month, DBKL had no option but to clamp cars that park indiscriminately and block traffic as these offenders weren’t fazed by the compounds.”

I have some issue regarding this. Imagine someone parked illegally behind your car, blocking your exit. Now DBKL will come and clamp this car. Until the clamp is opened, that car cannot move, and neither can yours! Cars that is blocking other traffic shouid not be clamped but should be towed away instead.

• Ramen on Jan 25, 2017 at 2:06 pm

Yes I agree, they shouldn’t clamp the car. It bring problem to the people. They should’ve towed away the car so other people that able to pay can use the parking space instead.

• According to former DBKL enforcement director Mustafa Mohd Nor earlier this month, DBKL had no option but to clamp cars that park indiscriminately and block traffic as these offenders weren’t fazed by the compounds “There are more than 120,000 compounds issued a month but no one bothers to pay. We have no choice but to take action for the benefit of the city,” he said.

Of course you have choice. By the law. Go to court, summon the offenders. BUT DBKL is too lazy to do this, right? Hence the easier way, the samseng way…

• azrai on Jan 25, 2017 at 4:34 pm

We don’t want to pay because if we pay late sure got promotion, discount, lucky draw.

• Henry on Jan 25, 2017 at 2:41 pm

So desperate and hard-up for money?

• positive man on Jan 25, 2017 at 3:58 pm

i dont think this is a positive measure to clamp the owner car which is properly parked inside the line.

• saladin on Jan 25, 2017 at 6:36 pm

This dbkl parking system full of flaw. Currently the mechine will only take coins only, touch n go still offline. ( guys dont use t&g it will render ur card faulty).I park 9 hours daily ( working day) so i need to prepare rm13.50 coin everyday. Shit u think i berniaga kantin sekolah ka byk coin. And the dbkl very pandai one, at one time my time just finsh at 11.00pm. I went down to topup then saman already issued on 11.03pm. So efficent syabas2 le hoyeh.

• Where is your location? At my place, all machine accept TnG. I even use one, almost everyday. There’s another method using ‘JomParking’ app. You can topup credit there albeit with some charges

• Stupid corrupt DBKL. GO AND SHOO AWAY THOSE ILLEGAL PARKING ATTENDANTS FIRST LA. Always want to collect rakyat money only buy dont want to do it the proper way. So many of them at the same place everyday. smh

• lol…morons…clamp the cars to further reduce availability of parking spaces.

• There’s some thing that not revealed here. DBKL will clamp vehicles if you’re not paying parking ticket AND your vehicle have a lot of outstanding summons. I’m not sure how much of ‘a lot’ but my guess is more than 5 or maybe 10. If you only have 1 outstanding summon, they will not clamp it.

During clamping operation, if your vehicle have a lot of outstanding summon & you didn’t pay parking at that time, they will clamp. If you need to remove the clamp, call DBKL. They will alert you back when officer is arrived.

You have to pay following to remove the clamp, on the spot
    RM50 – to remove clamp AND
    RM50 – parking summon

If your vehicle is clamped for other reason such as blocking summon amount is a lot more than that

• Pemberi Sedekah on Jan 26, 2017 at 2:04 pm

WHY THE ARSEHOLE IT TAKE 2 HOURS TO RELEASE THE CLAMP DBKL AND EVEN MORE, WHEN THE OWNER PARK FOR 10MINS THERE TO BUY A DRINK OR FOOD INSIDE THE SPACE. FIRST AFTER YOU GOT CLAMP, YOU NEED TO CALL THE NUMBER PROVIDED WHICH LUCKILY THE LINE GO THRU AFTER FEW HUNDRED TIME TRY, WHICH WASTING MY CREDIT AND TIME. SECONDLY YOU HAVE TO PREPARE RM100 OTS TO SETTLE. THIRDLY YOU HAVE TO GO ROUND AND ROUND TO LOOK FOR THEM. THIS IS NOT EFFICIENT AT ALL. DBKL BEG FOR MONEY NOT US, YOU DBKL SUPPOSE TO STANDBY TO COLLECT YOU BEGGING MONEY, NOT US. LASTLY IF NEVER COME TO ATTEND YOUR CAR FOR 4 HOURS, YOUR CAR WILL BE TOWED TO THEIR DUMP. YOU KNOW YOUR HARD TIME IF YOU FACE THIS SITUATION. PLS IMPROVE IT

• will dbkl enforce this during every friday noon ?

• Askedu on Jan 31, 2017 at 2:05 pm

Will DBKl enforce this along Jln. Syed Putra esp. in frnt of Kuen Cheng School?