DBKL to wheel clamp parking offenders from Sept 1

dbkl parking tow bernama pix

The Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) will start using wheel clamps on those who park indiscriminately and block traffic from September 1, Bernama reports.

KL mayor Datuk Seri Mhd Amin Nordin Abd Aziz said the strong move will be enforced in the whole city, especially at high traffic or tourist areas. The areas include Jalan Masjid India, Jalan Tun Sambanthan (Brickfields), Jalan Raja Muda Abdul Aziz, Jalan Bulan, Jalan Changkat Bukit Bintang, Jalan Chow Kit, Jalan Kenanga, Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Jalan Solaris Mont Kiara and Jalan Klang Lama.

DBKL’s Pemudah team found that indiscriminate parking is one of the main causes of traffic congestion. “From January to July this year, DBKL issued 746,185 compounds for obstructing traffic and 232,726 compounds to vehicles that did not pay for parking. 4,857 vehicles were towed away for parking offences, so stronger action needs to be taken,” Mhd Amin told reporters yesterday.

Owners of clamped cars will need to pay a RM50 fine within four hours for the lock to be released. Otherwise, DBKL will tow the car away and a RM100 fine will be given. The implementation of this move is under the Road Transport Act 1987 and the Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur Road Transport (parking) Order 2016.

Money aside, it will be a real inconvenience if your car is clamped, so please park in designated lots and don’t block traffic.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ben Yap on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:48 am

it’s not like malaysians care whether their cars got clamped or not. they will still park indiscriminately.

Best solution is to suspend their license and if the car is no claimed within 48 hours, DBKL will auction the car and use the money to improve the roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
  • Maslan on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:51 am

Clamping – A method of to show that you are not allowed to park here but end-up force the car to permanently park due to immobilizer of the clamping.

Fooooking GENIUS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • Raja muda on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:16 pm

hope Datuk seri DBKL is not involved.

• MeToo on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Do like Kota Kemuning/MPSA…

U simply park, they terus TOW your car… no need waste time clamp.

• Sam Poo@Loo on Aug 24, 2016 at 5:55 pm

U simply park, they terus TOW your car…

Not only MBSA, even MPSJ also same, very nasty one (esp. SS15 and near Taipan/USJ).

Malaysian drivers are truly from “Ham Ka Chan” species especially those simply park like it’s their father’s road.

• Sam Poo@Loo on Aug 24, 2016 at 5:57 pm

U simply park, they terus TOW your car…

Not only MBSA, even MPSJ also same, very nasty one (esp. SS15 and near Taipan/USJ).

Malaysian drivers are truly came from “Ham Ka Chan” species as well as barbaric especially those simply park like it’s their father’s road.

• Calvin Lim on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:06 am

Please come to Taman Cheras first… DBKL office so nearby but everyone park like its their father’s road on the main junction near BHP.

• DonkeyKong on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:12 am

Target those communist areas like Jalan Imbi.. full of selfish uneducated communists who double-park indiscriminately right in front of restaurants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
  • Kenny Fang on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:15 am

Clamping should not be done on a car which is blocking a car parked properly. This means the cars which can be clamped is very limited unless DBKL does not mind inconveniencing owners of properly parked cars. Towing the cars is a better solution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • So are we suppose to clap hands for such move? Indiscriminate parking happens because you didn’t fully enforce the law in the first place! Those offenders think nothing will happen even if they simply park. Enforce it from day 1 so you don’t have to announce to the world that you will carry out your duty duly !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • FIST (Member) on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:30 am

yeah right

• Doc Sin on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:47 am

They should do this in Taman Sri Sentosa, off Old Klang Road. They Park their cars literally on one entire Lane, essentially, making the road a single Lane for the rest. There are illegal food stalls constructed along the walkway that have permanent fixtures such as concrete walls, A/C and TVs which contribute to this road blocking and nobody bats an eye. On the other hand, if this were to happen near PJ old town (Jalan Rida) , or PJ section 14, or places in KL, the officials are very quick to take action. Why are there double standards?

• This is really stupid approach. Just imagine the car is parking in a wrong place and causing traffic and also safety of other cars that need to avoid it. Now, DBKL clamps it and the car still there for 4hrs – still causing traffic and other’s safety. It should be towed away immediately to ease the traffic and safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Basketjohn on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:56 am

Mr. DIY hardware shop sell playar to open clamp.

Rm20

• Sgt Scoop on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:00 am

Wouldn’t it be better to tow them if they are blocking traffic?

• 4 hours? Come on DBKL, you should just wait for 10 mins max to tow away the vehicles. 4 hours means the other road uses would have to bear with 4 hours of inconvenience!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • About time!!!!

• Das Auto on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:45 am

macam pernah ku dengar ye dahulu…………………

• Road Warrior on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:48 am

What’s the point clamping the car when it still blocks the road. Just tow the damn car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Lee Kum Kee on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:51 am

Good move. But don’t forget motorcycles too. Next DBKL should also clamp and tow motorcycles parking at shoplot patios and walk pavements. Having motorcycle does not mean you can park everywhere like a boss.

• xoxox on Aug 23, 2016 at 12:18 pm

first….charge the parking slot….then charge non-parking slot also..

• xoxox on Aug 23, 2016 at 12:20 pm

and then…public transport fee….where can u all run????

• frustratorrrr on Aug 23, 2016 at 12:41 pm

cakap banyak la dbkl…lets see how long you will enforce this (if its even enforced).

have a look around klcc….double park along yellow line even at 6pm. heck..parking!! not even waiting in the car. plus those kutu taxis acting like its their freaking road.

dont get me started with the tourist buses ‘waiting’ together with those illegally parked cars…not just 1…3..5.6 at a time.

lets see…

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:49 pm

I guess we’ll be seeing these headlines soon?
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2882003/Not-strong-Defiant-reality-TV-star-snaps-wheel-clamp-tire-taking-audition-Bad-Girls-Club.html

• Leafable on Aug 23, 2016 at 7:56 pm

It’s about bloody time the local enforcement do something about it. Its 20 years late.

• Suzuka Mayojita on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:07 pm

I stay at Scottish Garden Old Klang Road, everyday illegal parked cars in front of Garden no actions from DBKL caused major jam. I hope they walk the talk. Clamp all cars there !

• Yes please walk the talk, clamp the VVIP’s cars parked along Jln Sultan Ismail front of Sang hotel occupying one lane and blocking traffic every evening.

• kaizen on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:17 pm

i suggest DBKL to patrol a lot, make its presence known by making loud sound at intervals, at very busy areas, to signal and give them time quickly move away their cars…..win win

not all road blockers park indiscrimately park, some are on emergency and very short period while others are just downright arrogant and couldnt be bothered at all

anyway if still blocking after next round same area, just tow away lahhhhh…..

• Bernard on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:41 am

Should have started this at least 20 years ago! Also, please extend this to the whole country, not just kl.

The fine should be increased to RM10k.

Start sept 1 and do it everyday for the next 10 years .

• Susukotak on Aug 24, 2016 at 5:42 am

Jalan genting kelang depan kfc tu apa cerita?

• Therealmaserati on Aug 24, 2016 at 6:29 pm

Yawn… Then this DBKL fellas will be camping thr waiting for duit kopi. So common everywhere

• This would be a good idea if there were ample parking spots planned for projected demand when developing a commercial/residential area, and parking fees are cheap. However as we know, this is hardly the case. Take for example in Section 17, there used to be a big open carpark next to the wet market. Even then it was already not quite sufficient to cater for the public. Few years ago, some developer managed to buy the land and decided to build a freaking condominium there. The area is already filled to the brim with 1 lane roads with no more carpark! The other day i saw mbpj doing its rounds in clamping. I don’t think its fair that they do one part of their job (issuing penalties) and don’t do another part of their job (i.e. Ensure proper township planning and development) diligently