BMW 1 Series Sedan launched in China, only for China

We’ve seen it before, but the BMW 1 Series Sedan has now been officially launched in China. Yup, it’s a booted 1 Series and BMW’s smallest sedan model, but the “highly emotional new entry” is exclusively for the Chinese market. China is BMW’s biggest market, and what it wants it gets.

“We sold over half a million cars in China last year and this, our biggest market, continues to offer great potential. Our customers in China have been asking for a smaller model to meet their specific needs and we’ve worked hard with our colleagues here to make sure this car not only meets but exceeds those desires,” said Ian Robertson, BMW management board member responsible for sales and marketing.

The 1 Series Sedan was developed at in Munich with the support of Chinese engineers. BMW said that during development, the new model underwent testing at the Nürburgring as well as in the wide-ranging climatic and road conditions to be found in China, to ensure that it performs well in the real environment in which it will be used. The F52 is manufactured at the BMW and Brilliance JV’s Tiexi plant in Shenyang.

At 4,456 mm long, 1,803 mm wide and 1,446 mm tall, the sedan is 132 mm longer, 38 mm wider and 33 mm taller than the 1 Series five-door hatch. Wheelbase length is 2,670 mm. It has quite the size niche for itself within BMW’s China range as well, as the 3 and 5 Series saloons sold there are in extended wheelbase form.

It’s standard 1 Series inside, but the rear seats are model specific and not carried over from the hatchback. The contours of the rear backrests and the upholstery provide better comfort, BMW says.

There are three turbo engines available. The entry 118i sedan is powered by a 1.5 litre three-cylinder unit with 136 hp and 220 Nm from 1,250 rpm. With a six-speed auto, the 118i is good for 0-100 km/h in 9.4 seconds and a 212 km/h top speed. The middle child is the 120i, which gets a 2.0 litre four-pot and an eight-speed auto – 192 hp, 280 Nm, 7.5 seconds, 235 km/h.

The sports sedan of the FWD range is the 125i. With 231 hp and 350 Nm of torque, this compact three-box does the century sprint in just 6.8 seconds and has a limited top speed of 250 km/h.

Comfort is important in China, and Munich says that the 1 Sedan’s suspension and damping are designed to ensure occupants experience as relaxed a ride as possible on all road surfaces. Optimised acoustic comfort is taken care of by such features as a fully panelled underbody and tyres with reduced rolling resistance. The 118i rolls on 16- and 17-inch wheels, while the 2.0L models get 18-inch alloys.

Also unique is the model specific heating/ventilation system, which is quieter and has a “highly effective air filtering function” to combat China’s dirty air.

Buyers can choose between basic, Luxury line and Sport line. Driving Assistant including collision warning with city brake function and the Parking Assistant are optional. Also available is BMW Connected with Open Mobility Cloud for connecting smartphones, tablets and smart watches to the car.

Looks and sounds rather impressive to us. Would a sub 3 Series sedan work here?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• So it is like a bezza model? From hatch to sedan?

• See? China can develop BMW car, real BMW car. Better than the jaguh kampung ‘BMW of Asia’ here. It’s all down to the management. When you have ‘Nasi Lemak’ management, you can only have ‘Nasi Lemak’ products. Sigh…

• Mikey on Feb 28, 2017 at 12:15 pm

WOW. This BMW 1 series SEDAN is specially made 4 China Only. Even the Germans & US don’t get this.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 28, 2017 at 12:23 pm

fwd bmw….eeew

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 28, 2017 at 12:33 pm

It’ll sell well here in Bolehland. A pre reg base spec 1er Sedan will most possibly match the price of an Accord and people here love the badge. Can’t say the same for the A3 as it didn’t really took off here.

• passion on Feb 28, 2017 at 12:36 pm

oh boy i love this!

• Kelab Kunta on Feb 28, 2017 at 12:44 pm

See, even BMW kowtow to China. And our monkeys here telling everybody Proton will be independent despite China taking a stake in Proton.

Dream on lah. Proton will bow to their new masters, Geely!

• contender on Feb 28, 2017 at 12:57 pm

Too bad is a left hand drive if not AP holders may bring in …. interesting 1-series sedan BMW

• Deutschlandlied on Feb 28, 2017 at 1:17 pm

Anything German would work here!

• EnergyAnalyst on Feb 28, 2017 at 1:18 pm

If this is launched here, I wonder of anyone would still buy a VW

• alldisc on Feb 28, 2017 at 1:43 pm

Wait!!
    Malaysia and Singapore also have Chinese people. Why cant BMW sell 1 series sedan here as well?? Don’t be racists BMW.

• The China here alwiz complain no money, so BMW thought those here no money compared to mainlanders.

• Xi Xin Jib on Feb 28, 2017 at 4:14 pm

We PRC buy things with no question asked like burning joss paper while Malaysian Chinese so racist and Singapore so kiasu.Selling expensive brand to mainland China less headache than arrogant migrant Chinese.We PRC got more money to spend and can sell big number.How many outside mainland can buy expensive brand? Most of them just selling handphone.Economy so bad now in Malaysia and Singapore many phone dealers close shops.

• Dun forget the DVD sellers as well… wait..

• ducatiscrambler on Feb 28, 2017 at 4:39 pm

“We PRC” dream on my Malaysian/Singaporean. a PRC would be so self absorbed to the extent they don’t bother what’s happening in Malaysia and Singapore.

• From the Rear on Feb 28, 2017 at 1:57 pm

I supposed it will sell here in Malaysia considering it’s a Sedan market. However, BMW purist will still opt for RWD and this 1 series sedan is FWD. Then again the 2 series Activetourer is FWD and people still buy it.

• basherlogic on Feb 28, 2017 at 2:05 pm

1 series sempit la. Macam mana nak bawak anak saya 6 orang ni?

• ariwatan on Feb 28, 2017 at 5:24 pm

If you are born with P1 Saga its not your mistake, But if you live poor with 6kids its your mistake.

• Bernard on Feb 28, 2017 at 2:08 pm

It wont work in Bolehland because it would be exorbitantly priced and we don’t have the purchasing power of the Chinese…..

• Annoynimouse on Feb 28, 2017 at 10:02 pm

I’m interested in the “highly effective air filtering function”. Would like to use it here in Malaysia.