Proton a “failed, white elephant project” – Nazri Aziz

In response to Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s comments of Proton’s equity potentially being sold to China’s Zhejiang Geely, tourism and culture minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz has labelled the national carmaker a “failed, white elephant project.”

In a report by NST, he said the company’s lack of success has burdened the government, and it could no longer receive further support. “The project is a failure. They are asking us (government) for money. All the time, billions of ringgit. How can it (the project) be successful if every year, you keep coming back to the government for money,” he said.

“This project to me is a white elephant project. We inherited it from him (Tun M) and if it goes down, then he will blame us (saying) that we have failed,” he continued, adding that the sale of some of Proton’s equity would help overcome the losses faced by the carmaker currently.

“We have to find ways on how to save this and by the Chinese (company) taking up some equities, I think it is a good deal. We had to carry his burden and we cannot afford to support this company anymore. One of the ways to overcome this is to sell the equity. So, the failure is not ours (the government), but his pet project,” Nazri said.

Proton had previously stated it will announce its new foreign strategic partner by the first half of 2017 (1H2017). Reports currently place France’s PSA Groupe and Geely as leading parties for the deal, where both have submitted their respective proposals.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Overall, the comments strongly criticize Proton's management and political connections, describing the company as a "white elephant" and blaming government officials, including Nazri Aziz, for its decline. Many commenters highlight internal issues like bad management, poor decision-making, lack of R&D, and nepotism as reasons for Proton's failure. Some suggest privatization, selling off the company, or seeking foreign ownership, especially Geely, to revive it. While a few defend Proton's contributions to Malaysia’s economy, most agree it is now a failed project and its continued support is untenable. There is widespread consensus that political interference, mismanagement, and lack of strategic direction have led Proton to its current state, and many call for urgent restructuring or sale to ensure its future.

• Henry on Mar 02, 2017 at 9:33 am

Nazri should tell TDM in the face while he (TDM) was still PM.

• Bapa Bodek Anak Korek on Mar 02, 2017 at 4:06 pm

He best look after his estranged son first before commenting. No wonder HRH says some ministers talk without thinking

• Now our minister is telling the truth. Why lie to us that Proton is on par with BMW and Volvo back then? You know there are some stupid supporters that believe that? If the project is indeed white elephant, shouldn’t it be shut down or close down? The rakyat is not suppose to pay for 32 years of failed project, you know

• Kunta Brothers on Mar 02, 2017 at 5:15 pm

He cannot even sort his own household corruption. Until today nothing was done to Nedim, who was driving a brand new Cayenne given to him FREE from a Contractor balak who was looking for contracts from daddy Nazri. Now he want to talk about Tun.

• Faiz Roslan on Mar 02, 2017 at 4:22 pm

Syabas Proton. Now Proton DNA will proliferate in Volvo cars and the world will know Tun’s genius. Nazri is also an outstanding statesman for blessing the share sale which is instrumental for gov to maintain surplus and to make sure Proton accelerates its plan for world dominance. Win win for all! Kudos! – Faiz Roslan CEng

• Kunta Brothers on Mar 02, 2017 at 5:18 pm

This message from BN’s runner boy is that, the 60,000 jobs in Proton is going to go.

Now already gomen sending a message. It is time to close shop cause they will sell fully to Geely. And first thing Geely will do is sack all the deadwood.

• why is it wrong to sack deadwood ? the jobs will still be held by locals + foreigners, do you know how many foreigners work in Proton plants ??

• World dominance in white elephant by Nasi Lemak management. Proton and their supporters should be ‘proud’. Lol

• Cash is king on Mar 02, 2017 at 5:15 pm

Sell it off to Geely China company!!

• passion on Mar 02, 2017 at 9:48 am

sell it already. what’s the delay. just make sure the excess staffs are redistributed and not left out in the cold.

• Sack designer on Mar 02, 2017 at 5:17 pm

The first thing the new partner must do for Proton: Sack the designer!

Sack the designer!!

Sack the designer!!!

• Kunta Brothers on Mar 02, 2017 at 5:30 pm

P1 Engineer A : Eh nak mula buat research untuk EV tak?

P1 Engineer B : Boleh, tapi I sikit lapar skarang, nak makan karipap dan minum teh dulu, baru kita mula.

P1 Engineer A :Jom!

~ 2hours later~~~

P1 Engineer B : Lepas makan ada sikit penat ni, mari kita tidur kejap.

P1 Engineer A : Okay la macam tu kita tidur kejap baru mula buat research.

~ 3hours later~~~

P1 Engineer B : Eh eh bangun, dah pukul 5 ni, mari kita balik la, besok baru start.

• Bill Cosby on Mar 02, 2017 at 6:22 pm

Malaysia Champion!!!
      Say the Darndest Things ….SYABAS!!! Cukur Cukur

• Remember 2005 to 2006 what your specialist said about proton proposal joint venture with vw.That u.k. automotive prof that ent on national tv. Fact checked baby.

• GersanG on Mar 02, 2017 at 6:26 pm

Tak kisah lah brader.
      Janji Mamat nie dapat Level UP! heheheh

• Kelab Penyokong Kunta 2 on Mar 02, 2017 at 9:54 am

Sell it off already, the clock is ticking, stop wasting time and take a step forward for a better P1

• Tiger88 on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:00 am

Now it’s time to pull each other ears for proton LOL hahahahaha

• john is otak batu on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:01 am

Can’t wait for Chinaman to pen down & seal the deal once & for all. So that all this drama & hassle will come to an end 4 sure.

• BOYRACER on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:06 am

To say Proton a failed white elephant project I think is a bit too simplistic.From the implementation and up to the late 90s they were market leader.What happen next is due to many factors which in the end led to its downfall.No matter how much I want to see Proton succeed,at the present time is changing and now is globalization.Proton simply cannot survive on its own.Time for Proton to swallow the hard pill.And it is called PRIDE.

• TheDean on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:07 am

Wow. Seriously, Nazri? It’s tun’s fault and not the government? Not the suits running the company, but tun’s fault? It’s sad to see a current minister of this caliber.

• Mikey on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:11 am

I seldom agree with Nazri but I agree 100% when he say – “we cannot afford to support this company anymore”. In short, P1 MUST stand on its Own feet. P

• C. P. MOHAN on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:13 am

Someone finally realised after 30+ years that a project is a “white elephant” a “failure”.

• Aku paling benci ahli politik sampah….
    Sembang mcm bagus je….anak beranak sama “Sampah”

• 100% agreed with Nazri. This what the commentators here have been saying for years.

• What can we say man. This Asia’s BMW is bad for the country.

• “I think it is a good deal.”
    You think? Think? Are you serious though? That is the problem with the government nowadays.They think this is good, think that is good but never really go on to full research it is good or not for Malaysia in a long term. They just blurt out what they think based on their personal opinion. I’m not a big fan of proton borrowing money from the people but this kind of talks that makes don’t want to take it seriously of the government. How we talk is important, must give in facts how this will be a success rather than shoving people with their own personal opinion.

• Dare Ya on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:25 am

If it is a failure, then by all means, sell it. the focus then will be on the so called ‘tax to protect Proton’. Will it be banished? Or will there be another reason to keep the taxes that is killing automotive market here? SO GONNA LOOK FORWARD TO CHEAPER IMPORTS AND CONTIS.

• tokmoh. on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:25 am

Betul betul betul. Now surrender to motherland, all your base are belong to tongsan.

Geely > all
    Volvo > all

• Mokmok on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:32 am

Come on..just close them faster, burden the rakyat for decades already.

• macai on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:32 am

Kekuatan Proton adalah kerana mereka ada di Malaysia dan sudah ada tapak pengilangan di ASEAN dan kalau Geely hendak menjalankan pengeluaran di kilang Proton adalah senang dan mudah untuk dapat pasaran di peringkat serantau.

• Pit71 on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:35 am

Seriously?!?!
    Another stupid comments from another stupid minister.
    Blaming other people when deep down, it is THEIR OWN FAULTS!

• pirates of the caribbean on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:36 am

When the loot is spent, the bandits turn on one another.

• Malaysial almost a failed state.
    Ini semua salah…. Oh wait.

• State or country? LOL
      If failure so you are a failed citizen
      Oh wait maybe you are paid jepunis overlord

• PREPAID on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:39 am

Nak kredit letteww.

• Roda Impian on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:45 am

Saya Putar, Halim

• Kelab Penyokong Nazri on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:51 am

Sapott sapot DS!!!

• Kelvin on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:56 am

Did he just exposed that Geely won the deal by stating that the Chinese (company) to take up some equities? LOL

• nabill (Member) on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:57 am

Why only now ur talking? And, what’s culture and tourism ministry got to do anything with p1????

• apamau on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:57 am

This time, give you a thumbs up Nazri, but why so late… we been suffer for so many years of this Pet Project.

• erwinkarim on Mar 02, 2017 at 11:00 am

learn to kill your darlings and move on..

• Uberian on Mar 02, 2017 at 11:07 am

This Nazri guy talks some awesome sense sometimes.

• See who is talking now, father n playboy son also in deep trouble, dare to say so much…minister can buy luxury car but cannot afford to buy proton

• arowana on Mar 02, 2017 at 11:07 am

truth hurts.. but it’s the truth

• Inb4 bashers agree with Najib… wait..

• Mr Minister Bodek on Mar 02, 2017 at 11:15 am

Just like BN .. but worst , failed the nation and citizen

• But BN now willing to do the difficult decisions, unlike Party Hard….

• The irony is now everyone seems to condemn this old man. Once touted as the father of modern development, today he is the father of all the problems that arise in Malaysia. God let him to live long enough to let the karma hits him back.

• Arab Malaysia Bank account on Mar 02, 2017 at 11:22 am

Time will tell if tens of billions spent on MRT will be a bigger failure and indefinite burden to tax layers. Only problem is unlike Proton you cannot sell MRT to foreigner but tax payers continue to bear it’s massive operating losses just like Rapid KL now.
    Whose pet project is that eh ? That’s why HRH says some not so smart ministers should keep quiet

• where is john? on Mar 02, 2017 at 11:24 am

waiting john to counter answer this fella…i hope john doesn’t hide in the cave..

• See above.
      If U agree, that means u sapot PM & Gov.
      If U disagree, that means u sapot P1 & Party Hard.

• Kunta Brothers on Mar 02, 2017 at 11:25 am

Disgraceful when you kutuk someone older than you, especially when you yourself come without clean hands.

Proton as well as Proton staff should be ashamed for allowing Tun M to be kutuk like that. Tun M was Bapa Proton. He looked after you all so well.

If not for Tun M, Proton would have been closed 15 years ago. But as Tun M was the PM, he made sure he gave Proton as much money as possible whenever Proton needed it.

Mahathir took money from Petronas with one hand and gave freely to Proton with another hand. This is why Proton is still alive today.

Very shameful now, not even a single person in Proton’s 60,000 workers can stand up and defend him now despite he loving Proton with all his heart and soul. Not even one come out now to defend Tun from Nazri.

And even more disgraceful that for the last 4 launches, not even a single person called Bapa Proton to launch the new Perdana, Ertiga, Persona and Saga. Proton made a conscious effort to disgrace Tun M by not inviting him.

In overseas, every company always invite their founder. For example, When Steve Balmer was President of Microsoft, every product launch, he called Bill Gates as the Founder to bless the launch. This is respect for our elders.

Everyone, just threw the 90 year old man into the tong sampah, and forgot all the good he did for Proton. It is very sad that we have forgotten our Asian culture of respecting the elders. The word “hormat” orang tua is not in Proton’s dictionary.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 02, 2017 at 11:29 am

time to close it down

• voiddance on Mar 02, 2017 at 11:30 am

Eleh… Before this TDM was your god. Now Najib. Ass licker.

Proton is in bad shape because of people like Nazri, Najib, TDM, Anwar and all. Keep feeding cronies with people’s money.

• yeast lump on Mar 02, 2017 at 11:39 am

Kill the goose to get the golden egg…

• thepolygonal on Mar 02, 2017 at 11:40 am

So his logic is Proton is a failure that’s why they are selling it to China?

Also to be fair… it’s actually a success to bring up the automotive industry of the country… creating jobs and tech transfer and all… BUT at the expense of consumers paying higher price. Success? Look to Perodua.

• Kunta Brothers on Mar 02, 2017 at 11:41 am

Nazri talk big but Nazri and other ministers were in the cabinet now for 20 over years. Why they did not speak up then? Last time keep quiet only.

No balls then?

Now talk big? Nazri is collectively responsible for Proton’s rot. For failing to speak up the past 20 years, especially the past 5 years, Nazri is also liable.

• Open Letter to Proton Directors on Mar 02, 2017 at 11:44 am

Last time when Tun was adviser, everyone cium Tun’s tangan and kipas his buntot. All worship him. All the directors ampu bodek him, cium him everyday.

Now, the same directors, as well as the 60,000 workers who always cium him, just drop him like a stone. Nobody come here to defend him.

This is Hippocrate behaviour. The same people are still in Proton. Don’t you guys all feel shy? One day Tun feeds you and give you food on your plate, another day, you chase him like a dog and not a single person dare to defend him

• Matchy on Mar 02, 2017 at 11:47 am

Tun M and Proton should be proud. At least got some big company want to buy them. (Which mean they worth something) If they are really bad, no one will ever buy them.

• Kunta Brothers on Mar 02, 2017 at 11:51 am

According to Mustapa, Proton has offically taken RM15 billion the past 20 years plus the recent RM1.5 billion.

Those are official figures. Unofficial figures are higher. As we know, Tun freely gave Proton using PFBB (Petronas FREE Bank Berhad). And all unaccounted and unaudited. So we can assume, Proton must have taken over RM50 billion of Petronas money aka Rakyat’s money.

How can we recover that RM50 billion? Proton shares not even worth a few billion.

• Donno on Mar 02, 2017 at 12:07 pm

Haih, En Nazri, your thousands of KL taxi permits under your name use what brand for the taxi’s?

• Bernard on Mar 02, 2017 at 12:15 pm

Just failed or a long time ago?

• abg gagah on Mar 02, 2017 at 12:18 pm

of coz la fail, during the same era when proton started, Kia n Hyundai also just like proton, small company from Asia in Automotive. Look at this two brands now, and where is proton now in the global market.

• panjang on Mar 02, 2017 at 12:37 pm

“IF it goes down,then he will blame us”
    Does our minister have to make such childish comment?
    Dont forget,you are the gomen now.So we should blame everything that happen now to current gomen,previous gomen,or the next gomen?

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 02, 2017 at 12:39 pm

Politicians say the darnest things. Parroting to please his political master. But this instance, I agree with Nazri.

• Good one on Mar 02, 2017 at 12:48 pm

Thumbs up to Nazri, very well said

• Dulu semua jilat bontot mahathir.

• Inkheart on Mar 02, 2017 at 12:55 pm

lol says the gangster of ministers…

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Mar 02, 2017 at 1:01 pm

we can rest assured with the help of the china power proton can become the Universe top player not just planet earth.

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on Mar 02, 2017 at 1:13 pm

The whole BN government projects are white elephant.

• Mesin rumput on Mar 02, 2017 at 1:22 pm

Now i can blame on my ex boss.

• Peter on Mar 02, 2017 at 1:24 pm

This time, the inconvenient truth came out from minister mouth himself. It’d be interesting to see the responses from readers, especially those camouflaged proton staff & supporters.

• william on Mar 02, 2017 at 1:25 pm

the logo design is the first biggest failure … :)

• Hassan on Mar 02, 2017 at 1:39 pm

It is very true today that the failed state of Proton is due to Tun’s failure.
    1. He brought in a crony as the MD of Proton Another TM…Tengku Mahaleel. Once seated on the MD’s chair, TM makes some very blundering changes.
    1. He threw out all the Japanese trained staff and brought in his cronies…example the clown by the name of Tony Chan.
    2. He booted out Mitsubishi who was providing the technical expertise.
    3. He brought in his son to be in charge of new products. Gen 2 was named after his son.
    4. He bypassed all his bosses from DRB, Petronas and Khazanah and sorted approvals direct from his boss Tun who was then the PM.
    5. He built the Tanjung Malim plant even when sales of Proton cars were declining. wasted over 2 billion of proton’s cash.
    6. He lead the development of the hopeless Campro engine whereby it is called the kumlan engine by the Chinese.

So it is very right Proton has became a white elephant today.

Tun…You started Perodua, the second national car. You loved Proton so much but ignoring Perodua as an abandoned child. The child under your extreme care has became a useless elephant. The abandoned child has became so successful. You also pitted your spoilt child to go against your abandoned child. the is really cruel.

• Rooney on Mar 02, 2017 at 2:05 pm

This minister is arrogant, but all his words are true.

A failed, white elephant project.

• david kam on Mar 02, 2017 at 2:59 pm

Finally a mud with a great foresight. Let’s give this a mud a minister position!

• Scene:ICU
    Nurse talking to doctor.
    “Mr proton is gasping for air, blood pressure is crashing, heart beat irregular, doctor what to do now?!”
    “Lets go supper!” Doctor relievedly replied.
    ” finally…”

• Faiz Roslan on Mar 02, 2017 at 3:33 pm

It is very true. The government spent so much money building roads and highways for the beautiful good and quality cars to drive. Not for this dirty garbage junk scrap metal lousy proton cars dirtying the roads and environment. Proton needs to be removed from Malaysia immediately and once and for all.

• Just another NEP personality product complaint about the Mamak when he is no longer relevant. haha.

• I still remember during a townhall meeting, Proton MD (before the Drb era) said that when sales and service dealer rationalisation activity (closing some dealers because too many of them) was going on, some of the people that called him too make noise includes some ministers. They have milked Proton for so long and now saying this. Very unfortunate that Proton has become their punching bag.

• I still remember during a townhall meeting, Proton MD (before the Drb era) said that when sales and service dealer rationalisation activity (closing some dealers because too many of them) was going on, some of the people that called him to make noise includes some ministers. They have milked Proton for so long and now saying this. Very unfortunate that Proton has become their punching bag.

• Mig29ria on Mar 02, 2017 at 5:53 pm

Very true what Nazri said, Proton now is white elephant. Really true today under current government and management. Previously they sold a lot.

• All i see complaint here and there saying gov failure and cannot sustained the loosing business. You really need to wake up !!. Think !!!! how can BMW,VW,Nissan,Toyota and ETC can earn money without gov protection?? Just sell it and move on. Citizen already give up !!

• basherlogic on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:25 pm

For bashers, plotektion only exists only bolehland and only p1 has it

• Rubbish Mann on Mar 02, 2017 at 7:36 pm

Just sell it…if you dont like proton…dont talk rubbish…every step proton does come from your Great great leader that your party select..Shame on your stupidity..

• nazri teksi on Mar 02, 2017 at 8:16 pm

tourism minister talking about cars… ohhh… dont forget election is coming… get big points now want to be finance minister la tu later…jack jgn tak jack…

• Nazri, you may call Proton a white elephant. But do not forget what Proton did to the people, the economy and the nation.

Proton is one of the main contributor in MY heavy industry. Back in 80’s when Mahathir announced dasar pandang ke timur. Proton & Penang Bridge were among 2 most prominent MY achievement during that time. Hmm… Perwaja may be another (sigh).

Yes some people say perhaps Proton was the reason why foreign car prices are higher. But please do not forget that one of reason why Proton was established is to help citizen to own a car at lower price.

Before you with your arrogant attitude bashing Proton, take a look at the contributions towards MY economy.

Tak tau mana nak cari? You may go to BNM website for it.

Don’t blame Proton if MY economy highly rely on service based product. It is because we are moving to k-economy. And GDP contribution from manufacturing is declining since millennium.

Yes I do agree to sell Proton if it can help them grow our economy, but your words are really arrogant and again I question your base of opinion, either to give honest opinion or expecting graft from someone with whatsoever mean.

In my humble opinion, you are conceited, lordly, assuming, proud, swaggering.

#adabkatmana?

• bukapintubayartol on Mar 02, 2017 at 11:46 pm

Proton better pay back the RM1.5bil loan

• Abg nazri ni akal pendek.. tpi idung tinggi n pangkat punye pasai.. bapak pun dia mkn

• Oh what a genius. Tell us something we don’t already know. All of a sudden when the old man quit every new Tom dick harry two bit minister wants to give his “breakthrough” thoughts on Proton. Try saying all this when Mahathir was still pm. In fact, who were you when he was pm?

• GoX18 on Mar 03, 2017 at 12:36 pm

Seriously you bunch of die hard PROTON bashers ever going to believe what politicians say. Politics sucks no matter which end of the bridge you are. Don’t blame PROTON and its eco system, blame the politicians who all have a vested interest one way of another. The moment we get rid of all politicians in PROTON’s eco system, that is when PROTON will fly high again and a strategic partner is what PROTON needs to get rid of all the politicians, the good, the bad, the fakes, the opportunists and the morons like this Minister….

• There are good politicians, bad politicians, smart politicians, corrupted politicians, lucky politicians and moronic politicians which is what Nazri is. Moronic statements only from Morons such as this. Welcome to the Club Nazri!

• Actually Proton would have grown tremendous growth had it not been multi factors within the company. This includes bad management, bad decision making, bad planning, bad sales and bad strategies. You add this to crony businessman and politicians. Plus you add internal jealousy and not utilising foreign executives who were employed in Proton but never used properly the ideas they presented. Goes bad to bad management. Secondly, internal issues where local managers had issues with foreign executives who was employed. They just left in droves. Thirdly manufacturing qualities was not there. Vendor became an issues because of manufacturing cost, economies of scale made components expensive. There are too many people with some not having the right qualifications to meet skills requirements. Too much indecision, and long delays in decision making. Everything to do in Proton was the result of its failure, coupled with politics being involve. Selling off Proton would be a welcome boost to the company. Injection of Foreign ownership would be best. Removing current proton management and middle managers and non-performers will be the best and i would expect a great turnaround under new management. To be honest, the current management have no future thinking strategies for Proton and their middle managers just don’t make the cars to high standards as well as lack of R&D. What is the competitive difference in our cars as compare to the other car makers (Other than the price)?

• The Brand of Malaysia
    DSTM never failed to deliver something for his Rakyat. He always want the best for the Rakyat who later can be proud to have nasional brand. i think nazri don’t have any of them. He drove imports car. He ate only western food. Nowdays, proton’s failed the goverment. Why? Actually nazri fingers point to his present goverment. Toyota, Mitsubishi, etc has their falling years. But, now? Do not blame others when you cannot make it right. With DSTM, Proton is a brand of people. Now, its the brand of Gajah putih? Think before you talk. The statement downgraded you.