2017 Honda City facelift – spec-by-spec comparison

The big debut last week was undoubtedly the facelifted Honda City – the B-segment sedan was given a shot in the arm with a fresh new look and a glut of extra equipment.

Cosmetic revisions include a redesigned front end with reshaped headlights (now with LED daytime running lights across the range, V spec gains LED headlights and fog lights), a new grille and reprofiled air intakes, while the rear receives a sportier bumper design and LED tail lights and a ducktail spoiler for the V variant. There are new two-tone alloy wheels too, measuring 15 and 16 inches (no more steel wheels for the S).

Inside, changes are limited to gunmetal grey trim, white backlighting for the instrument cluster, a new Civic-style engine start button and a new double-DIN 6.8-inch touchscreen infotainment system for the E and V models. These two variants also finally receive a reverse camera, sorely missing on the outgoing model. Meanwhile, the S variant ditches its basic single-DIN radio for an integrated unit with Bluetooth. The mechanicals – 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine, mated to a CVT – remain unchanged.

But the big change is the level of standard equipment on all models, with the S trim in particular receiving plenty of kit (it essentially replaces the old S+ model) for a modest RM2,200 price increase, and the other variants also getting additional equipment at no extra cost. So it’s only fitting that we provide you with a full spec-by-spec breakdown on all models, inclusive of on-the-road pricing (with insurance).

Honda City 1.5 S – RM78,300

Engine and transmission
  • 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated i-VTEC four-cylinder, 120 hp at 6,600 rpm, 145 Nm at 4,600 rpm
  • Earth Dreams CVT
  • 5.7 litres per 100 km combined fuel consumption

Equipment

• Reflector halogen headlights, LED daytime running lights (new)
  • Bulb-type tail lights
  • Shark fin antenna (new)
  • 15-inch two-tone alloy wheels, 175/65R15 tyres (new)
  • Keyless entry, push-button start (new)
  • Auto-retractable power-folding door mirrors (new)
  • Advanced multi-info display (new)
  • Tilt, telescopic steering adjustment
  • Height-adjustable driver’s seat, fabric seat upholstery
  • Integrated radio/CD head unit, Bluetooth connectivity, four speakers (new)
  • Steering wheel audio controls (new)
  • 60:40 split-folding rear seats (new)
  • Reverse sensors

Safety

• Dual front airbags
  • ABS with EBD and brake assist
  • ISOFIX rear child seat anchors
  • Vehicle Stability Control (new)
  • Hill Start Assist (new)
  • Emergency Stop Signal (new)

Honda City 1.5 E – RM84,600

All of the above, plus:
Equipment
  • Chrome door handles
  • Door mirrors with integrated indicators
  • Cruise control (new)
  • Paddle shifters (new)
  • Touch-panel single-zone automatic climate control (new)
  • Rear air-conditioning vents
  • Double-DIN 6.8-inch touchscreen head unit, HDMI port, twin rear power sockets (new)
  • Rear smartphone pockets (new)
  • Front armrest with centre storage, rear armrest with cupholder
  • Reverse camera (new)

Safety

• Four airbags (new, front and side)

Honda City 1.5 V – RM92,000

All of the above, plus:
Equipment
  • LED headlights (new)
  • LED fog lights (new)
  • LED combination tail lights (new)
  • Ducktail spoiler with integrated third brake light (new)
  • 16-inch two-tone alloy wheels, 185/55R16 tyres (new)
  • Leather seat upholstery (new)
  • Leather-wrapped steering wheel and gearknob
  • Soft-touch dashboard pad
  • Eight speakers

Safety

• Six airbags (front, side and curtain)

Browse full specifications and equipment on all Honda City models, and get the best deals on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Honda City 1.5 S

GALLERY: Honda City 1.5 E with Modulo bodykit
GALLERY: Honda City 1.5L V

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• totota on Mar 06, 2017 at 4:11 pm

i wan V spec but dont want the ugly ducktail

• Donald Dedak on Mar 06, 2017 at 6:10 pm

What will happen when our ringgit become 5 to USD? Sure the City will be RM120k by then.

What will Malaysians do then? Minyak also might go to RM4 per litre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • No problem. Even with all the added specs, even the so-called RM problem, even when their competitors cant touch them, Honda still manage to price it the same as pre-facelift.

Can we says the same about other brands greed?

• St john on Mar 06, 2017 at 8:40 pm

Mrt, lrt, rapid, hsr, b10 dll

• Only 3M tape…just take out la

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 06, 2017 at 4:17 pm

Ringgit depreciate so much that top range B segment is now RM 92,000. Syukur Malaysia masih aman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • Donald Dedak on Mar 06, 2017 at 6:07 pm

Don’t blame the rakyat for ringgit depreciating. Blame our Central Bank.

By the way, 1980 Ringgit and Singapore dollar 1 to 1. Every year, Ringgit just went lower and lower.

In 2017 Ringgit to Singapore Dollar is RM3.30. Speaks volumes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
      • As long as the depreciation brings us benefit so its okays. MY project to have 4.5% growth, meanwhile SG is alredi in recession.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • MOFAZ on Mar 07, 2017 at 3:04 pm

Nilai ringgit yang kini merosot ke paras terendahnya sejak tahun 1998, merupakan sesuatu yang tidak boleh dielakkan memandangkan ia dipengaruhi oleh ketidaktentuan ekonomi dunia.

• toyoda on Mar 06, 2017 at 6:12 pm

bodo, the v-spec has been priced for 92k since the launch of the pre-facelift in 2014. Now with the facelift, even more things added yet the price still remains at 92k. The TRD vios that is selling for 96k however, you only get ah beng TRD stickers on the car body, bodykit and wheels.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 3
      • heybuddy on Mar 06, 2017 at 8:43 pm

Vote vote!!
        Thumbs up Persona 60k, Thumbs down City 92k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 32
      • Exactly.
        Bought 3rd Gen City Full Spec in 2009 for my wife and the price was RM92K.
        No VSC,No LED DRL,No Rear View Camera,No Push Start Button, No Leather Seat,No Rear AC outlet,2 Airbags,No Touch Screen, No Cruise control…hiya lazy to type in the rest.
        And you know what in 2009 USD to RM was around 3.40!

• Stranger on Mar 07, 2017 at 7:57 am

Vios also added VSC, new engine & transmission, DVD player, reverse camera, plus aerokit at same price. This shows how two giants are competing on this tough market.But when can we get 7 airbags for Vios???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • vios fan on Mar 08, 2017 at 9:37 am

It’s true Honda did not raise its published price for City but the new City does not has rebate as compared to Year 2016 version getting RM6,000 rebate. That’s another gimmick of raising price.

• Look at ur keli TRD sportivo price. Now thats ur depreciation there.

• Wish to upgrade my 16 year old car on Mar 06, 2017 at 4:21 pm

The entry variant 1.5 S spec is good enough for me without those fancy LED lights from and back.

Mid variant 1.5 E is also cool with auto climate aircond and comes with rear blower for rear passenger. Well done Honda City!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
  • johnny on Mar 06, 2017 at 4:26 pm

that media player is just ridiculous !
    no effort in integrating the plastics around it and obviously the dash is just using the mould as it is. geez.

• Noah Thiruchelvan on Mar 06, 2017 at 4:27 pm

The E spec alone is worth it

• Albert on Mar 06, 2017 at 4:56 pm

Why is Honda Malaysia so successful?
    Competitive pricing,uptodate features,good customer relations,aggressive advertising,good technical after sales service and spare parts…and their good networking with used cars dealers who take in used cars for buyers who upgrade to new HONDAs.
    I can only see the POWER OF DREAMS.
    However,the next competitor besides ailing protong,UMW…busy giving discounts and jom carnivals .Pathetic.
    Toyota is a GLOBAL GAME CHANGER,but sadly here,it is regressing.
    Something needs to be done to stop the rot,Toyota japan..Mr.Akio.
    Either u ditch UMW,or continue to see the sales slide until Mazda/Nissan overtake Toyota.
    But for Honda….congrats….for 2017 BLOCKBUSTER BRV and CITY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Mar 07, 2017 at 2:29 am

It’s Toyota ASEAN not UMW..just look every model in every SEA country under spec n over price.

• Temagi on Mar 06, 2017 at 4:57 pm

Narrow skinny tires 175/65R15

• I believe thats the price to pay to get good fuel consumption . Anyways, you can always upsize your rims and tyres.

• Mikey on Mar 06, 2017 at 8:52 pm

The skinny tires is 4 a good reason ie. less rolling resistance = good mileage.

• tokmoh. on Mar 06, 2017 at 11:26 pm

Saves fuel, comfier and better at absorbing speedbumps, cheaper to replace.

You want 19″, 20″ wheels, go fit in yourself.

• tayar basikal on Mar 07, 2017 at 8:30 am

yalah apa guna kasi tayar 15 inchi tapi kurus macam tayar basikal..

• Abdul Latiff Mahmood on Mar 06, 2017 at 5:06 pm

Rm92k for a small B segment? Something must be wrong with Malaysia. Where is the promise to reduce car prices? 30% is quite a lot. 30% of RM92k is RM28k. It is a lot of money to most Malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Mikey on Mar 06, 2017 at 8:55 pm

Yes, U are right. 28k can buy a basic Axia(M) & have some change.

• passion on Mar 06, 2017 at 5:09 pm

good.more choices for us!

• tokmoh. on Mar 06, 2017 at 5:13 pm

No news when Jazz facelift?

Jazz S should get same kit standard like this City S. Then only it feels complete, perfect car for those who don’t need the boot space.

• Mumran on Mar 06, 2017 at 8:51 pm

Myvi masih di pasaran

• kanasaii on Mar 07, 2017 at 6:45 pm

A huge F*** you to the Myvi, one of earths best scrap cars in the history of the automobile aka ‘Kereta Sampah Rakyat Sedunia Selain Malaysia’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Oh my HM. We can get all this in the Bezza Advance RM50,800 OTR ….. economy so bad, please give us value for money product like P2 la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
  • Donald Dedak on Mar 06, 2017 at 5:21 pm

In 1985, Brand new Toyota Corolla or Nissan 130Y was RM20k in Malaysia. Now Corolla is RM139k. Gone up 7X. Gone up 700%

30 years later, a small B segment Honda City is now RM92k.

But in Japan, from 1985 to 2017, the Corolla has only gone up 40%

Japan price gone up 40%
    Malaysia price gone up 700%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Leafable on Mar 06, 2017 at 5:44 pm

Honda Malaysia give you a message that your life worth nothing because they still sell you 2 air bags vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
    • Putrajayanti on Mar 06, 2017 at 6:09 pm

Less airbags means less replacement cost if airbags recall happens again…

• alldisc on Mar 07, 2017 at 9:13 am

At least Honda still gives you option for 2,4 and 6 airbags depending on spec.

What about Vios, Almera, Mazda2, Fiesta which all only gives you a maximum of 2 airbags no matter the spec and Vios TRD and Mazda2 cost more than City V spec.

How come you didn’t mention about the other car brands???

• superdriver on Mar 07, 2017 at 11:54 am

Agreed all bs brands in Malaysia.

• Awful Vios on Mar 07, 2017 at 2:45 pm

The Vios G spec and TRD variant can’t even offer dual zone aircond (the digital display type). And still stuck with the 4-speed fan and two modes to choose only. Yet more expensive.

• Henry on Mar 06, 2017 at 9:22 pm

single zone or dual zone auto air cond?

• Henry on Mar 06, 2017 at 9:23 pm

single or dual zone ? i believe is single zone auto aircond

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Mar 07, 2017 at 1:15 pm

Yes, you are right, it is a single-zone system. The article has been amended. Thanks for pointing it out!

• Aero (Member) on Mar 07, 2017 at 12:36 am

Good job HMSB for making VSC standard fit on all new City models. Always good to see higher ESC/VSC/VSA adoption in popular car models. The City is HMSB’s best (or second-best ?) selling product. Hope the Jazz facelift will get standardised VSC too.

I wonder how much local content the City now has ? Should be around 70 percent at least ? I wish more car companies would tell us about LC percentage. Some do, but most don’t.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 07, 2017 at 1:18 am

Habis la the Vios no chance to compete until the next gen arrives. In fact most B segment competitors do not stand a chance against the City. Just look at the amount of Cities on the road. It’s almost as common as a Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Ben Yap on Mar 07, 2017 at 11:05 am

The city should have all round disc brakes.

add in navigation for the highest spec too.

• superdriver on Mar 07, 2017 at 11:52 am

RM14k difference from the Base model for better lights and air bags? The car is over priced. The performance is not there, the look is not there, there is nothing offered for the price. The safety is how much you can afford rather than “its the responsibility of the Honda Malaysia to protect their car occupants and family” policy. Every thing offered in equipment are standard in all cars. it looks like diluting the car to make money only …haiz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • Aravin on Apr 21, 2017 at 1:28 am

Hi. I’m planning to buy a import car under RM 100K and i got few choices. Honda City or Mazda 2. I’ll little scary about Mazda’s maintenance. Now I’m using Proton Persona Most probaly i use car for work and i need a fuel save car suggestions.

• rraffiqq on Jul 12, 2018 at 2:29 pm

Hi, did you by any of these two? i am planning to buy either City or Mazda2. Cant really decide

• Rafique on Oct 27, 2017 at 11:05 am

Hi. Just checking with you guys, for the E variant, will the Modulo body kit affect the performance of the car or is it just for the “sporty look”? Thanks

• david on Jul 20, 2018 at 12:36 pm

what is the Honda city 2018 E series gear speed?
    Total how many gear?