GALLERY: 2017 Honda City Hybrid in Malaysia, RM89k

Announced by Honda Malaysia (HM) last week, here’s the new 2017 Honda City Hybrid in the metal. The sedan sister to the Honda Jazz Hybrid will only reach dealerships by mid August – this is a media preview at HM’s Hari Raya open house.

Malaysia is the only market outside of Japan to introduce the Jazz Hybrid, and it’s the same with this City Hybrid, which is called the Grace Hybrid in Japan. The JDM sedan was launched earlier this month. As previously explained, this unique situation is due to our country’s Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) incentives as well as the public’s high market acceptance of hybrid cars.

Honda was a hybrid pioneer when launching the Civic Hybrid here 10 years ago, and the 2011-2013 “golden era” of tax-free CBU hybrids saw the company introduce the Insight, CR-Z, Civic Hybrid and Jazz Hybrid in Malaysia. The latter was also sold as a CKD model in 2012, when it became the first locally assembled hybrid car. By the end of 2013, Honda had 55% share of the local hybrid market, before the tax-free CBU hybrid window closed. With this new hybrid duo, HM is back at it again.

The City Hybrid shares the same hybrid powertrain as the Jazz Hybrid. That means a Sport Hybrid i-DCD system that combines a 1.5 litre engine with idle stop, a seven-speed dual-clutch automatic gearbox with an integrated electric motor, a lithium-ion hybrid battery and an electric driven compressor.

The engine used here isn’t the one found in the regular City facelift, but a unique Atkinson cycle DOHC i-VTEC unit with 110 PS and 134 Nm of torque at 5,000 rpm. Combined with a 30 PS (22 kW)/160 Nm electric motor, the system produces a combined 137 PS and 170 Nm of torque, as per the Jazz Hybrid.

At 1,188 kg, the hybrid is 76 kg heavier than the City V, but the electrified variant has significantly more reserves than the regular 1.5L City’s 120 PS and 145 Nm.

Honda claims that the Sport Hybrid i-DCD (Intelligent Dual-Clutch Drive) system delivers performance equal to that of a conventional 1.8 litre naturally-aspirated engine (the Civic 1.8 makes just 4 PS/4 Nm more), with much lower fuel consumption. The claimed official figures are 4.0 litres per 100 km for the Jazz Hybrid and 3.9 litres per 100 km for the City Hybrid.

For an in-depth look at the Sport Hybrid i-DCD system, and how it differs from Honda’s previous Integrated Motor Assist hybrid system, click here.

The City’s sedan body with a 536-litre boot aside (no reduced capacity for the hybrid, but it has a temporary repair kit in place of a spare tyre), technical differences from the Jazz Hybrid include 16-inch wheels with 185/55R16 tyres (175/65R15 on the Jazz) and a larger turning radius of 5.7 metres (versus 5.6 m).

On the equipment front, the City Hybrid has slightly more kit than the cheaper RM87,500 Jazz Hybrid. The sedan gets a shark fin antenna, chrome door handles, auto folding wing mirrors, rear air con vents, steering paddle shifters and a rear armrest with cupholders. All the above are not offered with the Jazz Hybrid, as are remote trunk release and rear USB ports.

It’s not the range topping City though. At RM89,200 on-the-road without insurance, the City Hybrid is priced and specced between the RM82,030 mid-spec E and the RM89,240 top-spec V. This is the same positioning HM used for the Jazz facelift range.

As the one below the range topper, the City Hybrid lacks the City V’s LED headlamps and foglamps, leather seats/steering/gear knob and curtain airbags (leaving four bags, dual front and side). Of course, it does get some unique-to-hybrid items such as a special instrument panel display and a hybrid-specific stubby gear lever.

You can tell a City Hybrid from a City E by the hybrid’s 16-inch rims (like the V), LED tail lamps (like the V) and Hybrid badges on the boot and sides. There are no fog lamps here, though (the V comes with LED fog lamps).

Colour options are Lunar Silver Metallic, Modern Steel Metallic and White Orchid Pearl (unique to the City Hybrid; RM120 option). The City Hybrid comes with a five-year unlimited mileage warranty with 10,000 km service intervals, as per the regular City. As with HM’s other hybrids, there’s an additional eight-year warranty for the lithium-ion hybrid battery.

The City and Jazz Hybrids are CKD locally-assembled in Melaka. Production of the City Hybrid has already started and it will be available at selected dealerships for test drives from mid August. The Jazz Hybrid is already available for viewing at selected showrooms. Click on the charts above for the list of showrooms with hybrid test units.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ahmad on Jul 24, 2017 at 1:18 pm

1 model to go…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 106
      • Operation Manager on Jul 24, 2017 at 5:11 pm

All Hybrid after EEV Tax Duty break price dropped by 30% minimum. CITY HYBRID –> the only car in Msia with price *Increase after EEV/TAX/DUTY break. So its well known what this mean …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
        • Hamdan on Jul 24, 2017 at 5:36 pm

DRB untung lebeyy, boleyy bayar hutang P1.

• harga EEV Tibu on Jul 24, 2017 at 7:03 pm

How come EEV still close to the most expensive price tag one?

• Do u know that hybrid is the most expensive model generally in other countries? Just go on Honda’s website on us to look at the price list.. Don’t speak without researching about it first man.. Disgrace… It’s a tad higher than the normal gasoline model overseas, hence after reduction its priced the same, means there’s already a reduction there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
        • Lawson on Aug 07, 2017 at 7:20 pm

Prius C selling in USA for almost USD20,000. This is about RM86,000. So Honda Jazz hybrid or Honda City hybrid at below RM90,000 is a good buy. I half guessed that the EEV incentive passed down to buyer’s for these two hybrids is about RM5000 to RM10,000 each.

• Periasamy on Jul 24, 2017 at 5:23 pm

another caveman statement

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
      • Cheapest car price in the world? You’re talking garbage. It shows how ignorant you are.

• i totally disagree with your point.
        Malaysia car is super expensive. If you compare to indonesia and thailand or even china.
        If u want to compare the price with singapore then, Malaysia living standard should be achieve like singapore .
        i hope you understand my point. This hybrid is cheaper but it can be more cheaper.

• Periasamy on Jul 24, 2017 at 4:01 pm

This car got no spare tyre. When you are driving at 3am near some rubber estate or kelapa sawit estate and your car breakdown, you will cry so much like a newborn baby.

You better hope the ular tedung from the estate does not come to help you.

Some questions need to be asked

How come Malaysian Government allow a car company to sell a car without a spare tyre? Tyre repair kit can repair a burst tyre? Your tyre shattered into pieces…..how to repair?

Isn’t this very dangerous for other road users? Cause a car abandoned by the side of the road due to the fact unable to change tyres for long periods of time can be very dangerous?

Hello MAI? Buat apa? Masih tidur lagi?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 374 Thumb down 61
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 201 Thumb down 324
        • Periasamy on Jul 24, 2017 at 5:21 pm

This is the same guy who just said above we have the cheapest cars in the world

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 197 Thumb down 15
        • Iskandar on Jul 24, 2017 at 6:37 pm

maybe to call your many wives

• BMW owner on Jul 25, 2017 at 2:22 pm

looks like you havent been reading / owned a RFT cars.

If you dont have space for spare tyre don’t u think they wouldnt have thought how to overcome it ?
        So ur telling the BMW i own also a useless model ?
        Time to start something…
        The link below is a head start for you ..
        https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Run-flat_tire

• Madani on Jul 24, 2017 at 1:22 pm

Good job Honda Malaysia! Another EEV achievement. Moving forward, transitioning to greener alternatives will be a key part of Malaysia’s effort to reduce air pollution and carbon footprint.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
  • Welcome to 2005 on Jul 24, 2017 at 1:33 pm

Finally putting a DOHC engine into the City. It’s about time.

Welcome to 2005, Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
  • Periasamy on Jul 24, 2017 at 1:35 pm

Price to high at RM90k. Kena tipu from Honda/DRB aka gomen GLC.

Gomen gives big time Hybrid/ EV tax breaks for Hybrids. That is why the Mercedes S400 Hybrid, from RM880k can be sold for RM580k.

The 740le from RM880k can be sold for RM550k

The X5 40e from RM600k can be sold for RM388k

This Honda City, from RM80k before, instead of going down because of tax breaks because of Hybrid EV incentive, it goes up by RM10k

The rich get richer. The poor, have to spend more to subsidise the rich

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 39
    • WT Fuchhh on Jul 24, 2017 at 4:30 pm

RM90k! No Honda Sensing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • Periasamy on Jul 24, 2017 at 5:18 pm

That also not OTR, belum include insurance. Once you campur insurance, it is close to RM100k.

Amazing small tiny B segment car now close to RM100k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
    • cvt sucks on Jul 24, 2017 at 8:33 pm

hyundai ioniq is a better buy.. now only honda admitted the cvt sucks big time.. the ioniq already give the 7speed dct right from beginning… at 90k jazz the ioniq is only 10k more but with better built quality and technology giving the prius a good run for its money

• Bodo ke apa, go see pricing in Japan first before u talk lah weih. Those luxury car have a huge reduction because it was priced at a high profit margin to begin with. Hence u see a massive reduction. City is a cheap car to begin with. With tax reduction they are able to make hybrid the same price as gasoline now. Overseas market its different. Hybrid cost a tad more than gasoline model. We have it at the same price. Do u even know what it means?
      U wanna show your stupidity please go somewhere else.. Don’t make us Malaysian look stupid because of your comment. Disgrace

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
    • If Honda sells this city hybrid at 65k, first proton will die (persona, Preve). Second, perodua will die (myvi 1.5, alza). Third Honda is shooting at its legs.. Because other city models will not sell.

• thepolygonal on Jul 24, 2017 at 1:47 pm

Toyota your move?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • Been There Done That on Jul 24, 2017 at 3:39 pm

Toyota dy have a hybrid here wayyyyy much earlier. It’s called Camry …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • karam singh on Jul 25, 2017 at 10:33 am

Toyota launched the Prius 1.8 at 130k some 7 yrs ago. And the full imported Prius C at 99k 5 yrs back. Perhaps u were still in kindergarten. Need to be clever boy.

• Burong on Jul 24, 2017 at 1:51 pm

Looks tempting. Would some one experience on Honda Hybrid to enlighten me if it is a reliable buy?

Also quite curious, does Jazz body is more heavy than City body? Why is it more fuel consuming, where both are using same power line.

• My CRZ is just a beautiful car with a low engine hum till today. Having it for nearly 5 years. I don’t know if its the same with the jazz though.

• Sama L00 on Jul 24, 2017 at 1:54 pm

You won’t go wrong with sushi cars, everyone knows it.

• Few years later, RV will be less than cheaper Espec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • Ben Yap on Jul 24, 2017 at 1:59 pm

what’s the 0-100? how about top speed?

does it perform as fast as the civic 1.8?

• karam singh on Jul 25, 2017 at 10:35 am

The name is Honda city boy. Not Honda Highway. Or Honda Drag Racing. Don’t be so stupid.

• YB Albert on Jul 24, 2017 at 2:02 pm

One in 5 new cars in Bolehland is a Honda.Just take a pebble ….if thrown on the road where new cars are driven,it will have a 20 percent chance of hitting a Honda.
    At the rate Honda Malaysia is moving,UMW is playing catch up….supposedly to launch 4 new models….where r they? UMW moving at kura kura speed,whereas Honda Malaysia moving like Usain Bolt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • iamrt on Jul 24, 2017 at 4:33 pm

Just take a pebble ….much lesser chance hitting a P1.

• john is otak batu on Jul 25, 2017 at 10:39 am

Yeah. Yeah. Only in malaysia. Toyota remains number 1 in the world, Honda is nowhere in sight

• arowana on Jul 24, 2017 at 2:23 pm

interesting that Honda Malaysia keep bringing some models which Malaysia is the only country outside of Japan for sale, like this & the previous Civic Type R FD2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Bashers says ini salah world leaders cuz Hondasan din bring into their countries…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • Add 10k you get Ioniq, one class above with more of everything. But despite this, Honda will still sell more of these than Ioniq in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • iskandar on Jul 24, 2017 at 3:04 pm

danny, no spare tyre?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 24, 2017 at 3:29 pm

Yes, no spare tyre on the Hybrid, just a tyre repair kit. The hybrid battery is under the boot floor.

• There r some new buttons on steering (Pic 39). What r those for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 24, 2017 at 4:54 pm

The buttons on the bottom right control the instrument cluster displays – unique to the hybrid.

• Oh. But it still has the black stalk sticking out from meter panel. So means have separate controls for Left & Right cluster panels?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Jul 25, 2017 at 12:23 am

No, there’s a tyre repair kit instead

• AlexTan on Jul 24, 2017 at 3:36 pm

Is there a law in Malaysia that requires all cars to be equipped with spare tyre?

• Beemers have gip repair kits for their run flat tyres for years, but nobody complains.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 29
    • Actually run flat tyre with repair kits is much safer then normal spare tyre. You know that you can drive your car on run flat tyre empty without changing them until you reach the nearst tyre shop or finding a save place to repair it?

• Honda Fan on Jul 24, 2017 at 4:04 pm

Yes, Honda Malaysia takes away the curtain airbags for this City hybrid and Jazz hybrid. That is totally nonsense, as if buyers who buy hybrid cars from Honda Malaysia, deserves less safety features. All of the other hybrid cars from all other brands currently, have the highest spec and highest safety features, and now only Honda Malaysia cut down on safety features and also with lower overall spec.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 3
  • Hi Honda, please provide leather steering wheel for this City Hybrid as well. That is the place we touch our car most of the time. The bold plastic steering wheel given does not provide good hand grip on it and can be slippery for those with a lot of palm-sweating. This is essential feature for safe handling of the vehicle. Given it involves air bag i would not risk wrapping it with aftermarket leather outside.

• Airbag is at center of steering wheel. Wrapping the outside handle wun create any problems.

• Steve Kok on Jul 24, 2017 at 8:07 pm

The 7 Speed dual clutch..
    Dunno can tahan the Malaysia weather or not?
    I had bad experience with Ford Fiesta’s DCT.
    Morning and night drive is OK.
    But afternoon drive, it shudder and jerks.

• Been following honda for awhile.
      They should’ve brought in the hybrid since 2014, but their latest engine got some issues back in Japan, so they decided not to until problems are resolved.

also some video on what they did to ensure DCT will be ok throughout their stay here.
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kaAcy4bK4yo

• Any sensible person will not buy a car which does not have a spare tyre. worse still retards in gomen agency actually approved a car to be sold without spare tyre…makin lama makin bodoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • ayoyo on Aug 04, 2017 at 3:39 pm

how many driver in this chat room ever change spare tyres on his own car? 5% or 10%?

• bringbackmanual on Jul 24, 2017 at 9:13 pm

no honda airbags pls

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 24, 2017 at 9:19 pm

not worth it.

• Levin on Jul 25, 2017 at 2:08 am

Stop crying over spare tires, for heaven sake. If your car breaks down in the middle of no where, it might not necessarily due to a flat tire. There are many possibilities that a car can breakdown. If at all you had a flat tyre in a dark/isolated/quiet area, I bet most drivers wont be brave enough to change the spare tyre in that situation by themselves. Most will rather call for help (family/friend/towtruck) for rescue. Also, its best to walk around your car and check all 4 tires before driving off. Flat tire doesnt mean you can’t drive your car at all, just drive it slowly and park in a safe area.

• Isuzuki on Jul 25, 2017 at 5:28 am

Can the be driven if the hybrid motor, or the battery at the boot is faulty?

• alldisc on Jul 25, 2017 at 3:50 pm

Like Toyota Prius designed in 1997, all hybrids can still be driven even if motor is faulty. Or traction battery problem. But since it relies only on petrol engine, u don’t get to save fuel anymore.

• John L. on Jul 25, 2017 at 9:18 am

In order to get a fair market price, the nap must be changed. In order to do that, we must change something (u know what it is). New admin, new policy

• But other side admin is same same as those who created nap. So still want them back in their old jobs?

• I saw some comment on no spare tyre, and what’s the point for repair kit when there’s no spare to change, jz curious honda not including the tyre sealant and air compressor with the temporary repair kit? If included it should be able to save u temporary and drive it to workshop to chg tyre. Unless whole tyre pecah.

• It’s included la, the sealant and compressor.
      I think the organizers took out the items during the display

• EV Better on Jul 26, 2017 at 3:55 pm

While many around the world is waiting in anticipation for an affordable electric vehicle, we still get excited with a hybrid. sigh.

I’m not talking about Tesla Model 3, even Hyundai Ioniq EV already available, here in M’sia also don’t have.

• Fahad ameen on Aug 05, 2017 at 11:11 pm

All Hybrid after EEV Tax Duty break price dropped by 30% minimum. CITY HYBRID –> the only car in Msia with price *Increase after EEV/TAX/DUTY break. So its well known what this mean …

• yarid on Aug 29, 2017 at 8:39 am

no spare tyre????

• Lawson on Aug 30, 2017 at 9:31 pm

Yes. No spare tire. Air compressor + special sealant in a alumininum canister. Looks like you have to screw the canister onto the air compressor and power it up and using the air as sealant delivery into deflated tire. Therefore proceed to install tire pressure monitoring system preset for alarming at 1.7barg. Got reading of 2.1barg for all tires. Maybe later I should buy a space saver tire and somehow tie it down in the boot. Crawled below the car but could not find the “enhancement bar” depicted in blue color in the sales brochure. Anyone can comment on this?@#%×£€. Pick up for 0 to 100km/hr in econ mode is better than the normal City not in econ mode. So this is a big plus. Milage is at 22 to 23kl/litre for 25% city type traffic and 75% B road type of driving. Already done 130km. 4 months ago managed to obtained 24km/litre when driving a normal City for 25km distance, but at 70 to 80km/hr, with zero braking. My work mate having the older gen jazz hybrid says new City hybrid is a better deal than his. Anyone knows the price of City Hybrid in Langkawi?.

• Kelmond on Sep 18, 2017 at 2:05 pm

I would like to inquire, honda salesman told me the hybrid version for jazz or city.. gearbox no warranty is it true?

• Julian Lord on Oct 11, 2018 at 1:19 pm

City hybrid is a mid level car that should be a lot better value than the 3rd national car if it is an EV.
    Tun M has cursed Malaysia with car import barriers for a long time, and barriers may be raised for the 3rd car.