Honda Insight facelift arrives – 1.3L variant, RM99,800

Honda Malaysia has introduced the facelifted Insight hybrid, in its 1.3 litre form. Aside from some external revisions, the facelift – which made its debut in Frankfurt last year – promises to deliver better fuel economy along with a string of other refinements.

Kicking things off are new front and rear bumpers, and the headlights now wear a tint of blue highlight. Additionally, the new grille design features a blue reflector underneath. The tailgate spoiler has also been slimmed, and together with a modified tail gate garnish and a reduction in the size of the wiper motor unit, results in overall increased rear visibility.

Appearance aside, the aerodynamics of the car have also been improved, reducing the running resistance and thus resulting in better fuel economy. The 1.3 litre IMA system – with 88 PS and 121 Nm from the engine and 14 PS and 78 Nm from the motor – gets some powertrain efficiency improvements.

Revisions to the CVT and mill, the latter in the form of reduced engine friction, as well as alterations to the air conditioning system, all do their bit to contribute to lower fuel consumption.

The Insight also features a quieter ride, with the inclusion of added noise insulation materials for better NVH (noise, vibration and harshness) performance. Meanwhile, the seats are now upholstered with a new fabric, and rear passengers now enjoy an extra head clearance of 15mm, following adjustments to the shape of the roof lining and the hip point of the rear seats.

Still on dual airbags, but there’s Hill Start Assist (HSA) and VSA on this one, and the wave key has been changed to a more compact jack-knife version. Four exterior colours abound, and these are Platinum Aqua Metallic, Premium White Pearl, Crystal Black Pearl and Alabaster Silver Metallic.

The facelifted Insight goes for RM99,800 (on-the-road), and comes with a five-year or 140,000 km warranty on the IMA battery. The best part is that you don’t have to wait long for one, if you’ve been eyeing it – fully aware of the current demand of the new Insight, Honda Malaysia says the waiting period for an Insight is now less than two weeks. No indication as to when the 1.5 litre job will arrive.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Highwaystar82 on Feb 29, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Look same oni..

• kimi_ on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:04 pm

Who still want to buy this PIECE OF SHIT now ?????

with prius c and comin jazz hybrid….

• Insightowner on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:34 pm

Elsewhere the Prius.

Here, this piece of shit has been responsible changing the industry. If Honda follows UMW strategy to suck Malaysian and get higher profit margin from their Prius last year, tax or no tax, we will all doomed with high price cars.

Since the Insight (initially priced @ 98K) taking advantage of the tax exemption, offer better value for the money, well kitted, it sells very well. Now we’re seeing both player getting their price cut for their recent model. Prius C for example, from tentative 104K to 97K retail price. They get to know we deserves better specced cars at reasonable price. Soon Jazz will be even cheaper and going to break Vios/City/Forte/Inspira/ Fiesta/Elantra/Cruze/308 market. Price war is on. Higher volume manfacturer e.g Toyota with their Vios will have to give up and reduce price or give us better equipped cars.

Coupled with stringent rules by BNM, the industry is changing. Now left the government to reduce their overall tax on cars.

Thanks to Insight. U will have your followers….

• beruk33 on Mar 01, 2012 at 1:56 am

how can jazz going to break market for the mentioned models? some of them are not even in the same category. ??

• PetroLeg on Mar 01, 2012 at 2:13 pm

well category or not category? what is category now? what is important is the bang for your buck paid and what your wallet is comfortable? and here we are talking about high household debt. majority of the household debt comes from where? go figure. We need new cars with lower prices to set the bar down and to show that we are suffering and that where the real affordability is.

• beruk33 on Mar 03, 2012 at 4:23 am

well that guy said going to break market of so many models. somebody would consider buying elantra or cruze and then compare with jazz hybrid?? might as well add m5 or z4 into the list. but agreed with you about comfortable with what you paying. we already have cars with lower prices. try myvi, still the best selling car since 2006 or saga.

• Andrew on Mar 01, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Yea, u all shud be thankful to Honda. Becos of Honda’s hybrid competitive pricing, others wont be following..

• OMG….1 prius C for me pls….

• Yeah, really can’t stand the look of this car especially the rear..

• Honda Power on Feb 29, 2012 at 9:18 pm

No, it looks nicer now.

• Lim Kopi on Mar 01, 2012 at 2:01 am

I don’t understand , new facelift aside, this 1.3L almost the same price as the current 1.5L …

So whats the point of this one since its not any cheaper n just newer?

• HM should put noise insulation on all models huhu

• At the 1st glance, I don’t see the changes. Look twice, also don’t see…

• hope they will bring in the 1.5 version as well.

• Fong Sai Yuk on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:50 pm

hope honda will learn from toyota to make fully hybrid car.honda can…

• Prius engine is Full hybrid but Honda insight not full hybrid one….

• for me there is no such thing as full or not full hybrid….as long there is 2 diff system that help to run engine n reduce GHG regardless its function i consider it hybrid..

• Qulubun on Mar 01, 2012 at 9:15 am

Prius fool hybrid. Only those fool enough will spent 139K for lousy hybrid with cheap finishing. with that money better buy accord, camry, teana, optima or sonata.

So much money but can’t afford fuel expenses mehh?

• Sure, can afford, money not the issue. Hybrid customers are only trying to reduce gas emission for you and your kids. If you got money you should be thinking about air pollution too.

• Qulubun on Mar 02, 2012 at 11:22 am

If u really want to reduce emission, just go for Insight, Prius C or Jazz. Cheaper. Summore accord, camry, teana, optima or sonata using modern engine, co2 emission not that much different compared to lousy built prius.

The Prius didnt even have proper alloys. Everywhere i saw the Prius, indeed the drivers looks foolish n long faced person…. been conned 139K by UMW…

• Director on Mar 02, 2012 at 7:42 pm

If really got money of course CT200h rite?

• Conned? I love my Prius. It’s equivalent to 2.4L car with a cheaper price and half petrol consumption. Like I said, money not an issue for me. If it is out of your budget just say so, and of course this car is not for you.

What car you drive and what’s your fuel consumption?

• Suzuki on Jan 21, 2014 at 10:20 pm

Conned ?

Are you being jealous that Prius is the top-selling hybrid/electric cars in the world ?

You mean those Japanese that driving Prius are being conned ?

At least they have better brain than you.

• Same old 1.3?

• jolly_idiot on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Got difference?

• Diesel monster on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:13 pm

more hybrid car…. Lynas come to Malaysia…
    Stop Lynas, save MALAYSIA

• Masked Ryder on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:58 pm

Never went to school ah ? the radioactive ingredient are Thorium which use for TV & Nuclear Power, Hybrid car use Neodymium & Dysprosium.

Why currently the blog full of “idiot”, then don’t use Computer, LCD TV, Smartphone infact don’t comment here as you are using gadget made out of rare earth metal, Stew Pit.

• Tan Chong Cheng on Feb 29, 2012 at 6:23 pm

that his research not he never went to school…be respect to people.

• RadzLee on Feb 29, 2012 at 10:51 pm

I think they taught us pendidikan moral / islam at school… yet we still hv this kind of ppl… maners also taught in schools u know

• Anything that are dig inside earth crust has radioactive when brought out to surface eg through mining and oil exploration..industrial waste oso produce radioactive n even the soil u step everyday release radioactive material…..one thing people forget magnet that we encounter everyday has material from rare earth ‘nadir bumi’

• there are people who really butthurt about lynas……….. but never care of the other environmental issues, why arr very selective?

• confused on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:19 pm

Looks like upcoming Civic “facelift”..

• xiper on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:23 pm

hmm remain with only 2 airbags?

• Insight is much more better than Prius-C, Prius-C is PIECE OF SHIT.

• Fong Sai Yuk on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:54 pm

helo fren..better watch what u taught b4 hybrid become handbrake…u know what i mean

• James on Mar 01, 2012 at 12:10 am

Alex.. dont comment la.. i bet you havent even test drove the prius c to make such a comment to call it a piece of shit! go test drive the vehicle first before commenting

• Leonard Loo on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:31 pm

still better than twilight

• seancorr on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:31 pm

This car needs more air bags and bluetooth hands free to compete the other hybrids.

• Y is that possible that a PriusC is only 97k and with a 1.5 litre engine.
    U r charging us 100k for a 1.3litre !!!!!!

• Tan Chong on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:57 pm

because hybrid=got money a lot

• Wisdom on Feb 29, 2012 at 7:55 pm

How many time have to tell lah…

Prius C engine even though 1.5, it runs atkinson cycle. Very low output. 72hp. Your old Saga Magma engine 1.5 produce 90hp.

Insight 1.3 runs normal cycle (otto) hence higher output 98hp.

Hybrid cars have to consider the electric motor output too..

• Insight not full hybrid like Prius arr stupid…still use a lot of petrol

• Takir on Mar 01, 2012 at 8:42 am

Yep Prius fool hybrid. Who buy really fool. Expensive battery, expensive maintenance, skinny tyres, and the car itself shockingly expensive at 140K! Oversea they sell below 100K only.

Correct. Fool hybrid.

• That is so wrong. Insight’s 98hp is combined petrol engine + motor. Comparing the same combined output, Prius C’s power is 101hp.

• Insightowner on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:35 pm

I thought the front grill equipped with DRL. Its just reflectors?

• Stanley on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:38 pm

Can see the front and real bodykits and fog lamp cover, looks sporty if added Mugen spoiler.

It’s expensive compare to Prius C but depends customer preference. In terms of design especially interior I think Honda more advance but teknology Prius C more advantage.

• ya lor…toyota already use Dual VVTi & Valvematic engine now, honda still using his old iVtec until now hahaaha

• apexg2 on Mar 01, 2012 at 10:25 am

Dun compare to Prius C la bro……Prius C is like compact car, similar to Myvi size la…this one is lot bigger…..think b4 comment la…u think HM so stupid ka dun do research….think twice la….

• Do some research first lah.

Prius C:
        – Passenger space: 87.4 cubic feet
        – Cargo space: 17.1 cubic feet

Honda Insight:
        – Passenger space: 85 cubic feet
        – Cargo space: 15.9 cubic feet

• Honda on Mar 02, 2012 at 11:03 am

Toyota claim figure rite. Last time toyota claim Prius 38km/l but real figure 22km/l.
          See the actual boot please:

Prius C
          http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-jN8llCKVc0I/T0PAlh2F1iI/AAAAAAAAFV8/92KyBFj4Ru0/s640/Toyota+Prius+C+Boot.JPG

Insight
          http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSg68WDWynAEiJHy8KQLI8G5TJhn9R_TrPclw7ffJ_AmrM61qyPfA

And u telling us the Prius C have a larger boot. Haha….

• No need to argue w this MF. Obviously he is a Toyota salesman. Keep defending his shit Prius. Your Prius same as 2.4. ? In your wet dreams la. Even a civic 2.0 will tapau your sorry ass Prius. What more 2.4 car. MF stands = mother farcker.

• calvin_ng on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:40 pm

well the 1.5 has smaller horse power and 1.3 haws higher horsepower also roadtax is cheaper….

although 1.5 and battery assisted one should know when the battery run out of juice the engine is the only thing running this car….

• Wow ! Waiting period of only 2 *weeks* ?!

Where do I sign up ? NOT !

Are you joking me ? For the asking price, it has only 2 airbags and no integrated audio-nav sys ? No cruise control ? Still using key ignition system ?

Let’s not forget that it’s not FULL hybrid and an engine capacity of only 1.3L.

All these and it still cost MORE than Prius C ?

What a joke Honda Malaysia !

• Green on Feb 29, 2012 at 8:06 pm

Please compare the actual cars (Insight and Prius C) and tell me Prius C more expensive to build compared to Insight. The plastics in Prius C is so nasty, people compare it with Myvi.

• seancorr on Feb 29, 2012 at 8:50 pm

Bro it does have cruise control…check out the Honda website to see the full spec list

• Carl Wong on Feb 29, 2012 at 9:09 pm

Cruise control is included like the first version, I checked the website. Navigation is optional with an additional cost of RM1400. More airbags don’t always mean it’s safer, Insight is bigger with more area of crumple zone for emergency crashes. Fuel efficiency is more or less similar even though the two systems are different compared to Prius C. For me Insight is in a class of its own, especially the interior.

• James on Mar 01, 2012 at 12:11 am

insight is a copy of Prius shape

• Carl Wong on Mar 01, 2012 at 12:42 am

Prius look like Insight, not the other way round. The first Prius came out in 1997 but it was a Sedan. The first Insight since 1999 was already using a hatchback shape even though it only had 2 doors. Prius only had the hatchback shape for the 2nd generation in 2003 which ‘copied’ Insight.

• beruk33 on Mar 01, 2012 at 2:16 am

Fuel consumption is definitely not “more or less similar”.

Insight 1.3 has a fuel economy of 27.2 km/litre (JC08 test cycle, maximum 80 km/h) and 31.0 km/litre (10-15 test cycle, maximum speed 70 km/h).

Prius C has a fuel economy of 35 km/litre (JC08 test cycle, maximum 80 km/h) and 40 km/litre (10-15 test cycle, maximum speed 70 km/h).

• Carl Wong on Mar 01, 2012 at 10:56 pm

I mean real world conditions, we’ll have to wait and see.

• Carl Wong on Mar 01, 2012 at 11:11 pm

I think the 2 systems have their own advantages, for more highway driving, Insight should be better. For city driving with more start/stop cycles, Prius C is better. Prius C is shorter and lighter. And hopefully I can get to drive one some time…

• beruk33 on Mar 03, 2012 at 4:27 am

yeah hopefully some brothers who are actually driving the cars can provide the figures. it will help us to decide.

• Abuya on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:50 pm

Why comparing with prius c aka myvi hybrid? Small like coffin, overprice. If battery malfunction, prius is useless. This is ultimate shit by toyota technology. Honda tech is better.

Dont comparing 1.3 and 1.5 la you fool. 1.5 with atkinson cycle is bullshit compare 1.3 otto cycle. No brain !

• Jimmy Choo on Feb 29, 2012 at 6:34 pm

thanks to our engineer for his brilliant..talk like rubbish but do nothing..

• but Insight not full hybrid bodoh…no point to buy hybrid car if its not a full hybrid engine. Honda tech is out dated already….still using iVTECH some more ahahaha Toyota already use DUAL VVTi and Valvematic engine arr come on…honda sales also ciput puiiii !!!

• aqasa on Mar 01, 2012 at 9:11 am

Suka2 kata orang bodoh?

Full hybrid konon tapi mileage lebih kurang sama je. Toyota memang terer tipu orang.

Actual FC utk dua2 kereta dah terbukti tak jauh beza:
        http://www1.eere.energy.gov/vehiclesandfuels/facts/m/2011_fotw696.html
        49.1mpg vs 48.6mpg (20.9 vs 20.7 km/l).
        Ko tanya la owner prius. Boleh dapat ke 38km/l mcm dalam iklan. Sori la brader. Sudah kena tipu dengan toyota. Dah la awal2 kena tipu harga mahal.

Dual vvti & valvematic tu ada pakai kat prius ke? Honda dah ada teknologi pneumatic valve dr 2008 la (guna air pressure). Apa standard valvematic, setakat combine lift & timing je. Honda dah main lift dr 90an la….

Huhu.. toyota masuk f1 pun bungkus. Mclaren HONDA dr tahun 80an dah champion f1. porah cit…

• James on Mar 01, 2012 at 12:14 am

do you know the reason for atkinson cycle engine? you think toyota engineers invest in r&d to put lousy engine with no purpose? its for freaking fuel efficiency for god’s sake.. u want power go buy civic type r la..

• OilChange on Mar 01, 2012 at 10:49 pm

i know rowan atkinson…. he drives yellow mini cooper…. veri fast one. go inside corner, can fly !

• Kenny on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:54 pm

If u look carefully, y’all can see the bumper has curved shape. That’s the very “Obvious” changes I could find.

• vtec200k on Feb 29, 2012 at 6:09 pm

insight 1.3L, total output and torque, 102PS and 199Nm
    while prius c 1.5L, total output 101PS, but total torque?????

• Kiding on Feb 29, 2012 at 7:10 pm

Prius C Engine Torque 111Nm (Max)
      Motor Torque169NM (Max)
      So total torque (max) is around or greater than 225Nm

• Honda on Feb 29, 2012 at 8:43 pm

Insight parallel hybrid, motor & engine in line with the crankshaft. So can consider to add up the torque.

Prius C & Prius is serial hybrid. Motor run itself, engine run itself. Power combine by planetary gearset. More power lost (bigger motor, bigger battery, but comparable FC with Honda IMA). MG2 (motor generator 2) which drive the car torque output varies much when MG1 need more electric to the battery while engine torque consider insignificant for atkinson cycle engine. In US, the torque for Prius C varies from low 120NM to 160NM.

• Dear HONDA sales agent,

There is NO WAY FC is comparable. Dun try to con anyone la…
          Real world FC is so bad, now kena SUE by consumer. Doesnt even reach advertised 40MPG AT ALL. Most of the driver here only getting 15~18KM/L. You be lucky to get 18KM/L. Even stopping the aircon while in traffic light also FC not even close.

Also why talk about torque??? It suppose to green car and IMA is totally useless in KL road where is a lot of stop and go. If anyone wanna get green car for KL drive just get full hybrid Prius C or wait for Jazz Hybrid at rumor RM85K… Dun bother about this Inisght as it is overprice and lousy IMA.

• Honda on Mar 01, 2012 at 9:36 am

Not i’m saying its comparable, but from the data itself, input from owner of Prius & Insight. This is the example;
            (http://www.fuelly.com/car/toyota/prius/2011)(http://www.fuelly.com/car/honda/insight/2011)
            Change the unit to km/l for easy comprehension.
            Prius C actual test drive record only 20 to 21km/l. Do your google. Bear in mind, dont just read those information ‘claim by toyota’, but look for actual comment from owners.

By the way, u contradict yourself regarding the Jazz. It uses the same engine & hybrid component on Insight, only its less aerodynamic & slightly taller. We still get comparable FC for town driving though.

• I saying from experience. I driven Insight and Prius in KL.
            Not from data as you point out. You clearly doesnt know much but base on data only. In KL road you CANT get 40mpg for Inisght. Mostly engine is ON during KL jams or during slow drive whereas Prius engine is TOTALLY OFF. Thats why I’m advising ANYONE want to buy hybrid in KL env get Toyota HSD.

As for Jazz, the different is almost RM15K compare to Insight and RM12K compare to Prius C. It is no brainer for that price that even ppl we wanna choose City or Vios may look Jazz (not even trying to weight IMA or hybrid part). I’m trying to fair here. Not just bashing. It is practical analysis but if anyone prefer to LOOKS of Insight then there is nothing I can say.

• Prius torque is not compared in this way. It employs Gear Reduction which allows the torque to be much lower. For example: The 2nd generation Prius has motor torque of 400Nm(!!). But the 3rd generation was completely redesigned with more powerful motor even though technically the torque is only 169Nm. But when combined the total torque is amplified to 546Nm.

• Halin on Mar 02, 2012 at 11:08 am

Wauuu

546NM! Are u talking sportscar?
          Best joke. Thanks…

• Wisdom on Mar 05, 2012 at 10:06 am

Evo X torque is only 4xx nm. With that, the century sprint only around 5 seconds.

Prius torque 546 nm?

Something is wrong. How many bottles u take last night?

• Come on, MF did have a good point on this. I have verified on Wikipedia, the 2004-2009 Prius does carry a powerful electric motor, which is stated as:
            Electric: 500 V
            50 kW (67 hp) @ 1200 rpm
            400 N·m (295 lb·ft) @ 0 rpm

If the 2010 model is totally redesigned with more powerful electric motor, it is reasonable to assume it would be 500+Nm?

Can someone knowledgeable about this matter confirm this?

• vtec200k on Feb 29, 2012 at 6:14 pm

INSIGHT 1.3L, total output and torque, 102PS and 199Nm
    while PRIUS C 1.5L, total output 101PS, but total torque?????

*i cant find it in toyota homepage . . . and toyota specs a bit confusing, it says about motor and battery output, actually the limiting factor is battery output and its much lower compare to motor output . . . so the total output only the engine and battery, but they didn’t state how much torque the battery able to produce . . .

• The latest Prius (starting from Gen 3 onwards) employs gear reduction which means the torque is lower but the motor will spin faster therefore the effective torque at the wheel will be higher.

• tikus on Feb 29, 2012 at 6:23 pm

No bring in 1.5L??? What happen Honda Malaysia….??? Chicken out with Toyota? Or too many stock need to clear? Two week? No sales ah?

• thanks abuya
    for bring the fact “1.5 with atkinson cycle VS 1.3 otto cycle”–now i know :)
    abuya,
    can u tell more bout atkinson cycle & otto cycle?love to hear more input from u rather than these brainless Insight basher
    oh talking bout torque,199Nm plonked in Insight is a lot for a 1.3L car!!!how bout Prius C’s torque?no idea?toyota shy to show it?
    no brainer prius C will definitely lose badly during uphill chase to Insight!!!

• Did you ever driven an Insight before ?? Talking about uphill pulak??
      IMA system in Insight is super lousy, going up a simple hill will LOOSE ALL USABLE battery charge and become 1.3L engine car middle of the way. Somemore cannot recharge back if you didnt do any breaking. So stuck with 1.3L engine till you start proper breaking… This won’t happen in Toyota HSD.

Insight battery is super small as compare to Prius C that why it will loose assist faster. Furthermore torque from Prius C motor alone is 169NM vs Insight 74NM !!! delivering right from 0… Going uphill will trump Insight anytime and smoke it when Insight loose all battery juice. Atkinson vs Otto argument doesnt even come into play at all.

• Insight on Mar 01, 2012 at 7:56 pm

Since when charging only happens when driver start braking? All hybrid (Insight & Prius family) have their force charging mode when the battery depleted.

So from your theory, both car battery will be out of juice midway. Insight will use its 98hp engine to recharge the smaller battery while at the same time push the car up. In the meantime, Prius C also have to recharge its bigger battery (which will take longer time) using its weak 72hp engine and move the car.

Of course Prius C will lost the hill climb contest.

• No, Toyota HSD engine charges the battery when battery is not assisting e
          g. when cruising. It doesnt solely depends on regenerativ breaking but also salvage from engine extra power.

Prius battery full assist going up Cameron highland only uses 2~3 bar. Whereas Insight will lost all juice at first few KM… LOL
          Insight can eat Prius smoke…

• Insight on Mar 05, 2012 at 10:44 am

U talking uphill climb rite? What with the ‘engine charges the battery when battery is not assisting eg. when cruising’?

‘Salvage from engine extra power’? How much extra do u have, leftovers from that puny 72hp?

Prius smoke? I heard that one. A few cases prius burnt to ashes. Google.

• PRIUS c Better!!! terms of technology and power…..use it then u believed!

• Yeah. Better to give Japanese & chronies more money….
      Yes lets our RM flow out even more. Let them rich.

• suba suba on Feb 29, 2012 at 7:33 pm

What is this Honda Malaysia ???… 2 airbags ??? Still using key ignition system for hybrid ??? What the heck ??? EVen cruise control pon tarak ?? PIRAH

• squall_shinoda on Feb 29, 2012 at 8:52 pm

Insight sold in Malaysia already got cruise control laa…

• aqasa on Feb 29, 2012 at 8:54 pm

Cruise control ada la mang-koq…. auto wiper & lampu, VSA, creep aid, auto volume, auto tu, auto ni, autobot…

Airbag 7 kalau body ciput ingat bole hidup ke? PIRRA MABUK

• Liew Chun Seang on Mar 02, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Yup..prius c is the best.no money buy inside sure ok..outside also can lah

• Nice

• Dr Mamak on Feb 29, 2012 at 8:32 pm

Rear visibility dem poor. Jamban door handles still there.

• Ninja on Feb 29, 2012 at 8:54 pm

All you Honda bashers, shut the f*** up. Do you’ll know Honda is the world biggest and most advanced car maker in the world? I’m always proud to be a Honda salesman.

• Honda Power on Feb 29, 2012 at 9:30 pm

Ninja, I support you 100% brother. I am the proud owner of two Honda cars. Very reliable and fuel efficient. The i-VTEC engine is super quiet, quieter than Toyota’s VVTi engine. I have compared, my friend who drives a Toyota even admitted that Honda’s engine is quieter than Toyota’s engine. This is a fact. Now let’s all wait for the Honda Jazz hybrid to be launched. With the facelift Insight and the soon to be launced Jazz hybrid, Toyota Prius C doesn’t stand a chance against Honda. Coming soon in May/June – all new Civic hybrid as well .It’s very obvious that Honda is going to win the hybrid competition in Malaysia.

• Altisan on Feb 29, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Notice that my engine getting louder after 20K km. Compared to my bro civic, his much quieter. The most obvious is when we start the engine in the morning. Altis engine seems growling. Also quite noisy when speeding more than 120 on hiway.

Still prefer the more comfortable suspension on Altis. Toyota should include quieter engine if they really into comfort.

• PetroLeg on Mar 01, 2012 at 11:45 am

Not bashing Honda, but I use to look up to them and I have few cars previously Honda, but model after model now they seem more disappointing, they have all their DNA mixed up without the right thing to put into their cars, e.g. Honda Accord, the very purpose of this car is luxury segment, and yet they fail to control the NVH which makes it a turn off, Civic, the very nature of it is spirited driving but somehow lots of things are continuously lacking, so previous owners are switching to other brands.

Probably the manufacturing demand and the rush to market is pushing all the engineers to disregard details and DNA and just produce for the sake of producing. That’s my take as once fan of Honda on what is happening, unless they can come back with something more exciting and remembering who they are before, they will be overtaken in a much quicker pace.

• Dear SA,

Until HM stop stupid 5K interval service, it will never get any business from me. Stupid system. I practical had to go service every 2 months. Buying Honda = wasting my time… no brainer.

• PetroLeg on Mar 01, 2012 at 11:49 am

I agree, this every 5K/3 months interval of service is a waste of time. We have hardly have our own time and yet we sometimes need to take leave to go take their cars for every 5K service or else void warranty. 6 months now also a bare minimum but 8 months should be just nice, for our weather 1 year like VW probably not so suitable but still prefer around 6-8months or 10/12K

Wish they would seriously look into details like these and put themselves as car owners of Honda.

• This honda insight will better than “cock sucker” toyota prius c loh!!

• Carl Wong on Feb 29, 2012 at 9:17 pm

YES, it’s finally here, WELCOME :)………….!!!!!
    The difference is mainly on the inside including places we can’t see. Better fuel efficiency, thermodynamic efficiency, and NVH. So I’ll assume the air-conditioning system is even cooler or gets cold really fast? The first version was already quite cold when I was driving it.

People said the price would increase (by a few thousand). And now it actually remains the same with an even better package :]………..

• Carl Wong on Feb 29, 2012 at 11:42 pm

It even comes with Hill Start Assist now, which the first version didn’t have. But still we shouldn’t take anything for granted and be ignorant. Use the handbrake for slopes and traffic lights (driving lesson no.2).

• beruk33 on Mar 01, 2012 at 2:30 am

better fuel economy by 1km/litre. come on…

• Insight got problem where Air-Cond will turn off when your car is stopped. Still the same now?

• Carl Wong on Mar 05, 2012 at 3:04 am

It’s not a problem, that’s how it works. The drivers can choose their priority by pressing the ECON button. Those who want comfort can turn ECON off, the Auto Stop duration will be limited and the engine restarts itself even if the foot remains on the brake pedal, to maintain cabin temperature and humidity. Those who want optimum fuel efficiency can turn ECON on to extend the Auto Stop duration and higher overall efficiency with some compromise on comfort.

• If that’s how it works, I think it is more like a design flaw. This is Malaysia, we all need the air cond to be turned on most of the time. If the engine restarts itself while the car is not moving, what’s the point getting a hybrid since it behaves just like normal gasoline car? You are still burning fuel while engine is idling. And since Toyota can do it, why can’t Honda?

• patriot on Feb 29, 2012 at 9:57 pm

Saw this car the other day blasting on highway. Its fast. Tail him and my meter shown >190kmh…

• isuzuki on Feb 29, 2012 at 10:47 pm

How come no one mention the maintenance cost?

• asgard on Mar 01, 2012 at 12:22 am

prius c dashboard looks cheap and abnormal, insight got a better interior and more normal, both car actually for people who dont want local assembled models form toyota and honda, definitely got more tech than vios or city

• Allen Siew on Mar 01, 2012 at 1:07 am

think b4 u buy.for the system n technology or pretty one…

• carazy on Mar 01, 2012 at 11:57 am

plus u buy a car for it brand or for its features… and many more to consider, car price, spare parts price/easy to find, maintenance, safety features.. and the list is still going on and on and on… do research before u buy a car – its your liability by the way..

• Maserati on Mar 01, 2012 at 7:31 am

In terms of fuel efficiency,the Prius C still wins hands down but in terms of solidness Honda still has the upper hand.

Having said all those,I wonder if the Koreans are catching up with the Japanese as so many of you are saying,where the hell are their hybrids?

Most probably they dont even have the tech yet to produce such cars.Good luck to whoever is buying optima ,elantra or any Korean junk

• Guess what the Koreans are expert at? Fuel cells technology…. Production for the first fuel cell Hyundai Tucson will be ramping up this year.

You can then kiss your overhyped hybrid junk goodbye.

• David D on Mar 01, 2012 at 6:00 pm

Got a problem with the Koreans? Yeah, just because they don’t have hybrids it doesn’t mean they’re rubbish, or not getting there. And as what TS said, they’re working on fuel-cell tech, which does help to reduce our dependence of fossil fuels. Not to forget developing fully electric cars, as well as advanced diesel engines.

With that, they’re not really aiming for the Japs, instead taking a shot at giving the Contis a shot for their money.

Good luck to us? Yeah. I can safely say this to you:- Go get yourself a lollipop, and beat this mindless bashing until you’ve done your homework. Sore loser.

• ahlee bin ahtan on Mar 01, 2012 at 8:35 am

let’s give money to the Japs to help them from Tsunamis/earthquakes/radioactives buy Honda/Toyota etcc anything Japanese ok?

• jordi on Mar 01, 2012 at 8:44 am

i have no problems with insight or prius c. i nearly bought an insight, but found out that the door entrance to the back seats ridiculously tight. i have to crawl on all fours to get into the insight back seat. but once seated in, it is spacious at the back. even though prius c looks smaller, i do not have this problem with the prius c. i could get in and out of the back seat with ease. suprisingly the interior seating space is about the same (i think could be bigger) than an insight.

btw… prius c is not available for test drive yet. so i reserve comments on handling etc. until then.

• You’re right, Prius C has slightly more passenger room compared to Insight:

– Insight 85 cubic feet
      – Prius C 87 cubic feet
      – CRZ 49 cubic feet

• u forgot to mention boot capacity
        Insight:400L
        Prius c:260L

• beruk33 on Mar 03, 2012 at 4:37 am

it is good for those who want to carry more stuffs. think it will help fuel consumption.

• What? on Mar 01, 2012 at 9:35 am

I’ve test drive both of insight and prius(not prius c), in term of handling, interior look n muscular outside look the winner is insight, but in term of technology and safety prius is better.

For me prius is more like sissy car while insight drive like a man… ;)

• PetroLeg on Mar 01, 2012 at 11:34 am

sure? i beg to differ if it drives like a man. to me the back of the car is totally a Prius wannabe but with should have given it a more fluid look. The whole car exterior is one plain lazy design without giving details a second look.

• actually Insight was the first car to employ this design back in 1999.Technically prius copied Insight

• PetroLeg on Mar 01, 2012 at 2:06 pm

Ok, noted. somehow I found that if the wheelbase is larger than the insight would not look so like a wood log from behind.

• This abruptly cut design is called Kammback design.This shape reduces drag compared to normal sedan or hatchback shapes

• go naza on Mar 01, 2012 at 1:14 pm

both are sissy.

insect honla

• David D on Mar 01, 2012 at 3:31 pm

Good point there. The Insight is much, much better to drive as compared to the Prius. However, the ride on the pre-facelift model, at best, is too firm for everyday use. I mean, taking it to the pothole-ridden roads of Glenmarie really showed it’s disadvantages.

Also, 2 airbags only? Come on, Honda, you could’ve done much, much better!!!

So, on initial conclusions,
      Prius C-
      Pros:-Competitively priced, best hybrid system tested so far, chocked with airbags, surprisingly practical!!
      Cons:- The dashboard. One look at it, and i can’t help but say that a Saga FLX’s interior looks much more attractive. Besides, the steering, although light, doesn’t inspire confidence as compared to the standard Yaris, to which it is based on.

Insight-
      Pros:-The car to buy if you want some driving pleasure. More direct steering, and tighter suspension means that it’s the winner in the ride and handling department; more boot space, since it’s longer, and the semi-hybrid system means you can still can drive the car, should the electric motor go kaput
      Cons:- That fish-like shape at the back means headroom is compromised. It’s fine if you’re 5 feet, but if you’re more than that, you will be wanting for more headroom, as what i did by bending my neck forward. The ride is simply too firm if you’re driving over bumpy roads, while suspension noise is noticeably louder. Also, 2 airbags? That’s a black mark for the Insight, especially when it costs 2.8k more than the Prius C.

Overall, i feel both cars did their job well as stated on the can, but the safety kit, as well as the dissappointing ride quality of the Insight is the reason why i would walk by the Honda showroom and walk directly to a Prius C, where despite the horrid interior, wins due to its advantages outweighing the disadvantages.

• Hyundai Fan on Mar 01, 2012 at 9:51 am

The price RM99,800 should be for 1.5 L variant since Prius C with 1.5L is selling at RM97,000. Honda car price is always selling at lower price than Toyota cars.
    1.3 L should sell at RM90,000.

• Quantum Leap on Mar 01, 2012 at 11:11 am

90K for a CHEAPO Korean Hyundai maybe, can’t afford then go play with your CHEAP Korean Car.

• y U so emo?

U Honda salesman? Can’t take it well when people made a negative remarks on Honda’s car?

I pity those around you.

• PetroLeg on Mar 02, 2012 at 11:22 am

Well like it or not, the tides of change is coming for Japanese makes, like once they took the world market knocking off all the European makes off the top 10 category. It’s hard to maintain as a leader let alone defending your current position. A saying goes nothing last forever and we can already see and many people are accepting Korean makes as their car, see the US market Korean cars are fast appearing in people’s garage, and we can already see statistics shown and published in recent CBT on the sales of Korean cars. Continuing this trend and if they don’t wake up, we will see Japanese makes someday have low resale value and a decline car to take up by used car dealers. Conti cars will be the first choice and 2nd choice would be Korean, so T,H,N please do something and remember who you are once.

• haha..

why are we fight for FC and engine technology? I am confident that the world oil stocks will be exhausted even if each person of us uses the Prius or Insight. difference sooner or later. better to use the car in which we like as long as we happy. the oil problem we give to next generation to think as older generation give to us…

• beruk33 on Mar 03, 2012 at 4:51 am

why conserve water? leave it to next generation to think. why ban ozone depleting chemicals. leave it to next generation to think. why approve renewable energy act? leave it to next generation to think. why conservation biology? leave it to next generation to think. why have babies? might as well save the next generation from thinking too much.

sustainable development.

• Carl Wong on Mar 03, 2012 at 10:00 pm

We can enjoy life, but try to be as responsible as possible in our ability to our own kind and the next generation……..
      I think leaving everything to the next generation is quite selfish……………….

• inside on Mar 01, 2012 at 2:11 pm

May i know why honda still using CVT gearbox in Insight? Really scared to use Hondas’ CVT gearbox..cannot survive more than 100k km. Replacement for CVT gearbox more than Rm20k.. Proven so many CVT gearbox problem for previous city and jazz..

• Director on Mar 01, 2012 at 9:56 pm

My City idsi clocking 23x thousand km and going strong. Those with CVT issue was because SC using ATF when they first bring in the cars. CVT gearboxes should only use CVTF. Very fond to CVT stepless transmission, smooth and jerk free. My next car will also be a CVT.

• Carl Wong on Mar 03, 2012 at 9:52 pm

My City VTEC went nearly 100,000km now and going very strong too :).

• OilChange on Mar 01, 2012 at 9:49 pm

ok ok ok… may be you people fedup oledi hearing this question… but;

how much is the battery again????? :)

• Carl Wong on Mar 01, 2012 at 10:55 pm

RM6XXX

• Honda on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:24 am

The best thing is, battery warranty is 5 years or 140k km. New unit only RM6xxx. Calculating your saving driving regular 1.6-2.0 compared to Insight, basically u save RM2xxx per year (average 25K km per year). 3 years owning Insight, u already surpassed your battery replacement cost. Typically it can last 8-10 years. or more.

Toyota only 3 years for such expensive battery is it? Theirs cost RM12xxxx mind you. Sorry malaysian. my brother is a bit greedy.

• Joker The Great on Mar 01, 2012 at 10:34 pm

hehehehe, at last i managed to break the record…
    RM65 @ 720km (Petronas 95) with about 90km/h for the whole journey

Not to ask you to believe, but its really happened.
    From SP => Penang (Burma road) => TTDI => Jalan Sultan Ismail => Back to SP
    The whole journey we only stop at Guar Semanggol to pump petrol.

RM65 also “extremely” MAX when i pump it……nearly overflow too.
    For me, i am really satisfy with this car….cheers……

• O-K… so your record is about 4.75l/100km. Mine is 4.6l/100km for normal city driving (heavy jams etc) with average speed about 20kmph. Whereas highway record is 3.4l/100km with average speed 90kmph. Oh, mine’s a Prius.

• Joker The Great on Mar 02, 2012 at 12:53 am

For me, as long as the car comfort to drive and the fuel the consumption is within the expectation level, i am satisfy with it….
        cheers….

• Carl Wong on Mar 01, 2012 at 11:23 pm

That’s 21km/L+, well done man :].

• Here are some actual specs for comparison. Now, which is the BIGGER CAR??

Prius C:
    – Passenger space: 87.4 cubic feet
    – Cargo space: 17.1 cubic feet

Honda Insight:
    – Passenger space: 85 cubic feet
    – Cargo space: 15.9 cubic feet

• Honda on Mar 02, 2012 at 11:13 am

Still selling your idea on Prius C bigger than Insight? Go to the showroom please….

• Both Prius C and Insight are B-segment cars. External looks can be very deceiving, who would have guessed that Prius is actually a D-segment car?

• So your Prius is d segment. In which area ? Space.. I think Camry or accord definitely much bigger. Boot space ? Pls go see accord boot space b4 commenting . Power? Your Prius marketing brochure say “similar” to 2.4. So u think it IS 2.4 ? Continue to dream. Pity the fool got ripped >140k so must defend his Prius to death.

• Qulubun on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:50 am

Still trying hard to convince people that prius is the best for 139K? D segment? 2.4 power? Haha.

Fool will always be. Toyota thanked you for being so fool and dedicate tenth of thousand of your money for them to enjoy.
            Again for that amount of money better buy Accord/Camry/Teana/Sonata/Optima K5. Much… much better in every way. Not green? Your battery is much more polluting than many tanks of fuel over many years. Rich? CT200h.

• Liew Chun Seang on Mar 02, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Insight la….of course if the limousine version have.so u want honda buy honda you want toyota buy toyota…if else dont have money to buy so bye bye

• Rear headroom is a bit tight, don’t you think?

• RedBeanBun on Mar 03, 2012 at 9:16 am

see the Prius C in One Utama…its lousy. The plastic is even worst than Waja! RM97K ripped off!!!
    have not see this insight though, but RM100K for a Prius C? cant believe it.

• Carl Wong on Mar 04, 2012 at 7:10 pm

Hybrids appeal to those (including myself) who don’t like to refuel every week, and want to save some fuel money and emissions………

Those who want super duper speed and acceleration should just get a Ferrari, or something like GTR……………..

• Carl Wong on Mar 08, 2017 at 1:22 am

Still happy owner of Insight Facelift and drives like new . . . 20km/L + (650km) per tank average from mixed driving.

Well the car is priceless now since you can’t buy it new anymore . .