2012 Honda Insight – refreshened hybrid set for Frankfurt

Honda has given the Insight bit of a freshening up, and the 2012 model year hybrid is set to be introduced in Frankfurt. The exterior rework consists of a new front grille, and the tail gate spoiler has been slimmed, providing for a wider rear glass area. The last, combined with a modified tail gate garnish and a reduction in the size of the wiper motor unit, results in overall increased rear visibility.

Fuel economy and emissions have also been improved by means of enhanced aerodynamics and powertrain efficiency. Revisions to the CVT and mill, the latter in the form of reduced engine friction, as well as alterations to the air conditioning system, which features a new cold storage system, all do their bit to contribute to lower fuel consumption, with CO2 levels now down to 96 g/km.

Adjustments have also been made to the suspension for an overall improvement to ride comfort and stability. Interior-wise, features have also been enhanced, but no specific details are forthcoming as yet – guess Frankfurt will reveal all.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• sam witwicky on Sep 02, 2011 at 6:23 pm

i must buy insight before…….

• whether or not it shows up on our shore depends on the exemption…will it be extended beyond dec 31? I think it will.

• imo, this one looks much better than the current one. maybe it looks sportier i guess.

• better looking rims for a hybrid

• RedBeanBun on Sep 02, 2011 at 7:59 pm

definitely can unseat the Prius if the design and technology improved!

• Prius and Insight are totally 2 different technology.
      Prius is full hybrid and more advance than Insight.

• MoFaz on Sep 03, 2011 at 10:24 am

full hybrid? hybrid is combination of electric / battery and petrol. full electric, yes. but no such thing as ‘full hybrid’.

• Full hybrid as in the car can run only on electric and not petrol engine..
          whereas in Honda case.. it is not full hybrid because the car cannot run on the battery alone.. it will need to run with the engine..
          read it up..

• squall_shinoda on Sep 04, 2011 at 9:00 pm

Honda Civic Hybrid and Insight can actually run on battery alone, but only for low-speed cruising. The degree of hybridization actually relies of the powertrain setup itself. Complex hybrid powertrain is considered as full hybrids, while pure serial hybrid (as in Exora Range Extender) is considered as “mild” because it runs primarily on batteries, while pure parallel hybrid (as in Honda IMA) is considered as mild hybrid because it runs primarily on engine. Toyota HSD is a full hybrid because it runs primarily on both.

• and that will answer MoFaz’s accusation that there is the term ‘full hybrid’ and ‘mild hybrid’..

• Jack Leong on Sep 05, 2011 at 1:18 pm

if both are primaries, wouldn’t that be conflicting each other? unless of course if they run mutually exclusive from each other.

• squall_shinoda on Sep 05, 2011 at 3:11 pm

No conflicts at all. That’s why there is a device called power split unit in Toyota’s HSD system. The power split unit can either make the car rull by 100% engine or 100% battery or both. That’s why it is a full hybrid.

• Carl Wong on Sep 04, 2011 at 5:18 pm

Honda Insight is a mild hybrid or power assist hybrid with 1 electric motor, it does not have all electric mode but it can cruise with the electric motor only at low speeds such as 4x km/hr, I did it when I went to test drive the car. It’s not so complex and the cost is lower.

Toyota Prius is a full hybrid with 2 electric motors with zero emission all electric EV mode when there is enough charge in the battery, for low speeds. It is more complex and the cost is higher. I had not driven the car yet.

• Fish tank on Sep 02, 2011 at 8:21 pm

Much more nicer than the previous one, it’s more convincing to slash out Kia Forte.

• Come on.. U have the right to say something bad on korea car, just pick the right topic.
      Dont always link every single topic to forte or Korea car..

• Refreshened? There is such a word?

• ben yap on Sep 02, 2011 at 9:24 pm

hopefully they can upgrade the motor for a more powerful one. than users can enjoy fuel savings with a more powerpack motor.

• Pinnacle on Sep 02, 2011 at 10:20 pm

If you want power then forget about hybrid.

• antaras on Sep 03, 2011 at 9:28 am

ummm… you do know Prius running a 1.8 litre ya?

• Carl Wong on Sep 04, 2011 at 5:13 pm

A larger petrol engine for the Toyota Prius yes but it’s an Atkinson cycle engine which is less powerful but more fuel efficient compared to a normal Otto cycle engine, it is the most fuel efficient hatchback in the world at the moment.

• squall_shinoda on Sep 04, 2011 at 9:02 pm

Corrent. When looking at the power output alone, the 1.8 Prius is only a little kitten that can only churn out 134 bhp combine (the engine alone is only 98 bhp), but it is its torque that is monstrous.

• Jimmy on Sep 02, 2011 at 11:36 pm

Why didn’t anybody notice the ‘Avanza-like’ door handles? Shall this be improved aesthetically?

• shawal on Sep 03, 2011 at 1:36 am

will the exemption be extended…? and if we order n dec shall we get this one..?

• ah lee bin ah tan on Sep 03, 2011 at 8:09 am

they should make it 7 seater!

• squall_shinoda on Sep 05, 2011 at 3:13 pm

7 seater? Interesting. But of course they’ll need more powerful engines and more powerful electric motors.

• OMG…this 1 got the fuel economy and emissions have also been improved. Good job Honda.

• squawk on Sep 03, 2011 at 10:17 am

Any Insight owner here can share their current ride’s fuel consumption?

• i read somewhere in this blog, the FC for Insight from KL to PD is about RM5 – RM6. So jimat!

• squawk on Sep 03, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Is that official FC or real world FC?

• if you’re talking about the real world FC, of course it differs, depending on how you drive your car. well, it’s someone’s experience, i just quoted it in here. maybe you can check on Honda’s website.

• squawk on Sep 03, 2011 at 9:19 pm

I’d prefer to check with a few owners/drivers if possible for their experience.

• Joker The Great on Sep 07, 2011 at 9:22 pm

The best record we achieved with 85% in highway. From North to KL. 90km/h to 95km/h per hour averagely.
            RM70@ 694km….. Excellent in overall fuel consumption if u know how to handle this car. We also took some times to familiar with this Insight behaviour then only can get max output. Hurray….

• How long can the batery last, maybe 10 – 15 yrs?. And replacing the batery is expensive costing more than 10K. Door handle looks out of date…..poor Honda.

• Kacey Green on Sep 04, 2011 at 9:30 am

Try closer to $1600, the whole car can be had for ~19k, the battery is a small part of all that.

• Wisdom on Sep 05, 2011 at 1:54 pm

Pure ignorance.

Check the actual battery price first before comment.

• Carl Wong on Sep 05, 2011 at 4:39 pm

The Insight is using a smaller capacity NiMH battery, which should cost RM6000-7000 at the moment. But the warranty is 5 years so it should be free if you replace the battery within 5 years. RM10,000+ is for the Civic Hybrid and Toyota Prius. After 6 years the cost of the batteries would be even lower.

The life of the battery for the average driver should be 10 years+. Obviously it won’t last that long if you go flat out every time you accelerate.

• Dak's Quacks on Sep 03, 2011 at 9:31 pm

I really can’t see the difference… (^.^)
    Anyway, hope one day Honda will come out with a Hybrid SUV, don’t have to be full size like CRV, a compact hybrid SUV will be ideal.

• with CO2 levels now down to 96 g/km.

finally, with the low below 100g/km CO2….the insight have a fighting chance against those modern diesel favoured by european over there which have low CO2 levels

• Calvin Foo on Sep 05, 2011 at 12:53 am

I want CRZ!

• david mitchell on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:14 am

“Refreshened”? It’s “refreshed” -lah!

• fuel consumption with honda insight driving from ipoh perak to bera pahang covering 320 km was 21.7km per litre. mixed driving pattern. city driving in ipoh to plus simpang pulai. highway driving from simpang pulai to tanjung malim put on cruise control 100km/h(op sikap) urban driving from tanjung malim to batang kali.speed 60-80kmh. uphill driving from batang kali to genting sempah karak via genting highland. no problem with pick up as torque is good. again hilly and winding highway road of karak to temerloh.speed not more 110km/h. finally twisted road along sungai pahang to bera with several times of overtaking slow vehicles in kampung area.speed 60-90kmh. i used to drive with honda city the same journey and only get 15km/litre.somemore insight is different level of comfort and ride from honda city.