2018 Volvo XC60 unveiled – 407 hp T8 plug-in hybrid

After eight years of service, the Volvo XC60 is finally being replaced with a new one. Built on the same Scalable Product Architecture (SPA) as the 90 Series models (XC90, S90, V90), the second-gen SUV, set to go into production in mid-April, is chock full of some of Gothenburg’s latest powertrain and safety features.

If you were expecting the new XC60 to look like a scaled-down XC90, then you’re right on the money, but there are a few unique detail changes here and there. The “Thor’s Hammer” headlights that flank the iron mark grille have been retained, but the T-shaped daytime running lights now extend to meet the grille.

The arrangement of the front air intakes, with their prominent “tusks,” are also closer in design to some of Volvo’s earlier concepts. Along the sides, the unbroken shoulder line has been ditched for more prominent rear haunches for a more sculpted look, while a sharp incision low down in the doors provide a chiselled appearance. At the rear, the tail lights extend into the tailgate à la V90.

The new Volvo XC60

Inside, the new XC60 carries the look of the S90 and V90, with vertical air vents and an unbroken frame that stretches across the dashboard. As usual, the brand’s latest Sensus infotainment system with a portrait-format touchscreen and support for Apple CarPlay and Android Auto dominates the cabin, but it has received a graphical update to improve usability. There’s also a new CleanZone four-zone climate control system to remove harmful pollutants and particles from the outside.

Under the bonnet, the XC60 comes with a range of 2.0 litre Drive-E turbocharged petrol and diesel engines, including 190 hp D4 and 235 hp D5 diesel models (the latter with PowerPulse technology which debuted on the S90) as well as 254 hp T5 and 320 hp supercharged and turbocharged T6 petrols.

Also available is the T8 Twin Engine plug-in hybrid, which mates the T6-spec engine with a 87 hp/240 Nm electric motor and a 34 kW crankshaft-mounted starter generator (CISG) to produce a total system output of 407 hp and 640 Nm. This is set to make the XC60 an absolute scorcher, with a quoted zero to 100 km/h sprint time of just 5.3 seconds.

The new Volvo XC60

Of course, no Volvo would be complete without a full suite of safety features. As with the 90 Series models, the XC60 will come with all the latest systems such as Large Animal Detection, Run-off Road Mitigation and optional Pilot Assist semi-autonomous driving. However, the smaller car also debuts a host of its own technologies, which are focused on steering the driver out of trouble.

The company’s City Safety system, which includes automated emergency braking, has been augmented with steering support, which kicks in should the car detect that braking alone will not prevent a collision. In such cases, the system will provide steering assistance to avoid obstacles such as vehicles, pedestrians and large animals, at speeds between 50 and 100 km/h.

Also introduced is Oncoming Lane Mitigation, which steers the vehicle back into its lane if the driver wanders out into oncoming traffic; the system is active between 60 km/h and 140 km/h. The optional Blind Spot Information System has also been upgraded and will now be able to steer the car back into its own lane if a lane change is conducted with a vehicle in the driver’s blind spot.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• tokmoh. on Mar 07, 2017 at 7:06 pm

Hnnnggghhh

Volvo > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
    • Some says beige is too old fashion and outdated look… oh wait… thats for Perdana2…

• Jimmy on Mar 07, 2017 at 10:37 pm

When they advertise, they like to use light colour scheme and display the sunroof.

Because it is the colour most hated by its target customers.
        And it threatens you that: please don’t purchase me, as I have a sunroof and you are in hot climate country with possibility of rain water leakage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
      • rally_fan (Member) on Jan 19, 2018 at 9:31 am

beige is the most popular interior colour in Scandinavian countries. its because of their lack of sunlight during the course of a year.. they like a brighter interior colour.

• Nazri on Mar 07, 2017 at 10:43 pm

Nothing to see here.
      Same sosej, different lengths….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • applegreen on Mar 08, 2017 at 11:42 am

Bentayga > All

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • Proton XC60 407 hp T8 plug-in hybrid RM148k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Mikey on Mar 07, 2017 at 9:28 pm

I promise I won’t wake U up from your dream & U promise U won’t wake me up too. Cheers …. bcos I love 2 dream too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Mar 07, 2017 at 10:43 pm

You can get Tiguan at rm7k cheaper, and it is similarly good to you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 33
  • Machi on Mar 07, 2017 at 8:02 pm

Going to trade in beemer for this xc60! Can’t stop looking at it and fall into it already! Hulamak..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • Jimmy on Mar 07, 2017 at 10:47 pm

Maybe I am too old for the exterior look, and too fussy for the interior design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • DPCraft on Mar 07, 2017 at 8:27 pm

Rear looks like 2017 CR-V, but sleeker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Gaviny on Mar 07, 2017 at 8:45 pm

I’ll take the D5 please, thank you very much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Mikey on Mar 07, 2017 at 9:38 pm

BMW/Mercedes/Audi/Lexus/Infinity. They all have a distinctive front & back. We all know these cars by their head-lights, grills & bumpers.

Now, we will know a VOLVO from the rest by its spectacular “Thor’s Hammer” headlights to distinguished from the rest. Bravo & well done Volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
  • Suddenly on Mar 07, 2017 at 10:28 pm

Suddenly, I’m starting to slowly falling in love with all the new Volvo. XC90, S90, V90 and now the XC60 …soon the S60 and the V60 as well. Bimmers and Mercers, better watch out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Ricardo on Mar 07, 2017 at 11:22 pm

Volvo is coming back very strong this time round. No other car at thus segment can beat Volvo on safety features. Look wise is very subjective though. Looking forward to seeing this in Malaysia next year. If they price this right it is going to be the best seller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • seancorr (Member) on Mar 07, 2017 at 11:15 pm

Looks very good and it has to be as it has its work cut out for it. The Merc GLC and the all new BMW X3 are its closest rivals those two have quite a following. Now if the T5 can get EEV status and be sold under 250k I think VCM will be able to shift some healthy sales figures. Exciting times ahead nonetheless with the XC40 coming soon after tovdo battle with the BMW X1. A Volvo SUV under 200k? Yes please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 07, 2017 at 11:44 pm

volvo is on a roll

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Now I am looking forward to the XC90 Facelift, especially in R-Design. Or make it a Polestar one.

• old horse on Mar 08, 2017 at 2:05 am

car of the year candidate..

• the predecessor to this xc60 was already a beautiful looking car….this new version looks even better and with so many features to boot….we r gonna see plenty on the roads once this model hits the road here (pun intended)…gr8 job volvo

• thepolygonal on Mar 08, 2017 at 9:40 am

Nice but… please hurry up with the XC40? The trend is towards compact SUV nowadays. Don’t miss the wave. With Merc having the GLA and BMW’s X1, Honda’s HRV and Toyota’s CHR, there is a missing XC40 for Volvo which you are currently code naming it 40.1.

• azrai on Mar 08, 2017 at 10:01 am

Volvo is slowly morphing into CR V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • George on Mar 08, 2017 at 11:50 pm

CRV is downright ugly, bulky and out of proportion looking slab of rotten fat. This car is sleek and perfectly designed with timeless design

• The Saint on Mar 08, 2017 at 12:21 pm

Exciting times ahead….what with the upcoming New Audi Q5, BMW X3 and this Volvo XC60….buyers in this segment are spoilt for choice. Checked out the GLC but am not impressed enough to sign on the dotted line.

Mouth watering specs…….0-100 in 5.3s??? Wow, this performance is in the Macan S territory!

• Kangkong on Mar 08, 2017 at 1:05 pm

Volvo is getting more young owners now. Compare to previously people just said…Volvo for oldman.
    Now I can even see young driver modified the new V40 and become aggressively sporty.
    Good job Volvo!

• After watched the reveal firm, the message delivered at 01:25 mins influenced my decision. I say NO to this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • Volvo design cars for satisfaction of consumers n full fill their needs….volvo strongly believe in technology not in money making automaker like others…

• Trump_eats_shit on Mar 09, 2017 at 3:39 pm

Surprised… no complaints of Chinese investor company anymore. I guess they must have done something right.

• Ex-spsetia on Sep 24, 2017 at 9:38 am

Well built SUV. Looking forward to it. Thumb up.