Volvo S90 L and Excellence unveiled for China market

An upgraded version of the Volvo S90 has been introduced for China, with the customary longer wheelbase made specifically for the market. A more exclusive, luxurious and oddly, three-seat version called the S90 Excellence (previewed earlier this year) also made its global debut there.

While not badged as such (the standard version will not be sold in China), we are referring to the long-wheelbase model (stretched by 120 mm) as the Volvo S90 L here for posterity. Described as the “most premium car ever made in China,” it will be built in Volvo’s production facility in Daqing, China, to be exported globally.

Based on the long-wheelbase model, the Volvo S90 Excellence is a strict three-seater (unlike the four-seat XC90 Excellence), with the front passenger seat replaced with a so-called “Lounge Console” designed for chauffeur-driven executives. High quality materials throughout the cabin also delivers a “well-thought-through and immersive luxury feel,” claims Volvo.

Volvo S90 Excellence exterior front 3/4

It gets exclusive features such as a full panoramic roof, foldout worktables, extra storage spaces, a heated and cooled cup holder, an adjustable footrest and a built-in entertainment system with an integrated large display. There’s also a rear-seat touchscreen control interface, a built-in fridge and handmade crystal glasses from Swedish glassmaker Orrefors.

The S90 Excellence is available exclusively with the top-of-the-range T8 Twin Engine plug-in hybrid powertrain (like the one in the Malaysian-market XC90 SUV), while the standard S90 L adds on the option of more affordable T4 and T5 petrol engines.

GALLERY: Volvo S90 L

GALLERY: Volvo S90 Excellence

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Jimmy on Nov 02, 2016 at 10:31 pm

When it reaches certain third-world country who shiok sendiri thinking they are as good as USA:
    1. All those rear passenger conveniences to rest their feet and sleep etc will ‘hilang’
    2. No sunroofs because you have no money to pay for it and you love a house with tiny windows to avoid sunlight and you have no money to install good curtain/blinds
    3. The interior will become black because the buyers are low class labours with dirty/unhygienic habits
    4. Lexus airbag count minus 4, and it is called ‘Volvo for life’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • Jimmy ,your English is uncomprehensable

All I read was and understand is that you are trying to tell :-

LEXUS car in Malaysia is owned by third class mentality people, mostly labourer and blue collars with dirty hands driving ar onound ard dirty cloths sitting Lexus car thus making the seats dirtier.

So LEXUS IN MALAYSIA IS OWNED BY LOW CLASS PEOPLE , RIGHT??

Thank you very much for providing such information !!! Noted but where is your photoshop attachement ??

• Jimmy on Nov 02, 2016 at 10:33 pm

And you forgot to use photoshop to make the interior black in your advertisement picture shown above.

• tokmoh. on Nov 03, 2016 at 9:42 am

Volvo > all

• Ranieri on Nov 03, 2016 at 11:23 am

Volvo brand image in Msia. Worse than VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • Tahar on Nov 03, 2016 at 1:13 pm

Same goes for saying

TOYOTA, HONDA , NISSAN , MITSUBISHI and LEXUS these car brands IMAGE and PERCEPTIONS are even worse than

Mercedes , Volvo, BMW and Audi

Period>>>>>>

• tokmoh. on Nov 03, 2016 at 2:24 pm

Volvo no DSG, Banyak Masuk Workshop, killer airbag, power window rosak, turbocor reputation, yet say their image worse?

Jelly Volvo owners no problem lettew.

• civicx on Nov 03, 2016 at 10:12 am

front- WOW
    side- WOW
    rear- NAH

• Agreed! The rear design leaves much to be desired. I think this is the part Volvo should improve on with their NEXT facelift, maybe 8 years down the road

• tokmoh. on Nov 03, 2016 at 2:30 pm

Rear is acquired taste.

Some like its American-ish rear, yet clean and discreet. Something fresh and different than Germans.

Anyway, for target market, they’re sold anyway for the safety and comfort only Volvo can give.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 03, 2016 at 12:31 pm

I wonder what happened to pur new Perdana limo that was made special gift to Tun M.

Proton spent million kononnya to research to make the Perdana long limo.

Money well spent?

• Mikey on Nov 03, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Volvo is showing the world that they may be conservative & save to drive But they are no more boring & dare to be different.