SPIED: Next-gen Mercedes-Benz A-Class seen again

Our spy photographers have managed to snap more photos of the next-generation Mercedes-Benz A-Class, which is currently undergoing testing in winter conditions. The new compact car is slated to arrive in 2018, where it will continue to compete against the likes of the BMW 1 Series.

Similar to what we have seen previously, the A-Class is expected to be a longer car than before, based on the longer overhangs seen on this prototype. The car’s roofline also extends further back than the current W176, and when paired to what appears to be a longer wheelbase, should make things a little roomier on the inside.

The revised shape is accompanied by sharper exterior styling, most noticeably with the slimmer headlights. The halogen units seen here are likely reserved for lower-spec A-Class variants, while those further up the range should come with LED setups instead.

Other notable changes include a longer bonnet, and side mirrors that are now placed further away from the A-pillar as seen on the current A-Class. As for the rear, the test mule’s camouflaged taillights don’t give much in the way of details, but they appear to adopt the new GLA’s graphics. Furthermore, unlike the current car, they are now two-piece units instead.

As previewed by the Aesthetics A sculpture, a sedan version of the A-Class will compete against the BMW 1 Series Sedan and Audi A3 Sedan. The new model will not replace the current CLA, despite their commonality, but will instead be positioned alongside it.

No shots of the car’s interior but based on what we’ve seen previously, the larger interior should be more upmarket than before, fitted with the latest Mercedes infotainment system. Elsewhere, the car will also come with a new steering wheel that echoes the design found in the new C-Class facelift, along with a widescreen display as that found on the current W213 E-Class.

The new A-Class will employ the new Modular Front Architecture (MFA2) platform, and should come with the latest range of turbocharged four-cylinder diesel and petrol engines. Reports also hint that two full-fledged AMG versions will be available – A 40 and A 45 – where the former comes with 300 hp and the latter, 400 hp. A plug-in hybrid variant could join the performance duo as well, for those who prefer something kinder to the environment.

GALLERY: Next-gen Mercedes-Benz A-Class spyshots

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 13, 2017 at 12:26 pm

The extra length will help a lot in the interior space section especially for rear passengers. Speaking of which there’s no sign of the upcoming 1er at all. Zero spyshots of it. BMW could be having some difficulty transforming it to FWD I guess.

• Mikey on Mar 13, 2017 at 12:42 pm

Generally, M’sian who can afford to buy an A-class/BMW 1-series will not bother to look at the next gen model bcos most will rather top up 50 grand to buy a C-class/BMW 3-series. Just look at the numbers of C-class/3 series on our roads & U will get the answer.

• Johnson Amigo on Mar 13, 2017 at 4:16 pm

What about Honda C-class then? Honda offering two type of C-class, why I seen mostly on the road are the cheaper C-ity and not the slightly more costlier C-ivic? You gotta understand the concept of poverty gap.

• Mikey on Mar 13, 2017 at 4:52 pm

My dear friend. If a guy can afford a New Honda City, he is NOT a guy in the poverty category.

• Wait. Isnt they said, if every citizen din have own Mesidis, that means we r failed state?

So City is below poor?

• Hayenadeblue on Mar 13, 2017 at 10:59 pm

Bro, i’m thinking like you. But thats bcoz current a class is smaller than 1 series. Ride as rear passenger in current a class is horrible. Difficult to get in. I’d picked c class than a class. But if they managed to improve the a class in future, i’ll start thinking the other way around. But still i hope the price for A200 can be below 200k. Not a fan for A180 or A250 or A45.

• rotfl on Mar 14, 2017 at 9:48 am

Even kindergarten child asked when his head stucked at the roof trying to get in, eh why mesidis so small?
        LOL

• Kunta Brothers on Mar 13, 2017 at 4:56 pm

My Kuntamoto has a twin turbo V6 which can blow away this Merc. Why settle for second best when you can get the best at fraction of the price?

• Hayenadeblue on Mar 13, 2017 at 11:03 pm

What is that? Please explain. Reason why i picked Merc bcoz of durability. I still have my v8 kompressor e class and still running perfectly even after almost 20 years. Durability. Not to blow other people off.