RENDERED: Volkswagen Golf Mk8 set to receive evolutionary design, new diesels; retain MQB platform

Spy-Shots of Cars
This image has been optimized for a calibrated screen with a Gamma of 2.2 and a colour temperature of 6500°K

Having just received a facelift at the tail end of last year, the current Mk7 iteration of the Volkswagen Golf still has quite a bit of wind left in its sails. However, it will have to be replaced eventually, and these renderings provide a glimpse of what the Mk8 generation – which is set to go on sale in 2019 – will look like.

These pictures show a Golf that is a subtle but clear evolution of the outgoing model, with a more angular look that follows the path treaded by the facelift. The LED headlights are slimmer – and feature a design similar to the Passat B8 – while the front intake design appears more aggressive and assertive.

The prominent radar sensor for the adaptive cruise control system seen here, however, will likely be replaced on the actual production model by one hidden within the Volkswagen badge, as is the case with the Mk7 facelift. The C-shaped LED daytime running lights should also be reserved as a signature design cue for the GTE plug-in hybrid and the all-electric e-Golf, just like the current models.

Along the sides, the already precise shoulder lines look to have been sharpened up some more, but the iconic C-shaped C pillar has been retained. At the rear, the L-shaped tail lights are reminiscent of the Tiguan, and the twin pipes for the sportier variants have been retained.

Spy-Shots of Cars
This image has been optimized for a calibrated screen with a Gamma of 2.2 and a colour temperature of 6500°K

Inside, the Golf should benefit from an even smarter cabin than the already functional and high-quality cockpit of the current model, with a neater design, plusher plastics and tighter fit and finish, plus the larger infotainment screens and optional digital instrument display from the Mk7 facelift.

In the wake of the diesel emissions cheating scandal, the Golf is also set to be cleaner than before. Auto Express reports that the new model will see the introduction of efficient, modular 1.5 litre three-cylinder turbodiesels, with outputs ranging from 74 hp to 120 hp. Carbon dioxide emissions are expected to dip below 85 grams per kilometre with these engines.

These are set to complement the 130 PS and 150 PS 1.5 litre TSI Evo turbo four-cylinder petrol mill that made their debut on the Mk7 facelift, with standard-fit Active Cylinder Technology (ACT) variable displacement. Of course, there will also be GTI and R variants that will be revealed further down the line – possibly with mild hybrid power – as well as the GTE and e-Golf models at the other end of the spectrum.

The future of the Golf line remains bright, despite Volkswagen’s commitment to producing a full lineup of dedicated I.D. electric vehicles, including a C-segment hatchback. The next-generation model will likely use an updated version of the existing MQB modular platform, set to provide a weight reduction of up to 50 kg.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Golf Mk7 facelift

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• armandd on Mar 20, 2017 at 6:58 pm

Their design department obviously had run out of ideas. Every generation looks almost exactly the same, just like their brother, Audi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • In cant distinguish which golf in which generation anymore, kinda look the same to me..

• Malaysia Boleh on Mar 20, 2017 at 8:22 pm

So? After all, VW Golf still a top selling hot hatch at world wide!

• Das Auto on Mar 20, 2017 at 8:24 pm

Golf is good for another COTY award

• iampetergriffin on Mar 21, 2017 at 7:55 pm

Yeah, because it is very hard to outdo its current design. Given that it is already a handsome car.

• Katakman Kuntak on Mar 20, 2017 at 7:33 pm

Do you have an issue ? Get a life dude, you are always ranting and bashing all cars. It’s fine to give concrete criticism but bashing without basis is plain dumb and stupid. Why not start your own car manufacturing company. People are fed up with your opinions and you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 35
  • Nabil on Mar 20, 2017 at 7:46 pm

This Kunta fella is out of his mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 33
    • Hope paultan will track this guys ip address and report him to the relevant authorities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
  • Malaysia Boleh on Mar 20, 2017 at 8:17 pm

Do you own a Golf? What make you think it was failure? Apart from 7 speed DQ200 dry clutch issue, I don’t think it’s a problematic car, I own a Mk6 Golf R for 4 year without any major issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
    • VW owner on Mar 20, 2017 at 9:41 pm

I own a Jetta 2014 model, it’s the best car I ever purchased within my budget, no issues at all. Someone should shove a gun at this Kunta’s head and pull the trigger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • CC Owner on Mar 21, 2017 at 9:35 am

Major VW issues start @ 5th yr :(

• Golfer on Mar 20, 2017 at 8:21 pm

Shut up & Take my MONEY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • SuperDuper on Mar 20, 2017 at 8:40 pm

Kunta : the infamous troll in Paultan. Kunta @ Troll King. He speaks from his rear side.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • sack the designer on Mar 20, 2017 at 9:40 pm

Designer have run out of idea
    Sack him!

• Next u will be praising VW again. This nut has bipolar something-something…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Still can beat MK5 Golf R. V6 tebo with AWD!

• Mikey on Mar 20, 2017 at 10:00 pm

Anyone who read/drive/sleep VW knows that the Golf is VW TOP seller. This New Mk-8 will not be an exception. With its driving dynamics & solidly built quality, this will be another top seller.

A Golf is THE entry level to the German car world. It has set countless benchmark though I must say NOT all are Happy with the Golf transmission but I believe it has been rectified.

If I were to drive a Mk-7 GTi & park beside a 320i or C-250, I can tell U none of the 2 dare to say their car are better than mine. This is the kind of respect U have earned & U don’t have 2 ask or demand that I can say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • azhar on Mar 21, 2017 at 9:54 am

Hot hatch park beside Exec saloons?

how about Merc A45 & BMW M135i. ROFL

• Another one try to compare his VW with BMW and Benz..

• Mikey on Mar 21, 2017 at 12:03 pm

To john/azhar. Read my last para AGAIN. I said “if” I were to drive a GTi. At least I did Not bash a VW/Golf. Can U write something Good about Golf/GTi instead of bashing ?!

• Matjava on Mar 21, 2017 at 1:13 pm

Cukurr Mikey din compare good Mk-7 GTi with Bezza or Bugatti

• digidigi on Mar 21, 2017 at 11:41 am

coz they dont even bother to compare with your vw

• no more VW… not a reliable product. super noisy sound coming from engine part into cabin.. drove like a lorry.. fuk up! 120k small car..german tech.. sucks!

japanese are better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 22, 2017 at 4:55 am

Based on experiences with your imaginary VW?

My 1.4 TSI is almost annoyingly quiet. Is the engine running? No idea.

• Henry Exhaust on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:07 am

I really would like to see VW bring back the Three Door Hatchback body style for the GTi and the R. If I want a Four or Five Door Salon, I’d buy a Passat, or Jetta, or a CC.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 22, 2017 at 4:54 am

Er? Obviously if you want to buy a saloon, you’d buy a Passat, Jetta or CC. The Golf is a hatchback.

• 2014 Passat Owner on Mar 21, 2017 at 7:00 am

My Passat still breaksdown about 3 times a year. All DSG issues. Want to sell my car oso can only get RM45k

• thepolygonal on Mar 21, 2017 at 8:25 am

I was actually looking for the MK8 in the article before I read and found out that the pictures are the MK8 variant. VW that kind of design is safe but getting old.

• passion on Mar 21, 2017 at 11:23 am

rule number 1 when buying a conti: always keep another car at home. always!