Fuel price discounts subject to approval – KPDNKK

The domestic trade, cooperatives and consumerism ministry (KPDNKK) has stated all petrol companies and station operators are required to submit an application before giving out discounts on the specified ceiling price of fuel.

In the report by The Sun, its minister, Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainuddin explained the requisite is necessary for the interest of consumers so they are not surprised by the discounts.

“If they (petrol companies and station operators) want to carry out promotions, they certainly must have the plans. Therefore, they must come to us and inform us. If they do that, we can give approval at any time.

“Once approved, we inform the public that certain companies on certain date or period are having promotions. We must make sure there is no surprise for consumer,” he said. No time frame for companies to submit their applications to hold promotions was provided by the minister.

Malaysia will soon switch to a new fuel ceiling price mechanism this Wednesday (March 29), where fuel prices will be announced on a weekly basis instead of monthly. Fuel retailers will be able to follow the government-set ceiling prices or set them lower.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• only in bolehland we have this..

• Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 27, 2017 at 10:57 am

Gomen got their priorities upside down. They are more concerned with the whims and fancies of PDAM and always concerned about their needs.

Gomen should focus on giving us clean fuel. Our Ron 95 is still filthy and full of toxic sulphur and other extremely toxic substances.

Euro 2 is so toxic that is was banned in Europe and was quoted to be as poisonous as drinking Roundup neat.

Our gomen should instruct the greedy oil companies to go Euro 5 immediately. Singapore did it already so many years now.

Why must we wait till 2020?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • A Gobinathan on Mar 27, 2017 at 11:50 am

Rakyat had enough nonsense drama. Changes come sooner….

• Yes. Change in Slgr, Png, Kltn!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
        • Change if u don’t want to receive BR1M

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
          • Wait, din they say will continue? Oh wait, they uturn and say stop. Oh but wait again, they pusing lagi say will be rebranded but still continue.

Aiyooyoo. Now me confusing, so many uturn alredi become roundabout. Can RBA john help clarify?

• Vinod Shah on Mar 27, 2017 at 3:24 pm

Change if u don’t want GST.

• Say what on Mar 27, 2017 at 4:08 pm

not that everyone can get br1m anyway. but petrol everyone is using it

• paparadzi (Member) on Mar 28, 2017 at 12:46 am

Change if you don’t want your tax money to be thrown away as BR1M.

• That is because most BN MPs have shares and interest in petrol station operators.

• Albert on Mar 27, 2017 at 1:58 pm

Operators coming more often to their outlets now.Bsnglas dare not simply siphon ice cream/fuel now.
        If after 1 month,PDAM still cry losing money,hello…please give up your licence.Thousands on the waiting list.

• Ismail on Mar 27, 2017 at 11:02 am

Must make sure there is no surprise for KPDNKK.

How come with no fuel subsidies but still prices cheaper. Rakyat overpaid last 8years?!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Ohwai on Mar 27, 2017 at 11:09 am

Obviously you never left bolehland before saying that…..

• Cukurlah ada BN, fuel still cheaper than Sg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 27, 2017 at 11:37 am

Cukur lagi. Singaporeans earn 10X more than Malaysians. Currency 3.5X stronger than Ringgit.

Cukur lagi. Normal ranking Singapore Gomen servant earns about SGD8000 (RM26,000)

Normal ranking Putrajaya Gomen servant earns RM1200.

Cukur lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Fairuz on Mar 27, 2017 at 11:45 am

Kenapa harga minyak Malaysia boleh jauh lebih mahal berbanding dengan Arab Saudi sedangkan kedua negara pengeluar minyak. Malaysia merupakan negara yang mempunyai
        kekayaan hasil petroleum, hasil minyak kita disalahgunakan.

• Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 27, 2017 at 11:49 am

Arab sekarang jual USD25 sen per litre. Harga baru ini baru kena increase 50%. Sebelum ni, lagi murah.

Cukur

• Arab skarang nak perkenalkan GST. So if wanna follow Arab, then cannot complain about GST, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 27, 2017 at 10:44 am

All big drama for the rakyat. The fact is, we are now overpaying by nearly RM1 per litre. According to global oil prices, our petrol should be RM1.30 to RM1.50. But we pay RM2.30

Just imagine. 1 person fill up 50 litres, already overpay by RM50. fill up 8x a week, that is RM400 per person.

Calculate that with 10 million motorist.

Where do the billions go?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • Ron95 on Mar 27, 2017 at 11:11 am

I dont want to pay “crude oil” but “ron 95” ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • The billions went to refine, process, transport, and store the crude oil so its ready to pump into ur car.

Compared to the black muck that is crude, very worth it, right?

• Driver on Mar 27, 2017 at 2:13 pm

lol you expect the price of the product (ron95) is same as the crude oil?

• proton oh proton on Mar 27, 2017 at 10:54 am

Hopefully low grade (Ron 95) cheaper price for the Rakyat…

• The Saint on Mar 27, 2017 at 10:55 am

Surprised by discounts? Why not??????

The G wants to stifle competition because certain group of people cannot compete on level playing field….

• Bodo piang. If brands wanna gip cheaper and start price war, then everybody wins… oh except for Mother Earth.

• drothocech on Mar 27, 2017 at 11:14 am

Price change every week, now petrol station if wanted to reduce price still need to apply and have a proper plans? Only one week I wonder what’s kind of plan they expect, maybe by the time one week already gone.

• Im not Najid on Mar 27, 2017 at 11:26 am

“for the interest of consumers so they are not surprised by the discounts”

What the… you saying !!!

• More like for the interest of certain petrol station operators that were backed by BN MPs.

• Looking at the bright side, need to make sure pump station did not advertise false price. Cheaper on notice board but higher price at pump. When u complaint, taukeh said..oh, thats last week discaunt maa..so how?

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 27, 2017 at 11:34 am

More red tape. So much for open market, free competition. Just let market forces dictate pricing & the gomen can rid the subsidy and charge gst. Win-win for consumer & gomen.

• look, lets just save everyone the trouble and thoughtless thinking and just stick to fixed weekly pricing….

Malaysians are a weird bunch, when it comes to banking for eg. they’d rather drive n park, wasting time n fuel, rather than paying for giro or meps

Imagine if certain petrol pumps offering discounts….

suddenly dis week theres traffic jam at highway karak, n den mrr2, den klcc area..

havoc unpredictable traffic jams will occur….just for few cents, n ruins everyone else’s day….

just keep d fixed pricing

Because, at least keep the dealers on competitive on other areas, like cleanliness n etc etc

• Sparcov on Mar 27, 2017 at 12:05 pm

At the end, all petrol station will be owned by few group of people as individual owned petrol station no longer able to compete with big guys. Let see as it is happened for bus company, taxi company….

• pengayuhbasikal on Mar 27, 2017 at 12:06 pm

I do not understand…what are the differences between fuel retailers can sell at gov ceiling prices or lower And must apply from KPDNKK if want to give discount ?… meaning that…want to sell lower than ceiling price must apply first ?…must apply on weekly basis ?

I assume…they force retailers to sell at ceiling price…

• sabahan on Mar 27, 2017 at 12:18 pm

what subject to approval? meaning you are still controlling the price! this weekly floating price with CONTROLLED AND SUBJECT TO APPROVAL thing will only make you richer

• Gaviny on Mar 27, 2017 at 12:43 pm

Now it gets fishy la,

• every month they surprised us. now they said don’t surprise the consumer with discount..what the ..

• Peter on Mar 27, 2017 at 1:49 pm

WHAT NEEDS TO BE APPROVED FOR DISCOUNT (SURPRISE)!???
    Did your daughter needs to get gov approval to surprise you on your birthday!?
    WHAT KIND OF DISCOUNT CAN SURPRISE US? 70% discount?

• Surprises on discount? Who doesn’t want that? What we dont want is surprises on increase of price lorrr…let the petrol stations compete laa with each other… why must u create another layer??

• Kelvin on Mar 27, 2017 at 10:19 pm

Another layer of bureaucracy, another level of inefficiency. Syabas!