2017 Modenas Kriss MR2 launched in M’sia, RM4,123

After a while of lingering in the doldrums, Malaysian motorcycle manufacturer Modenas is making a strong comeback into the underbone and scooter market, with the launch of the 2017 Modenas Kriss MR2, photos of which were teased a few days ago. Priced at RM4,123 including GST – the MR2’s pre-GST price of RM3,890 was not far away from our guess of RM3,800 – the Kriss MR2 replaces the Kriss MR1, which was launched back in 2011.

Carrying a single-cylinder, 110 cc, air-cooled power plant, fed by carburettor, the Modenas Kriss MR2 produces approximately 8.3 hp at 7,500 rpm and 8.2 Nm of torque at 5,500 rpm. Power gets to the ground via a four-speed centrifugal clutch gearbox, rolling on 17-inch wheels.

Fuel for the MR2 is carried in a 4.5-litre tank located under the seat, where a 6.6 litre cubby storage compartment can also be found. The space will fit a half-shell helmet, folded raincoat or other miscellaneous small items.

On the braking side, the front is stopped by a single petal-disc, clamped by a single-piston calliper, with a drum doing duties at the back. Suspension in front is with a pair of standard telescopic forks, and the rear-end is propped up by twin shock absorbers adjustable for pre-load.

There are three colour options available for the 2017 Modenas Kriss MR2 – yellow, blue and red. Dry weight for the MR2 is 94.5 kg and seat height is set at 760 mm.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Sjjdnvmaks on Apr 06, 2017 at 8:00 pm

This vs honda wave alpha who wins?

• Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 07, 2017 at 9:07 am

2011 price was RM2800……6 yrs later

2017 price is RM4123.

Pity our lower income brothers and sisters. And this is a Malaysian company. They should be thinking of helping the lower income brothers and sisters. Not raise prices so much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
      • KKK, what is the orice of your teh tarik today? Still 2011 prices? Live in the real world lah.

• Sub_zero on Apr 08, 2017 at 7:42 pm

Are stupid? Mr1 is basically the old kriss leftover therefore they able to sell that cheap until the new law force them to remake a new one to comply

Also what goes in 2011 doesn’t stay same in 2017

But 4k for a carburetor 110cc these days is stupid

Then again it’s modenas smh

• Bashers says if its not below RM 5000 then ini mesti salah… oh wait…

• Ootai on Apr 06, 2017 at 9:28 pm

Do a test ride. Is it the same old engine with new plastic?? Same old one year warranty?? High time for modenas to upgrade their 128 kapcai. Any special deal for 60th anniversary??

• Heng Lee on Apr 06, 2017 at 11:26 pm

60th anniversary?? I didn’t know that Modenas is so old already…

• Bashers oso thought P1 was established during Merdeka, when comparing it with Hyundai…

• HaIrI on Apr 07, 2017 at 12:09 pm

Mind you, Yamaha also offer the one year warranty or 10,000km whichever come first. While Honda & SYM offer two years warranty.

• Donno on Apr 06, 2017 at 9:46 pm

Oh my god… what happened to modenas?? Had a higher expectation than this. From designing their own mopeds now the new modenas MR2 is just a rebadged chinese Zongshen ZS110-53. Something assembled from parts from china and wanna get rm4k for it? People will flock to sym and demak after this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
    • Donno on Apr 06, 2017 at 9:48 pm

Really lost all expectations for the modenas 150cc super cub after seeing this.

• u didn’t know all modenas bike and scooter is just rebadged. for example CT115S is based on kawasaki 115cc cup.

i bet they just use Zongshen ZS110-53 but with new ex5 100cc engine.

modenas already stated their bike is rebadged but they still build their own modenas engine with one of the upcoming cupchai.

• Kantoi on Apr 07, 2017 at 7:44 am

Alamak dah kantoi pakai zongshen tetiba ngaku tiru enjin ex5 baru pulak. Boon siew honda tak mau saman ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • Sub_zero on Apr 08, 2017 at 7:48 pm

Ex5 engine is common engine license all over the world

Zongshen have license to manufactured them

It’s not boon siew honda, it’s honda who should sue but since all licensing is in accordance why kepoh?

Heck all sym kapcai engine is license from honda and that’s why some spare part easily interchangeable

If you don’t know anything don’t ever bother posting oh wait you were already stupid to begin with

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • Kantoi on Apr 08, 2017 at 10:35 pm

Tahu ke SYM tu apa? SYM ialah SanYang Motors, sama seperti Boon Siew di malaysia, SanYang adalah pengedar rasmi Honda di Taiwan sebelum mengeluarkan jemananya sendiri. Kalau di Korea, pengedar honda adalah Daelim, dan teknologi motorsikal Daelim semuanya berdasarkan lesen Honda. Kalau Zongshen? Tak pernah dengar Honda lesenkan teknologi pada Zongshen. Kalau betul Modenas ada lesen teknologi Honda, letak jelas2 dalam semua promosi. Sbb enjin honda cub antara enjin motorsikal paling banyak diciplak, dan enjin ex5 baru, yang sama dengan enjin honda dash dan honda MSX, tidak pernah dilesenkan oleh Honda pada sesiapa pun, jadi kalau enjin tu dipakai oleh Modenas, sebenarnya teknologi itu diambil tanpa lesen dari Honda. Jadi siapa yang stupid sebenarnya?

• klau ciplak tanpa lesen. dh lama kene saman lah. takpe la. tunggu until 2050 we see. sape kne saman. atau orang yang buat statment palsu kene saman? haha. ni mainan antara company. klau ad kerjasama antara company., tu hal mereka. kita buyer or user je. fikir masak2 sebelum buat statement ye. jgn amik hati

• Heng Lee on Apr 06, 2017 at 11:40 pm

That’s a Sym Sport Bonus 110SR competitor: Same specs, same price, same design.

But Modenas shall have a look on Sym’s exemplary online spare parts catalogues:

http://sym.net.my/sym/SYM/SpareParts.html

• Ben Yap on Apr 07, 2017 at 9:37 am

aiks! how come motorbike is cheaper than carbon road bikes?

• Papa G on Apr 07, 2017 at 10:15 am

That underseat cubby area alone may nudge me to buy this to replace my MR1 (2015)

Couple with 8.3hp (vs 6.8hp the MR1 produced) should be less straining when cruising down the highway to work

But, when I purchase MR1 back in 2015… the price was RM3880 (paid in cash), that RM8xx more than the RRP that Modenas recommends. Guess MR2 might approaching 5k if those ‘kedai motor’ have their way with it

• But your old MR1 is at least using a Kawasaki based engine and time has proven that this bike is reliable. New MR2 is a rebadged China bike with unproven reliability. If I were you, I will look at others .

• manchowdeva on Apr 07, 2017 at 10:24 am

any motorshop sell Zongshen ZS110-53 coverset?

• FASTAQIM on Apr 11, 2017 at 6:41 pm

look this pic…oh my screw missing…
    buttom right
    https://paultan.org/2017/04/06/2017-modenas-kriss-mr2-malaysia-launch-rm4123/2017-modenas-kriss-mr2-29/

• I need order but monthly paid for 2 years