2017 Modenas Kriss MR2 photos teased before launch

It appears Modenas’ intention to make a strong comeback to the Malaysian market is no idle boast. After the launch of the Modenas Karisma 125, the Elegan 250 and associate brand Kymco’s Downtown 250i, it has now teased photos of its upcoming underbone (kapchai) category model, the Modenas Kriss MR2 110, ahead of the official launch on April 6.

With the “MR” in the new machine’s name standing for Motosikal Rakyat (People’s Motorcycle), the Kriss MR2 is intended for the lower end of the market, as utility transportation. While there are few details about the Modenas Kriss MR2, from the posted photos it looks like the new kapchai will follow standard styling practice.

Of note is the front disc brake, a petal-type design popular amongst younger riders. Another design touch the the transfer of the turn signal from the handlebar pod, next to the headlight, to discrete housings on either side of the front cowl.

This gives better separation for the turn signals, and greater visibility towards oncoming traffic. The rear-end of the Kriss MR2 is suspended by twin shock absorbers, no real surprise for a bike at this price point, while the front has standard looking telescopic forks.

No other information was forthcoming from Modenas about the new Kriss MR2, but from the pictures, it appears as if three colour options are available – yellow, blue and red. The previous base model, the Modenas Kriss MR1, launched late in 2011, went for a price of RM2,948, and we assume the next generation model will not be that much different, possibly around the RM3,800 point.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Probably makes it easier for young owners to replace the front signal with LED lights instead. Hardly see motors use signals when turning. Hardly see any cars too, actually.

• Redidiot on Apr 05, 2017 at 4:20 pm

Ahhh…. The state of Malaysian driver’s attitude… Not forgetting, the richer they are, the bigger, better the car, the bigger A-hole they become.

• Papa G on Apr 04, 2017 at 5:01 pm

Still waiting for the 150cc. Hope the project is not being cancelled

• Albert Yong on Apr 04, 2017 at 5:17 pm

Wow, from RM2900 to RM3800. Pity the lower income. Where is Jib’s promise to lower car prices? He also said moto also he will reduce.

To the lower income, even few hundred is a lot of money. Hopefully, this bike is sold below RM3k or lesser. Pity our lower income brothers and sisters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • 3000 oso cannot afford? No wonder u use 2nd hand EX5….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Ultra2Disk on Apr 04, 2017 at 6:56 pm

I don’t think so price will increased​. Second read again ” we(PaulTan) assume ”
      It’s not from Modenas.

• Papa G on Apr 05, 2017 at 11:12 am

My MR1 bought 2015 already RM3880… kedai motor always like to main harga

• I thought Modenas already bungkus?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Sub_zero on Apr 04, 2017 at 8:25 pm

Just a “facelift” for the old mr1

Spec still pathetic

And boring

And benelli recently launched 150cc fi moped

Far more interesting than local product

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Nobody forcing you to buy, you misaligned Malaysian. Your choice to buy MODENAS or Benelli or Yamaha or Honda.

• Your Name on Apr 04, 2017 at 10:11 pm

Zongshen ZS 110

• william on Apr 05, 2017 at 10:15 am

if can, please dont make a comeback with poor quality products. our market doesnt demand any modenas motor.

honda and yamaha is more than sufficient