All-new Mazda CX-5, Malaysian-spec CX-9 could arrive in September this year – CKD, premium colours

During a press conference at the launch of the new Mazda G-Vectoring Control model line-up as well as the MX-5 RF, Bermaz CEO Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh revealed that the all-new CX-5 could be launched locally by September or October this year.

He noted that the second-generation CX-5 will be a locally-assembled (CKD) model from Mazda Malaysia’s Inokom plant in Kulim. The facility, which is currently being upgraded, will allow CKD models to be painted with the brand’s premium colours like Soul Red Crystal Metallic and the more recent Machine Gray Metallic. Both colours are not available on any CKD Mazda models sold here.

Considering the new CX-5 retains the same engine line-up as before – 2.0 and 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G petrol engines as well as a sole 2.2 litre SkyActiv-D diesel – we should expect such offerings to be offered to Malaysians as well (same as current).

On to another SUV, Yeoh also said the Malaysian-spec CX-9 will arrive around the same time, replacing the Australian-spec models currently offered here. No specific details were given but he suggested that the Malaysian-spec model could receive a higher equipment level while prices will remain unchanged.

Initial models will be fully-imported (CBU) units, with CKD operations expected to follow after, subject to consideration. For now, the CX-9 is available for RM323,850 for the 4WD model, while the 2WD model is priced at RM307,950 (on-the-road without insurance).

GALLERY: Second-generation Mazda CX-5

GALLERY: Australian-spec Mazda CX-9 FWD

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• 300k thanks but no thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Fazlina on Apr 27, 2017 at 5:29 pm

Ship back to Japan…mahal nak mampuih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • K Kinte on Apr 27, 2017 at 5:37 pm

Nobody is buying Mazda in Malaysia anymore. This is because, last year alone, Bermaz increased their car prices on 3 different occasions. So, 2017 alone, 3 times it went higher and higher and higher.

This is despite Bermaz knowing Malaysians are suffering. Ringgit is plummeting and most people are hand to mouth trying to survive.

To make matters worse, they did a conjob, one rise, they blamed the Japanese Yen. Then the other rise, they blamed the US dollar.

As of last year, Bermaz sales was so bad. They don’t learn their lesson. In the 80s Mazda was a big seller. But they were arrogant and wanted to perah the consumer for more money. That is why in the 90s, the brand completely died in Malaysia until 2012 when the CX5 revived the brand.

Now, we will see Mazda die again due to arrogance and no feelings for the rakyat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 10
    • Gaviny on Apr 28, 2017 at 6:48 am

But it seems , only mazda offers significant upgrades to the cars along with the price increase. One German makes just axed 10 models and increase price for the rest with no change in specs. Some even no reverse camera still. Local car maker also increased price, local car maker wor, also because of forex ? Honestly which car maker hasn’t increased prices recently ?

• It is only a matter of time before we read news of Mazda Malaysia closing shop because no-one in their right mind would pay for their stupidly overpriced cars. Also, we didn’t forget their sorry excuse of the Mazda6 2.0l ‘facelift’

• We should be worrying. This is from a company that put profit above anything else. They must be feeling regretful for not pricing the CX5 more previously seeing how well we Malaysian accept it.

• If still priced like conti cars, then its DoA

• Mikey on Apr 27, 2017 at 9:31 pm

Since almost everyone have already bash Mazda, It will be pointless 4 me 2 do the same bcos it is Boring 2 read it over & over again right !?

“If” what U said is true of DoA(i assume its CX9 U are referring 2), then I must be seeing many CX9 ghost moving around & the many people who are driving it must be ghost too. In fact I dare 2 say there are more CX9 on our roads compare 2 the New Accordana.

If a guy can shell out more than 300 grand, chances are he is already a successful guy & he usually have at least another 2 cars park in his Big Car porch. Unless U tell me those who drive a 300 plus thousand ringgit CX9 are Stupid Idiot(SI).

Have U ever seen a SI drive a 300 plus thousand ringgit vehicle ?? Please tell me if U have seen one bcos I believe many would like 2 be like him(SI). Hehehe. Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • Sori if u just came out from cave circa AD2017. Do u knows how many Effin times VT raised prices?

• Don't panic, Ringgit will bounce back on Apr 28, 2017 at 10:32 am

Yet we havent start worrying abt Free falling Ringgit. hah ha

• Puhleezz! Tell that to honda or toyota. They laff u askin mana price increase?

• Mikey on Apr 28, 2017 at 6:59 pm

I was expecting U 2 put up a good argument or at least state your point’s but alas as usual, U have to bring out Vincent Tan(VT) bcos U have No SUBSTANCE to substantiate your points/facts.

Everyone knows the CHUNK of the price goes to taxes/duties just like the rest of the duties the rakyat paid for BMW/Mercedes/Mazda goes 2 the Gov. U are just like a Tin “Kosong” making lots of “Noises” & that is a Fact.

• K Kinte on Apr 27, 2017 at 6:04 pm

Really dumb to buy a crappy CX9 for RM325k when you can get a top rated Volvo XC90 T8 for RM390k or a BMW X5 40e Hybrid for RM388k.

In overseas, the Volvo XC90 T8 and the X5 40e Hybrid is DOUBLE the price of the CX9.

So, if you buy these 2 cars in Malaysia, you are getting good value for money.

Remember, it is double the price of a CX9 overseas.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 4
  • It’s amazing that the new 2.5L is more expensive than the old 3.7L v6. Where have the savings from duties went?

• Mikey on Apr 28, 2017 at 8:54 am

That is a very good question dsr. Most of us including U know where it went. Without taxes/duties, M’sian would have enjoy cheaper vehicles regardless of brands & that is a FACT.

• FACT is all ASEAN countries have their own tax structures that increases car prices. Even godcountry down south with their 10X COE. That is a FACT. So dun stress over it and keep things positive, cheers mate. Hehehe.

• Mikey on Apr 29, 2017 at 11:59 am

He he he, using SG as your defense when it is convenient 2 U is it? Most of the time, U bash SG like there is No tomorrow & that is a FACT.

The main reason SG have COE is 2 discourage its people from using cars bcos they have EXCELLENT public transport system & that is a FACT.

Speaking of “keep things positive”, my posting upstairs looks like the ‘Only’ positive comment on the comments section while most including U are bashing Mazda & that is a FACT.

BTW, keep things positive is NOT in your DNA & that is a FACT. Most of your comments are nauseating 2 say the least. Hehehe.

• applegreen on Apr 27, 2017 at 8:14 pm

The new gen CX-5 is heavier. If the engine is same so the 2.0L is boring to drive

• Iskandar on May 04, 2017 at 7:33 pm

I was going wait for this new CX5 until I join the Mazda fb club and found out big number of lower arm cracks, battery, rattles, easily crack windscreen, flood water seeping inside, easy to break plastic front and back, wind noise problems. Not all covered under normal bermaz 5 year warranty!!!

• Been using cx-5 for a few year, lots of problem, bad service and definitely not as good as people perceived. Cant wait to dispose the car, hopefully soon

• Roslan on Jul 26, 2017 at 12:13 am

I been using Mazda so far no problem.Even their workshop also so helpful.Also waiting to buy another CX5 next few month.I’m drive E240 and happy with Mazda compare with other brand.