DRIVEN: 2017 Mazda CX-9 – pricey, but is it worth it?

These days, car buyers have all been siloed into clearly-defined market segments and price points. Take the SUV and crossover market, for instance. Customers looking for a big, car-based seven-seater are split into two distinct categories – those that have to be content with mainstream offerings like the Nissan X-Trail, Hyundai Santa Fe and Kia Sorento, and those who have to spend a whole lot more for full-sized premium models such as the Audi Q7 and Land Rover Discovery. And never the twain shall meet.

That’s fine if you’re playing in either of the two segments, but Mazda is a relatively small carmaker that cannot hope to compete in the big leagues in terms of sheer volume, and hence has to differentiate itself in order to stand out in the marketplace. So far, it’s near-premium positioning has paid dividends, particularly with the CX-3 and Mazda 6, both being some of the most expensive offerings in their respective segments.

But that same recipe becomes a thorn in the company’s side as the segment moves further upmarket. The outgoing CX-9 was a case in point – designed with burger-chomping Americans in mind, it was enormous, had an absolutely massive engine and swilled fuel like there was no tomorrow. With a circa-RM300k price tag that put it squarely against premium compact SUVs such as the BMW X3 and Audi Q5, the big Mazda became a complete no-go in our image-conscious market.

However, Hiroshima is taking another stab at the premium-but-not-quite multi-seat crossover with the new, second-generation CX-9. With a more frugal turbo engine and a more luxurious cabin, can it really hold its own and claim its place in this stratospheric price range? We take it for a spin to see what’s what.

We start this review with a disclaimer – this won’t be CX-9 most Malaysians will be able to own, and not just because of its steep price tag of RM316,788 for the two-wheel drive model seen here and RM323,849 for all-wheel drive (on-the-road with insurance). You see, this car has yet to be officially launched over here, but local distributor Bermaz has been given limited Australian-spec units to sell due to “high demand.”

As such, don’t expect prices or specifications of this GT variant – second only to the range-topping Azami trim Down Under – to be completely representative of proper Malaysian-spec vehicles. Looking at the rarified segment the CX-9 is in, however, our cars should be just as well-equipped, if not higher.

Mazda’s well-received Kodo design language has been around for half a decade now, but the company has had to class it up for this application with an abundance of chrome trim and finer, more sophisticated detailing throughout. The result a large off-roader that is stylish and imposing, if not particularly handsome in the traditional sense – a bit more Daniel Craig than George Clooney.

The huge chrome-laden grille gives the CX-9 plenty of road presence, especially when combined with the slit-like LED headlights. Unfortunately, however, LED daytime running lights are nowhere to be found here – they are reserved for the adaptive headlights offered in other countries. Instead, there are yellow halogen items that look incongruous on such a large, expensive car – but there are LED fog lights, at least.

The side profile is the most elegant view of the CX-9, with well-judged proportions, sleek, flowing lines and a low roofline. At the rear are LED tail lights joined together by a slim chrome bar, providing a form of stylistic differentiation compared to the smaller CX-5. The 20-inch, 10-spoke alloy wheels come in gunmetal grey – a far less ostentatious finish compared to the top-spec Sorento’s garish chrome items.

It might look larger, but the new car is actually around the same size as before. Measuring 5,075 mm long, 1,969 mm wide and 1,747 mm tall, it’s the same length, and is 34 mm wider and 17 mm taller. Its wheelbase, however, is 55 mm longer at 2,930 mm, for the benefit of second-row legroom and third-row entry and egress. Weight is up to 90 kg lower on two-wheel drive variants and up to 130 kg less with AWD.

Step inside and you’ll find a cabin that, while still recognisably a Mazda, takes the fight to premium manufacturers in terms of ambience. The strong first impression starts off with a layered dashboard that’s easy on the eye, coupled with a high centre console that brings the gearlever and Commander Control knob for the MZD Connect infotainment system within easy reach.

Everywhere you look, there’s leather and soft-touch plastic, and the abundance of chrome really helps to lift the dark and otherwise dour cabin. Everything feels built to a high standard, too; in fact, our only complaint is the lack of the classy rosewood trim available in certain markets, with its place instead taken by dust- and scratch-attracting gloss black plastic panels.

At least there’s plenty of kit still on offer, including keyless entry, push-button start, triple-zone automatic climate control, a sunroof and a 12-speaker, 294W Bose premium sound system. The eight-inch centre display is an inch larger than it is on other Mazda models, and the new full-colour head-up display is considerably brighter, sharper and more legible than the rudimentary monochrome unit from before.

Occupants are well taken care of, for the most part. The power-adjustable front seats have a broad range of movement (the driver’s side memory function also saves the position and brightness of the head-up display for each driver), and while you sit fairly high up, the tall centre console means you feel cocooned in the car.

The second row houses arguably the best seats in the class. The 60:40 split-folding bench can be reclined and slid forwards and backwards, and there are side window blinds here to shield against the sun; the centre armrest also opens up to reveal a large cubbyhole with two USB ports. The seats also tilt and slide forwards to give access to the third row, with just a single pull of a lever.

It’s at the rearmost pews where a little extra attention could have been paid – legroom is just about decent for the class, but the stadium seating, which does provide a decent view out, also robs headroom for taller passengers. The lack of third-row air vents is a particular sore point, and will likely make these seats rather uncomfortable to sit in – especially in our sweltering climate.

Open the powered tailgate (no handsfree operation here, by the way) and you’ll find a 230 litre boot. That’s still quite small, as is the case with most seven-seater SUVs, but it’s actually larger than many others in the class, including the 142 litres in the Sorento. Push the third row seats down and you’ll get 830 litres. Both rear rows fold flat, but a slightly high sill can make loading heavy objects a bit of a pain.

Safety-wise, the CX-9 comes with a suite of i-ActiveSense driver assist systems, on top of the usual safety features such as six airbags and stability control that are fast becoming de rigueur in the class. These include front and rear Smart City Brake Support (SCBS), Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Rear Cross Traffic Assist (RCTA). There’s no adaptive cruise control or lane keep assist that you’ll find in other markets, however.

The engine marks new territory for Mazda and its in-house-developed SkyActiv powertrain technology. The outgoing model used a Ford-derived naturally-aspirated petrol V6 – initially a 263 hp/337 Nm 3.5 litre mill, later a 273 hp/366 Nm 3.7 litre version. Both delivered fairly poor fuel consumption when paired to the CX-9’s large, heavy body, with the latter using up a quoted 11 litres per 100 km combined.

That won’t do for Mazda’s newfound eco-friendly image, so in comes a much smaller 2.5 litre direct-injected SkyActiv-G four-cylinder engine. It’s the same one found on the Mazda 6, with the same bore and stroke, as well as certain fuel system components such as the pump and injection system.

For the purposes of lugging around a huge seven-seater SUV, however, Mazda has added a turbo to the mix, as well as a number of clever technologies designed to resolve the inherent issues of forced induction. First up is what Mazda terms Dynamic Pressure Turbo, a form of variable geometry turbocharging that dispenses with the moving vanes in the turbine housing generally used by such systems to alter exhaust flow.

Instead, the CX-9 uses a series of small and large exhaust ports, with flow control valves that vary the amount of exhaust pulses reaching the turbine. At lower revs, the valves close off the larger ports, so the velocity of the exhaust gas increases and spools the turbine faster, reducing turbo lag. As the revs climb, the exhaust pulses become stronger; as such, the valves are opened up to increase top-end power.

The engine also utilises cooled exhaust gas recirculation to lower the temperature of the combustion chamber, eliminating engine knocking at higher revs and enabling engineers to up the compression ratio. While turbocharging means that the CX-9 doesn’t have the same stratospheric 14:1 ratio of its naturally-aspirated siblings, its 10.5:1 figure is still very impressive.

The result is 228 hp at 5,000 rpm and 420 Nm at 2,000 rpm, although seeing as those figures are acquired using Australia’s base RON 91 petrol, we wouldn’t be surprised to see power outputs closer to the US market’s 250 hp with our RON 95 fuel. On the flip side, Mazda claims combined fuel consumption figures of 8.4 litres per 100 km on the two-wheel drive model and 8.8 litres per 100 km with all-wheel drive.

As usual, there’s a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission. Those of you lamenting Mazda’s typically conservative shift patterns – which prioritise fuel economy over outright performance – will be pleased with the extra torque low down from the turbo engine, which reduces the need for the gearbox to downshift. There’s still a Sport mode if you want it, however.

For all the fancy tech the engine has, turbo lag hasn’t been completely expunged, with a noticeable lull below 2,000 rpm. Push past that, though, and the blown mill becomes significantly more muscular, with a strong wave of torque that lasts all the way until the 6,000 rpm redline. Gearshifts are quick and smooth, and gearbox generally keeps the engine at just the right point to make full use of its pulling power.

One thing you will miss from the outgoing model is the sonorous V6 engine note. Mazda has clearly been at work to replicate a multi-cylinder noise, and at higher revs the new car has a grittier bark that sounds a bit like a boxer engine. But at lower revs – where you spend most of your time in, seeing as this is a family SUV – there’s a gravelly diesel-like tone that’s simply unpleasant.

Still, at least its unobtrusive when you’re not up on it, something that’s matched by the low levels of wind noise, although the road roar coming from the 255/50R20 Falken Ziex CT50 tyres is noticeable at highway speeds. All in all, it’s a very refined ride throughout.

As with most large seven-seater SUVs these days, the long wheelbase and relatively high weight mean that the CX-9 has a very relaxed loping gait over minor ruts and undulations, making it an enjoyable place to be in over long journeys. At low speeds, the mildly stiff primary ride – partly as a result of the large wheels – can cause the car to crash over large potholes, but everything smoothens out as the speeds rise.

Of course, being so generously proportioned, the CX-9 is no MX-5, but it still manages to acquit itself well in the corners. The steering is light and precise and, while it is electrically-assisted, the thin-rimmed steering wheel does let a modicum of feel through to the fingertips.

Body roll is impressively reigned in, considering the size and weight, and there’s good control over body movements across rougher patches of tarmac. Grip levels are also reasonable, with the CX-9 resisting understeer unless pushed hard. One thing of note is its tendency to tramline, particularly through ruts or camber changes on the road. That said, it’s still a decent steer, all things considered.

So, to the original question – is this car worth its eye-watering price tag? There’s no denying that buyers will struggle to justify paying so much for a “mainstream” offering, what with the market being awash with premium SUVs at that price range. For most people, a BMW X3, Mercedes-Benz GLC or Audi Q5 would suffice for most of their family duties, with third-row seating being fairly low down their list of priorities.

In fact, the only mass market brand that has somewhat succeeded at the upper echelons of the market is Toyota with its Alphard and Vellfire, no doubt helped by the strong brand equity created by the sheer number of grey market units on the road over the years. Truth be told, we’d expect Bermaz to have a hard time selling these things, if it didn’t have so few on hand in the first place.

That would be a shame, for the CX-9 is greater than its considerable sum of parts – it’s handsome, well-made and feels more luxurious inside than some of the premium competition. It also has a very pleasant, easy-going demeanour to everything it does, from the way it delivers its performance to its supple, surefooted road manners. Despite a few niggles here and there, it is simply a joy to drive – and anyone with the guts and the bank balance to buy one would be very pleased indeed.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Caryn Honda on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:11 am

Honda BRV > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 37
    • Car Guru Gone Wildly Rich and Itch on Apr 04, 2017 at 1:24 pm

That price better opt for much better looking and respectable Toyota Harrier plus i can save up to 50k.Mazda RV another Hiroshima disaster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 16
      • Viviana Puthibalan on Apr 04, 2017 at 1:28 pm

The hype of Mazda decreasing every other day,but the pricing demand people to look at them as God.Mazda was yesterday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Curi Curi Malaysia on Apr 04, 2017 at 1:41 pm

Now can get in mudah just 3 months old 2016 Mercedes GLE 400 for RM340k. Still got 4 years warranty left.

Or you can get a 2016 pre reg GLE 400 direct from MBM for RM380k. 5 years warranty from MBM.

Which bodoh will buy a crap Mazda?? Rather add a bit more get a real SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
      • Cendol on Apr 04, 2017 at 3:35 pm

Poor Australians still on RON91 petrol.

• Albert Yong on Apr 04, 2017 at 7:41 pm

that day i saw few months old XC90 going for RM325k. I rather buy this 7 seater than this junkard mazda

• HahahaKunta on Apr 05, 2017 at 11:46 pm

As a paid keyboard warrior, you need to bash 100 times to make RM1. Cant imagine how soon you can afford one.

• Diesel Euro 5 on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:15 am

Better offer diesel engine option too, only then the sales surely picking up more.

• Same L00r on Apr 04, 2017 at 3:31 pm

We have that too. the Fortuner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Kan Cheong Leh on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:57 pm

Among all SUV in our market,Fortuner is worst.Weirf design,less power and fuel drinker.Fortuner is worst than a drunker after clubbing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Rumah Usang on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:20 am

Too bad the photo shooting location doesn’t fit such a nice car. Zero artistic concept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • no third row air vent?, dear mazda, pls ask honda how to make occupants comfortable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • don’t stupid, mazda car design for driver not for those taxi drive, u wan more aircon go get proton or p2 alza, somore can fetch many people as u like, in hokkien people say ” cheap + economy + big pics “

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Kelab Cukur Selalu on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:22 am

Cukurrr petrol RON95 murah

• No.
    If can spend more, better get continentals.
    If wan upmarket jepunis, get lexus or infiniti.
    If wan value for money, get toyota (nippon mari) or honda.
    If cant spend more, get P1.

Theres no reason to get a Mazda nowadays unlike CX-5 when 1st launched.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
  • Rather Topup abit & get XC90.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
    • BobToo on Apr 17, 2017 at 10:20 am

Absolutely true. Have you all bothered to go test drive the XC90 T8 yet? Just keep your cash, cheque book, and credit cards away…far far away when you do so…

• With that kind of pricing with the expected specs we think we will get, all I can say is, Bermaz can probably sell single digits of this car this year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Zedwiko on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:30 am

3rd row without aircon vents is going to be the deal breaker for most ppl.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • andrw on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:32 am

Too pricey for a circa 180k SUV…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Not a Mazda Fan on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:38 am

Good luck Mazda with overpricing… For sure will lose business with best SUV in Malaysia – (Honda CRV)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Curi Curi Malaysia on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:41 am

Where is Jib’s promise to reduce car prices? This car less than US$30k (RM130k)

But come to Malaysia become RM300k. No logic??? Where is Jib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
    • Dah bagi alredi. Forrester from 211k to 145k then down further to 129k. U saje yg poorfag only afford 2nd hand EX5 still wanna blame others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 26
      • Ben Yeoh on Apr 04, 2017 at 3:29 pm

Betul tu. Well done Tan Chong!!!

• Garfield on Apr 04, 2017 at 3:40 pm

The 129 K Forrester is of 2016 made and not the turbo charged version. the turbo charged version is still 217K.

• tak penat ker..? on Apr 04, 2017 at 2:36 pm

cukup2 la tue bang….

pls compare with their income tax…..baru fair…

“The Federal income tax has 7 brackets: 10%, 15%, 25%, 28%, 33%, 35%, and 39.6%. The amount of tax you owe depends on your income level and filing status”

• Mazdarati on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:44 am

Well its still a mazda. At above 300k, its in continental territory. Even lexus has a hard time selling in this field no matter how fancy the specs are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Albert on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:45 am

Mazda…another super premium price specialist besides UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • viosfan on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:49 am

Baik beli Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • awg1031 on Apr 04, 2017 at 10:05 am

a good car with bad pricing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • For that price you might want to consider the GLC 250. Think about after sales service too. Mercedes after sale service is better than Mazda. Go check out their showroom and see for yourself. Cx9 is definitely a nice car but for that price not so good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • Totally agree with you, I’ll get the GLC for that price tag and dont forget the pre reg GLC is around 280k. If you don’t mind yo can get the Cayenne recond. Good car bad pricing. If around 200k-240k might be a better deal.

• I wouldn't get a GLC for any price on Apr 04, 2017 at 1:35 pm

Or any Mercedes for that matter. Enjoy your gaudy side step.

Merc is for a special kind of boring people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • Can you afford it? I like the new Merc design, especially the interior. The C coupe is sexy.

• You are my case in point on Apr 05, 2017 at 12:59 am

I did say a special kind of boring. The kind that overcompensate dullness by buying something that’s curvy on a pretense that it is sexy. I have news for you, only dull people think it’s sexy.

• kkzoom on Apr 07, 2017 at 11:18 am

Hey dudes!!! please compare apple to an apple. Is really annoying to see all here talking nonsense. Don’t ever compare a 5 seater over a full size 7 seater!!!!

• Comparing price range here. If u want 7 seater then get new Kia carnival.

• safety 1st on Apr 04, 2017 at 10:51 am

“never the twain shall meet” is kind of misleading since in uk and australia they actually met look here – http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/skoda/kodiaq/98051/skoda-kodiaq-vs-land-rover-discovery-sport-vs-kia-sorento
    and here – https://www.carsguide.com.au/car-reviews/mazda-cx-9-kia-sorento-and-toyota-kluger-2016-review-7-seater-comparison-44020

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Apr 04, 2017 at 11:46 am

The remark was made in terms of a local context. Buyers here aren’t going to cross shop between a RM176k Kia Sorento and a RM420k Land Rover Discovery Sport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • Latif on Apr 04, 2017 at 2:15 pm

Kudos. CX9 and Sorento both sit within similar segment & price range overseas.

• safety 1st on Apr 05, 2017 at 2:24 pm

I think this is the point you need to highlight the more Mr Jonathan Lee, since in UK and Australia, the Sorento is so highly praised, they sit in the same league and worthy of comparing with the Kluger, CX9 and Land Rover. In term of Malaysia context, you can argue why would anyone buy a CX9 that cost almost double the Sorento when in actual pricing elsewhere (1st world countries) they are of the same value?

• Pei Fang Teng on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:08 pm

Absolutely agree. This is the point the author has totally missed.

• Daniel Lim on Jun 17, 2017 at 8:33 am

Jon – Agree with Safety 1st. As a journalist, you value add by pointing out these pricing discrepancies so that your reader can make the better value choice, not by justifying such discrepancies as “local pricing context”.

The Sorento is rated better than the CX-9 by leading US magazines Consumer Reports, and USNews, and Australian magazines Carsguide and CarAdvice. And is in the same pricing category in US, Australia, Canada.

If Prada and Gucci are the same price all around the world, but Prada costs 2 times that of the equivalent Gucci in Malaysia, the objective journalist says “Buy Gucci !” and NOT start comparing Prada to Hermes just because of local pricing context.

Similarly, just because Proton prices a car like a Rolls Royce does not make it equivalent to a Rolls Royce.

• Daniel Lim on Jun 17, 2017 at 9:12 am

Jon – As a journalist, you have to be better informed than that. Its your job to point out discrepancies and not perpetuate them.

If Prada is equivalent to Gucci everywhere else in the world, but is 2 times the price of Gucci in Malaysia, the right advice is to “Buy Gucci!” and NOT say “never shall the twain meet” and start comparing Prada to Hermes.

• Ben Yap on Apr 04, 2017 at 11:14 am

too expensive for me to plonk my money in a jap car.

• Jonn Dol on Apr 04, 2017 at 11:16 am

One thing for sure, since the last couple of years, Mazda has the most stylish cars exterior & interior-wise compared to the other Japanese rivals (save for the Lexus).The brand is steadily & increasingly moving towards that direction. If this trend continues in the coming years, won’t be surprised if Mazda could one day be at par with the German establishments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • The price difference is too much among Jap cars

• ToHellWithPlagiarism on Apr 04, 2017 at 12:17 pm

True. But their designer shall be shot for copy n paste for Not once but most of the Mazda model. I can’t name any other car brand that does that .. similiarity overall in each model I think replicates 70%

• Mahabarattbuh on Apr 04, 2017 at 12:42 pm

They have a template for all their car models. Just like Boeing does on their airplane models.

• Mahabarattbuh on Apr 04, 2017 at 12:40 pm

blahblahblah

• You cannot compare Mazda CX-9 directly to the Honda CR-V because Mazda CX-9 is a car for the person who search for the quality, comfort, fuel economy, fun to drive, stylish and prestige because Mazda is the entry level for the premium brand car just look the quality, Boss sound system, fine finishing interior that blended with the aluminium, solid build

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • Is the brand not up to 300k price. Bose sound system?!? how many of you actually buy an ORG CD or buys songs in iTunes?

• OK... on Apr 04, 2017 at 1:37 pm

You just keep drinking that coolaid Bermaz has been feeding you

• What safety? on Apr 04, 2017 at 11:07 pm

CX9 the car for fuel economy? The article quoted 11 litre / 100km fuel consumption. That’s not a good fuel consumption at all.

• I think this car is better than BMW X3 with Japan’s quality build, efficient and reliability

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • Samreet Singh on Apr 07, 2017 at 2:42 pm

Khaaaak phuiii.

Continentals are far superior in terms of make, comfort and after sales. Drive a conti and u will notice that enough thought has been put into every aspect of the vehicle.

I guess the high price of service and parts should not matter if you have 300k to splurge.

I will go for conti after sales anyday over Mazda and the rest of the oriental makers.

• Those that wana buy it will still do… mazda is a niche car maker that is repositioning itself to be an entry level premium carmaker and this is their flagship…the harrier u guys mentioning is a recon..this is new from the factory… it’s a better buy than the germans at that price… so much hate for mazda just because most are unfamiliar and see them as an alternative to T,H and N..they never were..they have always been the left field enthusiast choice..u want affordable..stick to T and H…our market is irrelevant anyway..

• Canada on Apr 04, 2017 at 1:32 pm

Mazda losing it steam like a premature ejaculation became erectile disfunction patients.

• Mazda is a very good car company. A CX9 is really great car. But thanks to greedy Bermaz, they think they can command market here. But if you have money, just buy their shares.

• W204 C63 AMG on Apr 04, 2017 at 1:43 pm

All due respect, I saw 2 of these. One in the Gardens premier parking lot, and another 15 mins ago on the road up at Bangsar Shopping Center.

The rear doesn’t look that good, but the side profile is great.

• Exterior is big but interior space like exora only

• Gaviny on Apr 04, 2017 at 3:16 pm

I did test drive it and for me , it totally holds its against the conti. If you do put down the money , you won’t feel that the conti does this better , because they don’t , it is all in the brand. Simply the way it looks , when you rock up on the golf course it draws looks.

• Chevrolet Phu My Hung on Apr 04, 2017 at 5:55 pm

Amzazing , thanks you for Share – So far, it’s near-premium positioning has paid dividends, particularly with the CX-3 and Mazda 6, both being the some of the most expensive offerings in their respective segments.

• sohai on Apr 04, 2017 at 9:54 pm

I stopped reading at “halogen lights”.

• tokmoh. on Apr 05, 2017 at 1:33 am

Funny how writer thinks people buy Q7, yet I’ve barely ever seen one registered OTR other than test drive units around Glenmarie area.

Yet conveniently forgot the king of them all, the tongsan brand Volvo XC90. They’re literally everywhere now, everyday can confirm see one. Even BMW X5 and Merc GLsomething cannot be spotted as easily.

This Mazda, topkek. Wanna play conti segment, but your target market will think it’s Asian white goods. Saupei la, better top up a bit get Volvo XC90.

Volvo > all

• BobToo on Apr 17, 2017 at 10:29 am

Guys, and ladies…just go test drive the XC90 T8, then test the Q7 down the road a little in Glenmarie. You be your own judge and see which one sets itself apart from the rest.

• Mikey on Apr 05, 2017 at 11:33 am

There are 55 comments B4 me. No mid/large SUV generated so much comments/interest in such a segment. It shows M’sian do ‘like’ SUV be it small, mid or large.

If U take away the badge when U test drive this SUV by the name of CX-9, U will be impressed by the qualities inside the car & the gadgets/gizmos that comes with it.

Ask yourself if this SUV meet your needs & wants. Chances are if U are looking 4 a mid/large SUV, this CX-9 meets almost all & then some of your expectations of a SUV.

It is/has always been the price. I tell U “if” the price is in the 200k region, most SUV purchasers will buy it hands down.

Bcos it’s a Mazda & most importantly, it’s above the 300k mark, this CX-9 will loose out simply bcos it’s a Mazda. The “Badge” of Merc/BMW/Audi/Volvo/Lexus/Infiniti does command a premium & that is a REALITY. People are Brand conscious.

• cray foo on Apr 06, 2017 at 10:56 pm

looked at the price. stopped reading.

If i ever see this on the road, it’s going to be a madza management staff who gets this as a company car.

nobody will be so stupid to be paying a brand new Mercedes GLC price, for a madza joke…

It’s like comparing a jap D-segment accord etc sedan with C-class, totally different feel and face value.
    accord is just some ahbeng no class, struggling middle class poor family car, while C-Class is totally way above. WAY above.

“what car that fela drive ah?”
    “aiya honda/nissan/madza loh”
    “oh ceh tiu”

as compared to
    “what car that fela drive ah?”
    “niama ben-zi lah”
    “huiyoh lou sai, ok lah”

• Ali Karim on Apr 08, 2017 at 4:01 pm

“…no-go in our image-conscious market”.

That’s a good one.

• eeeriz on Apr 11, 2017 at 11:03 am

I wonder those above me who bashed CX9 indiscriminately has ever driven one. Call me a fool, but i have nothing to praise the new CX9. Have not driven one but surely I owned old CX9 and it was the best SUV i have ever owned. Yes the beast is a heavy drinker but this one is a comfortable SUV with monstrous power (albeit limited to 180kmh speed). It will get you to 180kmh in no time but in comfortable way. So, please have yourself driven one before cracking with more negative comments. Period.

• Jay Tan on Nov 26, 2018 at 7:40 am

I just brought brand new CX-9 in malaysia, overally is great. however, the malfunction of the adriod was totally disappointed me. i was not told during test drive or even car collection which andriod is not applicable in this car. however, the worse part is i cant hear whatapps msg if i connected my phone with car. this is ridiculous. and i was only informed when i send my car for first service, this issue was causing problematic to me during driving. my question is:
    1. why does Mazda launch it without even with completely software?
    2. secondly, anyway i can raise my complain to Japan Mazda?(i had email to malaysia Mazda, sadly again, the reply as they told, this issue is beyond their control and they have no way to fix it for this moment)
    3. can any buddy advise me what to do next? sincerely appreciated. thanks