2017 Mazda CX-3 now on sale in Malaysia, with G-Vectoring Control – price up RM3,230 to RM138,373

Alongside the revised 2017 Mazda 6, Bermaz has also introduced the 2017 Mazda CX-3 – like the D-segment model, the B-segment crossover has also seen a few minor revisions and some added tech, at a slightly higher price.

As before, the new model is available in a single 2.0 litre petrol trim, priced at RM138,373 on-the-road with insurance, RM3,230 more expensive than before; the older model is still being sold at RM135,082. Included is a three-year/100,000 km warranty and three years’ free service.

No changes on the outside, but the interior does feature a new three-spoke steering wheel from the CX-9 SUV, along with a new Active Driving Display – the head-up display is now full-colour and has increased brightness, contrast and definition for improved legibility. An eight-way power-adjustable driver’s seat has also been added, with two-position memory that also saves the positioning and brightness of the HUD.

Otherwise, standard kit is the same and includes LED head- and tail lights, LED fog lights, 18-inch two-tone alloy wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, leather and suede upholstery, a glass sunroof, automatic air-conditioning, automatic lights and wipers, paddle shifters, cruise control, an MZD Connect infotainment system with a seven-inch touchscreen, six speakers and a reverse camera.

Safety kit has also been carried over – six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, hill-start assist and ISOFIX child seat anchors.

Under the skin, the biggest addition comes in the form of the new G-Vectoring Control system which modulates engine torque to optimise vertical load on each wheel, improving steering response and stability. The steering and suspension systems have also been revised for improved ride and handling in concert with the new technology. There’s thicker rear windscreen glass and increased sound insulation, too.

The engine remains unchanged – a 2.0 litre direct-injected SkyActiv-G four-cylinder petrol engine produces 154 hp at 6,000 rpm and 204 Nm of torque at 2,800 rpm. All that is sent to the front wheels via a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission.

Browse full specifications and equipment of the Mazda CX-3 on CarBase.my. You can now get best offers on the Mazda CX-3 on CarBase.my too.

GALLERY: Japanese-spec 2017 Mazda CX-3

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Henry on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:25 am

It will be tough trying to sell a CBU B-segment SUV at close to a CKD C-segment one. But thumbs-up to Bermaz for trying.

The Subaru XV with its iconic AWD is a worthy competitor for this kind of money. In 2016 it was offered with a 5 year manufacturer’s warranty with 5 years free service (incl parts, lubricant and labour). Not sure if the 5 years free service is still on.

• Operation Manager on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:13 am

Same $$$. Perdana2 a better choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 88
    • Kelab Penyokong Kunta on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:14 am

A bit crazy to buy a small tiny puny B segment car for this price. Now after discounts, can get a huge wonderful Nissan X-Trail for Rm120k. So much cheaper.

And the best part, your Nissan service bills will only be few hundred ringgit only. Ask any owner who have sent their cars to Bermaz, pricing is higher than Mercedes and BMW for parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 18
      • semuakaodim on Feb 16, 2017 at 1:57 pm

Eh bro, since when Mazda car service price is higher than Merc n BMW??? Your so called ” mazda owners” is from another Nation one izit?? ImagiNATION ah??? Dont talk kok lah, get your facts right.
        True that, Mazda CX3 is expensive, but if apple to apple comparison, it is almost the same as Honda HR-V high spec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • as a mazda 6 skyactiv owner with 110k on the clock. your statement an utter bull****.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Nissan X-Trial???….no class!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Close to D segment base accord price liao..

• Tom hank on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:25 am

Car Not worth the Rm.very greedy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Tax the rich so no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Henry on Feb 16, 2017 at 12:07 pm

But taxing the poor is the problem. Even a Kapcai will need to pay GST.

• But the poor dun look to buy car. And the poor gets back & more with BRIM. So…?

• Henry on Feb 16, 2017 at 9:02 pm

Who say they don’t? Where do you think all the used cars go to? How much is BRIM? 10k? You getting some?

• lilytan on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:28 am

Still no Activesense?

• No iactivsense at all???
    Boo bermaz

• Mikey on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:49 am

I take my hat off 2 U Bermaz for daring 2 be different. First, U dare to make your D-segment top dog by selling a Japanese car for more than 200k.

Now U dare 2 increase this CX-3 not 2 mention U have already increase the Mazda-2. Bravo & Kudos 2 U.

Maybe, in this time of ‘crisis’ U need 2 be different & different mean 2 go against the tide. Good luck 2 U bcos U need every ounce of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • myenglandbad on Feb 16, 2017 at 2:33 pm

Everthing jepunis is good, even price increase of syiok sendiri cars are good but why when local things get increased pipu are going crazy?

Oh I forgot, this is jepunis overlord so you dun persoal.If persoal you kena potong kapara.

• Mikey on Feb 16, 2017 at 3:59 pm

Itulah, kalau tak paham English, bacalah di colum BM. Tak payah beri alasan yg kau punya England bad. Tolong jangan mencaci sendiri ya.

• Roughly when will the all new 2017 CX5 will be introduced to Malaysia market with all the new driving asistance bits.

• Berjaya is pricing themselves out of the main market and targeting niche customers. Gudluck! Just dun complain too expensive.

• Bernard on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:59 am

Wah mahalnya….. hampir pengsan!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:05 am

electic seats worth the price though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • azhar on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:23 am

people buy this only for its design & handling..small cabin,small boot & pricier spare parts..only good for unmarried guy/gal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • Good Luck Mazda on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:50 am

I will think twice for that price tag… Wish you a good luck Mazda sale team..!!!

• joe jambu on Feb 16, 2017 at 12:11 pm

90% of the comments here are from people who cannot afford this car so why even bother reading? Either you work hard so that you can change your 10 yr old Proton or just shut up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 30
    • Henry on Feb 16, 2017 at 12:52 pm

Talking about yourself?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • There is difference in can’t afford vs smart consumer. Know the difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Smart consumer means..can not afford but in denial.
        All luxury items is for shows more than for its function.
        Buy a Casio is smart consumer? and buy a Rolex is not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • Xzibit on Feb 16, 2017 at 8:36 pm

So everyone should buy a hiace van?

• applegreen on Feb 16, 2017 at 12:12 pm

“204 Nm of torque at 2,800 rpm”

should be 3

• Elchino on Feb 16, 2017 at 12:13 pm

What abt the 2017 CX-5 diesel?

• carlover on Feb 16, 2017 at 12:14 pm

Don’t we have a better option?This car stylish , but no value for money.Though I have the bucks, but Why shall I…..?

• Price increases but not the warranty… wtf

• Mazda not chasing market share anymore worldwide la…..they cannot compare with the scale of T,H,N and VW..so they move up to entry level premium ..their cars are well engineered and have the quality and badge to be premium already..u can butthurt all u wan but i think most of the other japanese car and vw owners know this fact….people who want it.will buy it..our market insignificant anyway..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • No turbo No life on Feb 16, 2017 at 1:19 pm

using 2.2 Turbo Diesel Engine to this model with the same price will be attractive

• bushi on Feb 16, 2017 at 2:36 pm

Siapa nak beli?

• passion on Feb 16, 2017 at 2:57 pm

such a small car for that price? wrong move!

• timothylee on Feb 16, 2017 at 3:06 pm

Now the CX-3 is officially a class above the overrated HRV in Malaysia. Not many can afford the CX-3 now. Back to down to Honda again.LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Sure or not on Feb 16, 2017 at 5:33 pm

Bermaz don’t care if they sell the cars or not. Competitors are cheaper but they increase price.only for hardcore Mazda fan. Nothing special about Mazda to warrant this prices. Mazda 6 now reaching 170k for 2.0 .. accord 140k …. tak masuk akal. Bermaz feel their brand superior to others.. but everyone think otherwise. Resale also very bad. Haiz…. Mazda Mazda. Only buy 2nd hand Mazda. Buy new is sohai.

• mcfeemo on Feb 17, 2017 at 12:03 am

take consideration of our weaken ringgit also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6